Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2133 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 amanduhsmith on 7/30/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by amanduhsmith

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

after using mainly drugstore foundations, except for lancome's tinted moisturizer, this product is amazing. I have acne and combination skin and it has a very buildable coverage, even though i don't need that much. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CrochetDiva23 on 7/29/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by CrochetDiva23

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my Fall to Winter foundation. GREAT coverage lightweight feel. I don't recommend it for warm weather months. I switch to their powder foundation which is even more awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zinat on 7/28/2014 4:52:00 PM more reviews by Zinat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product so much

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amandamarieee on 7/26/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by amandamarieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My experiences with this foundation has been quite bad so to say.

I bought this with EXTREMELY high hopes, caused by all the hype and by all the people who were using it. I will say that i do have dry skin and this is not a dewy foundation which tends to work out best for me, but when i pay so much for a foundation i must admit, that i do expect it to work at least just somehow well.

First off, i find the consistensy of it extremely thick, hard to blend and hard to work with in general. It clinges to all my dry patches possible and it also quite seperated on my skin while wearing it, which was not a good look all in all. I've tried to apply it both with brushes and sponges/beauty blender - still no good results for me.

I actually find it hard to believe that this foundation can be THIS bad and i do consider if I've just been unlucky and maybe got a bad one. I have been considering buying this again to see if i was just unlucky, but i do feel quite bad about spending so much money on a foundation i haven't had good experiences with though.

It stays on the skin for ok long but as i said, it seperated on my skin throughout wearing it which was not a very pleasant experience. It leaves a medium coverage with a velvety/matte finish.

I would personally not recommend if you have dry skin and tends to have dry patches here and there. I wouldn't recommend it either if you like to work with foundations with a more watery texture and a lighter feeling on the face.

Also, im not a very big fan of the packaging either. It has a pump which is very good for purpose of hygiene, but i experienced it becoming very dirty and messy around the pump and inside the lid as well, only after a few uses.

I am very sad that this foundation did not work out for me the way i wanted to at all - even though there must be something good about it hence all the hype, but unfortunately, i can't be on that hype about this particular foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anirbef on 7/26/2014 8:49:00 AM more reviews by anirbef

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have tried Lancome Teint Idole, Christian Dior Forever Flawless Perfection, I think this is my best foundation so far. I have normal to oily skin, with some dry areas when my skin is dehydrated. This foundation settles fairly good, it does not exaggerate the look of dry patches. On my whole face, this gives me dewy finish and still look natural, because my tone gets darker (due to too much sun exposure) and the shade is about 2 tone lighter.
The texture is light, makes it easy to blend. Coverage is sheer-medium. So I do Not recommend for you to cover blemishes, scars, or anything..just put concealer on it!
When my skin gets oilier (also I live in humid country) so I have to blot quite a lot and do some touch ups. But the staying power is fairly good, doesn't melt off easily.

Pros
+ Great for those who want a sheer-medium coverage
+ Staying power quite good on normal-oily skin
+ Packaging is air tight and practical

Cons
- Doesn't contain SPF
- Price $$

I would not repurchase if I am getting bored of sheer coverage :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanel277 on 7/24/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by chanel277

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is on the drier side and this foundation doesn't agree with that. I get why so many people love this foundation but unfortunately its not for my skin type. The color selection is huge but i find it a bit hard to find your exact match since they have a weird way to categorize their selection. In Mac things are easy they have nc/nw 15 and they go up from there. In MUFE things are way more complicated, anyway bottom line is that this foundation comes in a huge variety of shades and you can probably find one that suites you. Many people say that this is a full coverage foundation.This isn't true. With one thin layer you get sheer to light coverage. The good thing is that this foundation is very buildable so with 2-3 layers you can defiantly get fuller coverage. It has very nice texture and spreads easily on the skin and sets to a matte finish which looks natural. The texture isn't too thick neither too runny its somewhere in between and blending it on the skin is piece of cake . It has quite good lasting power and it doesn't set on lines and wrinkles thanks to its silicone base . If you have oily normal or combination skin then this foundation is perfect. On my dry skin this sets completely matte and i look dry and wrinkly. Even without powder on top of it still looks drying on my skin. I use a very thick moisturizer as a base and that way i can almost make it work especially during the summer. In the winter this foundation is a complete disaster for my skin personally. It cracks and makes my skin look dry wrinkly and shallow. I wont buy it again for me but i would happily recommend it to someone with oilier skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 librarygirl85 on 7/23/2014 10:19:00 PM more reviews by librarygirl85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this foundation and can't imagine using anything else. This is light to medium coverage in my option. So if you have a lot to hide I wouldn't recommend it. I also don't recommend it for oily skin - the rep at Sephora also said this is not for oily skin types because it will come off. If you have dry or combo skin give it a try. I have dry skin and was beginning to have problems finding a foundation that didn't look caked on. This feels like I'm wearing nothing and looks like I'm wearing nothing. It lasts all day (coupled with the powder)! I do not have to touch it up and it never looks oily nor does it melt off my face (I live in Texas - it gets hot!). I've been able to wear it 12+ hours ... does not break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetheart5703 on 7/23/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by sweetheart5703

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this foundation. This is my personal holy grail foundation, I have been using it for a few years now. I love how I look in pictures when I wear it. I can wear it alone and my face does not get shiny or anything. However I am using it more now with primer and setting powder just because I want it to look better. I get bored sometimes with foundation and I like to mix it up. This is the only one I really ever go back too. Another foundation I love equally as much is the Even Better foundation by Clinique. When I am budgeting I use that one instead. Love both though, but Make Up Forever is the best for me. I am always looking for a foundation to top it though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ahrako on 7/23/2014 11:18:00 AM more reviews by ahrako

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know this is HG for a lot of people, but I just don't feel it. The coverage is average at best and I was surprised at how watery and thin the formula was. It actually oxidized and turned orange-y only after 2 hours of application, and it slid around and became blotchy at the end of the day, even after setting with powder and on a non-humid summer day. I have tried to use it with all sorts of different applicators - stippling brush, beauty blender, flat kabuki buffing brush, MAC 190 - all same results. I do like the packaging - gotta love a foundation that comes with a pump. Will not purchase again, and will stick to MAC studio fix fluid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeuploveraus on 7/22/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by makeuploveraus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nice but nothing to rave about.

Having heard so much from beauty guruís about this product I was expecting something amazing. This is a nice foundation but it didnít wow me. It has a nice natural finish, the colour range is great but I donít think it performs much better than my garnier bb cream. If I pay AUS 70 I expect a high performing product, especially compared to my AUS15 bb cream. By 12pm this foundation was starting to fade, it would never last a night out as it just got too shiny and looked dreadful. I have an oily t-zone but nothing out of control, but this foundation just didnít work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products