Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2256 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 5/5/2015 5:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been on the search for my HG foundation for a while now, and this is definitely not it. I tried it a while ago but decided to buy it again in case my opinion may have changed. It's honestly just OK- nothing special about it in my opinion. It looks somewhat matte for maybe an hour or two and then turns into a streaky, oily mess. It emphasizes dry spots like no other and the coverage is just not enough for my (pretty light) acne scars and a few blemishes here and there. I've tried to layer it on top of my blemishes and it doesn't cover much. The shade N117 is perfect for me, but that's pretty much the only positive thing about this product. Not worth the $42.



on 5/4/2015 1:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Its pricey at 42$, but it last a good ~4 months even with heavier coverage. The shade N117 matched me perfectly and didn't oxidize at all. The only problem I had was the packaging--you can't see how much you have left so when you run out, its a surprise (and you cant unscrew the top to use up the remainder.) It has build able coverage, so you can either use one layer for a light coverage or a couple (good for covering up acne/scars.) It's a great foundation for acne-prone or combination skin--it doesn't break you out or highlight any dry patches you may have. Now that I've fixed my dry skin issue however, I use a powder foundation. Me and MUFE HD had a good run though, and I recommend it for girls with sensitive skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2015 7:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have give this product a few tries and I'm pretty disappoint with it. After a lot of youtubers recommending this foundation, and claiming it to be full coverage I hope it could cover up my blemishes and redness whilst looking natural. Unfortunately it doesn't look up to my expectation.

This foundation covers up redness pretty well but not as well for acne scars and blemishes. It looks rather cakey on my face, I've tried brushes, fingers and sponges and it still looks foundation sitting on my face. Since it claims that there isn't any SPF in it, I've worn in for my graduation dinner, but for some reason it does not photograph well under flash lights. Though this may be due to the setting powder that I've used.

The worst part of this foundation is it break me out. Every time after using this foundation there will be some huge acne and blemishes on my forehead and chin area, and this does not happen to me with other foundation like the RCMA and Cover FX.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This product is around a 3.5 for me. I wanted a foundation for special events where I would need something that was full coverage and photography friendly. Naturally, I chose this one as its claims matched my needs, and being oil-free, it seemed suitable for my oily skin.

This foundation's redeeming quality is that it looked gorgeous in photography. GORGEOUS. It provided full coverage, concealing blemishes and redness and made my skin look photo-shopped - radiant and flawless. Moreover, the shade 120 Soft Sand matches my skin perfectly.

Off-camera? Different story. This product did not live up to its claims of being "invisible"; it was in fact very cakey (I had to layer the foundation to achieve full coverage, causing this effect). It felt greasy on the skin despite being oil-free and hardly contained my oils for more than two hours. After 3-4 hours, it looked even worse as it had separated.

I'd recommend this product to someone with fairly normal skin, as I've heard that it clings to dry patches. I have not heard of the product separating on anyone else, so it's possible that my bottle was part of a bad batch or something.


on 5/2/2015 9:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been eyeing this foundation for years. I always heard great things about it and I know a lot of celebrity make up artists use this. I watched tons of YouTube videos of gurus who have never let me down raving about this stuff. So I finally caved in, and I am so disappointed. I first had the sephora SA apply this to my skin with a beauty blender, it clung to every dry patch, however, I attributed the dryness to the hourglass mineral veil primer she applied before the foundation. When I went home and applied it, it clung to my dry patches yet again with no primer underneath. It clung to dry patches I didn't even know I had. And I was VERY well moisturized prior to applying. This is the most disappointing foundation I have tried so far. If you have even slightly dry skin, invest your money into a different foundation


on 5/1/2015 3:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

Last year at my sister's wedding the MA used this on my face.

Now at first I thought it was over-rated but when I looked at the pictures I decided I need to grab a bottle!

The foundation goes on smoothly and is one of the few that looks good in photos for me so it's a keeper.


Pros

- Bottle comes with a pump but I need one and half for proper coverage which I find to be odd.
- It's full coverage so most of the time I don't need a concealer with it.
- I have sensitive skin and this one is very gentle on it so big plus there.
- A subtle satin finish so perfect for that healthy yet expensive look (matte ages, stay with satin!)
- Cooler colours are pretty good, most have them too yellow and I end up needing to mix it to get the right shade for me but here I found the perfect tint for me.


Cons

- It's a bit expensive but the bottle is pretty big so you get your money's worth.
- You NEED a primer with this thing, it doesn't matter how good your skin is, no primer = no foundation after 2 hours. with a primer however it'll last for 8+ hours with me (I take it off after so I'm pretty sure it will last longer if I left it on) I always add a light powder on top of my liquid foundations so not sure if that helps it or not but this is the only one I own that really needs a primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2015 12:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love it but it didn't satisfy my expectation. I have had and tried this for over 2 yrs, gave a fair chance but sadly didn't work out. It only looks good for 2-3 hours after putting this on. I need my foundation to look good and stay on my face for at least 10-12 hours. I'm a busy person and do not have time to touch up. It does look good for photography. My shade 127 mix with 153. They did not have one right shade for me. It's expensive to have to buy 2 shades.


on 4/23/2015 7:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I read a lot of positive feedbacks about this foundation before purchasing. However, I am extremely disappointed. It wears off pretty quickly and it doesn't apply smoothly. I don't know why so many people like this one. It just doesn't stand out at all to me and I hardly use it. Positive side it did not break me out. But I will not repurchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 5:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Color is perfect and I thought I could just blot throughout the day since my skin looks smooth and flawless with this foundation. But this is too Damn greasy looking. I wouldn't mind blotting every couple of hours,hell I wouldn't mind blotting every hour on the hour but it wears off my nose (without me touching it) almost immediately And it looks a greasy mess. Yes I tried setting powders, primers, etc in different combinations and nothing worked.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 1:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Love this!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

THE NUMBER ONE REASON YOUR FOUNDATION DOESN'T LAST! by Wayne Goss



Back to Top