Revlon • ColorStay Liquid Liner [DISCONTINUED] • Eyeliner

rated 4.0(784 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 3 of 5 annieface on 8/18/2014 6:04:00 PM more reviews by annieface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to admit upfront that even though I don't like this liquid liner, I have repurchased it multiple times. It's cheap, applies very black, and overall looks quite nice for most of the day.

The main reason I don't like this liner is the applicator. It's terrible, and it takes me at least 2-3 times longer to do my liquid liner than with any other liquid liner. It's stubby, stiff, and unforgiving. While others may find its size easier to use, I really must say I prefer a longer, flexible felt tip liner.

I also find that this does fade which is the opposite of what it's advertised to do, and that's disappointing.

It's cheap, so I have bought it a few times, mainly with yearlong gaps between purchases since that gives me enough time to convince myself that the applicator couldn't possibly be as bad as I remembered it to be... until I open up a new tube again. Fortunately, I'm willing to work with it enough since I don't find myself in a rush to get ready lately, but when I have work/school/somewhere to be, I definitely do not reach for this liner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bellavee on 8/16/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by bellavee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to be the naysayer but I just could not stand this eyeliner. I've used different liquid liners for the past 6 years and this just might be the worst. I got it in black and no matter how much I would let it dry then layer it on, it just was not dark enough. It seemed like the formula maybe wasn't thick enough compared to others that I've used. Worst of all, it faded SO quick. Yes, I do have quite oily eyelids but with or without a primer it was fading within an hour. It was easy to use, the brush is user friendly, the packaging was fine, but overall I am not a fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TianaSwift on 8/10/2014 4:29:00 AM more reviews by TianaSwift

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this eyeliner! It's great for doing a cat eye, or just a simple line. I personally find that eyeliner makes a big difference it your "looking-awake-ness", and if you're in a rush, this eyeliner is great. The colour is very matte and I'd recommend this liquid liner for people who do thick eyeliner, rather than thin, just because the applicator is kinda thick. I've been using it for the past two years, and I will definitely continue!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abstraction8878 on 7/31/2014 6:58:00 AM more reviews by abstraction8878

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Standard well performing liquid eyeliner. I must note that it is hard to find this liner in Black everytime I try to repurchase!! During use: was longwearing, great pigment, easy to use felt tip applicator and it didn't even sting when I accidentally got it in my eye! Definitely recommended if you are in need of liquid eyeliner!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SummerDay89 on 7/25/2014 1:39:00 PM more reviews by SummerDay89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this eyeliner. Gives a great cat-eye and is pigmented nicely. I think the only thing to care about is the staying power, pigment and application - these do all of them exceptionally well. If I really need extra staying power, I use Urban Decay's eyeshadow primer underneath.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lillie1002 on 7/9/2014 3:53:00 AM more reviews by lillie1002

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely my all time best go-to liquid liner. A friend of mine had this liner on during a girl's night out & in the early morning hours I noticed her liner had not budged at all, and the intensity was the same as when the night started. I had to ask what she was wearing...especially since I had been searching for a liner to do exactly what I witnessed. I was delightfully surprised when she said it was Revlon ColorStay Liquid Liner. This was several years ago and I have been faithful to this liner ever since. I purchase all the colors when I come across these at stores. Being that I love this liner, I can't say that I have done a lot of comparisons because I don't have to...I found THE ONE. The price is great, and the wearability is superb. My search is over!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovelytyagi on 6/20/2014 6:13:00 AM more reviews by lovelytyagi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I love this liner... Great one....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lyncake on 6/20/2014 5:12:00 AM more reviews by lyncake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my go-to eyeliner a few years ago, but recently I've found it just falling short. At first it's really easy super to apply, and the felt tip is nice and sharp for my favorite winged eyeliner look, but the tip gets frayed and messy not even half way through the bottle! It requires way too many coats for it to be opaque and it's very runny, and it dries a little bit flaky but doesn't actually flake off. Kind of just looks chunky I guess? God forbid your eyes water though, because it will end up in huge smears under your eyes even if you don't touch it. I don't know if maybe they changed the formula, but this eyeliner is just not what it used to be. Sad to say I have to move on and find the next best thing. I will never buy this eyeliner again :'(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 helloxkittty on 6/9/2014 11:54:00 PM more reviews by helloxkittty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I first bought this to replace the e.l.f. liner I was using that unfortunately made my lashes fall out. I wanted something cheap with a felt tip applicator and this seemed to fit. I kinda liked it and repurchased a couple times. But after using for six months I have moved on. The formula is awful. It is a dark black but also thin and watery and dries very glossy. I like a solid line so I would have to go over it several times but it would flake off so I had to remove and start again. Lasts a fair amount of time if you don't touch your eyes at all or have eyes that water often. The price was good when I started buying it ($4.99 at Target/Walmart) but I noticed it went up to almost $6 which I would never pay for such a poor product. The only thing I like about this is the felt tip, but it does fall apart after a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Arrosynn on 5/26/2014 12:37:00 PM more reviews by Arrosynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This eyeliner used to be okay a few years ago. But it's even worse now than it was then. It's not even true black, it has this weird greyish color to it. It also says color stay, except that it's not. This stuff smudges all over the place. It would end up smudging on my eyelids and made me look like a raccoon. No thank you! I've recently discovered the Blinc Eyeliner Pens, they're pricey but definitely worth the money. Perfect eyeliner every time! I'll stick to my new discovery!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Eyeliner products