The Body Shop • Lip & Cheek Stain • Lips

rated 4.0(141 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Danielleox on 6/26/2014 8:37:00 PM more reviews by Danielleox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lip and cheek stain! I only use this on my lips, I have not applied on my cheeks as I prefer to use a powder blush. I love the appearance of this lip stain, it doesn't look obnoxious. It lasts quite a while roughly 4 or so hours before I have to re apply. I would definatley recommend this lip stain. I love it and I have purchased this 2 times, as my first one ran out so quickly, I was obsessed with it. It's easy to apply, which is why I love it. Especially in a rush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaoIjaz on 4/18/2014 8:47:00 AM more reviews by MaoIjaz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

INTRO:
Oh boy, do I LOVE a good stain. I'm a big fan of natural looking make up. Pink lips, defined brows, lashes groomed with clear mascara. That, my friends is my everyday make up look. Now, lipstick never seems to look right on my lips. Perhaps it's just me, but they just never sit right. This frustration eventually led me to this little gem: The Body Shop Lip and Cheek Stain. I have this in the shade Rose Pink. It looks red in the tube, but leaves a beautiful berry stain. I do not use it as a cheek stain, though. So, my 5 lippies are for it beautifully doing it's job as my loyal HG lip product. :) Now, onto what everyone REALLY cares about, haha! All the important details of the product are also cleverly enlisted below within the pros and cons by yours truly, heh. Hope this is helpful!

PROS:
-The stain is not sticky whatsoever.
-It sets right into your lips after a few minutes without leaving a sheen or any kind of texture. It has a watery texture at first, but that disappears as it sinks in.
-Adheres very well to the lips (looks extremely natural).
-Has great staying power. Stays fresh for at least 4 hours before fading occurs.
-Works on slightly pigmented lips too, like mine.
-Can be built up to any desired pigmentation.
-The doe-foot applicator aids easy application.

CONS:
-Runs out quickly. Henceforth, the $14 price tag's a little too much.
-Can not be used as a cheek stain as it splotches. Takes a lot for it to actually blend and look good. This is a marketed as a lip and cheek stain. Even though I don't use it as a cheek stain, I thought I'd let you guys know.

WHO SHOULD BUY THIS?
-Someone who's looking for a natural looking stain
-Someone who does not also want it to to double as a cheek stain.
-Someone who's work environment is not appropriate for the use of lipgloss/lipstick.

CONCLUSION:
Bottom line, I think this is one of the best stains I've ever used. Invest in this, especially if the cons don't bother you. They certainly don't bother me! This is an HG for me. I'll definitely buy it again, and if you're still wary about this product after my review, feel free to PM me in case you have any further questions.

Cheers!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spopp67 on 1/18/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by spopp67

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think that it is great that they do not test this product on animals, but it seems like they have not tested it on anyone.

On lips, it goes on without much work and gives a nice sheer color. However, after an hour or taking a sip of anything, the color on the outer edges of your lips fades, while the inner part of your lips remains much darker. It makes it look like you've been drinking Tropical Punch Kool-Aid, and it's difficult to reapply in the lighter areas and work around the darker areas.

In short, I'll stick to my Sephora lip stain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CoconutOwl on 1/14/2014 8:44:00 PM more reviews by CoconutOwl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a reasonable priced cheek stain that is lightweight and long lasting, good job on this BodyShop!
I enjoyed using this more toward the cheek rather than the lip. Staying power is pretty decent for about ~6hrs. I do like the fact it is fragrance-free :)
The drying time is quite fast, but it does leave a bit time for you to blend it or tap it around the cheek area. It can be build up for more dramatic look, or just put on a really sheer layer and it looks sooo natural on my NC30 skin tone.

the only downside to this is that it kinda dried my skin a little tiny bit during the winter time, but as long as it doesn't break me out, or cause rash, it is ok.

recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yunisu on 12/23/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by yunisu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

***EDIT***: I tried this for quite a few months and I have to re-evaluate certain problems!

I purchased this for SGD $22.90 in retail stores. Packaging is OK, comes with a wand for you to apply your lips just like how you would apply a lipgloss. Quite sleek and cute, it was one of the reasons why I purchased it. I don't use it on my cheeks.

Pros:
+ Sleek packaging, gives off a very sophisticated and modern feel. I like the look of it.

+ Since it's a "LIP AND CHEEK STAIN", and it really stains your lips, no kidding. I like the look of it initially. It gave me a youthful look and perfect for a day to run some errands and I just want some colour on my lips which is not over the top and still looks presentable.

+ The stain lasts really long, enough for a day. I don't remember having to re-apply it. I only removed it when it's late at night and when it's time to remove my overall makeup.

Cons:
- The after stain look --> it looks great when you first apply it. You can see the colour very visible on your lips. However after a few hours, it seems like the colour inside your lips will start to fade first, leaving a very visible thin outline of the stain on your lips. It looked so weird and awkward, I didn't even realize how it did to my lips until using the washroom. I mean, will I even look nice with an outline of a red stain on my lips?!

- Didn't feel moisturizing. I have days where my lips feel chapped. So after using this.....my lips look as bad as ever.

- Expensive. For a stain that gave me this result after wearing for the first few hours, I didn't think it was worth it. I would have easily bought other substitutes or even a simple lip gloss instead.


Conclusion: I only purchased this as I'm a big lover of TBS and I know that their products are really good and do not test on animals. However, this is a no go for me. I'm sorry!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/15/2013 3:03:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love cheek and lip stains and was incredibly disappointed with Benefit's Benetint (which didn't show up at all on my lips, and looked patchy and awful on my cheeks while having zero staying power - like less than 3 minutes on my lips if I could even see it). I decided to give this a try and am now on my second tube.

On my NC20-25 cheeks this looks great, like just-came-in-from-a-cold-day sheer wash cherry reddish pink, and I only need to apply once to see it. It doesn't feel sticky after drying and is easy to apply. I tap it in gently with fingers after applying with the wand, usually after tinted moisturiser/BB cream or a light foundation but it works great on bare skin as well. If I want a more dramatic look, I apply a bit more and slowly build up it up, then set set with some translucent powder. I find the staying power to be really good too - I never touch this up during work (8-10+) hours, unless I'm going out after and want to refresh my make-up.

On lips though - it's another story. While it does look cute, gives a nice sheer wash of colour while it's on, it doesn't last as long as I would like it to, I need to touch-up in about 2ish hours after applying. But it's still great for a natural sheer wash of colour on your lips that's non-drying and very comfortable to wear. I love it so much on my cheeks though, and have other options for lip stains that I could care less. I love it and will keep repurchasing it, it's often on sale, worth the money and works so much better than Benetint - very happy with this one! I also wish they came out with more colours, online and in store I've only seen #01 Rose Pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cocoacloud on 9/23/2013 1:31:00 PM more reviews by cocoacloud

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've gone through 2 bottles of this, and the first time round, I thought it was amazing. It gave me the most perfect cherry stained lips, and it looked completely natural. I tried it on my cheeks a few times, and it also gave me a nice touch of colour (though I have to say it did look a bit sticky on the skin) - and most importantly, it didn't seem to break me out - and I have very acne-prone comedogenic skin. The second time round, I still thought it was amazing and I actually, seriously, couldn't live without it at the time, so I did purposefully go out to buy a tube of this one Sunday afternoon. It just brightened up my face so much and tied everything together. The darker shade (Rose Pink) definitely suits those with warmer skintones - being Asian with yellow/golden undertones, it matched me wonderfully.

But hold up! - if I'm writing such good things about this, why did I rate it 3 stars? The issue I have with this is its staying power. I forgave it at the start, and ignored the facts, but in the end I came to the conclusion that it's staying power really is rather dismal. Don't expect this to last more than 1-2 hours on the lips, and also because it is quite a sheer wash of colour, I found that this emphasized the redness of my bottom lip, but only slightly coloured my upper lip (which tends to be slightly pink grey/brown), giving me an uneven looking application. I didn't mind this too much at the time, but now I realize that I do need something a bit more pigmented.

Also, take caution - the lip & cheek stain will leak around the twisty cap of the tube, so sometimes when you twist it shut, product will ooze out of the sides. If you're like me and you didn't notice so much, you will stain the inside of a bag.

EDIT 5/12/2013
i;ve upped it by one lippie, because I decided that the issues with the staying power and packaging malfunctions still aren't horrendous enough to push me away. I'm in love with the ease and shade of this tint!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 andinkd on 9/18/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by andinkd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely love this stain, on the cheeks it gives a nice healthy "flush" colour, that makes you look like you're blushing on the inside/naturally have red cheeks, which i like because i like natural looking makeup which enhances my features, not covers it. On the lips it give a pretty colour, like i just drank red fanta if you have pale lips, but on my lips it looks like my natural lip colour- only BETTER. On the cheeks it lasts around 6 hours, but on the lips if you eat a lot sadly it only lasts around 3 hours:( such a pretty product though. The cons would be how little product i get ($14 for 8ml in indonesia- a little bit expensive for a high school student's budget) and the fact that it doesn't last long on my lips if i eat. The packaging is good, it has a rubber "stopper" to prevent the product from leaking- but you still have to make sure you close it tight just like other products & it has a see through bottom and a mirror-like "lid" (as seen on the picture). Overall, yes i would buy this product again, considering that it has a very pretty colour, looks natural, lasts well (even though its not absolutely budge-proof) has a great doe foot applicator unlike benetint, and doesn't dry my lips (even though lip balm would help for the owners of easily dry lips)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Plooosh on 9/14/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by Plooosh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had high hopes for this Lip and Cheek Stain however I am thoroughly disappointed.
It had such good reviews on here and I expected it to be great, however I regret buying it. The lip stain lasts as long as you don't move or lick your lips, as soon as you apply it ...it goes. On the cheeks...pile it on and you might get the desired effect but it is VERY watery.

It is as if they have just stuck a tiny bit of food colouring in a water bottle with a lip stick and sold it for £10.

What a rip off.

The only good thing about it, is it is not harmful to your lips and does not include any terrible chemicals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hyim521 on 5/28/2013 12:19:00 AM more reviews by hyim521

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG product!! I'd been trying to find a good lipstain for years, but couldn't find the perfect one. I absolutely hate Benetint even though it's probably one of the most popular ones out there. For me, Benetint is too dark and I end up looking like I should be on a Broadway show. After a while, it turns my lips a blue-ish color, which is NOT the look I'm going for. Also, it really stings my lips and causes wrinkles.

The Body Shop lipstain, on the other hand, is fabulous. It gives me a lovely healthy, glowy look - the raspberry pink color is very subtle but gorgeous on pale skin. If you have pale skin and dark hair, it will give you the Snow White look. I love the just-kissed, bitten lips look it gives you. I really hope it never, ever gets discontinued.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lips products