Stila • Peony Convertible Color • Blush

rated 4.4(224 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 arieljocelyn on 7/19/2014 9:04:00 PM more reviews by arieljocelyn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me begin this review by saying that lip color is my least favorite type of makeup to use. My lips are more often than not unnaturally chapped, and therefore make it very difficult to apply and maintain lip color. Lip gloss works, but I really dislike the feel of the gloss on my lips, the stickiness, and the wet appearance. I love matte lip color, but it almost always accentuates my chapped lips. This product is a rare find in that it has a very matte appearance, but with the smoothness of a lip gloss. The color payoff is outstanding, and the amount of product provided in the package makes it worth every cent. The color "peony" is especially beautiful, because it muted and neutral, yet rosy (which is also rare in my experience, because usually, neutrals are much too beige, brown, or frosted-looking on me). The primary complaint I have is with the packaging, which is a compact case that requires you to dab your finger in the product; this seems really unhygienic. Lastly, I tried using this product for it's other purpose--as a blush--and found that it broke me out terribly. As a result, I only use it as a lip color. So if you're looking for a gorgeous, dusty, peachy neutral lip color with a matte finish but smooth feel, this is a great choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 veelui on 5/11/2014 3:17:00 AM more reviews by veelui

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

it is pretty expensive for a product with such a small amount. i use it a lip cream color instead of blush as i naturally have pinkish cheeks. its a lovely nude-ish pink color, i love the texture and feeling of this lip cream. i decided to buy the full sized version of this product after trying in the best of Stila set in the 500pt gift at sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LazyDresser on 5/2/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by LazyDresser

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not a 'wow' item in terms of colour, but a good handbag staple with a decent sized mirror and (for me) reasonable staying power. On my Mac C2 oriental skin) it leaves a slight, light flush on my cheeks that is more a 'glow' than a blush. It is rather on the expensive side, but I've not yet found a drugstore equivalent that offers comparable benefits, so will stick to it for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Stellababe on 5/1/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Stellababe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Was looking for something to replace my beloved NARS Deep Throat, which was becoming harder to blend. Wanted to try a cream blush. Peony is a natural looking yet just enough color blush for my fair, 50 something skin. I use it only on apples of cheeks, not lips so I can't speak to it as a lipcolor, but love it as blush.

Note: I had contemplated buying Bobbi Brown's Uber Beige AND Pale Pink Pot Rouge to use together, but a MUA at Sephora suggested Peony, and it manages to provide the same natural flush without having to add a "pop" of color, as Bobbi suggests.

I found, after trying both Stila and Bobbi Brown cream blush, that the Stila is easier to apply and was happy to find one product that did the trick instead of two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cherryferry on 3/24/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by Cherryferry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this in a set. The only other Stila product I have ever owned was the Kitten eyeshadow, which I am obsessed with. Therefore I was intrigued by this product. It is a lovely creamy mid-pink colour. It comes with a mirror. All looked good when I got it.

When I put it onto my cheeks it just melted into my skin. It was just lovely. However, it is easy to put on too much and if you do that it can be a nightmare to blend away. Less really is more with this product on the cheeks. Overall, though, I was impressed. I think that I still prefer my Maybelline creme blush, but this is certainly a close second.

On the lips it was a different story. It just looked...weird. It looked waxy. The colour was dull and aging. It dried out my lips. It didn't last long. It was just wrong. If I had purchased this purely to act as a lipstick I would have been sorely disappointed. Thankfully its role as a blush redeems it, though I would not recommend using this on your lips.

Sooo it was fantastic as a blusher, useless as a lipstick. I would not repurchase because I believe that I can get a better creme blusher out there (like my aforementioned Maybelline creme blush), and because it didn't live up to its promises as a lipstick. I prefer Bobbi Brown's convertible lipstick/blush combo. It just works better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Musja on 12/29/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by Musja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my 1st cream blush (I usually use powder blushes) and I absolutely love it. The color Peony is just stunning, it is a perfect nude that is not too orange and not too muddy and doesn't look like a bronzer. Consistency is dewy but it is not too sticky, doesn't transfer, blends easily, and wears all day. Peony is not very bright or super pigmented so it might not show up well on darker complexions but for me (N15) it is perfect for everyday natural look. I apply it with Sigma F84 brush and it blends beautifully. I don't wear it on lips. I've got a combination skin but the blush doesn't make me oily. I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 embeast on 12/16/2013 4:20:00 PM more reviews by embeast

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Green    

I just love this creamy, natural blush. When I first got it, I wasn't so sure. But then I found myself reaching for it again and again, because Peony goes with EVERYTHING. It's such a beautiful, natural, pinkish beige. I really don't have any other shade like it. And the finish is so lovely, just a little bit dewy but without any sparkle or shimmer. I found the best application to be with a stippling brush to avoid messing up my foundation. I set with a little finishing powder (Tarte Amazonian Clay is my fave) and it's perfect and lasts me most of the day. I'm still experimenting with it on my lips. I'm quite pale so the color is a really nice nude on me, but I've had issues with it wearing off unevenly and leaving the dreaded ring of color on my lips. To be fair, that happens to me with many lipsticks, and since I love this so much on my cheeks I'm giving it 5 lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clpds on 9/21/2013 1:24:00 PM more reviews by clpds

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this a few months ago when a Sales Associate at Sephora recommended it to me, when I said I wanted a natural blush. I got "Peony" which gives me a natural flush.

Looks great when I first put it on my cheeks, but I find that it seems to fade after an hour. (Maybe I should have gotten a brighter colour???)
I have combination skin so I agree with other reviewers that it might be best suited for people with dry skin.

When used as a lipstick, I find it turn my skin a bit ashy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janee411 on 7/3/2013 10:29:00 AM more reviews by janee411

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

first time trying cream blush and i love it!! it's so blendable. much easier to correct than if you accidentally put on too much power blush. the color is great for a natural flush. it's too nude for my lips, but the texture is creamy enough to use it for lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Meech25 on 6/10/2013 11:18:00 PM more reviews by Meech25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first attempt at trying cream blushes. (I'm an nc35) I have very oily skin, especially in the summer, so i was not sure that this would last on me. I think it did a really good job on my skin, probably lasted about 6+ hours until it started fading a little, the nice part about it is that it faded naturally vs. splotchy which is a huge plus for someone with oily skin.
The color is a nice subtle one, a dusty rose i think.

Overall i do like this color it is very natural looking which i love for summer time!
I used this both with my fingers (did not like) and with a stippling brush (real techniques) and i liked that application way better!
Will not repurchase this color since i have a sample, but would like to try a brighter shade in this line! thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Blush products