Stila • Peony Convertible Color • Blush

rated 4.4(228 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 swtlitchi on 11/6/2014 10:45:00 PM more reviews by swtlitchi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have bought a few convertible colors from Stila, and Peony was a repurchased shade. I've enjoyed the way that the product is creamy and blends well. I've applied this with my fingers straight from the compact, or with a stippling brush. The color is a very flattering dusty pink that gives me a healthy look, but isn't overly bright or unnatural. I know that it is advertised as being a lip and cheek color, but I find it unsanitary knowing that I apply this to my cheeks (sometimes with my fingers), thus I can't review if I were to put it on my lips. Other things that I like about this blush are that it isn't sparkly or too sheer- you can build up intensity and the finish is so natural. I switch between a couple of blushes depending on the season and looks- this is a great summer product and is nice for quick and easy application.

A few cons: as this is a cream blusher, the product doesn't have a ton of staying power. In fact, I have recently been layering a powder blush on top of Peony in order to help it stay, but I still noticed that my blush was mostly gone by the end of the workday. I have noticed that it does transfer to my phone when talking (eww), so it doesn't set completely and that is why its all pretty much gone by half day. I have a few patches of dry skin and the wear does fade unevenly from these spots. Also, sometimes I have a slightly tough time opening the compact- it has a small indentation that can be hard to pull open- I've gouged my fingernail into the pan more than once!

Overall, I've finished a compact and started on a new one. I am happy enough with this product to repurchase even with some of it's cons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samiiyo on 9/30/2014 3:16:00 AM more reviews by samiiyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I use this solely as a blush, rather than a lip product. I dip my brush in it very lightly and tap it onto my face and blend it out with a different brush so as not to apply more product. This gives me a very natural look that's kind of a mixture of nude and dusty rose.
The finish is dewy and it is long wearing on me.
The packaging is cute in my opinion. I would like to get my hands on more shades!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wenqing on 9/10/2014 10:25:00 AM more reviews by wenqing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i like my powder blush to be as pigmented as possible so that only the tiniest amount is needed, to avoid a powdery look. although as for cream blush i find convertible color has just the right amount of pigmentation, i can swirl my fingertip in it a couple of times, don't need to be too careful. don't know about the bolder shades though as the two i have are gerbera and peony. it's an old fashioned emollient texture, not overly creamy, with a natural dewy finish, not one of those velvety cream to powder ones. that being said it can be used on the lips too but you won't find it especially moisturizing. peony is a muted cool toned dark pink, no shimmer. really sophisticated. on fair skin it can act as a subtle contour when applied to the lowder cheek area. i actually look like i have cheekbones(which i don't) when i wear it, and really natural looking. while bronzers and contour powders never look quite right on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Calincherie on 8/24/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Calincherie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I never tried a convertible color, but when I purchased a Stila eye palette, this was given as a free gift. It was small--I was very surprised by the size--a little bigger than a quarter. I tried it thinking it would go so quickly due to the size and was glad I didn't spend $25 on something so tiny but I'm happy to report that a little goes a long way (and also found out the one I was given was a trial size--the actual product is the size of a sand dollar.) Even this quarter sized product will last a really long time for me! One pat with the tip of my index finger is enough for booth cheeks. It blends so easily and as someone else said "melts" into your skin for a natural look. Its a medium dusty pink color. As a lip color, it's slightly lighter than my own lips and comes across as a pink-tawny color, so I only wear it as a lip color when paired with heavier eye makeup, otherwise I look washed out. It doesn't feel heavy; it's texture is light. Unfortunately, it doesn't last very long on my lips, but that's ok because I like it as a blush better. I liked this so well, that I went out and bought a full size in the Poppy color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arieljocelyn on 7/19/2014 9:04:00 PM more reviews by arieljocelyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me begin this review by saying that lip color is my least favorite type of makeup to use. My lips are more often than not unnaturally chapped, and therefore make it very difficult to apply and maintain lip color. Lip gloss works, but I really dislike the feel of the gloss on my lips, the stickiness, and the wet appearance. I love matte lip color, but it almost always accentuates my chapped lips. This product is a rare find in that it has a very matte appearance, but with the smoothness of a lip gloss. The color payoff is outstanding, and the amount of product provided in the package makes it worth every cent. The color "peony" is especially beautiful, because it muted and neutral, yet rosy (which is also rare in my experience, because usually, neutrals are much too beige, brown, or frosted-looking on me). The primary complaint I have is with the packaging, which is a compact case that requires you to dab your finger in the product; this seems really unhygienic. Lastly, I tried using this product for it's other purpose--as a blush--and found that it broke me out terribly. As a result, I only use it as a lip color. So if you're looking for a gorgeous, dusty, peachy neutral lip color with a matte finish but smooth feel, this is a great choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 veelui on 5/11/2014 3:17:00 AM more reviews by veelui

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

it is pretty expensive for a product with such a small amount. i use it a lip cream color instead of blush as i naturally have pinkish cheeks. its a lovely nude-ish pink color, i love the texture and feeling of this lip cream. i decided to buy the full sized version of this product after trying in the best of Stila set in the 500pt gift at sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LazyDresser on 5/2/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by LazyDresser

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not a 'wow' item in terms of colour, but a good handbag staple with a decent sized mirror and (for me) reasonable staying power. On my Mac C2 oriental skin) it leaves a slight, light flush on my cheeks that is more a 'glow' than a blush. It is rather on the expensive side, but I've not yet found a drugstore equivalent that offers comparable benefits, so will stick to it for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Stellababe on 5/1/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Stellababe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Was looking for something to replace my beloved NARS Deep Throat, which was becoming harder to blend. Wanted to try a cream blush. Peony is a natural looking yet just enough color blush for my fair, 50 something skin. I use it only on apples of cheeks, not lips so I can't speak to it as a lipcolor, but love it as blush.

Note: I had contemplated buying Bobbi Brown's Uber Beige AND Pale Pink Pot Rouge to use together, but a MUA at Sephora suggested Peony, and it manages to provide the same natural flush without having to add a "pop" of color, as Bobbi suggests.

I found, after trying both Stila and Bobbi Brown cream blush, that the Stila is easier to apply and was happy to find one product that did the trick instead of two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cherryferry on 3/24/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by Cherryferry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this in a set. The only other Stila product I have ever owned was the Kitten eyeshadow, which I am obsessed with. Therefore I was intrigued by this product. It is a lovely creamy mid-pink colour. It comes with a mirror. All looked good when I got it.

When I put it onto my cheeks it just melted into my skin. It was just lovely. However, it is easy to put on too much and if you do that it can be a nightmare to blend away. Less really is more with this product on the cheeks. Overall, though, I was impressed. I think that I still prefer my Maybelline creme blush, but this is certainly a close second.

On the lips it was a different story. It just looked...weird. It looked waxy. The colour was dull and aging. It dried out my lips. It didn't last long. It was just wrong. If I had purchased this purely to act as a lipstick I would have been sorely disappointed. Thankfully its role as a blush redeems it, though I would not recommend using this on your lips.

Sooo it was fantastic as a blusher, useless as a lipstick. I would not repurchase because I believe that I can get a better creme blusher out there (like my aforementioned Maybelline creme blush), and because it didn't live up to its promises as a lipstick. I prefer Bobbi Brown's convertible lipstick/blush combo. It just works better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Musja on 12/29/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by Musja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my 1st cream blush (I usually use powder blushes) and I absolutely love it. The color Peony is just stunning, it is a perfect nude that is not too orange and not too muddy and doesn't look like a bronzer. Consistency is dewy but it is not too sticky, doesn't transfer, blends easily, and wears all day. Peony is not very bright or super pigmented so it might not show up well on darker complexions but for me (N15) it is perfect for everyday natural look. I apply it with Sigma F84 brush and it blends beautifully. I don't wear it on lips. I've got a combination skin but the blush doesn't make me oily. I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Blush products