Calvin Klein • Obsession • Fragrances

rated 3.6(233 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 2/6/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Cautionary tale: I went to a secretarial luncheon at my company in the early 90's, and with eyes rolling, the group complained about Candice's Obsession (she was otherwise a sweet & well-liked person -- not in attendance at this luncheon).

Apparently, Candice's daily application of Obsession filled the whole administration building each morning (I personally worked in another building). And from my experience, it doesn't take much of this classic to fill a space -- it's quite a floater. I doubt Candice actually applied very much, probably a small squirt was enough to travel into the big open central space of that building.

Although I'm an oriental lover, Obsession didn't appeal to me when it first came out in the mid-80's, so I didn't jump on buying a bottle. There was some *note* in there that I didn't like (civet? or a spice, like maybe coriander?) -- or else it wasn't sweet enough -- or vanilla enough -- or else it was too flat and just -- brown. I don't know, something in the mix rubbed me the wrong way -- I wasn't sold, didn't buy it.

And then our Airborne Express courier came in one cold, dark winter's day around year 1988 to pick up a package after lunch -- and she smelled quite warm & wonderful -- so I asked her what she was wearing, and it was Obsession. It was afternoon, and it smelled lke a nice warm woody scent on her. Well, that changed my mind, so that's when I bought my dab-on splash bottle and began wearing one small dab of it. Enjoyed it, for the most part, but I never finished the bottle and eventually threw it away when it turned extremely dark.

I now have a spray bottle which I bought a couple years ago but have barely used. After seeing recent board raves, I tried it again on a Saturday, back in Nov or Dec -- and while running my errands, I felt like I reeked. I tried not to get close to other people in stores. I hadn't put much on, but it seemed so strong, and it still had that strange unidentified spice basenote that I never liked.

I was very self-conscious that morning, and it never seemed to wear off -- at all. I haven't worn it since, but I'm not willing to give my bottle away -- I'll keep it. So Obsession has come and gone in my life. I didn't like it -- then I liked it -- now I'm back to not liking it very much again. It's one of those I should have loved (it fits my usual tastes) but for whatever reason, it has mostly not been one of my favorites.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 McSwimmer on 2/6/2014 1:41:00 PM more reviews by McSwimmer

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know how to explain this fragrance. Let's see...I like this scent but it doesn't like me.
Nice fragrance but way too strong. I had a small sample bottle of this. I wore it for hours; all the while loving the scent. It did NOT give me a headache, but it--literally--made me sick to my stomach. Thinking I might be nauseous for a different reason, I tried Obsession again. I'm sorry to say this, but I got sick to my stomach a second time. I gave my little bottle away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jeane519 on 1/28/2014 8:31:00 PM more reviews by jeane519

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love Obsession, just as much as I loved the 80's! I miss the strong perfumes, now everyone seems to be so sensitive that I can only wear it at home.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 1/18/2014 9:21:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

What a great debut this stuff made back in '85! Turning the fragrance world on its head-- as much with its naughty ads as with its heady, luscious, velvety sillage. The juxtaposition of sharp green bergamot and tagetes with thick spices was really something new. I remember wearing the Designer Imposter and lemming the real deal. The stuff was so sexually overt for its time, it caused synchronized ovulations across America.

I own a couple of vintage bottles, one splash EDP from 1986 and one spray from the mid-'90s, as well as the current incarnation (which is a bit thinner and more dilute, lacking in some of the sebaceous muskiness of the original, but still not markedly different). And I have to say... Obsession hasn't aged well. Not nearly as well, ironically, as some much older Orientals like Shalimar and Emeraude.

I daresay that Obsession's cinnamon-amber-tonka base-- which had to be that ornate in order to fit in with its zeitgeist of shoulder pads, cocaine, and rampant materialism-- now reads as dated and stale to my nose. Even a bit dirty: the odor of that guy on the bus, whose exact bodily origin you'd rather not consider. As much as I admire Obsession's distinctive signature, I don't think it's a true classic as much as a product of another time, another place. It will remain in my fond possession, along with my pouffy metallic prom dress, but neither will actually be worn again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indiawilkes on 11/30/2013 2:10:00 AM more reviews by indiawilkes

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am an educated 57 year old southern lady who found the ads for Obsession so annoying that I avoided smelling or sampling it til TODAY! Damn, This stuff is to die for gorgeous, rich , feminine and SEXY. Best yet , the price is reasonable and the fragrance lasts all day and then some. I still am turned off by the cheesy ads, but this fragrance is undeniably powerful in a head turning way .

I am sniffing what I sampled earlier today , which has not faded in ten hours. Tomorrow I will march back and buy a bottle .I am a fan of classy orientals like Coco , Opium, and Euphoria , which are timeless classics. Euphoria , another Calvin Klein , is a fragrance that yields endless compliments , projects well, and lasts and lasts in a sultry way also. This one has a vanilla and musk vibe that is perfect and SOPHISTICATED.

Euphoria and Obsession are fabulous buys for the money !

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Seemi on 9/27/2013 2:52:00 PM more reviews by Seemi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My oh my where to begin..,,, well let's just say this lady adores Obsession the vintage version not the current. Vintage is all about the soft creamy vanilla musk dry dons which I absolutely adore. This perfume will wear you if your not careful so use a light hand. Top quality ingredients make this fantastic in my mind so much more bang for your buck. Go out and anoint yourself.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 7/16/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First whiff-adoration! No matter what others say, I will always love this perfume. I truly believe all the hype and commercialization has turned people off through the years and that is a true shame. It's a beautiful fragrance that should not be taken lightly.
A warm, powdery, sweet scent with amber laden spices surrounding and tickling your nose. Creaminess abounds throughout the different layers and surround your olfactory senses constantly.
Vanilla, peach, citrus and basil are what I get in the top notes, spices, oakmoss and cedar in the middle, and amber, musk, civet, incense and vetiver in the base. This is such a complicated fragrance and that's the reason I delight in it.
Obsession gives me an image of leather riding boots, cable knit winter white sweaters over well-worn Levis, cozy comfortable clothing, a pashmina scarf tossed casually around my neck. It has a hint of masculinity, yes, very definitely. It appeals to the yin and yang of our souls. Forget the commercials and what the media has told you. Spray it again on a vulnerable spot and luxuriate in yourself. You'll be glad you tried it again. It's a sensual fragrance that awakens your inner self.
Although it seems more of a night-time fragrance based in the cooler months, I love wearing it year-round. It's mystique and scent is just that delicious.
It's rather long-lasting, more than 6 hours on me. It's sillage radiates also beyond yourself depending on how much you spray, so be careful. One spray is more than enough.
Top Notes: Green Notes, Mandarin Orange, Vanilla, Basil, Peach, Bergamot, Lemon.
Middle Notes: Spices, Coriander, Sandalwood, Orange Blossom, Oakmoss, Cedar, Rose, Jasmine.
Base Notes: Musk, Civet, Vanilla, Amber, Vetiver, Incense.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 6/15/2013 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had the original Obsession as a teenager in the 1980s. I can tell you that this version you get in Sephora these days is truly crap. There are no other words for it. The only time Obsession these days , smells remotely like the 5 star Obsession I knew is when smelling it on the sprayer and perhaps for a couple of seconds on skin. It then becomes a parody of itself. It smells like cheap ,horrible plastic crap. very bad. It's not worth the price. very disappointing.The original Obsession was a fantastic fragrance with depth and longevity and presence, character.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 girlraven on 5/22/2013 6:06:00 AM more reviews by girlraven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got a set of Calvin Klein minis and they where all generic and boring! This one in particular was rank! I gave it away

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candystripelegs on 5/13/2013 9:20:00 PM more reviews by candystripelegs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have never owned a vintage bottle but as far as the "new" formulation goes, I approve!! I applied this at 9am and it is now nearly 8pm and this has left a wonderful musky/vanilla/amber softness to my skin. I purchased this mini bottle for about $15 at Target I think, if you are looking for a scent that lasts all day, this is an incredible value and the tiny bottle should last you quite awhile since you really don't need more than a few drops.


Upon first spray, I get a sense of something woodsy,balmy and green, oakmoss perhaps? Honestly, it smells very similar to a man's aftershave, there is nothing ladylike/girlie about this scent. Then the civet and spices and amber kick in like WHOA. If you happened to over-spray you will regret it big time in about an hour. It gets very sweet but not bakery vanilla sweet...I can't really explain it. It's like a heavy amber honey syrup infused with exotic spices. Despite it's sweetness, I feel this is actually a unisex scent.


I have been wearing this to work and loving it. Not sure if I would wear it on a date though...on one hand, it is very sweet but it's also dirty/primal and very unisex, This is kind of like Tabu and Opium and some of the other vintage powerhouses that scream SEX...men either love it and will ravish you or they will say you "smell like their mom" or ask "where you with another man tonight?"

My skin/chemistry eats perfume, 99% of body sprays and light floral/aquatic scents are wasted on me. This stuff is a keeper in my book.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Calvin Klein products

More Fragrances products