Palladio Rice Powder

4.0

276 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Calcium Carbonate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance


on 2/23/2015 8:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Perfection. So lightweight and little goes a long way. The price is the best part!



on 2/19/2015 3:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in Translucent due to the good reviews here in MUA, but sadly, this did not work for me. I've tried several ways of using it: a. As a setting powder- emphasized flakey spots; b. As a standalone powder/foundation- didn't fully sink into my skin no matter how much I buffed it on; c. As a touchup powder- looked weird & got cakey. Also, even if it says Translucent, it does have some color in it, & oxidized on me even if it was the only thing I have on my face. I'm not thrilled with the scent too and I got a few spots when I used it. To be fair, it also has some pros: a. Inexpensive; b. You get a lot of product; c. Contains some ingredients that are better than its competitors. I wanted to like this product so I kept it for a while, but when I cannot muster the energy to use it after a year, I chucked it away.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

About the packaging: the picture is not a picture of a geisha! In the 1950s a lot of Chinese calendars and other products had pictures of girls on them. This is a Chinese girl from the 1950s. She has the 50s perm and is wearing a Chinese dress. I am Chinese and don't find this picture offensive at all. It's supposed to be kitschy, like having a picture of Marilyn Monroe on your makeup compact. The Palladio Rice Powder packaging is a bit like the packaging of TheBalm cosmetics. I don't know if rice powder is an "ancient" Chinese beauty product as it's probably not possible to know what people used in those times; but it is a very old beauty product used in many parts of Asia (by old I mean hundreds of years old as opposed to 5 or 6 thousand years old, which is actually ancient). T.LeClerc also makes a loose rice powder that is perfumed. If you want to save money and find bismuth irritating to your skin, the Palladio is a cheaper option. The T.LeClerc loose powder also originally came in tins that were not travel friendly. I bought some in 2006 and I had to sticky tape the lid on for traveling. The main difference between the Palladio and T.LeClerc is that T.LeClerc makes more colours.


on 1/27/2015 9:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Despite it is a good powder, I feel like it leaves my skin a little bit lighter than it is. It lasts all day and that's amazing.


on 12/12/2014 4:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the second loose powder I have used and I really like it. I use it everyday and it gives me a really nice and natural glow. The only two things I don't like of this powder is that I have to apply it distant from my body or my clothes will be powdered, sometimes I notice it when I arrive work or while driving. The second thing I don't like is the packaging, the lid comes out easily. Anyway, I would buy this again if I don't find something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2014 12:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I've heard a lot about this product and I really like it! It kept my forehead and nose *pretty* matte looking and it set everything well. The only thing that could potentially be a problem is the lid, which doesn't seem to secure all that well, but that's nothing. Overall this is an awesome product, and I will be repurchasing it.


on 9/14/2014 11:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

packaging is the only con but with a rubberband on hand yo keep the lid shut its my favorite mattifying powder

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2014 6:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favorite powder :) I have sensitive skin so I discovered "natural" products work better on me, no redness or any bad reaction.

For everyday I use the traslucent and when I want more color the natural even my fave is the first one because I found the other a bit darker than me but works ok. I like how it looks after Garnier BB cream or alone :)

Last all day and also works perfect when you want your lipstick all day

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2014 12:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love this powder because it doesn't make me break out, and it covers nicely!! My only complaints are that you have to reapply frequently and the packaging could be better. The lid falls off pretty easily and can make a mess in my make-up bag if it gets tousled around. Other than those minor setbacks I highly recommend this powder to people with acne prone skin!


on 7/17/2014 11:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This loose powder if fantastic. I bought a container on a whim and I don't regret it.
It effectively sets makeup, controls shine, and mattifies skin. Warning: A little goes a long way. Use a light hand when applying this stuff.
My skin is so pale that I can use this powder almost like a powder foundation after I have applied primer (I bought translucent). It feels good on the skin and has never caused me any irritation or to break out. I love it.
Of course I use it over my liquid foundation too. I tend to use it when I'm going for a more retro look, what with red lipstick and a black cat eye, as it really seems to provide that naturally matte finish that brings it all together.
However, the packaging leaves a lot to be desired. So, that is why it has only a four out of five from me. It can get messy very quickly. If I travel with it I tend to keep it in a plastic bag separate from my other makeup, just to avoid a messy spill. Or just tape the lid shut...
You do get a lot of product in this container though. Despite being relatively small, the powder supply seems endless. This, along with the fine quality of the powder, makes it a great value for the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin

Back to Top