La Roche Posay • Cicaplast • Treatments

rated 3.9(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 CombatWombat on 3/26/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this product two ways: as a barrier cream to aid recovery, and as a makeup primer, so I'll break this review into two parts. Cicaplast is a fragrance-free, relatively thick gel with a smooth, silicone finish that is slightly shiny but not greasy. The package is a long, narrow tube with a screw-off cap (somewhat fiddly) and a narrow nozzle.

Barrier cream: I've used this product on dry, sore blemishes to help them heal faster, over the top of a more fluid lip balm to help dry lips, and my mom has borrowed it to use on the backs of her dry, cracking hands. It has performed well in all cases, helping skin to heal faster and reducing friction over the skin so that it's not re-injured. It will not take the place of a regular moisturizer or of a first aid treatment, but this product bridges the gap between these two things very nicely. It has not contributed to any further pore clogging or outbreaks.

Primer: I've found that this works better over small areas to smooth down texture rather than applied all over the face. It does not help my concealer to last longer and does not prevent eye makeup from creasing or facing. It does correct the texture of rough patches of skin (flakes, large pores, drying blemishes) so that I can apply concealer over them with minimal caking. If you're looking for an all-over primer to improve the performance of your makeup, I don't recommend Cicaplast. If you're looking to even out specific areas of poor texture to help with makeup application and performance, this is worth a try.

Overall, a very nice product to have and I would repurchase it, but it's not an absolute essential. Does its job very well but is not an item that everyone needs. I would prefer a flip cap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarahellen1980 on 3/11/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by sarahellen1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I like this product: when my skin is irritated, red, and maybe at the end of that little episode of 'Spots and lots of em' this product will calm my skin, reduce redness and make everything ok. Not to be used everyday (for me its quite heavy and I suspect could be a pore blocker!) but one to take out now and again when the face is misbehaving, or better to help it heal after misbehaving. Plus its quite cheap for what you get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Carybear on 11/19/2013 4:56:00 AM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product, it has all I wanted~gel cream, unscented, light and has slip, so it would make a great primer, but...
It makes my face itch; wheals, welts, hives. But it healed some pick scars (I know I know) pretty fast. Maybe it's all the silicone. I don't *think* I do very well with 'cones. I'll exchange for Cicaplast Baume B5. I'll review that accordingly. Sheeyat. I liked the texture so much :'(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miloshy on 11/16/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Miloshy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing product, I'm really impressed by this product...I got a 3ml sample of cicaplast a couple of months ago and used it on my cheeks that got irritated by Clarisonic...for 3 days my skin was red and hurt. I applied cicaplast 2-3 times and in 2 days my cheeks came back to normal and I felt like my skin got stronger so I continued using my clarisonic without any problem. So last week I got a really bad cold, I kept sneezing every minute like crazy and my nose got so red, flaky and my skin hurt a lot...again, I applied it 1-2 times and my skin calmed down incredibly. So today I went to the pharmacy and bought the full size (for 110 norwegian krones) coz this is really worth the money, I would purchase it even if it cost the double... just whish the PAO was 12 months instead of 6, most lrp products have a really short PAO!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChiahHui on 9/24/2013 9:00:00 PM more reviews by ChiahHui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

WILL NEVER LIVE WITHOUT THIS. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. I am on Accutane and have dry flaky dehydrated eczema prone skin that still breaks out time to time (only on my 3rd month) so yeah my skin pretty much went thru hell until I found this amazing soothing primer/skin healer. I wash my face, tone, apply a hydrating serum (Bioderma Hydrabio Serum - check it out!) and then I use this all over as a primer. it seals in the moisture from my hydrators too. and provides a nice smooth base for my bb cream/foundation. makeup lasts all day, even when I cry or sweat. and this smoothes away all the darned flakies! DOES NOT CLOG PORES. DOES NOT. make sure u remove it properly at the end of the night as it is silicone based. I use the Bioderma micelle solution, gets it all off. my skin is smooth, less eczema prone, red marks heal faster. I've stocked up on 2 extra bottles! buy it!!!!!! now! wash tone hydrating serum (IMPORTANT) Cicaplast foundation/bb cream powder to set if u want to :) (I use mac prep and prime loose translucent powder). voilah flawless skin. yes even on Accutane. best of luck!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 meumar on 7/25/2013 11:32:00 PM more reviews by meumar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after reading rave reviews extolling its healing powers on various beauty blogs. Honestly it did nothing on an ingrown hair scar that I keep picking at, and it also burns slightly if I apply it to red, peeling skin. Good old Polysporin honestly works much better.

I have dry skin, so I tried it on my dry patches and peeling lips - it didn't make any difference.

Overall I found it a waste of money. Maybe I'll try the Avene Cicalfate next. My skin tends to do better with rich creams rather than siliconey products like this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 5/16/2013 9:24:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have normal combination skin and use this product only in certain areas that time to time need some heeling. I would normally use Cicaplast after acne treatments that tend to make skin extremely dry and/ or flaky. Also used it around my nose to heal the skin after rubbing it too much when having a running nose. Cicaplast helped with this too.
Tried using the product on my lips as a balm and as over night treatment. but could not see any considerable effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FakeLashes on 5/9/2013 7:49:00 AM more reviews by FakeLashes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have eczema sensitive (dry) skin and I bought this to use as a primer, because my skin can look flaky/dry with foundation. This did not help and I did not like it as a primer, on chapped skin it also gave me a burning feeling and around my lips (very sensitive there) it made me itchy. I tried to use this up by using it on my eczema patches on the inside off my elbows, but it did not really do anything there besides giving me a burning feeling. If you have sensitive, dry or eczema skin I would try a sample first to see how your skin reacts to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 samcb on 4/21/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by samcb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this online expecting it to arrive after doing a face peel but it didnt so I went out to Boots to get the Cicaplast Baume which was brilliant for soothing and healing my peeling face.

Have tried it out nevertheless, layering it on as a primer for makeup.

I agree with other reviewers that this is not very moisturising, although it does a good job of priming the face for makeup, smoothing away any dry patches of skin and making it stay on due to the silicones in it. My skin was peeling like mad for a few days and this really helped with putting my mineral makeup on.

Having said that I have never used a primer so I cant judge how good it does the job. To me it's pretty good as my makeup did not budge after 8-9 hrs, although it was showing signs of wear.

That said- it's not quite a HG for me. I like it enough but I dont think it would feature in my arsenal of skincare again once I finish this. The cicaplast baume is better value for money, more moisturising and better suited for my skincare regime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Duleiana on 3/6/2013 9:00:00 AM more reviews by Duleiana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is a great product for dry skin, or for normal skin with dry patches. It also helps me to heal my wounds and it is useful during the winter to keep your lip smooth. Many people use it as a primer (I've heard the it is great for people with skin problems) but I've personally never tried it as a face primer. But my lipsticks stay longer on if I use cicaplast on my lips first. A very good product, I recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments products