La Roche Posay Cicaplast

3.8

63 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER GLYCERIN CYCLOPENTASILOXANE CYCLOHEXASILOXANE DIMETHICONE C30-45 ALKYL DIMETHICONE SODIUM CITRATE PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE PANTHENOL ZINC GLUCONATE MADECASSOSIDE DIMETHICONOL MANGANESE GLUCONATE SODIUM HYALURONATE DISODIUM EDTA COPPER GLUCONATE CITRIC ACID POLYSORBATE 20 SODIUM BENZOATE


on 7/4/2015 11:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Before you get too excited, I have only been using this product for a few days, but I really wanted to share my experience so far with you all, but I will do an edit in a few weeks to update.

Months ago, I watched the Lisa Eldridge acne covering make up tutorial on YouTube. As an acne sufferer myself, I obviously took very special attention to her techniques and her products she was using throughout the video. She raved about La Roche Posay's Cicaplast Pro Recovery as a make up primer for people suffering with spots. I immediately bought a tube, but actually purchased the wrong product - instead I bought the 'BAUME B5' cream, not knowing it wasn't the same product that was used in the video. Months later, I realised this, so went ahead and bought the actual product she has used, the pro recovery cream/gel.

This past week, I have 3 incredibly annoying spots on my face that won't seem to budge, even though I am making a huge effort to destroy them!! (NOT picking them though!) Every time I've applied my make up since buying this product, I have used beforehand as a primer, only on the 'problem' areas of my face. Wow. I swear since I've used it the angry red lumps on my face have gone down incredibly, I'm amazed. I feel like this is an excellent product to soothe and help get rid of horrible spots - which is great because I kinda feel like it's doing the work whilst I'm wearing make up.

Like I said, it's only been a few days, and you can never be sure that soon, so I will update in a few weeks, but right now, I LOVE THIS STUFF!

If you suffer from spots or any nasty skin patches, I urge you to buy a tube of this stuff immediately!



on 2/18/2015 9:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I saw this on YouTube in a video by Lisa Eldridge . It's relatively inexpensive as a la roche posay product but works beautifully for irritated skin. I have used it on small acne spots, post facial or when my rosecia acts up. There is no other product quite like this. It's literally a plaster for troubled skin. With cicaplast you can use treatment on spots cover with cicaplast and then apply makeup. It speeds up skin healing. Wonderful indeed

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2015 5:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The product has nice consistency of a gel, it is indeed invisible and non sticky. But my sensitive post-procedure skin turned bright red after applying the product. It made my skin uncomfortably tight and itchy. A major disappointment.

P.S.: I have no problem applying products with high % of zinc right after procedures. So I recommend them rather than this one.


on 12/16/2014 10:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

amazing!


on 11/8/2014 6:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So disapointet.

Pros:
- When applied spot concealing is more easy - it conceales better for somehow.

Cons:
- NO oil control (!!)
- Can make my foundation seem much heavyer and cacky (not everytime, but almost)
- I'm concernt that this is the reason for some huge breakouts (but keep in mind that I have no idea if it's caused by something else!)


on 10/4/2014 9:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Planned to use this as a moisturiser but it didn't cut it in that category, can't blame it for that though as it makes no claim to be one. Can't vouch for its healing properties yet as I've only been using it a fortnight. Works well as a primer presumably because of the silicone. Feels very siliconey and gel-like, and it leaves a residue on my skin, like it doesn't seem to sink in properly. The smell doesn't bother me but is definitely there, not fragrant though.

I like the tube because it isn't so stiff that I won't be able to get the last of the product out, and I hate jars because it just seems so unsanitary, so the tube is a win. Packaging is no-frills.
It's cheap enough and a little seems to go a long way so that isn't an issue either.
Seems to leave my skin red, I have rosacea so I can't see this being problematic for most people.

Honestly I'm pretty indifferent, it hasn't caused any breakouts but I really don't like the fact it has silicones in it - I'm not siliconephobic but I'd just rather not have it in my skincare. Can't abide the redness, and, as I said, hasn't been of any benefit to me thus far. I'm going to finish the tube and see if it does my hyperpigmentation/ SD/ rosacea any good in the long-run. I'll update this if it does. As for now it hasn't done any harm. This would probably be a good treatment to be paired with an intensive moisturiser for those on accutane because it does smooth out the skin and it does work nicely as a base for makeup.
Might be good as a barrier for people who are derma rolling too. I think if I ever started derma rolling I'd try this out again, though I think Healgel Intensive might do the job better on that front.


on 8/22/2014 10:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely fair oily skin I use this product constantly when I get a blemish it helps it heal faster so I don't scar too bad when its gone. Having very fair skin my scars take much longer to fade when I get a blemish and this product when used as a spot treatment hands down is the best for helping the epidermis of my skin heal faster. where my skin is so oily I can't use this in the day if im going out in public because its not greasy but gives a shine to my face so I use it as a night treatment. Amazing product, even if you have normal, dry, oily etc type skin its a great product to have on hand.


on 3/26/2014 9:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've used this product two ways: as a barrier cream to aid recovery, and as a makeup primer, so I'll break this review into two parts. Cicaplast is a fragrance-free, relatively thick gel with a smooth, silicone finish that is slightly shiny but not greasy. The package is a long, narrow tube with a screw-off cap (somewhat fiddly) and a narrow nozzle.

Barrier cream: I've used this product on dry, sore blemishes to help them heal faster, over the top of a more fluid lip balm to help dry lips, and my mom has borrowed it to use on the backs of her dry, cracking hands. It has performed well in all cases, helping skin to heal faster and reducing friction over the skin so that it's not re-injured. It will not take the place of a regular moisturizer or of a first aid treatment, but this product bridges the gap between these two things very nicely. It has not contributed to any further pore clogging or outbreaks.

Primer: I've found that this works better over small areas to smooth down texture rather than applied all over the face. It does not help my concealer to last longer and does not prevent eye makeup from creasing or facing. It does correct the texture of rough patches of skin (flakes, large pores, drying blemishes) so that I can apply concealer over them with minimal caking. If you're looking for an all-over primer to improve the performance of your makeup, I don't recommend Cicaplast. If you're looking to even out specific areas of poor texture to help with makeup application and performance, this is worth a try.

Overall, a very nice product to have and I would repurchase it, but it's not an absolute essential. Does its job very well but is not an item that everyone needs. I would prefer a flip cap.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like this product: when my skin is irritated, red, and maybe at the end of that little episode of 'Spots and lots of em' this product will calm my skin, reduce redness and make everything ok. Not to be used everyday (for me its quite heavy and I suspect could be a pore blocker!) but one to take out now and again when the face is misbehaving, or better to help it heal after misbehaving. Plus its quite cheap for what you get.


on 11/19/2013 4:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like this product, it has all I wanted~gel cream, unscented, light and has slip, so it would make a great primer, but...
It makes my face itch; wheals, welts, hives. But it healed some pick scars (I know I know) pretty fast. Maybe it's all the silicone. I don't *think* I do very well with 'cones. I'll exchange for Cicaplast Baume B5. I'll review that accordingly. Sheeyat. I liked the texture so much :'(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
Back to Top