MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

La Roche Posay • Cicaplast • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.9(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 CombatWombat on 3/26/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this product two ways: as a barrier cream to aid recovery, and as a makeup primer, so I'll break this review into two parts. Cicaplast is a fragrance-free, relatively thick gel with a smooth, silicone finish that is slightly shiny but not greasy. The package is a long, narrow tube with a screw-off cap (somewhat fiddly) and a narrow nozzle.

Barrier cream: I've used this product on dry, sore blemishes to help them heal faster, over the top of a more fluid lip balm to help dry lips, and my mom has borrowed it to use on the backs of her dry, cracking hands. It has performed well in all cases, helping skin to heal faster and reducing friction over the skin so that it's not re-injured. It will not take the place of a regular moisturizer or of a first aid treatment, but this product bridges the gap between these two things very nicely. It has not contributed to any further pore clogging or outbreaks.

Primer: I've found that this works better over small areas to smooth down texture rather than applied all over the face. It does not help my concealer to last longer and does not prevent eye makeup from creasing or facing. It does correct the texture of rough patches of skin (flakes, large pores, drying blemishes) so that I can apply concealer over them with minimal caking. If you're looking for an all-over primer to improve the performance of your makeup, I don't recommend Cicaplast. If you're looking to even out specific areas of poor texture to help with makeup application and performance, this is worth a try.

Overall, a very nice product to have and I would repurchase it, but it's not an absolute essential. Does its job very well but is not an item that everyone needs. I would prefer a flip cap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miloshy on 11/16/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Miloshy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing product, I'm really impressed by this product...I got a 3ml sample of cicaplast a couple of months ago and used it on my cheeks that got irritated by Clarisonic...for 3 days my skin was red and hurt. I applied cicaplast 2-3 times and in 2 days my cheeks came back to normal and I felt like my skin got stronger so I continued using my clarisonic without any problem. So last week I got a really bad cold, I kept sneezing every minute like crazy and my nose got so red, flaky and my skin hurt a lot...again, I applied it 1-2 times and my skin calmed down incredibly. So today I went to the pharmacy and bought the full size (for 110 norwegian krones) coz this is really worth the money, I would purchase it even if it cost the double... just whish the PAO was 12 months instead of 6, most lrp products have a really short PAO!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChiahHui on 9/24/2013 9:00:00 PM more reviews by ChiahHui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

WILL NEVER LIVE WITHOUT THIS. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. I am on Accutane and have dry flaky dehydrated eczema prone skin that still breaks out time to time (only on my 3rd month) so yeah my skin pretty much went thru hell until I found this amazing soothing primer/skin healer. I wash my face, tone, apply a hydrating serum (Bioderma Hydrabio Serum - check it out!) and then I use this all over as a primer. it seals in the moisture from my hydrators too. and provides a nice smooth base for my bb cream/foundation. makeup lasts all day, even when I cry or sweat. and this smoothes away all the darned flakies! DOES NOT CLOG PORES. DOES NOT. make sure u remove it properly at the end of the night as it is silicone based. I use the Bioderma micelle solution, gets it all off. my skin is smooth, less eczema prone, red marks heal faster. I've stocked up on 2 extra bottles! buy it!!!!!! now! wash tone hydrating serum (IMPORTANT) Cicaplast foundation/bb cream powder to set if u want to :) (I use mac prep and prime loose translucent powder). voilah flawless skin. yes even on Accutane. best of luck!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Duleiana on 3/6/2013 9:00:00 AM more reviews by Duleiana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is a great product for dry skin, or for normal skin with dry patches. It also helps me to heal my wounds and it is useful during the winter to keep your lip smooth. Many people use it as a primer (I've heard the it is great for people with skin problems) but I've personally never tried it as a face primer. But my lipsticks stay longer on if I use cicaplast on my lips first. A very good product, I recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FrankieVercammen on 7/29/2012 4:40:00 AM more reviews by FrankieVercammen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I always had perfect skin until a year ago when I got a heavy case of rosacea. I am approaching 50 and have fair, very thin skin. The rosacea is finally healing now. I had bought Cicaplast because I stumbled on it in the pharmacy, and wanted to keep it for when my rosacea had cleared and I would have a chemical peeling to help even out the scars. But then I saw a make-up video on Youtube from Lisa Eldridge (lisaeldridgedotcom) on how to cover up acne skin. She uses Cicaplast as a primer. So I started using it, and it cleared the flaky skin patches in two days. I still have spots but they don't flake any longer, they heal better and the skin is smoother. The product - even a thin layer - does stick (the product mainly contains silicones) but I find that my skin really benefits from this artificial barrier, and it keeps me from plucking at my skin. I apply Vichy Dermablend foundation with a brush over the Cicaplast layer. The foundation stays in place well throughout the day. As an added bonus, at 12 CHF (= ca. 12 US dollars) for a tube, it is not expensive at all.
I have - as some reviewers have mentioned - experienced a tingling / itching feeling and some redness directly after applying Cicaplast - but this disappeared after 15-20 minutes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silviabeloved on 7/2/2012 6:06:00 AM more reviews by silviabeloved

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This does what it claims to do. It calms your skin down and speeds up the healing process, I can't count how many times it has saved my sensitive skin from some nasty reaction. Most of the time, this is actually the only moisturizer I feel safe enough to use on my face, it's fragrance free, paraben free, and has an anti-bacteria adhension texture, and it REALLY does add moisture to your skin, which should be very basic for any moisturizer in theory, but sadly is not the case in reality, there are so many crappy moisturizers out there in the market (don't even get me started on that........) And since I use it as a moisturizer, and I never have the habit of using any kind of primer, I don't know if it helps with my makeup or not, I am usually the kind of girl that has the same look of makeup at the end of the day even on a hot humid summer day, but what I can be very sure is, it does my skin A LOT OF good.

One thing though, if your skin is damaged or too dry, it might hurt a bit when you first put this on the affected area, but the pain goes away very quickly.

Brilliant packaging, like most LRP products.

Edit: Did I mention how much I love the ingredient list? It's short and pack full of good stuff, including SODIUM HYALURONATE!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SarahOliver on 4/6/2012 10:57:00 AM more reviews by SarahOliver

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this product! I found out about it out whilst watching Lisa Eldridge a makeup artist, she used it when doing a tutorial on how to cover acne. I have to say this product has worked far better than I ever thought it would, It has really calmed my problem skin down and my whole face is so smooth to touch, which makes putting on makeup so much easier, and also a lot easier to cover the acne. I wear this morning and evening after washing my face thoroughly with a gentle cleanser and toner, because of this I wear it under my makeup and just use it as a sort of primer. The product says that it is for flaking, chapped skin and post cosmetic peels to help the skins recovery process by protecting it. For anyone who suffers with problem skin I really would give this a try at 13 from Boots its not the cheapest but I would buy this again in a heartbeat!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scooby12 on 3/27/2012 8:09:00 AM more reviews by scooby12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

After Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish had destroyed my skin and dehydrated it to the max I was looking for something to help heal my dry patches (normally combination skin) and the rash that the Liz Earle left on both sides of my nose. This stuff has been amazing, it feels luxurious and my skin was amazingly soft even after one days use. I can't recommend this highly enough. My skin is now smooth, no rash and baby soft. Also it only cost 12.50. Tube contains 40ml and as you only use a tiny bit in the morning and at night it should last a good while. My make up also feels and looks amazing after I use this product. I would go as far as saying my skin has not looked this healthy in years.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 famey88 on 2/4/2012 9:40:00 AM more reviews by famey88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this product. I have acne-prone combination skin for which I use Duac Once Daily gel at night. Although I moisturise morning and night (using Liz Earle products) I am still left with dry skin patches on my cheeks and chin from the Duac, particularly around some of the larger cystic spots. My foundation usually clings to these areas making it impossible to conceal them. After seeing Lisa Eldridge use this as a primer in her acne-covering makeup tutorial, I picked some up at a local chemist for 13. I have used it over my morning moisturiser for the past two mornings and it really does provide a fantastic base for foundation, smoothing over all of those dry patches so that my foundation is a lot easier to apply and provides a more even coverage. I wouldn't say that it provides any oil control, but it doesn't claim to. For the price, I would say that it is a fantastic product for priming dry patches of skin before foundation and I will definitely be repurchasing (although this tube should last me a good few months as very little is required).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnaODowd on 1/23/2012 4:42:00 PM more reviews by AnnaODowd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I saw this used by Lisa Eldridge in her acne concealing tutorial and she said it made a good make up primer for combination skin.
I wholeheartedly agree, this beats Laura Gellar's Spackle or any other primer product I've used hands down.
It keeps the flaky patchy dry bits smooth and doesn't over moisturise the oilier bits. Liquid foundation goes on perfecty when applied with a damp sponge to blend it out.
Have already re-purchased this little gem, only 12 in pharmacies but bafflingly priced at nearly 18 in Boots.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments (Face) products