The Body Shop Vitamin C Micro Refiner

4.4

58 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

aqua, sodium diatomeae, glycerin, prunus dulcis, dimethicone, butyruspernum parkii, cetearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, phenoxyethanol, PEG-100 stearate, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, polysorbate 60, methylparaben, xanthan gum, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, propylparaben, sodium hydroxide, parfum, limonene, disodium EDTA, linalool, benzyl benzoate, hexyl cinnamal, citrus dulcis, citrus grandis, citronellol, citral, geraniol, benzyl alcohol.


on 1/11/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great scrub. I use about 2-3 times a week and can usually tell when my 40+ skin needs it again because I get that layer of dullness/shiny-ness and my skincare products don't absorb as well.

I bought this to replace the Philosophy Microdelivery Peel 2-piece kit that I was using for years, and loved. Is it just me or are Philosophy products getting more and more expensive? That kit is now $72! I think the Body Shop scrub works almost as well, costs 1/3 of the price and is hygienic because I can squeeze the product out of the tube. Highly recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/10/2014 10:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm on my second purchase. It does a good job of exfoliating my skin, smells great, and doesn't cause me to break out.


on 1/31/2014 12:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

After reading the review on this product on here, i bought it. And i agree with others, this is a nice scrub that makes your skin even glow more and gives a fresh polished look. And the softness stays all day. Love it. Would totally buy it again after i run out. I have it now 2 months and use it twice a week or less but the tube is still really full. Bet you can use it for 6 months or more!

Edit, I've used it now completely. Took me 1,5 years! Great scrub! Buying this again soon.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2013 4:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this is really effective..but a little bit harsh so i tend to use in the shower . the steam in the shower somehow makes it less harsh on my face .i steam my face and then glide this scrub on my face and just leave it to work its magic as a mask on my face and neck while scrubing the rest of my body then i wash it without scrubbing hard ..just gentle circular motions is all i need to get rid of any dead skin , i do really see a difference in my skin tone and texture , my foundation looks great after using this

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2013 1:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is absolutely my favorite scrub. I have oily skin in the summer and combination in the winter, and so far this scrub has worked really well for me this summer season.
A little goes a long way with this product; I only use it about 2x a week when I do my weekly at home facial. I steam my face, apply a dime sized amount, then use a vibrating facial brush (Olay's Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing Brush) for about 2 mins on each side of my face. Never EVER has my face felt so polished and squeaky clean - I am obsessed (I usually follow with Bliss 15-min Steep Facial and my La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water and my usual toner and Chanel Purete Ideale moisturizer).
The price isn't too bad considering what's in it and how well the product works.
Only downfall is if you have sensitive skin, I do not recommend this seeing as it has both vitamin C and fine crystals that can irritate your skin (tried this on my boyfriend and said it felt like his skin was burning - he has very thin/sensitive clear skin)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I use this scrub twice a week because I have a really oily t-zone and tend to get blackheads (UGH!) if I don't exfoliate enough. A lot of so called scrubs are more like all cream with not nearly enough little random beads that don't really do much! This scrub does just what it says- scrubs! and refines. It makes skin SUPER smooth and more even toned by sloughing off all the nasty dead cells. Just don't scrub too long or too hard, it's easy to get carried away and a little OCD with it LOL. Anyway my skin is definitely a lot more clear now that I've worked the vit c scrub into my skin care reg. <3 it


on 4/24/2013 12:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is for the Vitamin C Microdermabrasion version.

I really like this scrub. I didn't plan to buy it but I stumbled over it in the Tax Free place on a cruise and decided to try it. I didn't know whether it'd be good, so my first time using it was intriguing... I lightly massaged my face with it for a minute or so and the moment I rinsed it off my face was so soft! You don't need a lot of product and you don't have to scrub very hard at all really because of the texture of it.

I've since I first got it used it regularly and I love it. My skin has no problem tolerating it when I use it more than twice a week but then again I have oily and acne prone skin that's used to harsh treatments. But I do find myself going back to a scrub with bigger pieces in it every once in a while as the Vitamin C one doesn't remove all the peels from healing zits and so on.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2013 11:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is a fantastic face scrub it leaves my skin refreshed, smooth, bright and gets all rid of all dead skin. It smells lovely and is very exfoliating. I can't stand 'gentle' scrubs as I feel they do nothing for my skin. This grains are small but effective and not harsh at all. I will definitely repurchase this, especially when The Body Shop has a 50% off discount code.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2013 5:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I hate every other skincare product the body shop sells except for this. I bought this because i have oily, acne prone skin, and wanted an at home microdermabrasion that i could use every week or two instead of getting them done professionally. While it is quite expensive, i have had by tube for ages now and don't think that i'm anywhere near close to empty. This is because you only need to use a tiny amount. I like the feeling of the beads on my skin, it feels very refreshing while it is also a great exfoliator. This helps to bring the baddies to bay but leaves me with great skin afterwards!


on 3/12/2013 5:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a review for the Vitamin C Microdermabrasion Scrub. I think it was either renamed or reformulated.
I was sceptical about it at first because the particles are so small when I like harsh scrubs with screamy texture (think St.Ives apricot scrb). But I gave in and got it with a 10% off Body Shop loyalty card. It reminds me very much of the Chanel's Gommage Eclat Express - lots of small particles in a cream-gel texture.
I don't love it, but I don't hate it either. I would rather say I like it quite much. It is an effective polish, not gentle, but not too harsh or abrasive. The only drawback is the vitamin C, which stings my sensitive skin in some areas so I have to use this very quickly and carefully otherwise I get a burning sensation around my nose and eye area. I don't get any instant glow or anything like that. I do feel squeaky clean and very polished, which is exactly why I need a scrub in the first place. I actually enjoy using this very much.
The packaging is lovely, I adore skincare in squeeze-tubes or bottles. Would totally repurchase and continue using it unless I find something in the same price range (or cheaper) which would be similar but not have irritating components. The product is worth the price because you don't need a lot of it at once and the tube would last me several months.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top