LUSH Caca Marron

3.5

35 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is great IF you know what you're getting yourself into beforehand. Read on!

The good: a healthy tint (deep chestnut-red), conditioning, and shine. Note that I said TINT. It's a sheer color coat over your hair. If you're looking for a very dramatic change, perhaps the Lush hennas are not for you.

The bad: Messy, and let's be frank, expensive, but so's everything from Lush. I find that the application itself is not that messy, as I'm an at-home haircoloring pro, but the rinse-out is incredibly time-consuming and turns my shower into what looks like a poop massacre. So be warned about that.

If you're expecting the Lush hennas to act like a store-bought chemical haircolor, you will probably be disappointed. For me, I'd returned to medium brown after a couple of years as a strawberry blonde. I'd damaged my hair with the lightening and reddening, and even though I had deepened my color again chemically, my hair wasn't in good condition. It had lost its luster and some of its curl. When my roots grew a bit, I decided to go for the henna.

I mixed two squares of Marron and two squares of Brun. (In hindsight, could have gone for one and a half squares of each. My hair is thick and about shoulder length.)

Didn't do all the add-ins (coffee, wine?) that Lush nerds recommend, ain't nobody got time for that. Just used a knife to cut the squares into smallish chunks, put into a Pyrex bowl, and poured boiling water over to cover. Let sit, stir with fork until most of the chunks are stirred in. Add more hot water. Some people say you should get it to the consistency of brownie batter. That's too thick for me. I like to go thinner, as it's easier to work into the hair. I go for the consistency of a partly melted milkshake.

Added the still-warm mixture to my hair (make sure you're wearing an old shirt and gloves and do this over the bathtub or sink). Really squidged it in there, adding all the extra, because why waste it? Once done, I wrapped my head securely in cling wrap and put a plastic cap over for good measure. This was about 8 pm, I left it in all night and slept in it. Make sure you put towels down over your pillow if you do this - a lot of towels! My hair sucked it up. I didn't experience any leakage down past the wrap and cap.

In the morning was the real trial. It takes a LONG time to rinse out. I used handfuls of conditioner to ease it out of my hair. Three to four rinses, and I'm still getting bits of henna. No worries. Rinse and rinse again - this is when your shower will start to look like the aforementioned poop massacre. Make sure you rinse all the bits away before they dry.

Once I was done rinsing, though - I was so pleased with the results. My haircolor was deepened a couple of brown shades, with beautiful, natural-looking chestnutty red glints (the red especially shows up in the sun). But the henna really relivened my hair with condition and SHINE. So shiny! This is definitely one haircolor you don't have to feel bad about putting on your hair. The cocoa butter and henna brought my hair back to its old self, I could practically feel my hair breathe a sigh of relief.

So yeah, it's a pain in the ass and I'll admit the smell isn't the finest in the world (though, after I rinsed it out, the smell was kind of a pleasant chocolatey-coffee when my hair dried!) but my hair is thanking me and I'm very pleased. 9/10, would buy again.

Additionally, they say that this product loses its potency over time but I'd bought this henna eons ago (probably 2 years ago) and was worried it wouldn't work, but I'm happy to report that it worked fine. I did store it in sealed baggies, so.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/27/2015 12:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Huge tip to all you ladies:
If you want something equally effective, way cheaper, much less messy, easier to use and easier to customize, go to your local Middle Eastern, Halal or South Asian store and buy henna for hair there. Some good brands are Jamila and Noorani. Lush is ripping you off!


on 6/5/2014 7:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have medium brown with slight red undertones, virgin hair and I felt bored of my colour but unwilling to try any chemical dyes- i didn't want anything too drastic, so I decided to give Caca Marron a try. Incredibly messy and definitely worth getting a friend to help you with (to avoid missing any bits) but despite the long process of putting it in and washing it out, the end result was totally worth it for me- my wirey, fine hair looked thicker, conditioned and a beautiful glossy, deep copper colour- more noticeable in the sun. Many people didn't realise I had coloured it, they just commented on how good my hair was looking! As it fades gradually over time, I never had any hint of uneven hair colour from my roots showing through.

Would recommend to anyone wanting to liven up their hair colour and due to the cocoa butter and all sorts of lovely things to condition your hair, this product is great for anyone with dry or fine hair!


on 4/19/2014 5:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Hair background: As a child I had light blonde hair which slowly started darkening and becoming a mousy blonde/brown nasty color. When I was 15 I started dyeing my hair dark brown and continued that for about 7 years. I was also a swimmer during this time so my hair was very chlorine damaged. Once I stopped swimming I decided to start lightening my hair and I got it back to being a very light blonde. I found this hard to maintain - it would look good for a week and then would get very dull and dry looking. I then dyed my hair an ombre so I could start growing out my natural hair. The ombre was starting to not look so great and my mom told me my hair looked dull and had no shine to it whatsoever. I started looking for alternative methods to dye my hair and discovered lush henna.

I started researching online and found that the indigo in the caca brun and caca noir can turn blonde hair a green/grey colour if there are no red tones so I picked the caca marron to try first. Now it is a bit messy to apply but I had my mom do it for me and we were done in about 30 minutes and I have thick mid back length hair. I used all 6 blocks. I actually didn't mind the smell. I left it on for 3 hours. I read another review where a girl said she got all the chunks and coffee grounds out by dunking her head into a bucket full of water while in the shower so I tried that and it worked great! I dunked my head twice and shook my hair around in the water and all the large pieces came out and then I just needed to condition once through to get the rest. I was in the shower for about 15 min. Now lush says to shampoo hair after but some people say that this will strip some of the colour so I didn't use shampoo. I don't normally use shampoo anyway, just water and conditioner. However, since there is sooo much cocoa butter in your hair, your hair will not really dry afterwards. It will remain slick and oily. I went out that night after doing the henna and had to wear my hair up in a sock bun so no one would notice the oiliness.

So as far as colour goes...my roots and the part of my hair that was a light brown colour didn't change drastically but has a nice auburn glow and it is soooo shiny. The part of my hair that was blonde is a bit orange. Nothing I can't hide with an updo but if your whole head is blonde, be aware that you may have to wear a hat for a few days. I'm waiting to see if the orange darkens a bit after oxidation. Now ladies, henna is not a type of dye that you can try once and get a perfect colour!! If you had bad results the first time I do suggest trying it again because the colour builds up after every application and becomes richer. Plus there's no harm in reapplying since it's a deep conditioning treatment as well. I'm going to reapply in a couple of days to get a deeper colour. Any questions, let me know!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Never again. I bought the black version of this dye (caca noir) and it was the biggest waste of money! I found it extremely hard to apply, and the turnout was awful. It made my hair this really gross looking reddish brown shade. The next day I had to cover it up with a black semi permanent dye, because it just looked so bad. The reason why I had to use semi permanent instead of permanent is you have to wait atleast 3 months before using permanent stuff, because if you put permanent dye over henna it can go a greenish color. I believe you can have positive experiences with henna, but I wouldn't suggest anyone to take the henna route. Theres much better natural dyes out there.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I swear by this product. In fact, I'm sitting on the computer with the henna in my hair right now!

The pros of all of the Caca series (Noir, Marron, Rouge, Brun) is a long-lasting, vibrant colour that comes out extremely natural and doesn't damage your hair as much as other hair dyes would. If you're looking for a natural hair dye solution, this is the way to go.

The cons list is intimidating: it's messy to use, takes a long, long while (you're better off doing it on a day off) and can take a while to wash off, as well - it generally isn't the most user-friendly dye to use.

To me, it's completely worth it, though. I get compliments on my red hair all the time, and if there are no roots showing (my natural colour is ashy blond, so the roots are not too visible even when there are some), people think it's my natural hair color. I once used Brun and found it a bit dull, a sort of dark, dull brown - so I would go for Rouge or Maron or Noir if you really want black hair.

Things to look out for when using: it's best to grate a couple of squares off the bar into a bowl, using a grater you won't be using for food (ie get a cheap new one and then only use it for henna). Then add boiling water, and try to get the consistency of yoghurt in the mixing process. Touch the paste with gloved fingers, and when it's warm but not so hot it burns, apply it to hair. Once you've applied it all over, definitely cover your hair with cling film and then a warm hat or a towel. Leave on for minimum 2 hours, I prefer 4 hours or even 5 (just watch some movies while it's on!).

It's the best natural hairdye out there, and worth the trouble for me - for anybody wanting a super-quick, easy fix, though, I wouldn't recommend it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Very very very very messy - but it's worth it to avoid permanent damage to your hair. This colour makes my medium brown hair soft and just a bit reddish, which glows beautifully in the sun.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2012 5:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I wanted to try something different on my virgin hair without it being too drastic and caca maroon gave me just that. I really liked the reddish colour payoff it gave me, it is relatively cheap due to the bob length of my hair and received many compliments on the shininess of my hair. However the application is a rather tedious process, creating the right consistency is difficult, trying to wash the dye out takes forever and cleaning the bathroom of green stains takes even longer. Although I really liked the results it takes far too long for someone who is slow at doing things as it is, also I canít stand the scent of the block, which makes storage difficult.


on 11/3/2012 12:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have used Lush henna for 2 years now because I love using a natural product on my already damaged hair. I've used the Maroon, Noir, and Brun so far. I have naturally light brown hair and my hair was a platinum blonde 2 years ago when I first started using this stuff. At first I loved that my hair was shiny an full after using the henna, I also loved the lovely array of highlights it also gave me. The downsides to the hennas are considerable though. Aside from the smell and the mess this stuff makes, oh and the insane amount of time you have to leave it on. I found that while it gives me highlights, it also unevenly colors my hair, and this isn't because I dont apply correctly, I've henna'd at least a dozen times. I find that my roots always end up alot lighter then the rest of my hair, and after about of month of having the color on, my ends turned green. Like 4 inches worth of green. I ended up getting most of it cut off, but that killed my length. I also find that the bars don't cover that much hair. I use 5 of the pieces to cover my mid back length hair, and it's like 28 bucks a bar, which I use every 3 months. Still cheaper then a salon, but expensive for a home system. Overall, I feel like I've spent enough time with the henna that I am ready to grow out my natural color instead of continuing this tedious and often unsuccessful process again.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2012 2:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've found this to be a great product.
Would also like to comment on Natalie's post about chemicals. Lush products are definitely all chemical-free. She posted a really cool website, though, that I hadn't heard of before: goodguide.com (the other website is under construction). Props for looking this up!
However, I'd just like to point out that I found goodguide's health rating very inaccurate. The ingredients it listed as having a health concern in Caca Marron were: lemon, cloves, coriander. Since these are all things that are used in food (cloves and coriander are spices), I think Caca Marron is pretty safe for your hair.
Happy dyeing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
368 Reviews
Colorsilk
710 Reviews


Top Rated LUSH Products

image

Dorothy

28 reviews
Back to Top