NARS • Kalahari Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(70 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 5/16/2014 5:10:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'd been sort of obsessing on this shadow duo since trying it in store a few days ago (although it has been in the permanent line for a while, it's suddenly featured in the Nars gondola's summer display at Sephora) and finally gave in and bought it. These are 2 very pretty, very golden, shimmery colours and it's not surprising that this is being put "front and center" for summer. The more glittery shade (on the left) is rose gold and is very, very close in colour to Too Faced Push Up but, to my surprise, Push Up has much better pigmentation whereas the Nars shadow is somewhat sheer and the glitter looks less integrated with the shadow itself. The right hand side is a deeper brownish-rose shade - absolutely beautiful, smooth and gleaming. Both shades together make a really stunning eye but because the colours are lighter and the one is a bit sheer, it doesn't look over-done or vamp-ish.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 2/13/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

A slightly taupe-ier brown, and a more golden brown duet. The colours are mouth watering and beautiful.

Nars are notoriously hit or miss, and I think that this duo might be a hit and miss.

If I had no other duos, I may have no complaints. The pigmentation is not as high as some of their other shadows. (Compare to Cordura, or Isolde.)

However, it still does its tasks beautifully. It is deposited on the eye albeit a bit sheerly, but it isn't invisible. You do not need to scratch your eyelid off in doing a casual day look, with the ability to build it up for a sultrier eye.

I hardly use this duo alone, and always have to attribute other shadows in addition to this duo, but I find this a commonality among my Nars shadow duos.

This being said, I would not repurchase this again in favour of other shadows in their line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 underdreamskies on 8/25/2013 11:33:00 PM more reviews by underdreamskies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This duo has the easiest, fool proof, effortless eyeshadows in my entire collection. I love neutrals and I prefer sheer shadows (I prefer to build up depth than have a black eye) and this duo is exactly that. I'm about nc35 and if I only ever wanted to use one pair of eyeshadows for everyday, this would be it, hands down. SO easy to blend, no creasing. The left shadow is like a frosty taupey medium color, the right shadow is also frosty but darker brown. Only thing missing is an inner corner highlight and your eyes will be stunning. Love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahfeeni on 5/31/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by sarahfeeni

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this duo. The left side/lighter shade is a shimmery taupe color very similar to NARS cream shadow Corfu. I love it ( and I love Corfu). Its my favorite neutral eyeshadow. The right side is a shimmery milk chocolate that has tiny mauve tone to it in certain light. It's darker than the taupe side and comes off a bit more intense.

These shadows are buttery soft and very pigmented. I was surprised to hear other reviewers say that they found them to be sheer.

Wearing these colors over NARS eye shadow primer ensures that they literally do not budge for 12 hours. I don't wear them together though.

They both enhance my blue eyes well. I love wearing these colors in the summer. Very shimmery golden goddess.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lovemakeup2 on 4/21/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by lovemakeup2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Kalahari (I) was included in Sephora's And God Created the Woman Set (purchased in April 2013). According the ingredients list, NARS has started using triclosan in its shadows. Given the other options available, it's not clear why this would be necessary. I will not be repurchasing.

Ingredients as pulled from the And God Created the Woman set:
Talc, dimethicone, zinc stearate, silica, cetearyl isononanoate, cetyl acetate, stearoxy dimethicone, isopropyl lanolate, methylparaben, propylparaben, triclosan, acetylated lanolin alcohol, bha [+/- (may contain): mica, ci 77891 (titanium dioxide), ci 77491 ci 77492 ci 77499 (iron oxides), ci 19140 (yellow 5), ci 19140 (yellow 5 lake), ci 42090 (blue 1 lake), ci 77007 (ultramarines), ci 77288 (chromium oxide greens), ci 77289 (chromium hydroxide green), ci 77510 (ferric ferrocyanide), ci 77742 (manganese violet), ci 77163 (bismuth oxychloride), ci 75470 (carmine), ci 77000 (aluminum powder), ci 77400 (bronze powder), ci 77400 (copper powder)]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikki_L on 2/28/2013 5:59:00 PM more reviews by Nikki_L

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This duo works for me. Nars lasts all day without creasing without a base on my uber-oily lids. Incredible. I am very dark so these neutrals are right up my alley. The left is a bronzey shade and the right is a taupey shade. Both subtly shimmery.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 1/15/2013 7:12:00 PM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was so excited to get my hands on this e/s duo. I did relentless research looking at swatches/tutorials etc. to make sure this would look good on my brown eyes. I attempted a look with it this morning and was dumbfounded--Both shadows are SO incredibly sheer. I then tried using them wet. This helped some, but even then it barely showed up on my NC20 lids. I then used it over a black base. This is the only way the shadows showed up on me. I will say, I am not used to wearing neutrals. In other words, I don't know what the point of a "no makeup" makeup look" is. If I'm going to take the time to put on makeup, it better show up. This is just my personal taste. I actually envy women who love/embrace neutrals..I just haven't been able to. That being said, it took way too much hassle to get these colors to show up. I took a hard look in the mirror and realized both e/s just kind of muddy together forming a pretty taupe that looks a hell of a lot like nars ashes to ashes, which I own. Honestly, the quality of these eyeshadows are drugstore quality. I wouldn't waste your money.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 1/9/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I want to love these eyeshadows, but I just can't help feeling that for the price, the quality doesn't meet my expectations. The colors are really beautiful, but a lot more sheer than I expected, although with a little work they can be built up. I wouldn't repurchase this particular duo.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chechi on 10/4/2012 10:53:00 AM more reviews by chechi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i'm on the fence about this product. i read on a blog for brown girls and i assumed it would be a great every day duo for me. I don't think so - I wonder if maybe I need sometime of colored eyeshadow base or someother colors to make it work for me. This duo just does not seem to do anything - I think they make me look tired.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Emma93 on 8/28/2012 3:09:00 PM more reviews by Emma93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

They don't sell Nars in Germany, so when I went to Prague I was super excited to see that Nars was available there. I had researched the brand and their products a lot before because I thought about ordering online (which would have been very expensive with the shipping and everything), so I knew that Khalari was the most loved in my shade range and that I wanted it.
I'm a little bit disappointed. The colors are pretty, but I imagined them to be a little bit more... special, if you know what I mean. They are not as pigmentet as I expected them to be and they don't really show up that well on my lid. In fact, the more golden color of the two just looks like some golden glitter, even if I pack it on it looks like I've dusted some loose gold pigment over my lids. The darker color is better in that regard, but it's niether a dark enough color for the crease, nor is it light enough for all over the lid (since I have fairly small eyes and I have to be carful with putting darker colors all over). So all in all nice eyeshadows, but in my opinion not worth the price.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products