Dr. Bronner's • Peppermint Castille Soap • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.4(354 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 racistpretzels on 12/21/2014 7:41:00 PM more reviews by racistpretzels

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is ASTOUNDING. Composed of so many good and natural ingredients, it has a plethora of uses.

One of my top uses is as a body wash. I only wash my body every other day or so as water works just fine when my body is covered by clothing, but when I do, Dr. Bronner's makes it a treat, as it foams very well (without surfactants), smells nice and cleans very well. I also use it to clean my makeup brushes, as an overall cleaning product, and even as a SHAVING foam - I mix some coconut oil with some Dr. Bronner's in my hand, and it leaves my legs very soft + with far less irritation and ingrown hairs as I used to have.

This stuff is so great, I would vote for a law that atleast a bottle of this be required in every household. You can get several different sizes, I have both a 2oz bottle for travel and an 8oz bottle in my bathroom, I believe the 2oz was $1.50 and the 8oz was $9. For such quality and low price, you just can't go wrong with this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 youngangel25 on 10/24/2014 9:51:00 AM more reviews by youngangel25

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this soap for years, on everything, even cleaning my house and washing my hair, i use the almond formula because it's gentler, and is the only thing i use to wash my face

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KelseyP on 10/24/2014 9:34:00 AM more reviews by KelseyP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this soap! We bought a big bottle to take camping, and every person in our big group grabbed this to use. Its so refreshing and cleared up my sons bad breakout in just a few days - and I love that its environmentally friendly. If your skin is sensitive to dryness I would not use, but I adore this for summer weather.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 10/24/2014 8:39:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first Dr Bronner product I've tried and I've not been disappointed. I use it solely as a body wash. The secret to getting a lather with this is making sure you are already wet before applying it and using a wash cloth or shower puff. I shake the bottle to mix the ingredients as they tend to settle, then pour a capful of it undiluted onto my wet wash cloth. I get a lovely lather - not too much, just enough. It doesn't leave my skin in the least bit dry; I hate having to use a moisturiser afterwards as I don't usually have time for that. I'm not sure if it makes a difference that I have a water softener system. If you use it in the bath you will not get a lather, so I don't bother. There's a little too much minty freshness for certain parts of the body (I know from personal experience) so don't say you weren't warned!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aenflex on 10/23/2014 10:14:00 AM more reviews by aenflex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Bronner's soaps for almost 8 years. I use them exclusively on my body, and until quite recently, exclusively on my face as well. The only time I skip using it as a face wash is when I occasionally use a sample of another product.
It removes my make up, face oils and anything else that's on my skin. I've read other reviews where folks mention that it doesn't remove their make up? That confuses me. It's an alkaline soap and it certainly has always removed my makeup without question.
The price is reasonable. Packaging works for me, although a pump would be nice. Easily fixable by using another container with a pump. Ingredients are some of the best. Organic, minimal, fair trade.
This is a soap, and you get the results of a soap, not a cleanser. Your skin is squeaky clean afterwards, and unless you have oily skin, using a moisturizer right after is a good idea.
I love Bronner's and don't foresee changing to something else. I have normal skin, tends to be a little dry, and this product has never caused breakouts or irritation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oosagi on 10/23/2014 1:23:00 AM more reviews by oosagi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is just perfect. Been using it for ages. Very refreshing, very concentrated, and just makes you feel clean. I use it on my face as well as body, and it's good for handwashing delicates, but that's as far as it goes. I've tried all the uses listed on the bottle at some point in my life--and trust me, don't go there with the toothpaste suggestion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 10/7/2014 5:29:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am not a big fan of Bronner soaps if they are used standalone. They are way too alkaline and harsh for use on skin :(
However, I found a blog which shows how to make liquid soap out of the bar soap at a lesser cost. Basically cut the soap into pieces and add hot water. Let stand for few hours until a liquid soap is formed. This soap is extremely versatile as a laundry detergent, mild cleaner for house and also a soap. Credit goes to the blog for this info. Of course it does not look like the Dr.Bronner's Liquid castile soap sold in stores but for $4 you get a big bottle of castile soap made.

Now here is my *secret* - on it's own, the castile soap is quite alkaline pH ~ 9.5 and may be very harsh for the skin or hair. With it's high pH, the only uses for castile soap (for me) are as a detergent or for cleaning the house. However, the ph can be toned down by using sesame oil. Sesame oil has a low pH. Mix whipped or plain sesame oil into the liquid soap and it can be used safely on skin and hair. In fact it becomes a gentle, soothing cleanser and can also double up as a shampoo. The ratio of castile soap to sesame oil varies depending on skin/hair tolerance to castile soap. I use more sesame oil vs castile soap. Sesame oil can be substituted by olive or coconut oil (non-refined, virgin, cold-pressed).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 skim6926 on 8/20/2014 7:06:00 PM more reviews by skim6926

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

There are others that have clearly figured out how to use this soap effectively but it didn't work at all for me:

HAIR
-leaves a tacky coating on human hair and dog fur. You feel like your hair is never really cleansed. It's as if there's a light wax coating your hair.
-doesn't seem to clean that well
-hair looks flatter and seems to enhance the appearance of flyaways

SKIN
-doesn't take off a lick of make up
-doesn't clean your skin well
-leaves a coating

I'd rather wash my hair with dial soap than this cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lashaye16 on 8/18/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by Lashaye16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this soap! I purchased a small bottle at my drug store and fell in love with it. I purchased the big bottle at my grocery store. And I now refuse to use any other soap except this one. I love it! I've only tried the peppermint kind and so far it's my favorite. I am not a fan of the other scents. I've been on the hunt for the baby kind to use on my daughter. But I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this stuff I will use it until the day I die!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Syreetajackson on 8/16/2014 9:23:00 PM more reviews by Syreetajackson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE. Best damn soap in the world! I clean my house and my body with it. You can brush your teeth and mop the floor with it! It's a multitasking soap with the best damn back story and reading materials around! Dr. Bronner was an interesting man indeed

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Bronner's products

More Gels/Soaps products