Unlisted Brand • Color Oops - Regular Strength Hair Color Remover • Hair Color

rated 3.7(90 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hipchick66 on 9/27/2014 9:37:00 AM more reviews by hipchick66

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is for the Extra Conditioning version. I'm a natural blonde who colors my hair different shades all the time, using permanent dye. This round I went from pale blonde, reddish blonde, light auburn to bright auburn, then decided I wanted my blonde back. My only hope for this product was that it would remove most of the red so I could re color my hair to a medium golden blonde. I wasn't expecting miracles, but lo and behold, I applied this and rinsed exactly per instructions and when I was done, I had the prettiest pale yellow/golden blonde that does not need to be colored! My hair is a little dried out, but nothing near what bleaching would have done. As for the smell, yes it's not pleasant, but who cares when it works this well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lisathor90 on 8/5/2014 9:12:00 PM more reviews by lisathor90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Stay away!!! I was so excited to try this out. I wanted to remove the black dye I previously used about 4 months ago because I was going Ash brown. Let me tell ya this, this remover stinks sooooo much. It smells like I have a rotten egg or a dead invisible animal on my head. Lol it is so bad. It removed only a little at the bottom of my hair, other than that I would NOT recommend this item because it does a horrible job and it stinks so badddd.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 upinspace on 7/13/2014 2:16:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For all you looking to remove vegi based dyes (like manic panic and nrage) this will NOT work.

Anyways, I've found this brand to be a lot smellier than others I've tried. The smell really stinks up everything it touches and leaves the fume lingering for awhile.

The color stripping aspect of it is ok. I had to use it twice to get my black hair down to a dark blonde. Again, the smell really sticks to your hair.

Also, be aware that although this doesn't have peroxide it may strip the colors off any clothing you have so just be careful.

One plus to this product is that they do give you a pretty good amount so you're less worried that you'll cover your head.

Overall, an ok color stripper in a pinch but you can find better. Loreal carries one that's really good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mariadoabarrelroll on 6/13/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by mariadoabarrelroll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

If you're using to remove a funky color such as, manic panic or punky color AVOID at all cost.

I decided to listen to a friend and give it a try, so instead of going back to the light orange it was bleached to from being pink/purple, my WHOLE head went blue!
Not suggesting to anyone to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alh011 on 6/4/2014 8:42:00 AM more reviews by alh011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a review for regular strength color oops.

I had years of black dye on my naturally mousy brown hair which I've been trying to grow out but got impatient with the ends so decided to give this a go.

I wasn't expecting miracles. In fact I doubt there's any product that can totally remove dry from your hair other than a good cut!

I followed the directions to the letter, although my house was quite cool so I used a hair dryer on my hair for a few minutes.

I rinsed for a long time as per the directions and much to my surprise a fair amount of the dark colour had been removed. It's not back to my natural hair colour but I didn't think that would be possible anyway. It's a brown orange colour a shade or two lighter with copper tones.

This didn't dry my hair as much as bleach does, so I'll give it a few weeks for my hair or get back to a better condition then I'll apply a 2nd bottle, perhaps then a toner to help with the copper tones.

One thing is the smell is pretty bad. It smelt like rotten mangos to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pepesassy on 3/23/2014 9:22:00 PM more reviews by pepesassy

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm glad to see so many people are happy with this product. Alas, my experience with the regular and extra strength product were very disappointing. I didn't expect the color fairy to come down and remove the color, but I did expect SOME results. I have permanent brown on top of my natural mostly-gray. Just one layer of color on top of my natural color. I first tried the regular strenth and not only did it not remove the color but it left an ugly red tinge. So I tried the extra strengrh with the same result. I followed the instructions to the letter even with extra rinsing since that was emphasized on the instructions. My water heater is thanking me for turning it off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jenna0011 on 3/7/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Jenna0011

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, this is the absolute worst product to ever put on your hair. It's greasy & runs down your hair way too fast. It never did it's job, either; I did a bad dye job attempting to do my hair purple, I used this. It made my roots black & my hair up top lighter blonde & it's still purple. Waste of money. It smells more disgusting than any product you've used before. Guaranteed. I'm sick to my stomach after using it. Literally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AngelaStalker on 3/4/2014 3:08:00 PM more reviews by AngelaStalker

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have spent the past year getting blonde highlights from the salon. I was so in love with my hair and constantly got compliments on it, but one day I had an impulse to go reddish blonde.........terrible idea. I thought I ruined my hair color for good. I knew that if I applied blonde dye over my red hair that it would react badly, but then I remembered this product and wanted to give it a try, It worked so good, maybe it was because I had a light red in my hair that it was so easy/fast to get rid of, I don't know.

After using this I was back to blonde, I had a few orange tones so I used Wella t18 toner and it got all of the orange out. Now I have what I call Taylor Swift ashy blonde hair. It isn't the old color I lost, but it is a start and much better than the red I had

Also, every review I have read complains about the smell. Am I the only one who thought it had a nice fruity smell? Maybe I am just not sensitive to smells, but I didn't smell anything bad.


In short, i loved this stuff and in the future if I ever want to change my color, then go back to blonde I know that it is now possible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nicolesofiia on 1/10/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by Nicolesofiia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've had red hair for five years, and recently ive decided for a change. Prior to dying my hair red i had black hair for about 3 years. I decided to give color oops a try to wash the red dye out. I applied it all over my hair, left it in for 20 min. as recommended, and followed the instructions. My hair is now a light brown with brassy tones, just after the one use. The product surprised me as to how well it worked to take the years of hair dye out. My hair feels exactly the same prior to using the product. Although, it worked fantastically, i did miss few spots so i will need to purchase the product again. To ensure you don't have to re-due the process make sure that you cover all of your hair. Overall i was extremely happy with this product and i would recommend it to anyone who is trying to strip their hair without adding a lot of damage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Damselfly352 on 11/27/2013 1:56:00 AM more reviews by Damselfly352

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have colored my hair for 30 years. Stylists, family and friends have complemented me on my color choices and processing. Until I went through a light blonde phase. I decided to darken my hair for an interview and went with dark ash blonde. I liked the result until a few weeks later the ends were losing pigment. I tried a color deposit product in a dark natural blond. I ended up with a very dark auburn brown. The color was nice but much darker than I wanted. I used Oops Extra Strength and the color removal resulted in a reddish blonde/light reddish brown. I did read previous reviews and adhered to the advice presented. I washed my hair 3-4 times during the full 15 minutes under very warm to hot water. I blew dry my hair and applied med ash blonde for 5 minutes on roots and pulled through for another 3. Could have gone less on the pull through. Probably 1-2 minutes. My overall result is a dark natural blond or light brown. It's what I was originally after. Definitely watch timing and your color mistake can be reversed. I would recommend this product and use again should I ever need to. Fortunantly this is my first real I can't stand the color moment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Color products