Banana Boat • Summer Color Sunless Lotion Deep Dark • Self Tanners

rated 4.1(106 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Nikki1k on 12/14/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by Nikki1k

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this when I am traveling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wiwi45678 on 12/3/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by wiwi45678

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have very pale, ivory, cool toned skin. Many self tanners appear orange in my skin because of this. This is the best self tanner I've tried due to its realistic color and easy application. No hints of orange or yellow tones. In fact, it almost appears to have red undertones, which is what a natural tan has.
Make sure to shower and fully exfoliate your entire body. Shave, cleanse the skin but not with a lot of products. This will alter how the tanning ingredients react with your skin & it's best to have clean skin without a lot of products sitting on top.
Next, I only moisturize my knees, ankles, elbows, wrists, bellybutton, and a little bit on my neck. Apply tanner in small circles, starting with your legs so your arms don't get messed up, and then your thighs. I take whatever is left on my hand and spread it onto my knees. I take a tiny dab of tanner, mixed into half regular lotion, and put this on ankles and feet. Do so very very sparingly. I have NEVER gotten streaks or splotches using this method. Continue onto whole body, making sure to again mix half lotion and half tiny dab of tanner onto wrists and elbows.
Drying time can be confusing as the tanner is extremely moisturizing. Wait about 20 min before getting dressed and wear loose clothing. No color stains on my clothes or sheets. Your tan will begin to develop within 4 hours, and you'll get complete color within 8-10 hours. Optimal to put on before going to bed for maximum results.
Make sure to shower after it is fully developed to wash away the color guard. Don't worry, your tan is not washing away, just the color guard that is designed to help you see where you've applied it.
Make sure to moisturize your entire body after every shower and don't take prolonged 20 min scalding hot showers. This will effect your tan.
Smell isn't too overpowering. Tan lasts me about 4 days after two applications. One application will definitely get you dark very very fast, but it looks natural.
Exfoliate, moisturize, and take your time. Sorry this is long, hopefully it'll help some of you. This procedure is fool proof for me and I have never gotten streaks or yucky color. Good luck and happy tanning!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lkatz90 on 11/28/2014 5:55:00 AM more reviews by Lkatz90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have tried several sunless tanning products and because I am naturally pretty pale I usually end up with the orange color that everyone dreads. This product, however, looks very natural. The results are similar, if not identical to the results I get with the Fake Bake Flawless self tanning liquid, but it seems to last longer.
I typically apply this product 2x a week to maintain the color. The smell of the lotion is very mild in comparison to many of the other sunless tanning products that I have tried.

Great value!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princesaportugues on 10/19/2014 2:00:00 PM more reviews by princesaportugues

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE it this product. Soon after application, I notice a beautiful, natural looking tan. It lasts for a few days on me, but requires re-application about once a week. This product is a must-have for me, and I would recommend it to anybody looking for a beautiful dark glow :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lneice0160 on 10/1/2014 11:06:00 PM more reviews by lneice0160

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lotion! I'm not real tan but I'm not pale...but I get quite a bit of color out of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chelsdabrawsky on 7/31/2014 1:20:00 PM more reviews by Chelsdabrawsky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

As I'm reading all the other reviews I made me think the People who used it had very pale skin. I love this product I put It on and I'm tan with in 20 mins not the orange color! TAN. I got a lot of complements.
And I have recommend to a lot of people I love it !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 djunk1e on 7/31/2014 2:06:00 AM more reviews by djunk1e

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

EXTREMELY disappointed that they REFORMULATED this product. I didn't notice until I read a few reviews down stating this, and I went to go check for myself.

The bottle that I bought last year (in which dihydroxyacetone was the second ingredient) delivered a beautiful streak-free bronze/tan color in just 1-2 layers. I would apply it an hour or two before I went to bed, and I'd wake up in the morning with a gorgeous even tan. No complaints, and the smell of the lotion was super faint and would dissipate after application. Total HG!!

I was running out and bought a new bottle of this stuff about 2 weeks ago. I looked at the ingredients and dihydroxyacetone is basically the LAST ingredient on the list. I was iffy about using it but thought that the results with the new formula couldn't be that bad, so I did my usual routine and applied 2 layers on my body excluding my face. The color took a while to develop... and when I woke up in the morning I was utterly disappointed. The color was not "deep" at all and it BARELY showed up; I was pretty orange. The self-tanner smell was strong and lingered for a while as well. Luckily I still had product in my previous bottle (old formula) so I put on a thin layer of that, and it helped a bit.

I wish that they didn't mess with the formula in the first place. I'm assuming they moved DHA (the thing that produces pigment) to the bottom of the ingredient list so that you'd have to keep using more of the product to develop a deeper, bronzier color. Using up more lotion = buying more bottles in a shorter amount of time. Good for sales, I guess, but unfortunately not good for me as I developed an orange color with the new formula. Heck no I'm not about to layer more of it on!!

*also note, I don't self-tan every day--only when I have an event to attend or know I'm going to be taking a lot of pictures.

...with that said, now I gotta find a new self-tanner

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lhowell on 7/9/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by lhowell

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This has been the best self tanner I have ever used and I have used many over the years... Unlike alot of people I only use it on my legs - I am out in the sun enough to get color everywhere else, but my legs never seem to tan very well.

Yes you need to be careful around your ankles and toes and all and you do need to wash your hands very well after you apply but other than that I think it is a great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kinserhannah12 on 7/3/2014 3:25:00 AM more reviews by Kinserhannah12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After reading the reviews I was excited to give this tan a try considering the price compared to the high end ones I have used. The product applied easily and completely streak free and I like the color immediately after application, but the next morning I was literally head to toe orange. Skeptical I was being paranoid I held something orange next to my arm and sure enough almost an exact match. Extremely disappointed but you can't expect that much for something this cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Briiii123 on 6/24/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by Briiii123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm quite fair so finding a great self tanner is a big deal! I've tried all kinds of brands, the sprays, foams, and various lotions and this self tanner blows everything else out of the water. I had been using Jergens firming self tanner for the last few years and was hesitant to switch, but I just wasn't getting the results I was looking for. This stuff comes out dark so you can see where you are putting it on, the smell isn't bad at all, and it dries quite quickly, it doesn't leave you feeling too greasy or sticky. I'll be sticking with this stuff from now on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Banana Boat products

More Self Tanners products