MAC Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50

3.8

507 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW Formula August 2012: Estimted PPD: 6.2 Avobenzone 3%, Homosalate 5%, Octisalate 5%, Oxybenzone 3%. Water, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Methyl Trimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Polyester-8, Aleurites Moluccana (Kukui) Seed Oil, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, PEG-100 Stearate, Butylene Glycol, Glyceryl Stearate, Dipentaerythrityl Tri-polyhydroxystearate, Laminaria Ochroleuca Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Morus Nigra (Mulberry) Root Extract, Scutellaria Biacalensis Root Extract, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Yeast Extract, Whey Protein, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Caffeine, Ethylhexylglycerin, Acetyl Glucosamine, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, C30-38 Olefin/Isopropyl Malate/MA Copolymer, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Dehydroxanthan Gum, Caprylyl Glycol, Stearic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Mica ORIGINAL Formula: Estimated PPD ~ 9.1 Active ingredients: Zinc Oxide 16.10%, Octinoxate 7.50% Water\Aqua\Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, PEG-7 Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Methyl Gluceth-10, Glycerin, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Caffeine, Tocopherol, Sucrose, Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate, Cellulose Acetate, Methicone, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Silica, Sorbic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin


on 3/29/2015 7:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A few years ago, I raved about this primer on here, declaring it my HG primer. Well, I lost my details so I had to create a new account, and unfortunately I can't be that enthusiastic about MAC Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50 anymore lately.

I think it's interesting that Mac had to go and change the formula... Looking at the list of ingredients, it's surprising that the zinc oxide sunscreen has been replaced with a different palette of sunscreen ingredients. Opposed to the chemical sunscreens, zinc oxide is actually considered to be one of the safest sunscreens currently available (the non nano variant at least). As an added bonus, it helps keeping your skin's oil production under control. Which is why this primer offered a perfect canvas for my foundation, by somewhat keeping my oily T-zone in check.

Why Mac had to replace zinc oxide with a chemical sunscreen with a very dubious reputation (benzophenone-3 or oxybenzone) is beyond me. It even prints a 'warning' on the package of the reformulated product stating that it now contains oxybenzone. I don't know about the rest of the world, but in Germany there have been alarming reports on the safety of this chemical sunscreen. Like parabens, oxybenzone is proven to be absorbed by your skin (research has shown that approximately 10% of the oxybenzone in cosmetics worms its way into your body, and can be detected in urine or mother milk samples). Besides, its been determined that under the influence of sunlight, this ingredient has the nasty habit to oxidate into oxybenzone semiquinone, that ultimately may heighten your risk of getting skin cancer.

Of course, using a sunscreen that contains oxybenzone is still much safer than getting a sunburn, but if you have the chance, I would definitely recommend shopping around for a primer that contains safer ingredients. Apart from the above, the new formula lacks the benefits that the old formula had and feels more like a greasy moisturizer than a decent primer, which is exactly why I won't be repurchasing my former HG primer again. Bummer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/3/2015 9:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Loved the old version! hate the new one!
This is so oily and has absolutely no primer properties, I mean it doesn't help with foundation staying power actually It makes my make up worse as i get sooo shiny after application!
Why did they change the formula?
Also this new formula breaks me out a bit whereas the old one no :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2014 12:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is a great primer for oily skin! I am very oily, live in Rio de Janeiro, it's (summer) spring now and this manages to keep me matte the whole day. I usually put this early in the morning and only take my makeup off at night. It's amazing how it controls the oil on my face throughout the day and makes my makeup last a lot longer.

It just feels very different from other primers I've tried. I guess this is not silicone based (?) and it doesn't have that smooth, velvety matte finish. It honestly feels kind of heavy when you first apply it - it definitely takes a few minutes to "dry". Also, this doesn't seem do anything for my pores. No bluring effect :(

Overall, this is great primer with a high SPF. Unfortunately, it's pretty expensive and you don't really get a lot of product for the price.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2014 8:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Grrrr. I loved the idea of this since it has such a high level of SPF. Performance, however, leaves a lot to be desired! My skin leans towards dryness (usually I don't have problems with looking shiny) but I look like a grease pit after 5 hours of wearing this! I can't even fathom how this claims to be mattifying. While it may make my foundation go on smoothly, I can't really see using a product that seems to increase the oiliness of my skin. I'll be looking for another primer.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm bummed that so many people don't like this since they've changed the formula. I just started using it so i don't know anything about the original formula, but i love this!! i wear NARS sheer glow foundation most days and i always wear high spf underneath it since i'm pale and live in LA. before, i was using neutrogena dry touch sunscreen spf 100+ but my makeup really didn't sit well on top of it, like by halfway through the day it would have that look like its just sitting on top of my skin and it would rub right off if i touched it, which i totally blame the sunscreen for, because i'm not particularly oily and i love my foundation, but yea i have no idea why they call that sunscreen dry touch because it is not at all haha, it is SLIPPERY. so i was like ok thats what i get for trying to wear a non-matte foundation over sunscreen, so i started looking for a primer with a higher spf and i am so so happy mac makes this product!! my makeup looks beautiful all day over this and really seems locked on, i love it!! it isn't mattifying, it has kind of a tacky texture, which is maybe why it works so well under makeup but just a heads up, i dont know if it really helps with shine when its on its own, but i do notice less oil-slick type shine on my nose as the day goes on with my foundation, so i do think it helps keep oil and shine in check when paired with foundation.
My only complaints would be that the tube seems like it will be hard to get the last of the product out when it gets down to the dregs, and it is pricey for the amount you get, like when i opened the box and saw the size of the tube i was like did she give me the sample size? you only get an ounce (30 mL) for 30+ dollars, but honestly it has been a really good product for me, and i am just so stoked that i can get a really well-performing primer with such high spf!! i would say if you haven't found any sunscreen your foundation is compatible with, this is really worth it :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/1/2014 8:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this primer , its perfect for the summer time , i used this primer all last summer and my face DIDN'T get Tanned ( due to the high SPF ) my face just got alittle more radiant .
if your gonna use this primer in the summer please get a sunscreen lotion to match your body as well , lol my body looked sun-kissed while my face was still yellow and light .

The pros about this product is , its the perfect primer for the summer , its light weight so you don't notice its on your face , makes your foundation go on smooth and even , and protects your face you also don't need to moisturize when using this primer ( UNLESS you are dry skin then you should moisturize of course ) it glides on like a lotion/primer in one . it does what it says .

The cons about this product is , it doesn't really stop your under eye concealer from creasing ( i have bad under eye creasing though and i'm oily combination normal skin ).
When i use this product now i use another different primer for under my eye area on top of the " MAC prep + prime SPF 50 primer " , The cost is a bit much its basically 30 dollars and it comes in this small tube , you will probably need a 2nd one after the first month of using it ( if using it daily ) . i don't really feel like you get your money worth they should make the tube a little bigger for 30 dollars .
However this is one of my favorite primers in the summer i usually put this all over my face and then use another primer just under my eye so that my concealer lasts longer and doesn't crease and continue on with my foundation routine and it last all day , i do get a little duey when using this primer but not a lot which is good .

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2014 10:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I didn't know they've changed the formula but, this primer is ok. My foundation evens out better with this primer, my face appears slightly smooth and it does make my pores appear slightly smaller but by noon (about 5hours) It gets really shiny especially in my t-zone and my makeup starts to fade. But on the whole, this works better for me as compared to silicone primers. Not exactly the best, but good enough. Im still on a lookout for a good non-silicone primer


on 7/13/2014 8:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

WHY DID THEY CHANGE THE FORMULA?!?!?!
This was my holy grail primer. It had spf 50 AND it left my skin with the perfect matte canvas to put foundation over. I used it for about 2 years but now they changed the formula and I need to find a new primer/spf (hence the 3 lippies...I couldn't give it low rating because if we're talking about the old formula I would have given it 5 lippies, so I averaged it over between the 2 formulas lol)

*IF ANYONE ELSE WHO USED THE OLD FORMULA FINDS A PRODUCT THAT THEY THINK IS A GOOD REPLACEMENT PLEASE PLEASEEEE MESSAGE ME! I've tried over 10 similar products and so far nothing compares :'-(

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2014 11:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

I love this primer!

Not that I primarily use it as a primer really, but itís my go-to SPF for daily use. I genuinely hate most of the facial SPF products that Iíve tried over the years Ė they make my skin feel tight, tacky, sticky, or look super shiny, they make me look a funny colour/ill (Iím very pale anyway!)Ö and if they donít do any of those things, then they tend not to get on well with my moisturiser and Ďbobbleí.

Not so for this primer Ė it goes on nicely, it doesnít give me that white cast, and being a primer designed to be a bit matte, it doesnít make me shiny and sticky either. Although I normally avoid mattifying products (dry skin!), but this primer gives my skin more of a satin finish, rather than a full on super-matte finish, so in that respect it is perfect.

I live in the UK, so donít get that much of a chance to expose my skin to direct sunlight for prolonged periods of time, but Iíve worn this outdoors at festivals and not burnt or even seen my freckles get darker, which is a good sign that the SPF is doing what it should. This product also gets a ĎBestí rating on Paulaís Choice and they sing the products of its SPF qualities, which is reassuring.

This is a fairly expensive product for daily use, but you know what? I donít mind paying out for something that I love to use, and I love to use this primer. Sure Iíd like more for my money (the bottle is quite small) but at least it comes in a tube that you can cut open to get every little bit out.

Speaking of the packaging, it comes in the usual sleek black MAC packaging style, which I love. Also the cap of the bottle is flat enough that this SPF will stand up on the lid, meaning itís easier to squeeze the product out when itís running low.

This product has, and will remain, a frequent re-purchase for me. Iíd recommend it to anyone looking for a high SPF facial product that doesnít feel like you are wearing an SPF.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2014 9:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Deep Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Excellent Oil control for me even on sunny days.

I'm on my second pack. I can't live without it now.

Buy this product if you have oily T-zone.

It did not make me breakout or anything even though I often sleep off with make up on...

Its pricey but it's worth it.


Back to Top