Sebamed Liquid Face and Body Wash

3.8

88 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: aqua, sodium laureth sulfate, sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate, disodium laureth sulfosuccinate, sodium chloride, laureth-2, panthenol, glycol distearate, parfum, saccharide isomerate, allantoin, niacinamide, piridoxine HCI, glycine, magnesium aspartate, alanine, lysine, leucine, biotin, glycerin, sodium lauroyl glutamate, sodium citrate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sorbitan laurate, PEG-120 methyl glucose dioleate, butylparaben, ethylparaben, isobutylparaben, methylparaben, propylparaben, phenoxyethanol, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, CI 47005, CI 42090.


on 5/26/2015 11:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm acne prone, allergy prone and very oily.
A week of using this turned my skin into whitehead city with cracks of dryness here and there. It's the first time a cleanser dried up my skin. I'm still amazed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Okay so after the mostly good reviews I picked this up to try. I wanted to try something supposedly pH balanced, too and it was cheap at walmart for a large amount.

I used it for...3 days? On the fourth day my skin was SO TIGHT and dry and flakey around my nose, cheeks and eyes that I thought it was going to crack and bleed. I have extremely oily, acne-prone skin, so this kind of reaction is VERY rare for me and I only ever saw it when using a retinoid...which is it's intended purpose (turn over cells quickly/causes flaking but never caused this awful tight dryness) I usually do not have reactions to things other than clogging/break outs.

Before using this, I was using Original Noxzema and alternating with cream cleansers from Boots Botanics line. Gentle, but I was hoping for something better because of my oily skin to maybe help with my acne as well. That being said I do have to moisturize still because I break out if I am TOO dry. The moisturizer and rose hip seed oil are not the culprits of this weird dryness because I have been using them 2x daily for a very long time.

I will try to use this on my body where I have acne and oily spots, but I don't think I can continue to use this on my face at all. I will update/edit if anything changes but for now I can say that this is either a lemon or just not good at all for my skin.


on 12/3/2014 5:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Tried this product as a sample at a Costco and fell in love. I especially love it to take off my makeup. Keeps my skin smooth, and don't understand previous review about it burning my skin. It has a scent, but love the ph 5.5 formula. I am now loyal to sebamed for life, as it has truly changed my skin in a positive way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2014 6:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was recommended this by a pharmacy worker and I used it and it has made my skin feel like it is burning and very tight so I have just wasted my money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2014 1:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This worked really well for me for approximately 3 months. Then I started breaking out like crazy all along my jawline. I haven't had problems like this with acne for almost 10 years. It (stupidly) took me way to long to figure out that this was causing it. I'm back to Cetaphil and I'm never leaving again. Slowly and with a lot of toner (thank God for salicylic acid!) I'm getting back to normal.

It's too bad because I did enjoy the Sebamed when it was working for me. And I still love the lotion.


on 9/15/2014 10:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this pretty faithfully for a few weeks and not much else came in contact with my face. My skin clogged up gradually with this, I ran the ingredients through cosdna and aside from the main sulfate it seemed alright. I did find that it was gentle and I can use it on my body occasionally but same there, using this too much causes breakouts over time. Ymmv. I didn't mind the fragrance, but I would prefer it fragrance free.


on 8/31/2014 2:22:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Impulse purchase while back-to-school shopping at big box store. I like the clean but not parched feeling this leaves: however, I am afraid something in the formulation caused a breakout as I awoke with a new spot every morning I used it. Another big complaint is the fragrance. If this is intended for sensitive skin, why is fragrance 7th in the list of ingredients in a list if 25? There is more fragrance than allantoin, niacinamide, and glycerine? Sebamed should adjust the formula or the marketing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/30/2014 2:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using this a my sole facial cleanser and body wash for the past 3 years. My husband even takes a bar version of it with him when he travels he likes it so much. It's BRILLIANT for oily, acne prone skin like mine and the pH balance is key. Although I prefer it to other pH balanced washes. I buy very high end skin products and have professional peels that cost a lot of a regular basis but I no longer buy facial cleanser because even the best and most expensive cleansers don't beat this for me as an acne treatment. On top of it I use Kiehl's 10.5 Vitamin C-based moisturisers and serums. On the body I use Palmer's Cocoa Butter or Kiehl's Creme de Corps afterwards.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/30/2014 1:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Didn't make my cheeks burn, didn't try out my skin. I actually like the smell. It simply smells clean. It's a bit expensive at places like Rite-Aid and other stores, but you can find it cheaper at Wal-Mart (Shocker, I know). In general, I do feel this product is overpriced.

You get a lot in the bottle, though. For me, I do prefer Cetaphil, but I do alternate my face washes a lot. I use one for 2 days then another for 1 day, rinse repeat.

I like the health pH claim - but I use ACV as a toner every day for the same effect.
I'd probably buy this again, it isn't terrible.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this stuff. Have used it on and off for the last 2 years, only because it's hard to find in my area. I have eczema, seborrhea dermititis and just very sensitive skin. This is a green ,cream- gel like, does have a smell, kind of a weak version of Irish spring and herbal. This is non drying for me, does not cause a rash( in fact has cleared them) and no break outs. My teenagers use this as well, and this has decreased their acne. I am sensitive to fragrance ,but this doesn't seem to bother me, I 've had issues with masking fragrance. I use this on face and body, so a little pricey($12) than other drugstore brands. I will continue to use. For refrence I have used in the past cetaphil regular,bar,restoraderm,vanicream, dove, oil of olay,baby stuff, various natural brands, south of france soap..all these gave one reaction or another

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top