Sebamed • Liquid Face and Body Wash • Cleansers

rated 3.8(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 quinnxxx on 1/13/2015 5:19:00 AM more reviews by quinnxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i tried using this face wash in place of my usual (CeraVe hydrating face wash), and it simply didn't stack up. not only was i thrown off by the bright green, gel-like appearance (should that have been a warning sign?), after using it for a few days i noticed my skin was drier, tighter, and i had more active breakouts than usual. when i stopped using this face wash and went back to CeraVe, my problems stopped.

i'm giving this product two out of five lippies simply because sebamed emphasized that the face wash is pH balanced, which is definitely important and certainly a selling point. however, while this face wash is the optimal pH for cleansers -- between 5.0 and 5.5, in case you were curious -- so are many other cleansers within this price point, and many of them are better formulated and less drying than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 darknessdarling on 1/9/2015 3:14:00 PM more reviews by darknessdarling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Okay so after the mostly good reviews I picked this up to try. I wanted to try something supposedly pH balanced, too and it was cheap at walmart for a large amount.

I used it for...3 days? On the fourth day my skin was SO TIGHT and dry and flakey around my nose, cheeks and eyes that I thought it was going to crack and bleed. I have extremely oily, acne-prone skin, so this kind of reaction is VERY rare for me and I only ever saw it when using a retinoid...which is it's intended purpose (turn over cells quickly/causes flaking but never caused this awful tight dryness) I usually do not have reactions to things other than clogging/break outs.

Before using this, I was using Original Noxzema and alternating with cream cleansers from Boots Botanics line. Gentle, but I was hoping for something better because of my oily skin to maybe help with my acne as well. That being said I do have to moisturize still because I break out if I am TOO dry. The moisturizer and rose hip seed oil are not the culprits of this weird dryness because I have been using them 2x daily for a very long time.

I will try to use this on my body where I have acne and oily spots, but I don't think I can continue to use this on my face at all. I will update/edit if anything changes but for now I can say that this is either a lemon or just not good at all for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeup577 on 12/3/2014 5:32:00 PM more reviews by makeup577

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Tried this product as a sample at a Costco and fell in love. I especially love it to take off my makeup. Keeps my skin smooth, and don't understand previous review about it burning my skin. It has a scent, but love the ph 5.5 formula. I am now loyal to sebamed for life, as it has truly changed my skin in a positive way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jo90 on 12/2/2014 6:17:00 AM more reviews by jo90

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I was recommended this by a pharmacy worker and I used it and it has made my skin feel like it is burning and very tight so I have just wasted my money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NotUnusual on 11/5/2014 1:54:00 PM more reviews by NotUnusual

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This worked really well for me for approximately 3 months. Then I started breaking out like crazy all along my jawline. I haven't had problems like this with acne for almost 10 years. It (stupidly) took me way to long to figure out that this was causing it. I'm back to Cetaphil and I'm never leaving again. Slowly and with a lot of toner (thank God for salicylic acid!) I'm getting back to normal.

It's too bad because I did enjoy the Sebamed when it was working for me. And I still love the lotion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* caramelkiss19 on 9/15/2014 10:16:00 AM more reviews by caramelkiss19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used this pretty faithfully for a a few weeks and not much else came in contact with my face. My skin clogged up gradually with this, I ran the ingredients through cosdna and aside from the main sulfate it seemed alright. I did find that it was gentle and I can use it on my body occasionally but same there, using this too much causes breakouts over time. Ymmv. I didn't mind the fragrance, but I would prefer it fragrance free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Yvetteski on 8/31/2014 2:22:00 PM more reviews by Yvetteski

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Impulse purchase while back-to-school shopping at big box store. I like the clean but not parched feeling this leaves: however, I am afraid something in the formulation caused a breakout as I awoke with a new spot every morning I used it. Another big complaint is the fragrance. If this is intended for sensitive skin, why is fragrance 7th in the list of ingredients in a list if 25? There is more fragrance than allantoin, niacinamide, and glycerine? Sebamed should adjust the formula or the marketing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mozzley on 6/30/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by mozzley

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this a my sole facial cleanser and body wash for the past 3 years. My husband even takes a bar version of it with him when he travels he likes it so much. It's BRILLIANT for oily, acne prone skin like mine and the pH balance is key. Although I prefer it to other pH balanced washes. I buy very high end skin products and have professional peels that cost a lot of a regular basis but I no longer buy facial cleanser because even the best and most expensive cleansers don't beat this for me as an acne treatment. On top of it I use Kiehl's 10.5 Vitamin C-based moisturisers and serums. On the body I use Palmer's Cocoa Butter or Kiehl's Creme de Corps afterwards.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elle918 on 6/30/2014 1:15:00 PM more reviews by elle918

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Didn't make my cheeks burn, didn't try out my skin. I actually like the smell. It simply smells clean. It's a bit expensive at places like Rite-Aid and other stores, but you can find it cheaper at Wal-Mart (Shocker, I know). In general, I do feel this product is overpriced.

You get a lot in the bottle, though. For me, I do prefer Cetaphil, but I do alternate my face washes a lot. I use one for 2 days then another for 1 day, rinse repeat.

I like the health pH claim - but I use ACV as a toner every day for the same effect.
I'd probably buy this again, it isn't terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rockycoastofmaine on 4/20/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by rockycoastofmaine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff. Have used it on and off for the last 2 years, only because it's hard to find in my area. I have eczema, seborrhea dermititis and just very sensitive skin. This is a green ,cream- gel like, does have a smell, kind of a weak version of Irish spring and herbal. This is non drying for me, does not cause a rash( in fact has cleared them) and no break outs. My teenagers use this as well, and this has decreased their acne. I am sensitive to fragrance ,but this doesn't seem to bother me, I 've had issues with masking fragrance. I use this on face and body, so a little pricey($12) than other drugstore brands. I will continue to use. For refrence I have used in the past cetaphil regular,bar,restoraderm,vanicream, dove, oil of olay,baby stuff, various natural brands, south of france soap..all these gave one reaction or another

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebamed products

More Cleansers products