OPI My Private Jet

4.4

141 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/13/2014 12:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have a newer bottle of this and didn't get the older one where it was much more holo. This is a pretty taupe brown color that reflects the light nicely but the formula is kinda patchy and I had a few bald spots no matter what I did.

Other than the color I am not sure I would buy this again simply because of that fact. It also chipped pretty fast for OPI, within 3 days.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 1/31/2014 3:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

OPI are my favorite polishes, but this one isn't my favorite. It's a dark grey/brown color with multi colored shimmer. I got it at a beauty supply store, and I saw it on one of the SA. It looked really good on her, but not so much on my fair skin. I probably wouldn't repurchase this shade.


on 10/28/2013 4:46:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bonniherself's review got this spot on. I have had this in my stash for a year but have not used until now. I bought it because it looked exciting in the bottle. I now know that there have been a couple of versions. I have the latest version and it is just a boring dull dark brown/grey on the nails, the colour in the bottle is not replicated on nails. Applied well, one coat only and fully opaque. Very smooth to put on. It looks very shiny particularly with a Seche Vite topping. I cannot comment on its durability. I put this on last night and I will be taking it off tonight. I like to look at my nails and get a little thrill (sad I know) but this kind of depresses me. I am a fan of dark polishes ( well all polishes really, I am kind of addicted....,) but this one leaves me cold.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2013 1:21:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

First, I knew they'd changed the formula, and that the polish I was buying was not the original holographic glitter version, which I'm told is gorgeous. I still liked the look of the polish, though, as I like brown polishes and I like glitter/shimmer. In the bottle, this looks like a rich, warm, dark brown with warm shimmer, exactly the sort of thing I enjoy wearing. On the nails, though, it's a different story, and not a happy one.

The colour is rather muddy, a dark grey-brown. If it was one or the other, it would be better, but it's just this muddy in between colour. Bleah. The glitter is well-suspended and definitely present, but it's extremely fine and barely there, more of a subtle shimmer than anything else. The shimmery particles appear to be... gold? Silver? I don't know, maybe they're actually prismatic? All of the above? Impossible to tell, unfortunately, no matter what light I use. Top coat improves the appearance of the glitter somewhat, but only a little.

The formula on this is really nice, I must say, and it's easy to work with. Also easy to remove, no glitter hassles.

I tried this polish a couple of times, trying to see if it would grow on me, but I just find the muddy grey-brown to be really unappealing. I put this in my "give away" bin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2013 11:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

With all of the disappointment I saw over this color...I was plesantly surprised when I got my bottle home. I have the 'new generation' and it is a very distinctive color that I really like. If you had the holo version I can see how you would not like this...but if you nver had the holo, this one is still a great color.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm a huge OPI fan, so I knew the newer version of My Private Jet would not have the holographic glitter, but it is SO different from the original. It is a dull glitter. I don't like that the glitter in the new version looks like white specks; there's no sparkle to it at all. I purchased MPJ because I was wanting a chocolate brown polish; next time I'll just buy a solid color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2013 6:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wasn't exactly sure what this was going to look like on my nails as I've been into flat colours in recent years, but it looks superb. I have the non-holo version.
Very long lasting as well, up there with the best of all OPI nail polishes I've tried.


on 4/19/2013 9:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of my favourite polishes. Like a previous reviewer said, it looks like granite counter top- and its totally gorgous! I have the non holo version and I love it nontheless! Everyone should have this in their collection!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have the "brown" version of the OPI My Private Jet, and although the holo one looks nice, I really like the version that I have.

I think the colour is absolutely gorgeous and I always feel really chic with this colour on even if it is 'dark'. I feel like this is a colour you could get away with wearing even in a stricter work environment. It has a lot of depth to it, and the amber sheen you see in the bottle doesn't translate onto your nails, which I don't mind. I would say it's a dark grey charcoal, it's not black-as-the-night black. It goes opaque in 2 coats, but if you prefer, you can always do 3. The consistency isn't too thick or runny, and it's easy to apply.
With a top coat it lasts around 4 days.

I really don't mind I don't have the "original" version, this polish, no matter what formulation you get, is still gorgeous.


on 2/3/2013 9:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing color...its so complex, even though I own the latest non holo version...I think is amazing....makes me feel cool.


Popular Polishes


Sugar Daddy
161 Reviews
Samoan Sand
188 Reviews
Butler Please
73 Reviews
salon effects
255 Reviews
Russian Navy
288 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

151 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top