OPI • My Private Jet • Polishes

rated 4.4(141 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 10/13/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a newer bottle of this and didn't get the older one where it was much more holo. This is a pretty taupe brown color that reflects the light nicely but the formula is kinda patchy and I had a few bald spots no matter what I did.

Other than the color I am not sure I would buy this again simply because of that fact. It also chipped pretty fast for OPI, within 3 days.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/31/2014 3:04:00 AM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OPI are my favorite polishes, but this one isn't my favorite. It's a dark grey/brown color with multi colored shimmer. I got it at a beauty supply store, and I saw it on one of the SA. It looked really good on her, but not so much on my fair skin. I probably wouldn't repurchase this shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nosage on 10/28/2013 4:46:00 AM more reviews by Nosage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Bonniherself's review got this spot on. I have had this in my stash for a year but have not used until now. I bought it because it looked exciting in the bottle. I now know that there have been a couple of versions. I have the latest version and it is just a boring dull dark brown/grey on the nails, the colour in the bottle is not replicated on nails. Applied well, one coat only and fully opaque. Very smooth to put on. It looks very shiny particularly with a Seche Vite topping. I cannot comment on its durability. I put this on last night and I will be taking it off tonight. I like to look at my nails and get a little thrill (sad I know) but this kind of depresses me. I am a fan of dark polishes ( well all polishes really, I am kind of addicted....,) but this one leaves me cold.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 10/28/2013 1:21:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

First, I knew they'd changed the formula, and that the polish I was buying was not the original holographic glitter version, which I'm told is gorgeous. I still liked the look of the polish, though, as I like brown polishes and I like glitter/shimmer. In the bottle, this looks like a rich, warm, dark brown with warm shimmer, exactly the sort of thing I enjoy wearing. On the nails, though, it's a different story, and not a happy one.

The colour is rather muddy, a dark grey-brown. If it was one or the other, it would be better, but it's just this muddy in between colour. Bleah. The glitter is well-suspended and definitely present, but it's extremely fine and barely there, more of a subtle shimmer than anything else. The shimmery particles appear to be... gold? Silver? I don't know, maybe they're actually prismatic? All of the above? Impossible to tell, unfortunately, no matter what light I use. Top coat improves the appearance of the glitter somewhat, but only a little.

The formula on this is really nice, I must say, and it's easy to work with. Also easy to remove, no glitter hassles.

I tried this polish a couple of times, trying to see if it would grow on me, but I just find the muddy grey-brown to be really unappealing. I put this in my "give away" bin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jmcmill475 on 10/25/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by jmcmill475

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

With all of the disappointment I saw over this color...I was plesantly surprised when I got my bottle home. I have the 'new generation' and it is a very distinctive color that I really like. If you had the holo version I can see how you would not like this...but if you nver had the holo, this one is still a great color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blue_butterfly87 on 9/24/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by blue_butterfly87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm a huge OPI fan, so I knew the newer version of My Private Jet would not have the holographic glitter, but it is SO different from the original. It is a dull glitter. I don't like that the glitter in the new version looks like white specks; there's no sparkle to it at all. I purchased MPJ because I was wanting a chocolate brown polish; next time I'll just buy a solid color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 charls on 9/23/2013 6:42:00 PM more reviews by charls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't exactly sure what this was going to look like on my nails as I've been into flat colours in recent years, but it looks superb. I have the non-holo version.
Very long lasting as well, up there with the best of all OPI nail polishes I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fuzzysham on 4/19/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by fuzzysham

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my favourite polishes. Like a previous reviewer said, it looks like granite counter top- and its totally gorgous! I have the non holo version and I love it nontheless! Everyone should have this in their collection!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snazzalicious on 4/15/2013 3:00:00 AM more reviews by snazzalicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have the "brown" version of the OPI My Private Jet, and although the holo one looks nice, I really like the version that I have.

I think the colour is absolutely gorgeous and I always feel really chic with this colour on even if it is 'dark'. I feel like this is a colour you could get away with wearing even in a stricter work environment. It has a lot of depth to it, and the amber sheen you see in the bottle doesn't translate onto your nails, which I don't mind. I would say it's a dark grey charcoal, it's not black-as-the-night black. It goes opaque in 2 coats, but if you prefer, you can always do 3. The consistency isn't too thick or runny, and it's easy to apply.
With a top coat it lasts around 4 days.

I really don't mind I don't have the "original" version, this polish, no matter what formulation you get, is still gorgeous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Viviana25 on 2/3/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by Viviana25

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing color...its so complex, even though I own the latest non holo version...I think is amazing....makes me feel cool.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products