MAC • #129 Powder/Blush Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.0(250 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 lumer00 on 1/30/2014 8:34:00 PM more reviews by lumer00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so torn between how many stars to give this. I decided on two for a couple of reasons. I think this a good blush brush, I had used it exclusively for three years, but it's not the best blush brush. First, it does tend to shed hairs when you first buy it, but that stops over time, now it may shed one hair every few uses, but that it is still unacceptable after three years. I find that with more pigmented blushes (especially those that have a certain firmer texture), I had to blend for far too long. With normal blushes, it was great, but it's just never been a soft brush and that is key to me. Even when I first purchased this, this wasn't the softest MAC brush I've owned. In fact, the hairs down right poked my face right from the beginning, and now it's scratchy compared to what I've replaced it with. With light blushes, I really had to pack on the pigment, by going back into the pan two to three times, which just furthered the discomfort my face felt from the hairs. When I was starting out investing in brushes, MAC was affordable and accessible for me. However, I have slowly replaced most of my MAC brushes for softer, more quality alternatives. Even if you are a makeup beginner, I recommend researching Hakuhodo brushes, the prices for their basic series face brushes are similar and some even less expensive than MAC. I personally recommend the J series (uncut white goat hair, amazingly soft), especially the eye brushes, which are cheaper than MAC and much better quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fivezero on 1/30/2014 2:06:00 PM more reviews by fivezero

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this brush ages ago (probably over 10 years) and it's shed from day one. I don't often wear blush, so I have likely only used it as much as a daily blush wearer would have for 1-2 years. I generally like it as it applies powder blush well, but it does leave a bristle or two on my face every time I use it, and when I wash it, a couple will fall out, too. I haven't used it as a powder brush, as I think it's a bit too small for that purpose. I wouldn't repurchase this brush due to the shedding, but on the other hand, I can't bring myself to replace it yet since it still works very well. As much as it has shed, it still seems quite full!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/14/2014 10:44:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like MAC brushes. 129 is a big fluffy brush made of natural hair. I use this one as an all over powder brush, and to blend my blush. I took away one lippy because I do get some shedding, but it's still a good brush. I clean it with baby shampoo, and rinse with a little bit of conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caish on 12/29/2013 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Caish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not a great brush. I bought it to go with my mac studio fix powder and it does the job of putting it on evenly on my whole face quickly and flawlessly but it does shed maybe one hair every time i use it and it isnt soft. I wouldnt call mine scratchy, it doesnt irritate my skin or anything but its not rub your face in it soft. So i bought the real techniques buffing brush to replace it and find that to be a much better brush for a fraction of the price. I sometimes use this brush now for blush or bronzer if i want a bold cheek as it does a good job of putting the product on (be light handed ladies!) but i dont use it for everyday blush or bronzer as its too large to contour and i prefer to use the real techniques brush which gives a more sheer blush look

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rhamed9412 on 10/12/2013 3:26:00 PM more reviews by rhamed9412

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first mac brush and i was so excited when i got it.. I came home and washed the brush and it shedded like crazy!! I kept it for like 2 weeks and i had to return it bc of how much it shedded!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cboylove on 10/8/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by cboylove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My go to powder brush, it works for bronzer/blush but the small size works great for applying powder to my t zone. It barely sheds and stays soft after washing. I've had mine for 2 years. The MAC numbers rub off after a while.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kiefer5 on 9/7/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by kiefer5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I probably would have given this 2 lippies but today I was washing this and I noticed by the ferrule a bronze color to the bristles. I thought maybe I had gotten some cream color on it so I tried to wash it out but the bristles started to crumble where I touched that part. I think it had lost the black pigment and now it is shredding and disintegrating. I don't even use this that much either and when I have there is sometimes a stray bristle that I have to pick off my face. This does shed when you wash it too. It is also scratchy feeling and not soft.
I think only MAC eye brushes are worth buying.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sroben on 7/28/2013 1:17:00 AM more reviews by sroben

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Hm...I've been using this brush for almost a year and I haven't had any shedding problems! I actually don't use this for blush but for contouring and applying bronzer instead - I love it! It lasts for a long time if you clean it regularly - definitely an HG brush!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 7/17/2013 4:31:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is basic blush brush which is nice and soft. It is of average size so will suit most people unless you have very small cheek area. The density of the bristles is average so you won't end up over-applying a very pigmented product.
Guess the brush can be used for any powder products, yet I prefer to use it as a blush brush.
Have not experienced any shading yet, but I haven't used the brush much so far.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ThetRuth710 on 5/7/2013 11:11:00 AM more reviews by ThetRuth710

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

This was my first Mac Brush....NOT the best experience...It was expensive and shed wayy to much. i threw it away because of how much it would shed, :/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products