Vasanti • Liquid Cover-up • Foundations

rated 4.1(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SUGAJAY on 5/15/2014 6:04:00 PM more reviews by SUGAJAY

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was never a make up girl growing up but once i turned 22 and started to go out a bit more, I felt I should start. I hate that cake faced looked, Im more of the natural type so I spent a lot of time trying to find products that were not only affordable but weren't cakey. Going to a drug store or department store where you can sample the product first is an absolute waste of money, TRUST ME! Make up can be very expensive however if you go about it the right way you will spend a reasonable amount of money on a product that best suits you and your needs and will last you the right amount of time if used well.

Vasanti is a little bit on the pricer side when it comes to drug store products however it works great. I have a bronze like complexion but my skin undertone is more on the yellow side. I've realized that the shades this make up comes in has had its best reviews from people with either yellowish or olive undertones.

Pros:
-small packaging
-covers VERY well
-not messy
-good for sensitive skin
-gives a semi matte look once dried
-a little goes a long way
-easy application/ removal at end of the day
-lasts a long time

Cons:
-a little more on the pricer side
-spills easily if not closed tightly
-small packaging lol
-flakes after extended period of wear

Although the packaging is small considered the price you pay, it's worth it. I just wish you got more. You don't need a lot to cover your face. You can layer it up if you like depending on the look you're going for. The only one negative thing I can say (which is why I didn't give it a 5 rating) is that once you apply it and let it dry, you need to use some type of make up spray or set spray to hold it before you apply powder on top. Or you need to make sure you're wearing some type of primer underneath before you apply or use an extra amount of moisturizer. The product doesn't dry out your face however i noticed whether or not I put powder on top after about 4 hours it becomes flakey but my face is still covered. I don't know if it's because I have combination skin or because no matter what primer I use they all dry my skin to the point that it becomes flakey therefore I don't use any and I just lightly lotion my face instead, but around 4 hours it becomes dry and flakey in certain areas. It doesn't start peeling, it doesn't start falling off...but without that hold primer or extra moisturizer to start it flakes. Nevertheless, this product is great and like any other product you use it needs something else to make it perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigergirly on 4/13/2014 2:06:00 PM more reviews by tigergirly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm impressed! I bought this when I forgot my cosmetics bag at home on a trip and it was the palest foundation I could find. I have very pale yellow, sensitive, combination skin that breaks out with almost every product. Not this! V0 matched well, the coverage is natural and decently long-lasting on me. For a runny formula, it covers my dark circles well and doesn't cake or break down. I usually use Lorac Natural Performance or Lancome Teint Miracle (the only ones that don't break me out from fancy to low-end), but this one will be a staple in my purse for touch-ups. Thanks, Vasanti! Hope I see more in stores soon. It's nice to see such a comprehensive range of shades- not all of us are mid-toned beige.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jaayle on 2/3/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by Jaayle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I honestly love this foundation and the fact it doubles up as a concealer makes me extremely happy. It has a semi matte finish and feels light weight. V3 fits my skin tone perfectly and it stays put from 6:45 am til 7 pm for me. I think it's a good foundation as long as you prime your face and set it with a make up spray then a powder afterwards. I used the urban decay deslick make up setting spray and my foundation hasn't budged a bit. It really is like a second skin and it has good coverage. In my opinion you really only need what's on the tiny brush once and it really does cover your whole face because I think more than two dips in the tube can make your face look really cakey. Although I wish it didn't come in a tube, the tiny brush does help me control the amount I need. This is my go to foundation now

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tani3624 on 8/22/2013 10:55:00 PM more reviews by Tani3624

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me shed some "real" light on this product. This foundation has yellow undertones/golden/olive which is why it made to suit asian and south asian women. It is oil free, doesnt have harsh chemicals, has a semi dewy natural matte skin finish, kind of a better layer of skin, for people like me who are combination oily and oily, you will need a good matte primer or good setting powder but the stay power is indeed amazing. It has medium to buildable full coverage it is no where near sheer. V2 is MAC NC20, v4 MAC NC30, v6 is MAC NC35 and so on... comes in a tube with a brush applicator, it will leak if u dont keep the tube will lid facing up. I apply two layers for a full coverage and dab on a tiny bit on my scars or i use mac studio finish concealer on my scars with one layer of this foundation, it looks flawless! It lasts 6 months trust ne its alot of product in a itsy bitsy tube! You will love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shopaholica82 on 8/1/2013 3:15:00 PM more reviews by Shopaholica82

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It's alright, nothing super special about it. Decent coverage without flaking. Slightly expensive for coverup (I got it for like $18). Packaging is very messy, I always get product leaking out from the lid!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snooki2011 on 7/25/2013 3:05:00 PM more reviews by snooki2011

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first foundation that I've ever used and I gotta say I'm so happy with my purchase. The lady at Shoppers really helped me find my perfect shade and I'm so grateful. The foundation comes in a tube (only downfall). The consistency however is quite thin but when you apply it, it comes off very natural and sheer. It hides all my discoloration and leaves my skin flawless and glowy. This foundation is geared towards women of the South Asian heritage and works great on me. The staying power is quite decent and is easily blendable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gteyez on 7/7/2013 5:59:00 PM more reviews by Gteyez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

After a while of buying foudations that ended up not suiting my skin color (have indian skin) I stumbled on to Vasanti's products. They weren't as affordable as other drugstore products, but far cheaper than higher end MAC and Sephora makeup. Which is fine with me, since finding foundations that have my skin colour is like finding gold on an enormous island.

First of all, you can tell that Vasanti is trying to do something very different from other makeup brands...and you can tell this from the packaging. (Liquid cover up comes in a tube with a brush applicator, and I am also in V8). Although I am a 'pump' kind of girl, the packaging of this really isn't so bad.

As for the final product, this makeup looks like a second skin, it is very natural while at the same time offers medium to building higher coverage. It is very sheer, but after a while of using this product it kind of annoys me about how sheer this product is. This is a big no no if you are a person that has oily skin, (I have oily combination skin around the T-Zone). Although the product has no harsh chemicals and does not contain oil it is very sheer (even when used with the Face Base Powder) so beware. A good matte primer would probably help, and I am yet to pair it with a primer.

As for a final review on this product, Vasanti has hit the mark when catering to different skin tones especially coloured skin tones. The packaging is different but I don't exactly 'love it'. Also I think they would go really far in creating a Matte foundation, one that preferably comes in a 'pump-cap' bottle. I like that their foundation does not have harsh chemicals, and does not come out ashy on the skin. I would recommend it, but people with oily skin should beware and maybe invest in a good matte primer when using this product. All in all, it is the only foundation so far (drugstore wise) that appeals to me and is affordable; more so than higher end makeup brands. I would prefer something more matte, but until I find an alternative I will stick to this.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
UPDATE -> I will not be repurchasing this product it makes me way too oily without a primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 humblelea on 6/24/2013 1:57:00 PM more reviews by humblelea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is oil-free but will still ruin your face if you have sensitive, combo skin. For a liquid foundation it looks cakey when you try to get more coverage. As a brand which targets women of colour I was surprised that the V12 still wasn't yellow enough for my skin. My face looked like it was a different colour because the foundation completely erased my undertone.

Not worth the price, wasn't much different than a drugstore brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 michellejagdev on 4/21/2013 10:46:00 PM more reviews by michellejagdev

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The product is in a tube with an applicator brush built into the lid, which makes it easy to apply and use. I started using this product about 3 years ago, I started using it because a make up artist used it on me for my engagement photo shoot. The product is amazing, the coverage masks dark circles and uneven skin tones. A little goes a long way. Pair it with the Face Base foundation powder and the product is especially long lasting. I'm able to to look polished and finished from 9-6 while still looking fresh.

I am Indian, from the North and have what you would call a 'wheatish' complexion with a golden undertone, so I wear V4. I recently got back from Florida and have a tan, and the coverage still suits my complexion and does not look cakey, or feel heavy in anyway

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shants on 4/13/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by Shants

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Smooth finish. Buildable coverage. Better than my Mac nc 44. I wear a mix of shades 06 and 08 to get that perfect finish

I've used MANY MANY products and being of Indian ethnicity, it is nice to finally have a foundation that matches my skin. I look like I am not wearing foundation. It doesn't cake up or crease. If you have dark circles and acne marks like I do, be sure to pick up their concealer!

CON: I really dislike the brush applicator for this product, I think it is unsanitary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Vasanti products

More Foundations products