Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(508 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 2/6/2015 7:15:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used this years ago and I couldn't review it because it was listed as discontinued. I used about half of it and during that time, I was breaking out and trying a lot of new things. It could be that this is helpful, but because of everything that was going on, it was hard to tell. It's not sold anymore so it doesn't matter, but I found out after years of agony that it was propylene glycol that breaks me out, and possibly butylene glycol too (the BG is in this product). But it was so hard to find out, so one thing I will say is just be careful of over doing it with all the acne treatments. I had over dried my skin and caused a vicious cycle, but going totally 'natural' didn't help either. Propylene glycol is used so frequently, that it's really in everything, but because it has a low comedogenic rating I didn't think it was that. But it really could be anything that's an irritant to someone. So just be careful and good luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 purplerose95 on 11/20/2014 12:17:00 PM more reviews by purplerose95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

It's disappointing Neutrogena discontinued this well formulated product. The Neutrogena bha keeps my pimples at bay and has helped with clearing up tiny pimples or redness around my cheeks. I love the gel like texture of it because it is easy to spread. I do not like how dry it can be at times. The price is inexpensive at $10 for two ounces. One tube lasts me many months. I'm on my last bottle of it and hope it lasts for many months. Neutrogena, please make this beautiful bha exfoliant again!

Edit: I would like to mention using this treatment reduced redness and bump on my cheeks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lorel1 on 8/9/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Lorel1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for 6 yrs or so. I have sensitive skin/oily. This has not irritated my skin but it exfoliates my skin, prevents acne and keeps my wrinkles at bay thanks to BHA. I use this only at night either every night in the summer & every other night in the winter. This works great with a moisturizer as well. This has a light texture that doesn't make your face tight. I highly recommend this. I bought this on line because I can't find this in stores anymore:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danielled65 on 7/29/2014 12:57:00 AM more reviews by danielled65

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

HG! I use this every morning and night all over my face even if my skin is mostly clear because it prevent my breakouts I USED to always get. I combine this with my the scrub and facial wash also from the acne stress control collection and my skins looks clear, soft and flawless! My only issue is that I noticed when I stopped using those 3 products my skin broke out even worse than it did before, not much of an issue though since i don't plan to stop purchasing:)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GinaBina45 on 7/20/2014 12:55:00 AM more reviews by GinaBina45

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Found this at my local Dollarama for 3 bucks and since it was Neutrogena, I figured "why not?" It smells nice but I didn't really see a change in my skin. It didn't do anything to stop breakouts from occurring and if anything, I broke out even more! I didn't notice any of my acne healing either. But my skin has been softer and I've noticed a lot of blackheads have been reduced.
Would I repurchase? Probably not. But for 3 bucks, I don't feel as dejected.

Update: I persisted and kept using this product and I'm happier with it! It still doesn't prevent acne for me, but I've noticed that it does help a bit with the breakouts I do have and my face has cleared up and I like to believe that this product helped!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adavi0140 on 7/18/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by adavi0140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

*12/08/2014 UPDATE* after about a month of not using this product, my skin has remained clear, so I'm figuring out that using or not using this product makes little difference. In addition, I'm realizing that it pills up like a B%TCH. Under everything. It's extremely annoying, and I don't know how i didn't notice before.


One of my HG products and a major contributor in the clearing of my skin. It isn't an overnight miracle worker, at least, it wasn't for me, but over time it drastically improved my skin. It has a very light texture and can be used on its own on my oiler days, but my skin can sometimes lean more to the dry side and I need more moisture than this provides. It feels cool on the skin but doesn't tingle or sting. It does have fragrance, so if that irritates you, I'd avoid this. Thankfully, it doesn't seem to bother me. I will continue to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xmikimagoo on 6/30/2014 3:18:00 PM more reviews by xmikimagoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This has been my go-to acne treatment for about a year now. It is light, doesn't burn or irritate my skin, and works well for how gentle it is. I find that it does not help me with hormonal breakouts, but not much does so I don't find that to be a huge problem. It calms down the redness in my t-zone as well and prevents my skin from getting flaky. It prevents large pimples from popping up and dries out existing pimples within a few days. I do have a gripe about the packaging, though. The product is so runny that I find it tends to leak into the cap and get a little messy. I can live with that since this product is awesome in so many other ways. Definitely worth a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amandadee97 on 6/20/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by amandadee97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is essentially a very light, salicylic-acid/BHA based lotion. It is alcohol free and oil free, but not fragrance free, though this doesn't seem to bother me. It is very light and runny, and a greenish colour. It absorbs fast and has a tingly feel, but doesn't seem to irritate my skin. This is my only moisturizer in the morning; at night I apply it under C Serum and another, richer lotion. Overall this has definitely been one of the power players in clearing up my acne, and keeping my skin fresh and bright looking. It doesn't get rid of all my blackheads(sadly!) but it keeps my pores clean and thus appearing much smaller. It is not a hugely expensive product, and for what it does I wouldn't care anyway. I will be repurchasing(have been through three or four tubes already)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 frippery on 5/22/2014 6:33:00 AM more reviews by frippery

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i've been buying this for years and love the gentle BHA formula and mild unoffensive scent.

this product seems to disappear from shelves and the neutrogena site, then reappear over the years. it seems to have been discontinued yet again (?), which is a shame and kind of strange, given how highly rated it is. thier newer/alternative products are too heavy and too strongly scented for me. too bad.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 5/19/2014 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Very happy with the product. It really helps to keep the skin free of spots. I also find it quite gentle of the skin. I didn't experience any tightness or dryness when using it. It does moisturize the skin as it is claiming.
The product has a greenish color. The texture is gel-like which makes it easily glide on the skin. No oiliness observed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments (Face) products