Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment • Treatments

rated 4.0(500 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsVengeance on 2/6/2014 2:49:00 PM more reviews by MsVengeance

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I gave it a 4 cause even though it caused me redness and irritation, I used to love this stuff due to the fact that it was one of the few effective and alcohol free drugstore BHAs. However this is just an FYI in case, like me, you can't seem to find it ANYWHERE: this product has been discontinued in the US! Apparently, it's still being sold in Canada though, so you can probably still get it online...though really, maybe you could just get PCs brand for the same price when you factor in shipping; I dunno...

Another FYI, in case anyone's wondering the only other effective/alcohol-free drugstore BHAs being sold right now in the US (according to Paula b's reviews) are Clean &Clear's Advantage Oil Absorbing Treatment and Clearasil's "Ultra Rapid Action Treatment Lotion." They are both 2% salicylic acid lotions rather than a gel, but I'd say go with the Clearasil one if you have dry sensitive skin (i do and I love it!) or if you have oily skin you might like C&C's version better (apparently it has a powdery finish), though it comes in a 1.5 oz bottle rather than a 4oz bottle like clearasils.... Anyways, unlike neutrogena's 3 in 1 treatment, neither of these have green tea but oddly, my skin is less red and irritated with the Clearasil lotion than it ever was with the Neutrogena gel (though I think the gel worked faster).

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dashulya on 1/30/2014 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Dashulya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product on and off for a couple of years. I do not think it keeps my skin clear on its own. However, it works great in combination with benzoyl peroxide (I use persa-gel 10) or moisturizer. This lotion does not strip my skin of moisture, but it does not moisturize either. If my skin is dry, I need to still use a different moisturizer to help that. However, I find that my skin is better when I use this product a couple nights a week than if I do not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PaintingSumsets on 1/10/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by PaintingSumsets

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my very first acne treatment. I heard that Neutrogena was a good brand and desperate I was, I purchased this while the Neutrogena products were on sale at my local drugstore; I paid about $10. It's a gel-like substance and it smells fresh. I first cleansed my face, then put this on my problem areas, following my Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturizer. After a week, my skin was so much clearer! People stopped looking at my forehead acne when speaking to me, and this controlled my oiliness too! After about two months, this treatment stopped working. I would get patches of pustules and it would take the longest time to get rid of them. In response to the situation, I obviously used more of this. It didn't work. When I used up the tube, I was super worried about awful acne flaring up. Contrary to my prediction, I'm faring well. After purchasing Clean and Clear's persa-gel 5 to go with my night routine, my skin has never looked so clear! :) I'm planning to purchase the Clean & Clear Oil Absorbing Treatment because I've heard good things about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 1/9/2014 12:22:00 AM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I buy this over and over again. It's lightweight, doesn't dry out skin or smell awful (though I wish they would take out the fragrance altogether!). It feels like a gel/liquid-y type moisturiser and sinks in quickly. When I used to get breakouts I would put this on and it would reduce redness and the pimples overnight and they would be gone within a few days. It's not sticky and I so apply make-up over top with no issues (although depending on the foundation, especially if it's creamy or oil-based, it can cause this silicone-based Acne treatment to pill). I have no problems with irritation from this, and it works great to keep pores unclogged and reducing swelling, redness and bumpy skin texture.

Although my HG BHA (salicylic acid) continues to be PC'S Clear Extra Strength 2% BHA - because it's liquid, easy to swipe on and go plus it cleared up my skin finally, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this, and use it still when I travel and don't want to take the PC's liquid with me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lyssaw519 on 12/6/2013 2:03:00 PM more reviews by lyssaw519

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

EDIT 12/19/13: So I have been using this for the past couple weeks in combination with the scrub, toner, and night pads from the stress control line and my skin has never looked better! I have tried proactiv, clean and clear, murad, and nothing has worked without causing other problems. I finally can go without wearing makeup and being self conscious about what my skin looks like! Even my husband has told me my skin looks better.. According to beautypedia this product is discontinued, but I have a feeling if enough people complain Neutrogena may bring it back. Who knows... for now I have stocked up through ebay. Not sure what I'll do when I do run out...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* satin828 on 11/20/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by satin828

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I first discovered this product through a makeup artist on Youtube, and the MUA reviews confirmed the recommendation, so I decided to take a break from my Differin gel and give this a try.

I have normal/combo skin with 1-2 breakouts a month, but scars heal very slowly on my skin (months up to a year!). I also have very deep and stubborn blackheads on my nose and upper cheeks that are nearly impossible to remove (and I've tried for many years). Initially, I heard that the Neutrogena treatment is good for treating blackheads because it has the correct pH level, but I found that it's also great for healing my acne scars.

I apply this product once or twice daily to the affected areas after cleansing and moisturizing my face. Within 1 week, I've noticed that the blackheads have reduced, and the redness from the scarring have gone down noticeably as well. However, the Differin gel is better for healing scars. This product doesn't dry out my skin (unlike Differin) or make it oily and acne-prone. Highly recommend!

For those who are looking for stores in Canada that still carry this product, Target is an option ($9 CAD/59mL). Some Shoppers carry it as well. I bought 2 packs just in case Neutrogena discontinues it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MelAnne99 on 11/3/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by MelAnne99

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Just a heads up for all you ladies, they are still selling this on Neutrogena's website, I've just received my order in the mail :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asamiann22 on 11/1/2013 11:30:00 AM more reviews by asamiann22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Is this product discontinued? I can't find it anywhere! I've been using this product and my skin has been really clear and acne-free. I just ran out and I'm getting pimples again! Can't live without it! Help!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nekkun on 9/16/2013 12:35:00 AM more reviews by nekkun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this for a month or so to try to get rid of the blackheads on my nose. It seems to working well in bringing the blackheads more to the surface and loosening the debris so it's easier to get out. I know it's not for everyone, but I use my fingers (washed of course!) to gently squeeze out any blackheads that seem to be "ripe". :P I use this on my cheeks, nose, chin, and forehead every evening and my skin seems to glow more or something. I guess the salicylic acid really does help with skin cell turnover! I'm glad I bought this and will continue to as long as I have blackheads (which will probably be forever, sigh). Took off one lippie cos it makes my nose dry and a little flaky in the corner but I use Vaseline before bed and it helps a lot. Worth it! :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elacey on 9/9/2013 9:38:00 PM more reviews by elacey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE! Whenever I stray and try something new, it almost always breaks me out. Then I use this to get my skin cleared up fast. I have very sensitive skin and get acne from any irritation. This soothes my skin, clears up the redness, and reduces the size of any pimples. Keeps any hormonal acne at bay around that time of the month. I order online from the Neutrogena site to make it cheaper.

A BIG HINT! : use a natural oil underneath to help the product sink into your skin. When I use this alone my face is too dry and breaks out, so I use a tiny amount of jojoba oil. YES it is oil, but it closely matches the oil your own body produces and keeps your skin from making more. Also, scrubbing too hard makes your skin produce oil, so wash gently. Gently rub a few drops all over your face and then immediately apply the 3 in 1 treatment. You can find jojoba oil at health stores (Whole Foods, GNC, etc).

I hope this helps clear up any one else's acne-prone and sensitive skin!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments products