Make Up For Ever • Duo Mat Powder foundation • Powder

rated 3.9(293 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Kaitlynsamuel on 7/28/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by Kaitlynsamuel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be my favorite powder. Matched my skin perfectly stayed matte and will only go cakey if you keep applying throughout the day. Blotting sheets do help with the oil instead of re applying. Probably the only powder that doesn't make my skin irritated or break me out. Lasted me about 2-3 months!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* STACEYFFF on 6/16/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by STACEYFFF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful silky MATTE, medium to full coverage (depending on application method) foundation. Can be used to set other foundations. For my very oily skin, I prefer this over Lancome's dual finish powder foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 5/2/2014 9:48:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I worked with this foundation for a few weeks now to basically force myself to like it but I just hate it. Another poor quality powder foundation! I'm not saying everything is a bust with this because it does have a few really good qualities such as staying matte all day long even after workouts! Also, it doesn't cause any skin irritations with is a huge bonus. However, these are the cons that I can't deal with enough to keep this.
Cons:
1. Dated finish. I mean, what is up with the 90s powdery finish? It is very cakey. It makes the skin look chalky and dry. I have oily skin but I'm a huge fan of foundation allowing skin to look like skin. I want my *cough* natural beauty to glow through the foundation, not have a powdery veil over it. There are many foundations out now on the market that have a matte finish and allow skin to look like skin!
2. Poor staying power. My oils don't break through this foundation but it does fade very fast on me. After two hours of wear, I still have a matte finish but spots have faded and I look like I suck at applying makeup.
3. Oxidation. As with MUFE's other foundations (HD & Mat Velvet) this one too oxidizes like a bastard. BAD, it oxidizes about three shades darker and very orange.
4. Poor coverage. Now, I'm normally a light coverage person on a daily basis. I typically wear a tinted moisturizer. However, the coverage I got from this was more like a setting powder.
Conclusion, I'm back to MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation because that give great coverage and it lasts all day. This isn't HG either because it doesn't have the best oil control. Oh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Blove14 on 4/15/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Blove14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have fairly oily skin and find this powder somewhat controls it for a few hours. Pros: - can build coverage - stays on the skin all day without being absorbed by your skin or having to reapply -controls oil for a few hours -blends well Cons: - I find when you apply with a powder brush the powder goes everywhere. It comes off the pan really easily so be careful when you swipe it with your brush. Just dabbing will pick up enough powder. -oxidizes a bit after you apply. I'm thinking about returning mine for a shade lighter

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Leahdearr on 3/25/2014 2:41:00 PM more reviews by Leahdearr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Returning . Did nothing for my oily skin. I used it with a primer and with the MUFE Mat Velvet +. What does work for me however is... Cover girl 3 in 1 with Mac blot powder. So I'll be doing that and returning this right away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HelenB16 on 3/24/2014 12:44:00 AM more reviews by HelenB16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited to get this based on the reviews and based on my laziness. I hate having to blend away with liquid foundation and wanted to try a powder foundation that would cover my acne scars and control my oily skin. This powder looked really nice after applying with the sponge and after spritzing my setting spray but didn't control my oil for more than 2 hours. Maybe it would work better as a setting powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 reh92 on 3/12/2014 8:32:00 AM more reviews by reh92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried to use this as a setting powder and it felt too heavy and chalky on my face. I would not recommend it for the use to set a foundation. Maybe to set a bb cream... Also my skin is too dry to try this as a foundation by itself. Smashbox Halo powder was much better and more natural for my skin. If you want a REALLY matte and flat base then I would recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 evill_fishy on 3/10/2014 8:10:00 PM more reviews by evill_fishy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great powder foundation - with a drawback. I have dry combination skin that's recovering from some mild hormonal breakouts, so needless to say I have a few marks that need covering up. What I like to do is to apply a pretty emollient moisturizer, then while it still hasn't sunk in conceal any really major discolourations with some Maybelline stick concealer and pat a thin layer of this on top followed by some Urban Decay All-Nighter. Once that's dry I'll go over any areas that look like they could use a little more coverage with this again. However, on days that I'm in a rush I'll just skip the concealer all together and this does manage to cover most acne marks even on its own. It's probably the least cakey powder foundation I've ever tried, though I wouldn't say it's undetectable. I've tried using it as a setting powder and I wouldn't recommend that as the coverage becomes way too much, for me anyways. The finish is pretty natural for a powder - despite its name, it looks more like a satin finish than a matte to me. This is also great for photography as it does not contain sunscreen and therefore does not flashback.

I hate the feeling of liquid foundations and find that most of them streak on me, never quite blend in with my concealed areas, or just turn into an oil-slick transfer mess by mid-day no matter how dry I am. If you're like me and can't live without some powder in your life, this will feel great to you. During dryer seasons this lasts on me without any touchups for at least 8-9 hours, more humid seasons may require a few t-zone touchups but not much.

Now we arrive at my one qualm with this foundation - the shade range. I have a pretty fair asian skintone, but by no means am I the palest around (around NC20). Initially I bought this in shade 203, which seemed like a reasonable area on the shade range for me to be in. Considering the number of people who thought I had gone on a tropical vacation, I was clearly wrong. So I took it back to Sephora and came home with the lightest shade in Sephora's range - 200. Initially this looked okay in the mirror, but I found that in certain lightings it still looked way too dark, and by mid-day it had definitely oxidized to a much darker shade. So while I love the formulation of this foundation, MUFE seriously needs to rethink the lighter half of the shade range, and sadly I will not re-purchase until then.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mmmarzan on 3/9/2014 12:58:00 AM more reviews by mmmarzan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Overall a great powder foundation. Doesn't look too good as a setting powder for some reason on me it oxidized really bad. But by itself it's great. Good coverage, I would say medium-full if you really pack it on. Only downside is the price, and because of that not sure if I would re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 quiksilvababe on 3/4/2014 10:10:00 PM more reviews by quiksilvababe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff! I even broke it and it shattered but repaired it! I was so happy, google how to restore broken powder it seriously worked.

great coverage, but after awhile I want more coverage and will be dipping into liquid foundation soon, eek! Love this stuff though

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Powder products