Make Up For Ever • Duo Mat Powder foundation • Powder

rated 3.9(295 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hondurena89 on 12/19/2014 6:38:00 PM more reviews by hondurena89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This powder blew me away. I have been using it for a little over two weeks so I will update is my mind changes. But so far I'm blown away. I love powder foundations to lightly dust over my liquid foundation. I have been using Mac studio Fox powder for about a year. And loreal true match powder for two years. But this one ( mat duo) is almost for perfect for me. My skin type had changed since I have birth. My skin type is usually dry but I'm a combo of normal and oily t zone. I have been using the Revlon colorstay and this mat duo powder together and I do not get a shiny t zone or need to reapply any makeup through out the day. My makeup look and stay flaweless throughout the day. The powder is packed tightly and it's not a lot of product for the price. I wouldn't call it full coverage but I think it's medium but buildable. I use the color 214 and my Mac reference is nc50 and nw44. I wear the Revlon colorstay in 400 caramel in the normal to oily skin it's a perfect match. Mac colors aren't to much of a perfect match. I will continue to purchase this powder. Also it does not accentuate any dry patches. So dry skin people should be okay. Just apply lightly. One of favorite YouTube makeup is socialite life ( Sandy) she wears this powder all the time and her makeup stays flawless. Hope I helped someone. Its better to send a little more to look better sometimes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chalaynay on 10/10/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by chalaynay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When I first bought this from Sephora I was so excited to think my skin would stay matte ALL day long. I have the shade 214 and it fits almost perfectly. After a month, I realized my skin doesn't stay matte that long (even with mattifying products to prep). According to the ladies at Sephora it's the best mattifying powder they have so there's nothing else I can run to. For $34, I need my face to be flawless through life & this only lasts about 4 hours on my face WITH a primer. So this is a no go for me. Wish I could return but I've already hit pan and I'd feel bad even trying to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ReseesRulesAll on 8/7/2014 7:17:00 AM more reviews by ReseesRulesAll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

All the bad reviews amaze me this works perfect for me with my primed and poreless by too faced and revlon colorstay. It gives my face a perfect matte glow and the best part is I don't ever touch up my face from when I put it in at 8 til 5/6 at night. Plus it's always humid and very hot 90+. The only thing is that it is a bit more expensive and I find it too similar to sephoras pressed powder. Yet the only reason I buy makeup forever over sephoras is because my shade, 207 just can't be replaced by their colors. It's such a unique color and it's my perfect shade which makes me love the product more. I've repurchased this three times in the past 5 years(everytime I run out). Great product definitely my go to powder and I've been through many powders ( makeup forever hd finish, primed &poreless powder, bareminerals mineral veil, sephoras pressed powder, Almay, revlon, etc) I also just like how if used with a very fluffy powder brush it feels light and airy even in too of revlon which is a very thick foundation ! The great thing is when you go to sephora you can just test it yourself:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaitlynsamuel on 7/28/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by Kaitlynsamuel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be my favorite powder. Matched my skin perfectly stayed matte and will only go cakey if you keep applying throughout the day. Blotting sheets do help with the oil instead of re applying. Probably the only powder that doesn't make my skin irritated or break me out. Lasted me about 2-3 months!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* STACEYFFF on 6/16/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by STACEYFFF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful silky MATTE, medium to full coverage (depending on application method) foundation. Can be used to set other foundations. For my very oily skin, I prefer this over Lancome's dual finish powder foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 5/2/2014 9:48:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I worked with this foundation for a few weeks now to basically force myself to like it but I just hate it. Another poor quality powder foundation! I'm not saying everything is a bust with this because it does have a few really good qualities such as staying matte all day long even after workouts! Also, it doesn't cause any skin irritations with is a huge bonus. However, these are the cons that I can't deal with enough to keep this.
Cons:
1. Dated finish. I mean, what is up with the 90s powdery finish? It is very cakey. It makes the skin look chalky and dry. I have oily skin but I'm a huge fan of foundation allowing skin to look like skin. I want my *cough* natural beauty to glow through the foundation, not have a powdery veil over it. There are many foundations out now on the market that have a matte finish and allow skin to look like skin!
2. Poor staying power. My oils don't break through this foundation but it does fade very fast on me. After two hours of wear, I still have a matte finish but spots have faded and I look like I suck at applying makeup.
3. Oxidation. As with MUFE's other foundations (HD & Mat Velvet) this one too oxidizes like a bastard. BAD, it oxidizes about three shades darker and very orange.
4. Poor coverage. Now, I'm normally a light coverage person on a daily basis. I typically wear a tinted moisturizer. However, the coverage I got from this was more like a setting powder.
Conclusion, I'm back to MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation because that give great coverage and it lasts all day. This isn't HG either because it doesn't have the best oil control. Oh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Blove14 on 4/15/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Blove14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have fairly oily skin and find this powder somewhat controls it for a few hours. Pros: - can build coverage - stays on the skin all day without being absorbed by your skin or having to reapply -controls oil for a few hours -blends well Cons: - I find when you apply with a powder brush the powder goes everywhere. It comes off the pan really easily so be careful when you swipe it with your brush. Just dabbing will pick up enough powder. -oxidizes a bit after you apply. I'm thinking about returning mine for a shade lighter

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Leahdearr on 3/25/2014 2:41:00 PM more reviews by Leahdearr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Returning . Did nothing for my oily skin. I used it with a primer and with the MUFE Mat Velvet +. What does work for me however is... Cover girl 3 in 1 with Mac blot powder. So I'll be doing that and returning this right away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HelenB16 on 3/24/2014 12:44:00 AM more reviews by HelenB16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited to get this based on the reviews and based on my laziness. I hate having to blend away with liquid foundation and wanted to try a powder foundation that would cover my acne scars and control my oily skin. This powder looked really nice after applying with the sponge and after spritzing my setting spray but didn't control my oil for more than 2 hours. Maybe it would work better as a setting powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 reh92 on 3/12/2014 8:32:00 AM more reviews by reh92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried to use this as a setting powder and it felt too heavy and chalky on my face. I would not recommend it for the use to set a foundation. Maybe to set a bb cream... Also my skin is too dry to try this as a foundation by itself. Smashbox Halo powder was much better and more natural for my skin. If you want a REALLY matte and flat base then I would recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Powder products