Christian Dior • Diorshow Black Out Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.5(570 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 norina on 7/23/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by norina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have ok lashes, not too fine, not too fair (dark blond hair and hazel eyes, pale skin with pinkish undertones) but they lack the umph and pazzahh factors (not long or thick enough). I used to love Lancome's hypnoses' doll eyes and chanel inimitable in black for special occasions but couldn't find something to bring my eyes out without the drama; till I found diorshow blackout waterproof in black. If you have tried like me eyelash tint and curling you will know what I am talking about. All I know is that I gave this product a go and my lashes turned inky black and long. With just one go at my lashes. I was a goner. With one go it gives the impression that you have outlined your eyelids from the inside. It just gives you that extra oomph. And waterproof. But if you apply 2 coats it's more for going out than a day at the office. Love this product (I've still to try the famous benefit mascaras)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Griffin13 on 6/11/2014 1:47:00 AM more reviews by Griffin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wanted to love this product. I went in to purchase Dior Show mascara but the sales associate said this was better.
What I did not like,
-Difficult to apply, very wet and messy application. I have long lashes so if I blinked it would transfer to my upper or lower eye. When it smudged it was difficult to remove.
-Most of product was applied to the Base of my lash leaving the ends sparse, thin and spidery looking. Trying to add to the ends would result in clumping and spiky lashes.
-Clumpy, brush would appear to separate lashes but would clump together right away.
-Did not hold curl.

If you like very dark, wet mascaras this would fit the bill. One good part, easy to reapply later in the day. For example, I would go to the gym in the morning and throw an extra coat on before work and it went on easily however with the complaints listed above. I am wondering if it would be better for shorter lashes as it was fairly voluminous at base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cwellsto9 on 4/18/2014 3:51:00 AM more reviews by cwellsto9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have looked everywhere for the most drastic black and "volumizing" mascara. Hands down this is it-and I have tried too many to even want to count! Earlier today I made my best friend (Blonde, blue-eyes, no tan & light eyelashes) put it on----she couldn't stop looking at herself in the mirror and talking about her eyelashes!

-I love, and have tried the many mascaras by Christian Dior, but Diorshow Black Out is my absolute favorite!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lyrics on 4/4/2014 5:43:00 AM more reviews by Lyrics

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the regular mascara - not the waterproof version.

I used this mascara for about two months as I really wanted to like it. The name is awesome.

It's a very black mascara (true to it's name) and it stays black all day. It's also gives serious volume. I have short lashes and, each time I used it, my eyes just popped.
I also like the brush - it's quite a big brush (none of that fancy curve stuff other mascaras have - yeah I'm looking at you Helena Rubinstein Lash Queen Mascara that is supposed to give volume but you do not)... and it does cover your lashes nicely. The product gets exactly one lippie for that.

*However* - I spent more and more time trying to make sure I have a clean application. The product is very "wet" if that makes sense. If you're not careful, you'll end up with a big glob on your eye and that's NOT cute! I had to be so careful as I had to make sure I don't have too much product on the brush. As time went on and the mascara got thicker, it became even trickier to apply. Second coats were a no-go. I would have just had a blob of black on my eyes.

Getting the mascara off in the evening was another tricky one. On the one hand, kudos for longevity of the product - but on the other hand, if I wanted a waterproof mascara, I would have bought one. The mascara was especially hard to get off. It took several cotton pads with eye make-up remover to get rid of it. No bueno. After two months of long-suffering, it went in the bin.
I will, of course, not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 3/26/2014 7:49:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The first times I used the mascara I totally hated it. The brush was too messy and was difficult to apply the product without smearing around the eyes.
Yet after a while the product seemed to dry up a bit, and I also washed the bush well. Then I could use the mascara with a better result. I like the longevity. For being not a waterproof mascara this one stays on pretty long without dusting and getting smeared. Gets removed without too much trouble.
Probably this product is best suited for someone with very short eye lashes. Mine being quite long need definition in the 1st place which this mascara can't provide well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 1m083n on 1/7/2014 4:56:00 PM more reviews by 1m083n

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

If you like unbelievably dark eyelashes beyond every other black promises other brands make, this is your mascara. Compared to the regular Diorshow, the regular diorshow waterproof and Blackout waterproof it does not smudge, holds a curl and is relatively easy to remove. I find the waterproof version of this is dry, and the Diorshow regular and waterproof just give you yucky pond looking panda eyes.
Blackout regular however is just wonderful and i have super sensitive eyes where if they do not like a mascara, not only are they irritated my eyelashes ACTUALLY FALL OUT. This mascara has caused no such thing, in fact, my eyelash population density has increased and they are now long and beautiful looking thanks to this mascara.
The one and only con has to be the big, clunky, clumpy, stupid brush. I can deal with it, but it lets the flawless formula down. It's a stupid brush and it makes me angry because it is so unnecessary, like monster trucks down little english country roads, it just makes application awkward and messy.
However, will continue to buy forever and ever so long as they make it unless they come out with one in mercy of use little eyed perfectionist folks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 azalea2 on 1/4/2014 11:40:00 AM more reviews by azalea2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think I've ever been more disappointed buying a mascara. I have long but thin lashes, so I'm always looking for a mascara that gives show stop black volume, and I really expected this to be the one. Especially since I've read so many gushing reviews about it!

When I applied it for the first time it came on way too wet and didn't separate well, clumping my lashes together. I tried to salvage it by wiggling the wand but all that gave me was unwanted extra length, resulting in a tragic combination of clumpy and spidery lashes. And for all that money! I can only hope I'm the one who's doing something wrong. :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ottybates on 1/4/2014 6:20:00 AM more reviews by ottybates

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara is as dark as deep space; black hole; a vortex. By a long shot, it has the best colour of any product I have ever used.

The formula isn't too gooey. My lashes are naturally long, and I don't get the dreaded blink stain under my eyebrows like I have had with other brands. It applies like a dream, and with a careful hand, lashes will not clump. The larger wand is good for maximum coverage; one coat is ample, although two coats will give knock-out results. I generally do one coat for the day, and a couple for after dark. It's also a good confidence boost; you can really see the difference it makes.

The price is certainly a factor, but as other reviewers have stated, this mascara lasts, wears beautifully, offers great colour, good coverage, great wear time, and luscious plump lashes; I haven't found a cheaper brand that covers the spectrum of beautiful eyelashes in one product.

I'll most certainly be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Makeupbyamandam on 11/24/2013 6:05:00 PM more reviews by Makeupbyamandam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this mascara. This has been a favorite of mine for years. I don't usually go for mascara that lengthens. Some length is nice, but my lashes are already long so I like the soft volume and dramatic effect that this mascara provides. It's super pigmented so that it doesn't give you that weird grayish tinge that some mascara that claim to be black can give. This applies like a dream. I use one coat to get the desired effect, but for a night on the town, 2 coats really amplifies the drama. I personally have never had any issues with flaking with this and it doesn't clump for me whatsoever. This looks so sophisticated and beautiful no matter what look you are going for. It looks amazing with darker smokey eyes and if you're just doing a mascara and lipgloss kind of day, it really, at least for me, looks clean and put together. What I love about this is how easily it applies. I am usually in a hurry when I am going to work, and I find that I don't need to work with this a whole lot to get the look that I am going for. I have been repurchasing this for about 5 years now, and I just can't get away from it. I will buy something different for a while, but I always find myself coming back to this. The brush is really easy to work with and I feel like the product is evenly distributed so that when you apply it's not thicker or clumpier in some areas and not in others. The tip of the wand makes it easier to get into those hard to reach areas of the eye and yet it makes them look uniform with the rest of your lashes with out getting a gap which I sometimes have a problem with. I really just love this stuff. It is pricier but for the performance, it's worth it. Once its on, it stays put till you take it off. Just don't watch a sad movie unless you have waterproof on because you will cry Crayola black tears! I just cannot say it enough. I love, love, love this and cannot stop buying it even with that price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GwenNYC on 10/25/2013 6:46:00 PM more reviews by GwenNYC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried all kinds of mascaras from all different brands, and always come back to Dior. I used to wear the regular Diorshow, but have fallen in love with Black Out. Why? It's sinfully dark and most importantly – it stays put. Be sure to have a lash brush handy though, as it can be thick. No issues if you have a brush for separation. LOVE this product.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Christian Dior products

More Mascara products