Yves Saint Laurent • golden gloss 11 golden whisper • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Jaid on 1/28/2010 11:39:00 PM more reviews by Jaid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This lip gloss is wonderful, and I just love the shine and sparkle. Probably the best gloss I have had if I were to just even speak of the beautiful sparkle. WOW. I love the scent to.... I usually just have my co bigelow peppermint or cinnamon lipgloss, so this is a nice change, plus I am not used to having sparkly lips and I love that fact as well. The smell reminds me of bahama mamma or fuzzy navel wine coolers, don't ask me why I think of those first because I can't even drink them because they hurt my stomach, but this gloss smells just as yummy as them. So it's like the smell w/o the stomach ache.... NICE PLUS! The hefty price is a bit upsetting... but maybe thats whatcha get with "real gold flakes" in it. Plus this is a new gloss for me so I don't know how long it will last. I do know if I apply only to the bottom of my lips and rub them together (just like one swipe of this) I get tons or beautiful sparkle and shine!... so I am thinking It will last longer for me than most of my glosses.... price if def worth it if that is the case. I have actually been liking this with "MAC whirl lip liner, korres lip balm jasmine, and this gloss". Great gloss, I def recommend this color and most of the others from this line! Great product..... have to at least go test it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lillykinloo on 4/4/2009 1:26:00 AM more reviews by lillykinloo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this color, and found it to look great with smokey eyes. It's a nude, silverish color with a faint golden glow from the gold flecks - almost like a champagne color. The consistency is great, because it's not sticky or thick. I like the smell/taste. It reminds me a bit of melon, but I could see where someone may not like this smell, so I would suggest that you try before you buy. Lastly, I love that the lip gloss doesn't collect around the top and squish out under the lid and around the top. I guess there is some sort of vacuum effect that keeps the gloss down inside the tube so it doesn't make mess of your purse or hands. I took off one lippie because of the price. This is the most expensive gloss I've ever purchased, and even though I like it, the price is still a bit high to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susjs on 3/28/2009 11:59:00 AM more reviews by susjs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm amazed by the good reviews for this gloss?! The color is a pale, whitish, silvery pink with lots of glitter...probably best over a lipstick you'd want to lighten as a highlight. If you're looking for a very shiny, wet-look gloss with loads of gritty glitter, this may be it. Yes the packaging is beautiful, and I'll admit I'm a total sucker for a sexy package, but that's the best I can say about it. The strong taste was the biggest turnoff - highly metallic fruit-punch. "Yuck" is the word that best sums it up for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SarahAfshar on 11/8/2008 10:27:00 PM more reviews by SarahAfshar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Yves Saint Laurent never fails to seem to disappoint the vast majority of status quo society, especially when it comes to the Golden Gloss Shimmering Lip Gloss which possesses real 24 carat gold flecks. I was incredibly impressed with this gloss, as it not only possessed a real pigmented color, that is amazingly long-lasting, but the fact it lives up to it's promise of giving a visual mirror effect, while moisturizing the lips modestly, as a result. Gold works as a sealer, a healer, and a powerful anti-oxidant making this product that much more appealing. I also love the fact that for as pigmented as it is, it produces a color pay-off that is subtle. You can apply this lipgloss modestly and you won't feel like your lips are run down nor unnatural. The gloss also posssses a clean scent. Golden Whisper is a great color because it's accessible and flexible, but also possesses an immaculate appearance. Out of all of my golden glosses, this one I have used most. I must say that if I had to choose my favorite gloss, this would definitely be it. I would recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* media_cookie on 6/9/2008 2:40:00 PM more reviews by media_cookie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, when this arrived I thought it would be too pale for me and wash me out. I'm about an NC15 right now. I usually do heavy eye makeup and relatively light lips but this looked almost like a white pink in the tube (I have almost no natural lipcolor). This is an amazing gloss! It's sheer so there's almost no color but there is something about the shine, or shimmer or the tons of super tiny glitter that makes my lips look great and gives dimension so my lips are stil neutral, but they stand out and it doesn't look like I ate paste. It makes my lips look fuller and in the sunlight the glitter is so beautiful! I'm definitely addicted to these golden glosses now :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goodtiger on 2/5/2008 12:16:00 AM more reviews by goodtiger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

MMMMM....raspberry! The aroma and flavor are delicious! Outstanding mirror-like shine with flecks of real gold. The overall effect is elegant, not disco. The tube can be used as a mirror for application on the go. Brush is stiff and keeps its shape without splaying.
Edit: took lippies off for the screw top tube leaking. Even when you think it's on tight it leaks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ania_Wang on 2/4/2008 12:02:00 AM more reviews by Ania_Wang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just love this lip gloss! It gives my lips so much shine and it's so smooth! The smell is so delicious!
The packaging is very good (as most of YSL products).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pallor on 9/19/2007 10:09:00 PM more reviews by pallor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Looking for the perfect lips? This may do the trick. Of all the lip gloss formulations I have tried (MAC, Nars, Chanel, Dior, Aucoin, Mercier, VS, drugstore brands, etc.) this by far has the best staying power and delivers the most shine-for-the-buck.

This color is light enough to go with most business attire, and can be worn in most professional situations (including Court). It is light and sparkly, but it does not carry the twelve-year-old-girl aspect, nor does it scream "hussy." Its delicate, complimentary, and absolutely fabulous. Its practically mesmerizing in the mirror. I am constantly complimented on my choice by other women.

YSL has quality pigmented products. The packaging has a great brush that will not get smushed down into the packaging (like the Bobbi Brown design). The fibers are a tad more stiff than normal, but it allows precision application and preserves the shape. This formula is unlike any of the other "sparkly" types you will find. The scent is not overwhelming like Dior, and the formula isn't as tacky feeling as Chanel.

The price is more than you would expect to pay for lip gloss, but its really worth it. Its long lasting and full of impact. I can't go anywhere now without this product. Its perfect to wear alone, or to layer on your favorite lipstick for added emphasis. For a lip gloss junkie, or someone who just really wants an effective finishing touch on their fabulous face, this is definitely the lip gloss for you.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Daniela1977 on 2/27/2007 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Daniela1977

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

AS always FOR ME the best lip glosses this time the new collection is GORGEOUSE...I am so happy i buy 2,7,11...they all are AMAIZING....I will buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FoXyKiTten01 on 2/10/2007 4:03:00 AM more reviews by FoXyKiTten01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

colorings: mac nc30, LM nude, YSL 4

Sigh* this is one of those makeup store mishaps gone right i guess. I was supposed to get golden gloss 10, and i got the right box, but wrong l/g. But this was the other shade i was interested in anyways, so it was okay. I really do love this gloss! It is very similar to Chanel wonderland in the tube, but i definitely prefer the texture of the golden glosses to chanels. And this was a much more wearable color than chanel's for me...it is much less cool toned. It gives my lips the perfect opalescent baby pinky nude glow. Too bad its so freaking pricy at 28 usd a pop! :X

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Lip Gloss products