Unlisted Brand • Differin Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(176 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 r8girll on 1/25/2015 10:43:00 PM more reviews by r8girll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this works for people who perhaps really need it or have skin issues but I would not recommend it to someone with minor skin blemishes. I used this years ago when I was in high school. The following all happened while I was 17 years old. This experience has one major theme: irresponsibility!

1. I was seeking perfect skin when I really didn't have major issues and took my doctors advise without a second thought (irresponsible)
2. I noticed my skin was a flakey and sensitive and I continued use, hoping my doctors recommendation would in fact give me flawlessness (even more irresponsible).

The story: I didn't really have a lot of problems with my skin in high school - just the typical breakouts that any girl would have. My doctor recommended that I use this when I complained that my skin wasn't "up to standard" or whatever the hell I thought it should be at this age. She told me to use Differin.

Not only was it seemingly ineffective for me, but it made my skin feel sensitive, but...I wasn't sure. I did notice my skin was a bit dry and flakey but I was just thinking that the doctor said it would help and so I continued to use it. What is the worst that could happen? :)

After about 4 months of use, I went to get my eyebrows waxed as I normally did at the time. The woman applied wax, no big deal and tore it off. Pretty standard. After she ripped off one side, I felt like skin had come off. Being too scared to ask her wtf was going on and why it felt so unbearable I actually let her do the other side. I stood up, paid, walked out and cried all the way home. The wind hitting my face on the way home was too much to bear. The pain was absolutely terrible and I can manage physical pain!

When I got home, literally all of the skin above and below my eyebrows was gone. Missing. Not there. Pure red flesh. One of the most painful things ever. Not to mention the utter embarrassment!

Now, I get it could have totally been the wax and initially that is what I thought, too. After speculating, the wax was not hotter than usual, that woman had done my eyebrows a series of times and the only thing I had changed in my skin care routine was using Differin. I think it made my skin overly sensitive and ....really just weak. I had very resilient/ non sensitive skin prior to using the product.

This is just my experience. If you do not need to use a prescribed product, don't mess with it. I am happy this works for people that rely on it, but for me I do believe it changed my skin in a negative way. I waited three years to try waxing again, and a similar thing happened (with cold wax), I think the strength/ makeup of my skin had changed since using Differin. No big deal I just don't use it anymore.....................OR wax my eyebrows :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 1/14/2015 3:14:00 AM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I used to use Differin Gel 0.01% to treat my mild-to-moderate acne, when I initially started seeing a dermatologist. I didn't have really no bad side effects from it at all. It kept my skin clear except, for when I tried using a lotion containing SPF, which I was recommended by the dermatologist to do, as a part of my skincare regimen. The SPF lotion was by Purpose and it broke my skin out. I had to stop using it after one day. I have come to learn that any lotion or cream that contains sunscreen and/sunblock in it breaks me out badly. So, I do avoid using such on my face daily. Right now, I only use an SPF lotion when I know that I will be exposed to the sun for a longer period of time than usual. Otherwise, I go without it. And, no, not using such on my face on a daily basis has had no adverse effects on my face, and the way it looks agewise either. Plus, I do limit my exposure to the sun., which is something that I have practiced ever since I was in my early 20s and even past such age. And, my skin remains looking very youthful and plump.

While on Differin several years ago, I did get chemical peels(glycolic and salicylic), which really helped boost my skin to a whole other level. If you are suffering from mild or even moderate acne I would recommend asking your general practitioner or dermatologist about giving this acne treatment a try.

I always got boxes filled with lots of samples of Differin, so I never had to pay for it. However, I do know that it is pricey. However, there is a generic version that you can opt for instead.

After having stopped seeing a dermatologist for my skin, and was getting prescribed Retina A through a GP, I am now back to seeing a dermatologist and plan to stick with seeing one for as long as I can. I was recommended to use the following regimen of products on my face: Cetaphil's Gentle Skin Cleanser and Oxy Face Wash to rotate between to use to cleanse my face with, Epiduo to be applied nightly, a compounded fade cream that I buy from my dermatologist to be applied nightly only onto to the areas of hyperpigmentation that I need to have faded, and given samples of Cordran SP cream to apply to areas of skin that become quite irritated, very dry, and flaky to heal and soothe such. Through continued use, the Epiduo started causing my face to become more and more irritated and I going out in the sun became a real hassle, because I found myself starting to deal with sunburns. I tried sticking things out with Epiduo, even though I do find it to be effective when it comes to treating acne, the benzoyl peroxide was just too much for my skin. I spoke to my dermatologist's office about such side effects, and I was prescribed Differin gel 0.03% to start using from now on, instead of the Epiduo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sannavire on 12/20/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by sannavire

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best acne treatment. I started in September and now in December I'm free from acne. I get some hormonal spots but they heel fast. In the beginning my skin was very dry so I used a cream one hour after I applied Differin. Now my skin is so soft!! It works well as an anti age treatment too. Don't forget to use sunscreen! Here in Sweden my friends and colleagues (I work in a pharmacy)laugh at me but it's very important to protect the fine and soft skin from the sun!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Allysonhannnan on 12/1/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by Allysonhannnan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using Differin gel for only 4 nights and the difference its made has been amazing! My acne has faded about 70% as well as some previous scarring. It is drying, but I'll take using an exfoliant and a good moisturizer over acne any day!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imkt on 11/4/2014 11:16:00 AM more reviews by imkt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Push yourself past he first 6 to 8 weeks of use. I have clear, dry skin and was prescribed this for its anti-aging benefits. The dryness and irritation subsided . My advice is learn how to use this product properly. Apply a tiny amount on clean dry skin and hold out on you moisturiser for a bit after applying. I have been using this for 3 years and, at nearly forty, I haven't a wrinkle in sight. My skin is smooth and bright and looks as good or better than it did 10 years ago. Wear sunscreen! I have used the cream as well and honestly find very little difference between the two. It Is simply a preference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PALEGRE3N on 10/4/2014 12:40:00 AM more reviews by PALEGRE3N

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Differin is a Vitamin A derivative, similar to Retin-A and other retinoids - it takes a long time to treat acne but once the initial phase of redness and irritation has stopped it is very effective, much more so than Benzoyl Peroxide which I'd say is a better short term treatment/spot treatment. I have been using it for 6 months now and my moderate/severe cystic acne and blackheads have gone completely. I have also noticed much smaller pores and diminished fine lines. If you can manage to get Differin at a reasonable price (my country it's subsidized to $5) then I would absolutely recommend it for people who are serious about getting rid of their acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daniak57 on 9/19/2014 5:37:00 AM more reviews by daniak57

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing product ,it cleared up all my acne in one month and a half and now i rarely get breakouts I used to use it two times a day in the morning and at night and I didn't even use a face wash I just use a home made scrub two-three times a week but bare in mind that it needs some patience to see results and your skin will get drier but the results are worth it, plus it did leave me with scars so i stopped using it as often and just use it when i get pimples, and I started using acretin and now after 3 months and 9 days of using both deffrien and acretin my skin is just left with 30% scaring and I'll give it 1 more month for all the scaring to be gone :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arrianuts on 8/29/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by arrianuts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I get terrible breakouts during my period and if you want a list of all the treatments I have tried, you will be here for a very long time. As of writing, I have countless cystic acnes all over my face and the hyperpigmentation around my mouth looks like a beard from afar.

I remember my dermatologist prescribing Differin Gel a couple years back but I do not exactly recall the effect it had on my skin back then. So, two days ago, after having read tons of good reviews about the product, I decided to give it another shot.

It's my second day using the product and, though I know it's a bit too early to say this, I am actually happy with the results. I did not get any initial breakouts (again, it may be too early to make conclusions) though my skin got a little bit drier than usual--nothing a good moisturizer can't fix.

Every night after washing, I apply a very thin layer of Differin all over my face. I wait for it to dry for about fifteen minutes before moisturizing. Simple. The first time I used it, I woke up with less redness and less pain on my face. The blemishes plaguing my nose also cleared up a little. I am not sure if it does anything to fade acne scars. I guess I have yet to find out.

Again, I have only been using Differin for two days. My skin may--and hopefully--continue to get better or it may not. It's too early to say. I am just too happy because of the immediate effects! I will continue to use this product and will keep you guys posted. Wish me luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kosh1 on 6/23/2014 7:46:00 PM more reviews by kosh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

TiyaFab please where did you get this product in Dubai and was it on prescription. Im visiting Dubai and desperately need this product. I tried a sample that my friend gave me and it has cleared my forehead. I need it to clear the other parts of my face. Would be ever so grateful if you respond.
Thanks so much...☺

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TiyaFab on 6/8/2014 5:37:00 PM more reviews by TiyaFab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This looks rather like a cream than gel, but works WONDERS! I apply it to all the acne pron areas of my face before going to bed and it not only prevents acne but also helps fade the old scars.
I've been getting new pimples nearly every week since I got my 1st period in 2005, and it was so damn frustrating. I've been using differin for 3 months and now I only get PMS pimples which clear up real quick!
And also I got this for 30AED, which is about '7' dollars!!! (I live in Dubai) how inexpensive is that!!!!! It is available in all the pharmacies in dubai

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments (Face) products