Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

3.7

1119 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua (Water), Corn Starch Modified, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Mica, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491(Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 8/21/2015 4:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I will not buy this product again.

Pro: The color matches my skin and makes it look very natural. It does a nice job covering blemish and uneven color.

Cons: It's not a good fit for oily skin even though it claims to be. My whole face turns super oily after an hour and every hour after blotting.



on 8/18/2015 7:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ew. Color selection was very poor for olive/yellow undertones (nc 35-37). Too orange or too pink and I tried no 51 and no 53. Emphasized dry patches and it got worse as the day went on. Decent at controlling oil. This does photograph nicely and doesn't give flashback but I wish the color selection was better and it wasn't so drying.


on 8/16/2015 12:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this foundation a lot. It is full coverage with a matte finish. It dries quickly but it's very easy to blend. It last all day, it works pretty good on my oily, but it's definitely not my everyday foundation.


on 8/14/2015 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this in shade 15 which is a close but a little too neutral not really pink, it does provide excellent coverage. The formal would be better for com/ oily skin or even normal. It lasts a long time as far as on. For reference I'm a Nw5.


on 8/11/2015 8:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have really bad acne and this covers all the redness there is. It lasts for about 8 hours in really hot weather.

Overall, i really like this foundation except for the fact that it never seems to come off fully. I use 2-3 times the number of makeup removal products as compared to other foundations i previously used. It also seemed to clog my pores and cause breakouts. :/

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2015 11:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have purchased this twice. The color match is really nice, but the product is meh. It claims to be a mattifying foundation but it never really set on my face and slid around. It gets oily pretty quickly. The packaging is also great. I won't be repurchasing this. Too expensive and doesn't do much.


on 7/26/2015 3:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The short version: I liked the coverage and the lasting power, but it didn't look very natural. I probably would not buy this after my sample runs out.

I have combo/oily skin and prefer foundations with medium coverage and no scent.
--I liked the staying powder of this foundation. I did notice some wear off in spots after 6 hours, but then most foundations start of wear off on me after 3-4 hours. After 6 hours, there was some oil coming through, but definitely less than normal.
--When I applied this with my hands, the coverage was too sheer. When applied with a brush, it was a medium coverage, but tad bit too cakey and it would dry before I finished blending it out. This also really settled into the large pores on my cheeks and my developing fine lines.
--I was hesitant to try this because it has a slight rosy scent, and I extremely prone to headaches when I'm around new scents. Surprising this didn't cause me any issues. I couldn't even smell the roses after I applied the foundation.

Color matched to 30, which they were, of course, out of. Instead I tried a sample of 35 which was a tad too dark.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2015 10:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Revlon Colorstay Dupe? Eh.
So I used to use Revlon Colorstay because I have combo/oily skin and I loved it but they are seriously lacking in the brown colors. 3-4 shades for darker skintones? I would have to mix two shades for a total of $20. I just saved an extra 18 and bought MUFE Mat Velvet. I was matched using Sephora's Color IQ (1y12) to color 57 and OH MY GOSH--I found my perfect shade/undertone. I have never in my life been so satisfied with a foundation. I switched from drugstore to department store because I just have a better chance of finding a good match without doling out dollars for drugstore makeup that may or may not match that I cannot return.

First off there is a wide range of colors for women of color ( I am a medium brown with yellow undertones) more so than drugstores offer so that's a plus. And it doesn't oxidize on my medium brown skintone.

It claims to be "A shine controlling, oil-free, water-resistant, complete coverage liquid foundation."
NOTE:* This foundation is not completely MATTE. It is more of a DEMI-MATTE finish. The Revlon colorstay if you are familiar with that has more of a MATTE to me than this foundation.

I have combination skin so my oil is concentrated in my Tzone area. I do use a mattifying primer and a setting powder with all my foundations so I can only provide a review as far as that goes. I've had this for about 2 weeks and I can honestly say it does hold true.
I live in Las Vegas, it's mid July with hot humid weather and I commute by bus (3 to be exact). I do feel this helps control shine but I would recommend a primer if you live in humid environment. I leave at 8:30am and I touch up when I get to work about 11:45 am. I am usually slightly oily around my Tzone so I it is NOT a touch up free formula although if you have a car you will probably not have to touch up for 5 or more hours in climate controlled environment.
Specs:
$38 from Sephora
Shade 57 warm pecan
I apply this after I apply my gel moisturizer and primer.

Applicator: Squeeze Bottle. This was different for me but it's small and easy to use. It's 1.01 oz. Which I believe is typical for dept store foundations.

Texture: Liquid, not runny like MUFE HD foundation, sets with a matte finish although it still looks like skin. Its also very lightweight and perfect for a NO Makeup Makeup Look. It doesn't settle into my pores nor dries my skin out.

Coverage: Is buildable and is advertised as Full/Med. I use medium coverage and I do feel its easier to overuse this product because you are squeezing it out instead of pumping it out. I would start in the center of your face or wherever you have the most discoloration etc. to prevent wasting product.

Longevity: Depends on climate, whether you use a primer and skintype. With my combo/oily skin and use of a primer, my foundation lasted much longer when I wasn't waiting for the bus in hot humid weather, for example going straight to my house to my friends car, to our job, walking across the parking lot into the job. It lasted without Touch up until 5pm, my lunch time, barely shiny around my nose. I think the water resistant claim helps with humidity as I've used other Mattifying foundations that didn't hold up as well.

Worth the Cost?
No one wants to believe they are paying $38 for a foundation and if you're like me, we ALWAYS wish it wasn't so expensive but mostly we're wishing we didn't like it so much :). Its great quality, stands up to its claims and as department store foundations this isn't THAT BAD, I've seen foundations as high as $70 and as far as I'm concerned it better apply itself for $70.
I would pay $38 for this foundation. I've paid more for Nars and wasn't as satisfied so this is a good investment if you want the payoff. You are getting great quality with the price which you can't always say.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2015 3:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wear #75

I used to work at Sephora and as an employee we had to get color matched to ensure we were wearing proper foundation. Based on what I like in a foundation our listings suggested that I try Makeup Forever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation. When my coworker put it on me I instantly fell in love!! Never before had I had such a flawless matte look. I looked like a doll. I was so impressed. After wearing it out a few times at different occasions I decided to purchase it and it has not let me down since.
The cover is medium to full depending on how much you apply. You only really need one pass of it around the entire face (once again depends on how much product you apply). It wears extremely well. I sometimes get oily in my T-zone but with the right face primer my foundation stays flawless all day long. Without it, a little shine comes through but not much.
For those new to matte foundation it can be scary at first especially if you're in bad lighting but it warms up to your natural skin tone and with a finishing spray makes your face look incredible.
For my brown skin women out there some of my friends of darker complexion have complained that the line doesn't go as dark as they need it but for me it's perfect. I'm a medium brown color and the foundation has a red/yellow base to it which matches my undertones perfectly. If this doesn't work for you then I suggest Cover FX.
But, overall this product is amazing and I will continue to buy this for my matte foundation looks.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Let's just start with I am a snowball. I have extreeeemely fair skin that even the lightest shades of some foundations is too dark. But the lightest shade of this foundation is PERFECT for my skin tone. Also, I have combination skin and gets a little shiny throughout the day but nothing bad. This keeps my face shine free for about 6 hours and then I get a tad bit dewy but it honestly just looks natural and glowy so it doesnt bother me. It blends out beuatifully with any tool or with fingers. Also, I went swimming today for about 2 hours with it on and it stayed in place. Also, my very acne probe skin didn't breakout. Can't say enough good things about this!


Back to Top