Kate Somerville Exfolikate

3.9

242 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Lactic Acid, Polyethylene, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Pectin, Carica Papaya Fruit, Lactobacillus/Cucurbita Pepo Fruit, Ferment Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Papain, Bromelain, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Mel, Acetic Acid, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Geranium Maculatum Oil, Pogostemon Cablin Oil, Aniba Rosaeodora (Rosewood) Wood Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Cinnamomum Cassia Leaf Oil, Salicylic Acid, Dehydroxanthan Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Cinnamal, Potassium Sorbate, Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Citral, Limonene, Linalool, Geraniol, Citronellol, Cinnamal, Eugenol, Benzyl Benzoate, Beta-Carotene (CI 75130), Chlorophyllin-Copper Complex (CI 75810). 6/26/09


on 4/9/2015 1:09:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I didn't think I had sensitive skin until I tried this product. I applied it for a lot less than the time indicated and it still burned the heck out of my face. Within an hour of rinsing my skin was red and hot to the touch and slightly swollen. The next day my face was really tight and sore and for the next week I was peeling pieces of dead skin off my face. It was a week and a half until my skin was normal. I suppose it did "exfoliate" since I lost a ton of facial skin but holy smokes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/5/2015 5:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is so expensive! I buy the smallest size, which is around $20 but the good thing is you only need a pea-size amount. I use it once a week (for about 6 weeks so far) and I have definitely noticed that my pores have shrunk and my fine lines have become less noticeable. I use it in the shower, manually exfoliating with it for about 1 minute and then I let it set while doing something else for 2 minutes before washing it off. It's not too abrasive for me but I wouldn't use it more than once per week (my skin can be a bit sensitive). I have oily/combination skin. I haven't experienced any breakouts with this product. My mom who just turned 60 has been using this product for about 6 months and loves it! She encouraged me to try it myself. She also has oily/combination skin and looks very youthful and glowy!


on 3/22/2015 7:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this exfoliator and I do notice a difference in my skin on the days that I use it. The smell is really clovey or cinnamony, it tingles just a little-enough to let you know that it's doing something. It is expensive but a little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 3:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I had a few samples of this lying around that i hadn't bothered to try yet as i have another exfoliator which i really like, not going to lie i was a bit shocked when i squeezed the product onto my hand and found out it was green XD
This exfoliator has done wonders for my acne prone skin clearing up dry patches and healing my acne faster, my skin always looks calmer and happier after using this, i have purchased the full size product despite that huge price tag because it have just been so good for my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2015 7:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

LOVE this product. Does what it says...takes off the dull dry skin winter can bring. I have used it year around for about 2 years and will continue to. the packaging has changed to a tube and I like it a lot better than the previous jar type.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2015 7:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a deluxe sample from Sephora and decided to use prior to my bday weekend celebration. Well I used it for three days and noticed minimal difference. My skin is dry because the harsh winter so I get a few dry patches. It cleaned the patches up but that was it. I didn't feel any fresh glow or radiance, blah, blah, blah. Add insult to injury, it seemed to irritate a few blemishes I had on my face. So while it took away my flakes, it made my acne more pronounced, so I wont buy this again. On a stranger note, it looks like duck poop you see in ponds and lakes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Oh my, like all of the other reviewers, Exfolikate is definitely not easy on the wallet. Good thing, a little goes a long way.

I did not want to like this product, but I got it as a beauty insider reward at Sephora, when the sales associate told me it was her favourite exfoliator (and unfortunately, I didn't know how expensive it was when I tried it).

The smell of this product is quite medicinal, but I do not mind it - sort of like cloves or cinnamon. It tingles my skin when I put it on, but not to the point where it burns. I could see how it might be intense for people with sensitive skin.

This product gets rid of all my flakey dry skin, and makes my skin feel SO soft and smooth after. I have never had a product make my skin feel this good. It feels like all the gunk on my skin is clarified. I also feel like it reduces blemishes too, even though I did not expect that to happen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This product does do what it claims. Its a dark green scrub that smells herby (think rosemary, lavender, etc). I was using this product for a few months before I became sensitive to it. At first, I loved the way my skin felt after using this- smooth, supple and nicely exfoliated. It's not too abrasive. After awhile, it started to burn my face within 5 seconds of contact. I suspect its because I started using a stronger AHA toner in my routine, but I had to stop using this. I think this is a good product if you do not have any skin sensitivities. I do not have sensitive skin, but I can't use this while I'm using other products that have AHA.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2015 5:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Agreed, this is very expensive for just an exfoliator, but worth the price. I only use this once a week or even a fortnight given how strong it is. I prefer to slather this on dry skin first, then add a few drops of water afterwards to massage it in. The little beads or bits inside the cream can be abrasive, so not suitable for sensitive skin. My skin always feels clean and looks clearer afterwards. I follow with a sheet mask to soothe and moisturise. Will repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2015 12:15:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

READ THE INSTRUCTIONS..... I have not tried this yet, but I notice that everyone keeps writing that they could not stand to leave it on for 2 minutes... or that they are leaving it on for 2 minutes, or in some cases even longer. The instructions say to leave it on for 20 to 30 SECONDS. The '2 minute' time confusion lies in the fact that it says on the front of bottle 'Hollywood's 2 minute facial'.... which would be the total process time including cleansing, application and rinse... not the time you are to leave it on the skin. Read the instructions girls, or you could possibly damage your skin.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
70 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top