MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Lightscapade

4.3

213 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/21/2015 8:02:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Wasn't too sure when I first started using it but now I'm in love with it and it's my favourite highlighter ever!! Goes well with my skin and has lasted me ages

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/16/2015 9:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really want to love this highlighter because I saw many good reviews about it. It looks like a beautiful highlighter but on my skin it comes out looking a bit ashy like. Although right now its the summer season so my skin is a lot tanner, for reference I'm currently Annapurna in the NARS tinted moisturizer, so obviously this highlighter at the moment isn't working for me. I'm hoping as the fall/ winter comes a long my skin lightens up a bit and "Lightscapade" would be more of an appropriate highlighter for me. Other than that I'm sure I could make this highlighter work, but I don't think I will be repurchasing this highlighter again.


on 7/2/2015 6:43:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I brought this highlighter from a MAC counter in Myer. I love highlighters and can't get enough of them. I found out MAC had a highlighter in 'lightscapade' which is almost a translucent powder and I just had to get my hands on it...although I did question about getting this mineralize skinfinish due to the price!
In Australia, MAC charges $47 for this mineralize skinfinish, which is equivalent to around 24 in the UK and $35 in America. MAC products are found to be 'high-end' and very good quality. But I question whether paying $47 for a highlighter is worth it, especially with great dupes out there.
I still love MAC products though but I just wish they could reduce their prices. Anyway, that is my mini rant about prices, time for the proper review.
Firstly, I love the packaging! The lid opens and closes through a magnet and the lid is also majority see-through. I have heard that some people do not like the magnet as it can be difficult to open sometimes, I do agree with this but it has not put me off the product.
The highlighter itself is amazing. It's the perfect subtle highlighter for the top of your cheek bones, under the brow bone, down your nose, and where ever else you wish to place it. It contains small amounts of shimmer so as long as you don't use too much, it looks gorgeous on skin.
Overall, I am mostly happy with this mineralise skinfinish highlighter, and I do recommend everyone to try it out if you are seeking for a natural highlight to use. :)


on 6/10/2015 4:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've heard such great things about this and was SO excited to try it.
I'm sad to say I was disappointed.

This product is beautiful is definitely up to the Mac standard in terms of consistency. It does highlight, and application is easy. I find that its not too loose either which is great because it means it doesnt go everywhere...

but... It's just not as amazing as I was expecting? I think too much hype is put on this. Yes it does highlight, but personally Laura Merciers baked powder highlighter is better. Even the packaging is a bit annoying, i always feel like the see through plastic in the lid is going to come off.


on 6/1/2015 4:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Lightscapade is my holy grail highlighter, and I think I'm gonna repurchase this for a long long time! It is a light powder, that is quite whitish and also extremely pigmented yet gives a nice subtle glow to the high points of the face or wherever you choose to apply it. Lightscapade is super soft to touch and almost has a creamy feel to it despite being a powder form! I've had a couple mac highlighters including other mineralise skin finishes and this is my absolute favourite by a long run.

The best points to this powder is that it lasts a long time. I've had mine for 5 months and I've used it ALOT. I mean ALOT! and I'm no where near hitting pan so I feel it is good value for money as well. Another pro is that for my particular skin tone which is quite pale it still manages to highlight, which I've had problems with with other highlighters so for those of you that have pale skin this would be great. One thing I really like is how it gives a lovely subtle healthy glow so the skin which isn't too harsh or shimmery / glittery.

I would say there are only a few minor cons to this powder such as if you want a stronger highlight and apply more powder it can get too shimmery and overwhelming. I learnt that the hard way! And finally, the packaging, although it is pretty, sturdy and not likely to break, i feel since they revamped the packaging I can find it quite hard to open which isn't a big deal but if I'm in a rush it can be a little frustrating.

Overall I think this is an amazing powder if you are looking for a lovely subtle glow especially if you have pale skin like me. I think despite a few minor cons it is worth the money to spend and will last a while even you use it on a day to day basis like me!


on 6/1/2015 1:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My all time favorite highlighter!


on 5/26/2015 5:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've wanted Lightscapde since I first saw in online last year (yes, I'm late to the MAC highlighting party). Not so much because of the near rave reviews but because it's just so nice to look at and the name is rather groovy. About a year ago, I went to the MAC counter with the intent of purchasing this but the SA made a face and said it was likely too light for me (I'm an NC30 for reference). I was bummed but she recommended Soft and Gentle instead which I bought. I ended up returning that because there was just too much shimmer in it for my taste and it struck me more as a bronzer which I honestly don't need. Despite being told Lightscapde was too light for me, I still kept it as a "Need to Get" product in my mind, tan skin be damned.

Cut to late last year when MAC released their 9 billionth collection of the year - Lightness of Being. I wasn't terrible interested in anything the collection had to offer but I did read reviews for it. Most were indignant that two of MAC's more popular highlighters - Lightscapde and Perfect Topping - were being re-promoted but the coloring was completely different. I took this as a sign that I should buy the "new" versions mainly because I was still lemming after Lighscapde and just couldn't accept that it was too light for me. Both shades ended up working out for me as I suppose the new batches aren't as light. The Lightness of Being version of both highlighters aren't as interesting to look because the cool veining that is present in the ordinary version is obscured by a quilting imprint. No idea why MAC chose to do that but they're still workable.

For whatever reason, the new versions of these highlighters work well on my skin tone. Since I'm already naturally tan, I generally avoid brown/bronze highlighters as they tend to make me look a bit Kardashian-esque. After years of tinkering, I've realized that I prefer the effect that highlighters with actual color (like blue, green, etc.) produce. Although Lightscapde is pretty light, it doesn't end up looking chalky or ashy on my skin. It just give my cheek and brow bones a nice sheen with a very small amount of glitter that is really only noticeable in sunlight (and you still don't end up looking like a Club Kid which is a plus). If you pile it, you likely will look like a glazed donut so unless that's your intention, use this sparingly. I highly doubt I'll need to repurchase this because the amount is more than enough to last years (yes, I said years) provided you're just using this for yourself on a daily basis. I rotate between different highlighters anyhow which makes most last much longer than I'd like to admit.

I would highly recommend Lightscapde to anyone who is looking for a subtle yet glowly highlighter. If you think the original version may be too light, give the Lightness of Being version a shot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2015 5:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE I found my old PF mineral glow pearls in the finish translucent is a close duplicate of this. I did some comparisons tonight. The PF is pinkier, but it's honestly close enough for me. Problem is that it's too tightly packed and picking it up is murder, even with fingers. For that reason I'm glad I got the MSF.

Lightscapade is almost exactly what I had hoped strobe cream would be. Word to the wise though, there are actually two different types of this product available from the Mac website. Both of them are called lightsapade, but they are different. Just beware when ordering.
Where the strobe cream is concerned, its highlighting effects are short lived. Which is a little bit sad to me, as I had high hopes, but at least I only got the $10 bottle.
Anyway, Lightscapade is a subtle, beautiful, natural glow powder. It leaves a very sublime luminescent glow to the skin and can be applied all over. As yet I have detected no discernible glitter flecks in indoor lighting. Outdoors in sunlight you can see shimmer particles. It is very hard to overdo this product, but it can be done. And when it is over done, it becomes kind of white and chalky. The formula is very smooth and somewhat creamy, and the powder is easy to pick up.
PROS: I believe that for the price this will last me a couple years so I think it's a good value. It is a subtle highlight suitable for all over application or accentuation on certain parts. On my particular skintone it works very well. I have found no trouble applying it all over my foundation, it is also easy to apply after moisturization/primer. I use a fluffy brush and it goes on like a dream. The keyword here is subtle, if you were looking for something more apparent I would suggest using a different product. Personally I keep some Mary Lou on hand for when I want that all out shine. Yet for everyday wear, I find this perfect and I use it quite often.
CONS: applying it to a dry skin without moisturization or primer or foundation first is a bad idea. This product can become very chalky and exacerbate crepeiness and lines. I am not a huge fan of powders and only use powder highlighters wearily. But this is a great product and I certainly recommend at the very least swatching it the next time you're at the Mac store.


on 4/19/2015 5:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

Lightscapade is gorgeous to look at, it's gorgeous to own, it's just so gorgeous! It's a really subtle highlighter that requires some building up of the product, the pigmentation isn't the best, but the glow is really subtle and it's just so beautiful! It separates at the end of a long day, but it holds up well even when I'm out and about, at the end of the day there are still traces of it left. I do like the packaging, and there's a slight scent to it which I like too. I'll be honest I got it because it just looked so pretty, and it didn't disappoint me. Works great on my light-medium skin! The very first ingredient on it is Talc though, and I'm not so sure if I should be bothered by it though I do try to avoid cosmetics with such ingredients. MAC should stop with the false promotion of natural/mineral makeup if it contains ingredients like these.


on 4/12/2015 11:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

LOVE THIS HIGHLIGHTER! Especially for pale skin, use to highlight cheek bones or all over my face for that subtle glow, lasts forever for the price, am a MSF junkie!!




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top