MAC Lipgelee - Amber Russe

4.1

25 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/10/2011 8:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I only came around to the wonder that is MAC just recently, even though I love the eyeshadows I have been extremely disappointed in most of their lipsticks. So drying! On a recent girlfriend shopping trip I stopped into the CCO and ran across this. Amber Russe is the perfect shimmery, mauvey, MLBB color. I love it because it's super emollient, is surprisingly long lasting, and yet it manages to accomplish the first 2 tasks without being sticky or thick. This has made a permanent home in my purse!!



on 12/5/2011 4:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this when it was last repromoted and I love it! On me, it has the same effect as mixing sunpepper pigment with a clear gloss, without the hassle. I think lipgelees are a great value because they last quite a while, even with frequent use, and they're in a tube, which I much prefer over other l/g packaging. I hope they repromote this, I will definitely buy 2 or 3 more tubes if they ever do!


on 9/16/2011 11:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

One word: tacky. The gloss formulation itself is very lovely, moisturizing, doesn't leave any white stuff around my lips, lasts for a good amount of time. But the dealbreaker, and the reason why I gave it only 1, is the color and the (HUGE) amount of glitter in this gloss. It never happens with the other lipgelees, such as goldensoft, jellybabe, moistly, but this one contains enough shimmer to make your lips look metalic and manages to make them gritty. Overall, I'm glad they discontinued it.


on 1/18/2011 12:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm disappointed in this product. The colour is OK but I find the texture very very thin and not moisturizing at all. It's like the product just sort of disappears into my lips after a few minutes. Mind you it is winter here and very dry, but even with lipbalm on underneath this is still happening. WTF? Where is it going? I know I'm not licking it off because I'm not a fan of the vanilla smell of MAC lip stuff... I know I'm in the minority there. but it's just too strong and fake to me.


on 1/3/2011 2:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Had I know this was such a sheer gloss I probably would have passed. Amber Russe is a soft plummy shade with a subtle metallic shimmer. My gripe is that on its own, its barely noticeble. But it is great for enhancing a lipstick and you do get quite a bit of product for the money. Wears off pretty quickly. If this is an item you have been wanting to try or its a HG for you, MAC just sent Amber Russe to the Goodbye section. So grab this while you can.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Lipgelee's are so fun! Dontcha think?? I love the sticky texture of Lipgelee's, but wish they lasted longer. They don't offer as much full coverage as Lipglasses, but are still great. Amber Russe is a frost, and is a muted plum brown with silva sparkles! Supa prettie! I love it, I will repurchase, if still available when I need it!

Amber Russe: Top Lipgelee




on 8/27/2009 3:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A beautiful sheer, pinky mauve with a light shimmer.
Goes on smooth with no stickiness, and is long wearing.
One of my favorite M.A.C products!


on 6/25/2009 11:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So so so pretty! It's different than any other gloss I have tried. The texture is amazing, it goes on smoothly with absolutely no stickiness. It stays on pretty good, several hours for me. The scent is vanilla like most mac lippies, it's like heaven to apply.
The color is absolutely gorgeous. It's like clear gloss with particles of pink and silver shimmer floating around, but a lot of them so the gloss itself looks very pigmented in the tube. (kind of hard to describe). When you apply it it looks so beautiful, it adds the perfect amount of color and shine, like naturally pink and healthy lips.
I will definitely repurchase this.


on 4/28/2009 7:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this Lipgelee. For me, Lipgelees are perfect because 1) they're super moisturizing, which is important for my constantly chapped lips, and 2) I do prefer sheerer lip looks as opposed to extremely pigmented lips. I love applying Lipgelees, as they are extremely soothing to the lips -- they really do go on in a jelly-type fashion. Also, unlike Lipglasses, they are not sticky at all. Amber Russe is my favorite out of all the Lipgelees. On my NC35, Asian skin, Amber Russe is a gorgeous sheerer plummy color that packs just the right amount of color to my lips. I've gotten many compliments with this on!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite lipgelee! I had a MAC makeup artist suggest this to me; I have dark hair and fair skin (MACs NW20 for reference) and the lipgelee makes my lips look very full and the color looks great. The only downside is that since it is a gloss, it doesn't have the staying power of a lipstick. I would definitely buy this again!


Popular Lip Glosses


Butter Gloss
Butter Gloss
353 Reviews
Deelight
Deelight
42 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top