Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel

3.9

469 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqua (Water,Eau),Glycerin,Propylene Glycol,PEG-8 Stearate,PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide,Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract,Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract,Carbomer,Sodium Chloride,Parfum (Fragrance),Phenoxyethanol,Methylparaben,Propylparaben,Triethanolamine,Diazolidinyl Urea,Mica,CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide),CI 19140 (Yellow 5),CI 42090 (Blue 1),CI 15985 (Yellow 6)(4/26/2015)


on 6/28/2015 9:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this along with the buffering lotion. I have sensitive, chin and nose acne prone skin with cheeks that get dry and red. I use a garnier makeup removal wipe before cleansing. This cleanser does not foam. I use as directed on bottle 2x day. I only wash t zone in the a.m.Bottle can be a bit hard to squeeze after you get further down in product.
Cleans my face, does not dry or irritate skin, has helped w acne. My face is very soft and smooth. If i am in shower i put this on and let it sit while im showering. I was skeptical of this bc it has fragrance, but my skin has been ok with it. I think.using makeup removal towel beforehand helps as i am not sure how well this would take all makeup off.
Plan to keep using this.
Pros: non drying, non foaming, my sensitive skin tolerates, skin softening, hasn't clogged pores, nice scent (kind of like cucumbers ) fair price i paid $19 at ulta
Cons: parabens, added fragrance

Only showing 2 lippies but i marked 4?



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This cleanser is definitely not a good everyday cleanser. It leaves a film on you face after you put it on and does not lather. It has fruit in it that is acidic so it makes your face really soft after using it. I purchased this so I can use it occasionally to smooth my face.


on 6/18/2015 11:41:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used to like some of MB's products. Now, I just feel they aren't innovative (I haven't seen them come out with anything new in years), contain some questionable ingredients and are heavily fragranced. I used to like the enzyme mask. I didn't actually feel like it did anything great to my skin, I just really liked the smell. This cleanser has that same smell--herbal and fresh. It isn't foaming, which is not good for my oily skin. But what makes this cleanser problematic for all skin types is the sticky residue it leaves behind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2015 11:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

super affordably priced cleanser that does not foam- does the job well and keeps the spots at bay! no other cleanser i tried (purity, phisohex, neutrogena) could get rid of the bumpy texture on my skin except this one. also love using this with my clarisonic as it adds an extra exfoliation factor

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2015 9:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Not a big fan of this cleanser....the texture was too thick and it didn't leave my face feeling clean. IMO this is not a good cleanser to use with a Clarisonic since I could not feel the face wash being spread over my face and it led me to using much more product. I also prefer foaming facial cleansers or cream cleansers like Purity Made Simple. Definitely won't repurchase any non foaming gel cleanser again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have had pretty frustrating hormonal acne around my lips and chin. I would get painful blemishes and they would spread very easily. I tried several face washes, honestly was obsessed with finding anything that would help. I was told there wasn't much I could do except go on the pill to regulate my hormones. I bought this cleanser on a whim when also buying the blemish drying lotion and I have to say it has done wonders for my skin! Not only does this cleanser make your skin feel soft and fresh but I'm also ance free! Something that hasn't happened in years. I still can't belive it! I love this cleanser and am so thankful I found something that helps my skin!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2015 7:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My skin type is aging/sensitive/acne prone, meaning it can be very challenging to take care of. That said, I still have a soft spot for cleansers and this one is pretty great. It's a thick gel, which means it stay put on my skin and does not drip all over he place. It does not foam, which I made peace with when I saw exactly how fast it breaks down mascara, (not waterproof) eyeshadow, primer, liner, blush, foundation, sweat, debris.

It's gentle yet effective and although I realize that actives are kind of a waste since they get washed off, I DID see a brighter complexion after the 3rd use. I purchased a 2 ounce at a discount to test it and this is day 3. No breakouts, no reactions, my drying out of the skin, I rinses clean. I cannot say it cleans out my pores - I have to manually clean out the pores round my nose every night with either a scrub, a washcloth or my Clarisonic. But I am convinced it is effective.

It has a fresh smell of aloe or something, the texture is smooth, a pea size does the job and I did wash twice because I could not believe I got everything off the first time but I did. It's pricey imo, but it is a quality product and as I said it is effective. A little goes a long way so I may be able to justify this price point. My plan is to finish the 2 ounce, take a good long long at my skin and if I keep seeing the brightness and clarity that I have already detected, it may become part of my regular regimen.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2015 12:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this cleanser on and off for about a year now and I keep coming back to it. It just works really well for my combo oily skin. I like that it doesn't foam because foaming cleansers almost always dry me out and make my skin feel stripped. I didn't realize the cerave foaming cleanser I was using was doing that until I went back to the enzyme gel. I always cleanse twice when I use this because I feel one cleanse doesn't always sufficiently remove makeup but you should always cleanse twice anyway. My skin looks nice and glowy after I use this and the price is extremely reasonable compared to some high end brands. I'm on my 3rd bottle and I will definitely continue to repurchase.


on 3/27/2015 9:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a gentle cleanser and I use it about three times a week. I have combination skin and this works great. Skin never feels dry after using. It feels soft, fresh and cleansed. Sometimes i leave it on a little before washing it off as its an enzyme cleanse. Using the same line of toner in conjunction with this leaves my skin feeling very fresh. My sister also fell in love with it after using it at my house, she has oily acne prone skin. We have both repurchased and its a very reasonable price for this brand and the amount you get. I highly recommend.


on 2/23/2015 5:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A gentle cleanser that doesnt do anything for my skin, doesnt clean it or irritate it. Contains glitter (!?) that stays on the skin after rinsing the skin and using toner. Will not repurchase.


Back to Top