DHC Hinoki Polishing Facial Brush

4.2

37 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/24/2013 11:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush. I don't use it on my face, but for my body instead. It keeps my skin so soft and its a great size for that purpose. I live how easy it is to hold as well since its wooden. If I ever lose this, Ill rebuy



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Love this brush. I have noticed a couple of other reviews talking about the harshness of it on their skin but it has not been a problem for me. Granted, the one thing my skin has going for it is the ability to stand up very well to even the most abrasive exfoliation, so I may not be the best judge. I have noticed if I use less product (or if I don't use a foaming cleanser) it does feel a bit less gentle. Overall, my skin hasn't looked this good in years. Pores have shrunk and my skin just looks brighter. As this is the only change in routine, I think it's this brush that did the trick.


on 8/20/2010 1:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This scratched my face really bad. There are two types of bristles; soft in the center and firmer ones on the outside. The moisturizers I used after ended up stinging my face due to the harshness of this brush. I don't need my face brush to exfploilate my face off; I have a really strong enzyme mask for that. I had high hopes for this too. I might try this one more time just to give it another chance but just thinking about how my face felt afterwards might just make me give it away for someone else to give it a try.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Other

One of the best purchases I've made :D The first time that I used it, I thought that it's too harsh for my skin. However, I can't resist the smoothness after the wash. I've used it twice a week with a rich cleanser, brushing with circular motion. Pores and flakes are not that visible anymore! And I actually feel relaxed after the brush stroked through my skin :D


on 4/11/2009 6:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A little gem! Has nearly erased the small bumps under my skin with daily or 2x daily use! Cute, small, good lathering properties, not too expensive (although DHC's shipping is). Will repurchase in a few months when I've worn this one out. I really wish someone had told me about the benefits of using a brush with cleanser years prior to this - I'm hooked and can't wash my face without it. It's just not as clean and smooth unless I use my hinoki brush. :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2008 9:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this hoping it would it would stop me from wanting the Clarisonic brush. Before I began using it I had a few tiny bumps under the skin on jaw area and a couple on the sides of my chin. No more! I use it just at night with Platinumskin 10% glycolic cleanser and it works great. Just use little circle motions and light pressure. Pretty good for 16 dollars. I also prewash with olive oil prior to using my cleanser and brush to remove any eye makeup and sunscreen. Good exfoliation and cleansing method for my normal to dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2008 1:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this little thing! First of all, it's just hella cute. But it does a lovely, gentle job with the winter flakies around my nose and chin. For me, the first time I used it it seemed a bit harsh, putting the mild soap directly on it. But since then I just wet it and use it over the cleanser that's already on my face and it's SO soft. Definitely a nice alternative to a granular scrub when you don't need something so strong.


on 11/7/2007 12:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I use this once every other day with Mild Soap or Q10 Film Soap in the morning. It seems medium-gentle to me, because of the outer ring of natural bristles which are tougher. Seems to work well for me, though it feela just a tad bit harsh. I enjoy using it though, and it seems to pair well with other DHC products. It's also much gentler when used with cleansing oil or Cetaphil to cushion it.


on 10/17/2007 11:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Hate to be the spoiler, but this was horrible on my skin. I was really shocked at how harsh this felt when I used it. I have pretty normal skin and I've used scrubs and brushes before, but this one left my skin red, and when I followed with my regular moisturizer my face burned and stung! I thought maybe I was too rough, so I waited a few days and tried it again very delicately. I still had the stinging sensation when I used my moisturizer, so out this went into the trash. I'll stick to the washing puff and/or facial scrub.


on 9/15/2007 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE: Reducing to 3 lippies. After a few weeks of using this brush, I've decided this brush is way too harsh, and I have pretty tough skin! The inner bristles are fine, but the outer bristles are rough and feel like they're scratching my face. I completely gave up using this brush and now use it for dry-brushing my body.
This is my first experience using a facial brush, and I'm pretty happy with the results. I definitely don't mind the $16 pricetag, because I think the brush will last a long time, and it creates so much lather that I only use half the cleansing product that I used to! The brush feels a little harsh for about the first week, but you get used to it and my skin is getting very good exfoliation. No more dry patches or little flakies.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


The Face Brush
27 Reviews
Derma Roller
66 Reviews
Eyelash Curler
18 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
28 Reviews
Foot Buffers
92 Reviews


Top Rated DHC Products

image

Silky Cotton

90 reviews
image

Deep Cleansing Oil

1350 reviews
Back to Top