Unlisted Brand • Wei East Chestnut Extra Firming Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.5(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lavenderwig on 4/19/2013 5:51:00 PM more reviews by lavenderwig

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I found out through Beautypedia that this is very good as a basic moisturizer, so I am able to use it in repairing my dry skin from benzoyl peroxide overload. I've made a new regimine that I've done day and night and it works and no breakouts are happening so I'm happy.

I first apply an Estee Lauder serum, then an Aveeno ultra-calming moisturizer with spf 15, then Wei East's chestnut extra firming cream, and after all that I have shine obviously, so I apply Maybelline's Instant Age Rewind Primer and if I happen to have to go anywhere I'd probably do my hair, apply some concealer over my three latest dark spots, use Maybelline The Rocket or Mega Plush mascara, and off I go! It's a less is more routine for repairing my skin, and I have noticed it's working a good deal as I do this day AND night. This regimine gives my skin the antioxidants, moisture and protection it needs.

Of course, I am 21, and I only happened to come upon this adorable green pot while getting something from my mother's bathroom. She often gets random cosmetics or skincare from Estee Lauder and Clinique, but I'm guessing the fact that Wei is an obvious foreign asian woman enticed my foreign asian mom into buying what looked to be a test kit or two because there were chestnut and white lotus items.

I love this product for my dry skin, but alas, I imagine this is an expensive product. And it's a basic formula. No firming is going to happen with this. There are products that cost just as much with actual benefits (moisturize, spf, and antioxidants). There are also inexpensive products with that triple threat, or with the same kind of formula!

Get this if you can get it cheaply, or if money doesn't matter I guess. It's best for dry skin and make sure you know what you're going to do to cut down on the shine. Do know that a little goes a long way, like just rub a finger on the cream and apply it to a spot on your face you're comfortable with starting and keep going at it like that. Also know that there are little somethings in here, I don't know what they are, don't really care since I can't see em on my face.

I like this since I was able to use it for free, but I don't know if I would ever pay for it myself. Oh and fragrance is never good for the skin, "natural" or not. I think this smells divine though. Very yummy. A+ in the scent department.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilymed2 on 3/1/2012 4:04:00 PM more reviews by ilymed2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

No noticeable firming. Strong smell I cannot get past even to use on feet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zzzdog on 5/30/2009 8:13:00 PM more reviews by zzzdog

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I think this stuff is GREAT! I use it in conjunction with the Golden Root line and I can't believe the difference it has made in my skin. The chestnut cleanser feels wonderfully creamy and dissolves make-up and rinses off easily and fully. I then use one of the GR pads and serum and while my face is still wet with that, I smooth on a few dabs of this cream. I have no problems with it being too heavy or thick or anything like that - it goes on easily and smoothly and absorbs quickly. I use the chestnut eye cream and throat and neck cream too and the texture of my skin has improved noticeably. I use the GR night cream and eye serum at night and this in the morning. My skin has a finer texture, my pores are amazingly improved, almost invisible and I'm 54, and the overall appearance of my skin is smoother and firmer and more resilient.


I just want to clarify that when I say it is firmer and tighter, I don't mean it looks like there's been a noticeable reversal of gravity with regard to the basic shape of my face. That's beyond the reach of skin care and if that's what you're looking for then you really are looking for surgical results.


What I mean is that the skin feels springier and more elastic, it feels tighter and more resilient. The texture is finer and firmer and less slack and the overall tone of my skin is fresher and younger looking. This may sound strange, but my cheekbones are more like they were when I was younger - they have better definition, especially when I smile, because the skin is more toned and less slack. It's noticeable.


I'm not exaggerating. Friends have noticed and asked me what I'm doing differently. My sister and best friend have both started using the chestnut and golden root lines and both feel it's improving the quality of their skin.


It may not work for everyone, but I LOVE this stuff. Also, her body lotion is the best I have ever used. It's really wonderful.


I feel the price is very reasonable. I buy it through HSN and they are always putting together kits and special deals and it breaks down to be very reasonable.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jd-jd on 12/11/2008 6:07:00 AM more reviews by jd-jd

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a thick, yellow-beige cream. It is somewhat astringent at the same time as moisturizing; it goes on and makes the skin feel taut, not moist.


It leaves a heavy sort of layer. I like it in winter--good as a wind and cold protecting day cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Susanne101 on 3/2/2008 9:51:00 AM more reviews by Susanne101

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Wei East Chestnut Firming Products are all the BOMB! I am 52 years old and it has taken years off of my neck. No more crepey neck. I still have some lines but they are gradually getting better. HIGHLY recommend this line.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dayna77 on 3/1/2008 7:57:00 PM more reviews by Dayna77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Heavy heavy heavy. Got in a kit very thick great for dry skin good after a chemical peel

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peacefulheart on 12/3/2006 4:55:00 PM more reviews by peacefulheart

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My main gripe with this is that I think it made my skin, which is very pale, appear yellow-as a result of the chestnut ingredient. Other than that it would actually be a pretty good product. Will not repurchase due to that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flamencovixen on 10/15/2006 2:14:00 AM more reviews by flamencovixen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Wei East's chestnut line is meant for dry skin. I got this cream as part of a sampler kit on HSN. I have combo skin but was curious to try Wei's chestnut products. This is supposed to be a firming cream but in my opinion, is just a rich moisturizer. I don't understand how a cream can be firming (personally, i think the only effective way to firm skin is cosmetic surgery). This product has a pleasant, mild scent.

It is very rich and thick. A good tip I learned from the HSN beauty board is to apply it while one's skin is moist so that the cream is easy to spread.

I use this only in winter because of its rich texture. I don't plan to repurchase it at all because I think there are drugstore products that are just as good or even better at a much mor reasonable price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Moisturizers products