Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant

4.1

781 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Microcrystalline Cellulose, Magnesium Oxide, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Sodium Lauroyl Glutamate, Colloidal Oatmeal, Disodium Lauryl Sulfosuccinate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch, Allantoin, Papain, Salicylic Acid, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, PCA, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Populus Tremuloides Bark Extract, Cyclodextrin, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Limonene, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).


on 6/21/2015 4:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product.

I really feel the difference after applying: my skin looks more radiant, feels soft and totally clean. I have sensitive skin though, so I only use it twice a week during summer, once a week during winter (in winter, my skin is quite dry and redish, and exfoliating does not seem the best thing to do).

It may seem pricy, but a little goes a long way. So after all, the price is quite ok.



on 6/21/2015 11:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this, I had a sample of it and found that my skin feels lovely and soft after use, as well as looking brighter. I didn't use it long enough to see if it makes a real difference, but will be purchasing to find out!


on 6/11/2015 6:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I overall like this. Makes my face feel really clean afterwards. I don't however thing that based on the price that it was amazing and therefor I will not be buying it again. Powder to a paste is a nice idea, though it works better in the shower and out of the shower spilling powder on and around my sink tends to happen.


on 6/10/2015 11:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have dull, uneven skin with large pores, and breakouts along my chin. I revamped my skincare routine to all dermalogica about a year ago, and unfortunately broke out. My roommate told me it was probably this stuff that made my skin so angry, so I stopped using this after a couple weeks and it helped. Ultimately, I don't think I should have switched to dermalogica at once. Then once I had a new skincare routine that kept my skin decently clear, I figured it was safe to add this back in. Nope. Used it ONCE and BAM nasty breakouts all along my jaw that took a week to clear. It was so bad, my mom nagged at me thinking I stopped caring for my skin altogether...ughhhh


on 5/25/2015 1:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got this from Ulta, used it a few times and returned it. It is ok as a very gentle every day exfoliant but it did absolutely nothing for those tiny dry flakes. I still had to use a microfiber wash cloth which makes this scrub useless to me.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this exfoliator when used on a daily basis. It's a little bit of a pain to use as you have to add it to wet hands, but it does a good job on my skin. It's very gentle which works well for me on a daily basis. Once every 2nd or 3rd week, I use a different, stronger exfoliator. But this fits well into my skincare routine!


on 4/24/2015 10:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The first time I used it I noticed my skin was brighter and softer. I use it daily with my Clarisonic after taking my makeup off. It also lightened up my acne scars which is what I was hoping for with this product.


on 4/19/2015 10:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I did not enjoy using this - it worked well for me for a few weeks. I took a small amount in the palm of my hand and added some water to it making it into a paste so it could be applied to my face and then used circular motions to exfoliate on my skin.


on 3/26/2015 12:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I purchased a travel size ($10.50 for 0.45oz at WhatGreatSkin.com) of this after my former HG (QHMJ scrub) suddenly became too harsh for my dehydrated winter skin. I'd read the P'ville reviews so I knew it was a powder that you have to add water to and it becomes a paste...which is correct. :) I'm not sure why the name of the product is "Daily" Microfoliant: you'd have to have skin of steel to use it daily! I use this about twice a week after cleansing at night: I shake a nickel-size pile into my palm, add a few drops of water to make a paste, and then massage it over my face, focusing on my nose, forehead, and chin. (Note: the dry powder is very fine, so keep your nose away from it.) The paste rinses cleanly, and then I pat dry. I've noticed that after using it my skin is red, but that happens with all exfoliants. I usually shower after exfoliating, and then I apply my night cream (Alpha Hydrox 10% Glycolic), and some Boscia tsubaki oil if my skin is feeling parched. I do love this scrub: it's effective but not super-harsh, and you can control the scrubbiness by using less product. My travel size lasted me almost 2 months with twice-weekly use...I may buy the full size, which is a better value than the travel size at $15/oz vs. $24/oz. The packaging is interesting: it has a screw-top and you have to shake the powder out. As other reviewers have cautioned, don't keep this in the shower because the steam will turn it rock-hard, and if your bathroom is steamy make sure to close the cap tightly after use! I'll definitely repurchase this exfoliant. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2015 7:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

PROs:
The grittiness of the product, I like. My skin does feel clean and polished after use. Worked well while my skin was suited for it.

CONs:
I have used this for years and thought it was doing what it was supposed to do until I started using ASAP's Exfoliator. It also doesn't work for me, like it once used to, because my skin has become drier over the years and I find that it just makes my skin uncomfortably tight and dry and makes it worse if anything. I also tend to do my routine in the shower and I just find the packaging doesn't work well, especially because its a product that emulsifies with water.

OVERALL:
Its not good, but its not bad either. You just need to find out if it is suitable for your skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Scrubs


Ocean Salt
705 Reviews
Apricot Scrub
2625 Reviews
Green Tea Scrub
336 Reviews
Back to Top