Dr. Hauschka concealer 01

3.0

25 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/16/2014 2:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this product but sadly I could not. Which comes as a surprise because I am now an avid fan of Dr. Hauschka products and everything I've used thus far has been amazing except for this concealer. First off, the concealer is way too pink for me and I could not find a colour match. It didn't seem to conceal anything and it felt as though I had to use a lot of product to attempt to cover any blemishes. I am not a fan of the packaging itself since it's one of those twist up ones with a spongy applicator. Also, the areas I applied this seemed to have a dry/patchy texture when I put foundation on top. Overall, not a good product and it's a good thing that Whole Foods has a wonderful return policy.



on 12/13/2013 2:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

As the others had suggested, I would completely agree "I wish i would like this concealer, but sadly I cannot... It is too thick in general, difficult to apply in the undereye area, it looks kind of cakey." Also the lightest one I think is too dark for the purpose of a concealer.


on 7/30/2013 6:18:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the ONLY concealer I will use. Have used for a few years. The color is perfect, the consistency is perfect. The ingredients are truly natural. Smells heavenly. No problem with the packaging - don't put your finger to the felt tip. Instead dab the tip onto your face. Don't twist up too much or you'll waste precious product. As far as the alcohol goes - alcohol in natural products serves a purpose and is not carcinogenic (don't know where that other reviewer gets her info). It also helps to counteract the oils in the product so it doesn't remain a greasy mess on your skin - it helps the product to dry in place. Also I find it covers blemishes better if I apply some product, and let it sit for a minute to dry out a little bit, then gently blend over the blemish. I would not put anything but Dr. H on a blemish as it is broken skin -- why would anyone want to put a bunch of toxic chemicals on broken skin?

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2013 6:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am editing my original review, which was pretty negative on account of the ethyl alcohol in this stuff. But after experimenting with different concealers, and learning that many of them contain alcohol as well as loads of other more mysteriously synthetic ingredients, I circled back to Dr. Hauschka's. It is not my dream concealer, but it's still the best I've found. Initially, this product can look powdery, even with the moisturizer method I describe below, but after about five minutes, it usually looks more natural. Btw, this is definitely a product for people who like the subtle, "natural" look—it doesn't cover everything, but brightens and smooths things just enough.

PRO's:
- nice smell (if you like the Dr. Hauschka scent—which is herby but also a bit old-ladyish, though in an elegant way, if that makes sense).
- if applied correctly (see below), it's natural looking, not transparent, but not paint-like. it doesn't cover everything, but for me, it adds just enough coverage (I use under my eyes and around my nose, where I have some redness).
- good dispenser—a large doe-foot style applicator with little holes: you twist the stick & the concealer comes up through the holes. I apply with a brush.

CONs
- Ethyl alcohol is the 2nd ingredient (no matter how "food grade" it's still bad for your skin). For this reason, if I'm not careful, it can actually make the skin under my eyes look worse (powdery, wrinkly, dry) UNLESS I apply moisturizer liberally first. Then it works nicely. For under my eyes, this is my method: I use a regular lightweight cream moisturizer (or spf moisturizer) and let it sink in (3 mins), then I apply a tiny dab of Dr. Haushka eye contour day balm under my eyes and let that sink in (3 mins). Then I apply the concealer. For anywhere else on my face, I just apply a good moisturizer first.
- not cheap


on 3/14/2013 8:47:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm really puzzled at the hype over the Dr Hauschka line .These products are anything but natural.and this concealer is no different. This lists alcohol as a top ingredient and it's HIGHLY fragranced. This is a product I bought to use around eyes!The toner I had was full of alcohol as well.I'm finished with Dr Hauschka, I really expected better.


on 3/14/2013 6:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

GREAT concealer, does not emphasize undereye wrinkles. Smooth application, looks totally natural!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2012 11:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a pretty good concealer. The ingredients are pleasingly natural and actually work to heal blemishes. Which is good since if I am applying something directly to a blemish, it is nice to know that the formula will not serve to worsen the spot.
.
The packaging is pretty cool. With a little turn, the liquid concealer peers out of six or seven little holes in a spongey top. I simply dab it gently onto my skin and spread with my finger tip.
.
It is a little on the pricey side; I paid 18 euros. So hopefully it will last me a while. I've only had it for a few weeks, so it's hard to tell yet.
.
It also works well for under the eyes, and various other little discolourations.
.
Not bad, not bad, and I could see myself buying it again, depending on its longevity.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

The consistancy is good, not too dry, not too liquid. The color has a pink-ish hue, which I thought at first would make blemishes more apparent, but once blended actually conceals them very well. I wouldn't be able to use this concealer alone, however, but I got it to wear under dr hauschka's foundation, anyways. The two work together nicely. For under-eye/sides of nose it works even better. It erases dark circles seemlessly. It's kinda pricey, I guess, I got it for 17.56. It actually helps to heal the blemishes too, though. That to me makes it worth the price. Already, in the few days I have been using it, it has calmed my skin, slightly. This is a good sign as my sensitive skin usually reacts the opposite to ANY cosmetic application. I found the best results in first moisturizing with dr hauschka's 'toned day cream', mixed with a bit of the foundtion, to even out my skin. Then conceal, then apply a bit more foundation where needed... I have bad skin. All in all, it looks wonderfully natural, covers blemishes/dark circles well, has a great scent and calms irritation. DEFINITELY SUGGEST :D


on 4/30/2012 3:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This concealer was quite nice. Seemed a good consistency and blended in well, I didn't have a problem with it. The colour was good for me too.

The packaging though is completely useless. It didn't seem very hygienic rubbing my finger on the felt tip. Then to make things worse, after only a few weeks of use, the stupid twisty thing seems to be broken and now I can't get any concealer out of it. In the rubbish you go. Waste of money on a product with stupid packaging.


on 11/24/2011 5:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I wish i would like this concealer, but sadly I cannot... It is too thick in general, difficult to apply in the undereye area, and when you cover a blemish it looks kind of cakey. A real pity, because I really love this brand's makeup quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Dr. Hauschka Products

image

Lip Balm - stick

161 reviews
Back to Top