Extra Virgin Coconut Oil

4.4

288 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Extra-virgin coconut oil.


on 4/22/2015 7:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

You absolutely cannot go wrong with organic all natural virgin coconut oil. No nasty preservatives, perfumes, dyes all the regular stuff you get in everyday moisturisers.
This stuff is amazing, one of the few oil that can actually penetrate the hair shaft and skin.
My hair has went through years of heat damage, style damage and bleaching and as you can imagine it is fried to bits.
Regular applications of this oil give it a bit of LIFE back, it brings back softness and some flexibility - lets remember you cannot cure damaged hair though, but it does make it a little bit more manageable.

I have thin fine hair and yes it looks oily once applied but it keep it tucked away in a bun, takes a good shampooing to get out but the results are very worth it.

Application on my skin leaves it feeling very hydrated - there is no oily feeling like you get with olive oil or the sort. It is a fresh feeling and smell and anyone with sensitive skin can rest assure that it won't irritate because there are no hidden nasties in it.
I am a true believer in natural products are the way to go, there is no miracle ingredient hidden in an expensive bottle thats chemically made, your body is all natural so treat it that way.
You can use this anywhere on the body also.
My sister done the oil pulling where you take a table spoon of this into your mouth for 20 minutes and i can say her teeth are several shades whiter. Best product ever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/20/2015 8:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I LOVE coconut oil. It has a variety of uses, and I always depend on it for most of my beauty and skincare needs. After I shower and let my hair slightly air dry, I apply coconut oil to my hair, slowly massage my scalp and then comb through it. Then I braid my hair into 2 separate pieces (if you get what I mean?), and leave it overnight. When I take out the braids in the morning, I take a shower and rinse it out using my shampoo (Nature's Gate). My hair feels softer, silkier, and less frizzy (I live in a very humid place). My hair is quite thick, or maybe there's just a lot of it, and it's very wavy so I find coconut oil to help it the best. I also use it on my face as a moisturizer after I use my african black soap or a all-natural CTM method using honey (cleanser), ACV -with water mixed with it of course- (toner) and coconut oil (moisturizer).

I also sometimes allow steam to open my pores with the coconut oil on my face so it gets in there (as it is also antibacterial) or just apply it after rinsing off my indian healing clay mask. I heard some people get a skin reaction to coconut oil as it is part of a purging process but I never had that- then again I was using natural products about a month before trying this so maybe thats the reason why? Anyways, with any natural product you may find yourself breaking out or other skin reactions because the skin is reacting to a transition/purge. All in all, I will be using coconut oil for years to come!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2015 9:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This goes into about almost every beauty DIY and the results are amazing.
1. Lip scrub - combine coconut oil, honey and raw sugar. Lips feel soft, plump and removes dry skin.
2. Coffee scrub - combine ground coffee beans, coconut oil, honey, raw sugar, baby oil, extra virgin olive oil and mix to form a paste. Skin feels amazingly smooth!
3. Hair mask - massage into roots and throughout the ends of your hair. Leave in for 30 mins and rinse out. Hair shiny, smooth and is great for dry scalps.
I got the organic coconut oil in jar form from my local Chemist Warehouse for $10. Super affordable and last long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Best makeup remover anyone could ask for! If products with the words "makeup remover" in the title aren't doing the job, pick up a jar of this life saver. And it can be used for way more than that. It can moisturize your skin and hair, you can cook with it, basically EVERYTHING!
Definitely go out and buy this!


on 3/16/2015 5:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

this stuff is just as awesome as people say. I use it as a makeup remover, a shaving "cream" and a hair mask (and in cooking of course!).

Makeup remover: I'll use this whenever I have waterproof mascara on (almost every day in the summer). I just take a little chunk, rub it between my figures to liquify it then gently rub it over my eyes until I can't feel mascara on my lashes anymore. Then I'll wipe it away with a washcloth or just wash my face like normal with my cetaphil cleanser. Takes off all my waterproof mascara without irritating my eyes or pulling out all my lashes.

Shaving: Pretty self explanatory. I rub a bunch of it over my legs/arm pits, shave like normal, then wipe it away with a wet washcloth. It's moisturizing and works just as good as any shave cream I've used. I only use this outside of the shower or tub because when you wash it away it can make any surface your standing on very very slippery and I don't fancy falling on my face in the shower.

Hair: I haven't totally perfected this aspect of coconut oil because I suck at doing hair masks regularly so I can never tell the coconut oil actually makes a difference or not. My hair usually feels softer and looks a little shinier after a coconut oil hair mask, but it will only last till the next shampoo. If I ever get into the habit of doing a weekly hair mask with coconut oil I'll edit this review with the results. But basically what I do is cover my hair from the ears down with liquified coconut oil, then use a comb to go through all the hair from root to tip, then leave it in for 30 minutes to an hour, the rinse it out in the shower and shampoo/condition like normal. I've heard of some people using coconut oil as a leave in, but my hair is way too thin for this and it would just be a big greasy mess.


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2015 6:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loveeeeee coconut oil for ny hair and hair growth. I apply it to my face at night also. I warm up some in a bowl then add alittle bit of regular deep conditioner to help make apply easier and rub on scalp and hair leave it on for as long as i can. And i wash it twice afterwards. I do this once a week and i loveeeee it best conditioner ever.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pretty awesome stuff..I have a pretty simple routine for morning and night and it's given me really pretty skin...I just take about a teaspoon sized bit of coconut oil (unrefined coldpressed) warm it up between my hands to melt it ..massage it on my face and eye area for a couple min..run warm water from the tap and splash my face then i take my dove beauty bar lather it up and wash my face good then splash it off with warm water and then cool water..pat face slightly dry and follow up with Cetaphil lotion for all skin types..then I pat off the extra lotion with a dry clean towel and I'm done :)...also rub a generous amount of the coconut oil all over your body ( I skip my face in the shower as I wash face only at the sink (which I do after a shower) ..then jump in and wash my body with the dove bar and a shower Pouf thing...get out pat skin dry then moisterize with my fave lotion or body creme..seems to have greatly improved the condition of my skin..soft smooth glowyish lol...just thought I'd throw my thoughts on here for anyone who'd like to try it too :) i haven't had any breakouts from using it and have been doing this for abt a year or so for those worried abt tht part :)..I dunno how this would work with different facial cleansers or lotions and other skin types but I found this routine has helped me could b it could help others :)


on 2/25/2015 7:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is great. I have dry skin, so I smear it on my face before my nightly shower, then wash my face with cleanser. All makeup is gone, and unless it's the dead of winter I don't need to moisturize. I also dot it on any extremely dry patches of skin on my body before showering.


on 2/20/2015 5:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I live in Sri Lanka, a tropical country where the humble coconut is an ubiquitous part of life. We drink the coconut water, cook with the oil and meat, and use the oil as a topical skin and hair treatment. I bought into the trend and began using it as an oil cleanser for the body and shaving oil, and it has worked very well with my skin as it has been really dry and itchy. I do not use it on my face and hair as I do not want to experience breakouts and rashes.

However, I have read a couple of reviews, so I thought of giving a few tips to make your experience with it a little easier.

Always buy cold-pressed extra virgin coconut oil. Also, make doubly sure that it is not the cooking grade type, but the cosmetic grade to minimize skin allergic reactions. Additionally, check the ingredients to ensure that nothing else has been added in.

Never use coconut oil as a facial moisturizer. Coconut oil is excellent for dry skin. However, it is highly comedogenic as it can block pores and cause severe breakouts. I have sensitive acne-prone skin so I use Olay moisturizing cream which works fine. If you want to use a natural facial moisturizer, sesame oil, shea butter, or almond oil are excellent choices.

If you don't like the greasy feel of coconut oil (like I do), use it as a shaving cream or apply it as a body oil before getting into shower. For normal skin, you could use a relatively small amount.

I always believe that everyone's skin is different. Some may feel that coconut oil works wonders, whereas it can have a little to no impact on others. If you want to check it out, purchase a small bottle and check whether it clicks with your skin. If it doesn't, you can call use it for cooking :-)

Edit: I used it on my hair after some hesitation, and I found it to be an excellent conditioner for my hair. My hair looked thicker, shiny, and healthier after the first application, and I did not have to use my normal conditioner. Additionally, it did not weigh my hair down and washed out easily. Moreover, after a week of using it, people have began to comment on my appearance. I believe that coconut oil has evened out my skin tone, faded scars, and softened my skin. I no longer have dry patches. I definitely recommend coconut oil for both skin and hair, as it has worked wonders with me.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2015 1:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I'd love to love coconut oil... I slept with it over night on my hair and after I rinsed it out my hair almost felt like straw... it was not soft at all. I had to shampoo and condition a bunch to get it all out. It was horrible. I used organic, unrefined coconut oil. Can anyone tell me why that happened to me? :(

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top