Avene • Eluage Cream 30 ml • Treatments

rated 4.2(86 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 4/4/2013 6:09:00 PM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NC25, Chinese acne prone, it's been a long journey in getting acne free. HG!


And now that I'm finally reasonably clear of acne (see my insane notepad) and in more of maintenance mode, I have been using Avene Eluage Cream for several months and comparing/contrasting it with several other skin treatments: MUAC gly-uronic serum, PTR Retinol Fusion PM, PC BHA 2%, LRP Redermic, etc etc... Eluage has been each hands down, every time. I also like the cream texture, which I think gives it some moisturizing benefit (vs a watery serum or a gel). So I think I'm just going to stop screwing w/ my face for a bit and just stick with this.


Note, I avoid (dimethi)cone products b/c my experience has been they are pore clogging, regular Avene Eluage has no cones but Eluage Rich does.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franzvonstuck on 3/9/2013 10:20:00 AM more reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Update 18/06/2013:
I was diagnosed with seborrheic dermatitis and had a very bad flare. I switched to the Ystheal emulsion because my skin can only take lighter cream-formulas now. The Eluage was too rich for my SD-skin. But everything I wrote about Eluage is also true for Ystheal. So you can choose the formula/product with retinaldehyde from Avene to suit your skin, which is great, because there is a broad range of formulas from lighter ones for oily to richer ones for dry skin.
Original:
So, there are mixed reviews of this product and I understand that.
Retin-a or retinaldhyde is not suitable for every skin, but if it works for your skin, it is a miracle ingredient.
I tested all of the Avene retinaldehyde creams, from the Ystheal, Eluage to the brand new D-Pigment. And I had prescipted retin-a from my dermatologist, so I tried all kinds of retin-a.
I have acne-prone, combo, dehydrated and sensitive skin, which is dry in wintertime. I�ve got dark spots from hyperpigmentation and a melasma on my upper lip.
My skin keratinizes too much, which means, my skin produces too much cells that clog my pores and don�t let the sebum flow out of my pores. Hence, my skin is naturally congested an I have hormonal breakouts too.
Important info about retinaldehyde:
Only use it at night because sunlight makes it instable.
Use high spf every day, because it sensitizes the skin towards sun exposure.
Hydrate your skin well, because it has a drying effect on your skin.
It takes at least 3 months before you see any results, so no overnight effects with this.
Be careful if you use other highly potent stuff like vitamin c or glycolic acid, because it can lead to skin irritation.
Eluage comes in two versions in Europe, one for combo skin and one rich version for dry skin. I always use the richest version possible to counteract the drying effect of the retin-a. It is a thick, orange tinted cream with a light fragrance. I never reacted towards the perfume in Avene creams, but be aware of it, if your skin reacts toward fragrance.
I used the Ystheal before trying this, so my skin was used to retinaldehyde. Usually, if you start using retinaldehyde, they suggest to use it every other day and slowly get your skin used to retinaldehyde.
The Ystheal has vitamin e in it and no hyaluronic acid, that�s the difference. And I think, the Eluage is richer in general terms and meant for more mature skin.
Being 36 at the moment, I don�t have many wrinkles, which is part genetic, part skin care in my case. And my skin is the (almost) perfect candidate for retinaldehyde. I have congested skin, that keratinizes too much. Derms like to give you retin-a for this skin condition. But the prescripted strenght was too much for my skin to use it longterm, so I switched to Avene.
I can say, it keeps my wrinkles at bay and helps to keep my pores clear as far as it is possible for my skin. And it counteracts the tendency of my skin to be very dull and lifeless.
The downside however is a constant struggle for hydration and light flaking. My skin needs so much moisture and I�m sure, it�s because of the retin-a. I adjusted my skincare to use the most gentle products with minimal ingredients.
For daytime, I dont�push my skin further by using other anti ageing ingredients or irritating ingredients. Just basically much moisture in form of hyualuronic acid ( Skinceuticals hydrating b5 serum) and a basic moisturizer, usually from Avene. For cleansing, I use the mildest cleansers I can find and I don�t peel my skin that much. When I do, I use Kanbeo silk peel powder or oatmeal. And I buy moisturizing masks for my skin from Avene, Nuxe or Mario Badescu and use tons of thermal water.
Don�t get me wrong, I never got any irritation from retinaldehyde. No red spots, no itching, no allergies, no break-outs, nothing. And I could use other products, which are loaded with ingredients too, but this minimal regimen works best for my skin.
I rely on Eluage to do the anti ageing work and moisturize like crazy, that�s all.
I use Avene retin-a creams for 5 years and I�m looking like I�m in my mid-twenties, which is partly thanks to the creams.
Not every skin can take retin-a and even if your skin can take it, you may not have the best results. Everybodys skin is unique, so I suggest trying out first, if your skin can tolerate retin-a. If that�s the case, you can use it for 3 months. If you don�t have good effects after 3-6 months, then retinaldehyde is not working for you.
It´s as simple as this.
I tried other anti ageing stuff, but I stuck with Eluage because it works best for my skin.


18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mihailo1980 on 6/16/2012 6:17:00 AM more reviews by mihailo1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The product is very mild. Too mild. It does nothing. Typical OTC strength, very safe and it that does less than having no cream on at all.
I am 32 by the way and I have normal skin which gets slightly oily during summer months. With some Roc creams I used to get immediate results (unfortunately, those products are discontinued for some reason and I still can't believe it, but... ...whatever).
'Eluage' is very thick, but it will not clog pores, don't worry, but it just doesn't moisturize enough and it does not deliver the cell renewal, plumping, smoothing and what not that the company promises.
No more experiments, I will stick to Caudalie - 'Cell Renewal Night Cream', Roc 'Multi Corexion Serum' and Differin from tome to time.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kewpiegal on 5/26/2012 7:47:00 PM more reviews by Kewpiegal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used this moisturiser for about a year. When I bought it I was getting a lot of spots around my mouth/chin area and I was recommended to use this moisturiser and a salycilic acid cleansing lotion. I did find that my skin cleared up a lot initially but I found it felt dehydrated (it gets taut in winter and I was in the UK at the time). I stopped using both products after a year as I moved back to the Southern Hemisphere and it was summer and my skin got oilier and I started getting spots again which made me wonder whether it had really been the products that cleared my skin or that it had just dried out so much due to the change of season. I saw absolutely no anti-aging benefits, lessening of fine lines etc which I had hoped for given it contains a retinoid and it didn't hydrate my skin well - which you'd think it would given the heavy/thick texture. It's not a terrible product but I wouldn't recommend it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luxferi on 5/8/2012 5:17:00 AM more reviews by luxferi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

About me: 30 years old, combination skin, mildly acne prone, very sensitive with rosacea.


I've been using Eluage for about a year, and this is my second tube. In the beginning I started off using it every 3 days, then 2 weeks later I switched to every other night, and finally when no irritation shows up, it became a nightly routine. I use a pump and a half to cover the whole face and neck. It has a margarine-like consistency - it's creamy, but not too thick, smells great (it can be a concern to some who are sensitive to fragrance in skin care, but personally it doesn't affect me) and does not irritate my skin at all, and that's saying something because I have rosacea. Some people mentioned the cast it gives - and maybe it's because I have yellow-toned skin, but I don't notice it at all.


I use it for the dual purpose of controlling random pimples and anti-aging benefits. First of all, I need to mention on the upfront that retinol does not work overnight. I see the effects slowly... surely, but slowly. My skin was dull and darker in some areas - this certainly made the cells turnover a lot faster because I now need to exfoliate twice a week. It isn't until about 6 months to a year later that I realized just how good my skin looks. It's really subtle... my pores are slightly finer, my skin is baby smooth, makeup goes on easily, and my skin tone evened out. Pimples are a lot less (though I attributed that to my 2% salicylic wash twice a week - this acts as a chemical exfoliant for me too). All in all, my skin is HAPPY. Thriving, and happy. Oh, and I need to make a note that I spray my face with Avene Thermal Spring Water twice daily - once in a the morning and once in the evening before applying Avene Eluage. The water helps keep my skin calm.


However after I'm done with this bottle, I'm going to move up to Triacneal, which contains 0.1% retinaldehyde and 6% AHA. I highly recommend the Eluage, especially for sensitive skinned folks and/or retinol virgins. Just start off slow, and you'll be good.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tetley on 5/5/2012 3:50:00 PM more reviews by tetley

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I used this religiously for a few years and have finally given up on it. I just did not see any benefits whatsoever. Its heavily fragranced and the scent is cloying.
Works for others apparently but did nothing for me. I had been using it for antiaging benefits and fine lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dubai on 4/18/2012 4:38:00 PM more reviews by Dubai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this product for a while (around 6 months) and I must say it's very good. It has definitely smoothed my skin. It's the kind of cream that I will keep going back to even when I take a break from using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 burgundyangel on 4/8/2012 8:14:00 AM more reviews by burgundyangel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I had gotten a sample of the Eluage Gel and applied on my crow's feet around my eye. I am amazed by how fast this work. Without much hesitation, I went to purchase a full size of the Eluage Cream and Eluage Eye Contour.
After 2 weeks of regliously using it everynight around my mouth area, (topping it off my my sample size gel) I realised that, "fold" of skin disappear and I am very happy with the cream.
I will definetly stocked up this range during sales period.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Icaria on 3/29/2012 11:15:00 AM more reviews by Icaria

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for a little over 6 months. I use it on face, neck & dcollet every night & on the eye area every other night due to sensitivity. It has 0.05% retinaldehyde & 0.50% hyaluronic acid fragments (aids in plumping), Do take note that Avne sells the strongest retinoids OTC. If you don't want to go with a Rx, look into this brand.
Have a look at this list for more information: http://www.skinacea.com/products/retinoids.html
All retinoids are shown by order of strenght from OTC to Rx.
I'm using this to "keep what I've got" & prevention. I have combination skin & have no issues with it on my oily t-zone even if it's aimed at dryer skin. If you have oily skin, you might prefer to go for Ysthal. I only use an average of 2 pumps nightly & when applied right after my witch hazel that I use as a toner, it spreads easily & sinks in right away. Like mcalcia stated below in her review, do not use this in daytime. Use at night & find a good sunscreen/sunglasses for daytime. No need to get Eluage eye gel. I believe it's a waste of money since it has half the retinaldehyde of the cream. I got a bunch of samples of it & after a few months found it pretty useless.
This cream will not change your skin dramatically! It will help even out the texture & help maintain it's quality provided you protect it properly in daytime. Sunscreen is the number one anti aging product you can get. Our skin ages principally because of UV lights.
I don't think I will ever go without this product. The only downside it the peach coloring. I don't understand why Avne put this in there, especially since it has no benefit to skin. Carefull if you have white or light colored pillow cases. This is the reason I took off one lippie.

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NudeBlush on 3/12/2012 7:49:00 PM more reviews by NudeBlush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, I like how this is a simple retinol product that you apply at night. No fuss. This is my go to product when I want to use retinol. I have not found anything better in the price range. Will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Treatments products