Avene Eluage Cream 30 ml

4.2

89 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: Ingredients Water (Aqua), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Squalane, Triethylhexanoin, Avene Thermal Spring Water (Avene Aqua), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, BHT, Butylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Fragance (Parfum), Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, Red 33 (CI 17200), Retinal, Sodium Hyaluronate, Thiethanolamine


on 8/28/2015 11:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

*HG*
Noticeably smoother, glowing skin. This product delivers.

My skin: Asian, late 30s. Oily, dehydrated, sensitive, sizable pores, mostly around T-zone, extremely sensitive. At some point in the last couple of years I realized that my problem was not so much that my pores were getting larger but rather that they seemed more visible because my skin was starting very slightly to sag (lightly pulling my skin upward noticeably smoothed out the surface).

This works. It does take time, but it is dramatic. One day after about 2 months of nightly use, my pores look tighter, mimicking the effect I had previously noticed of pulling up my skin. I believe retinaldehyde has pore-clearing effects as well, which most likely contributes to the general goodness, but the primary benefit for me has been the smoothing effect of this slight lift, I guess the increased collagen production.

I started using Eluage about 8 months ago. After 6 months, I stopped wearing foundation everyday -- just sunscreen and translucent powder -- and have received more than a few compliments on my complexion.

No irritation. I have sensitive skin that refuses any Vitamin C and AHA. I use this right up to my lashlines with no issue other than the occasional oil-in-the-eye problem if I get too close. If my skin feels harassed by weather, environment, what have you, I just take a few days off.

Maybe around month 3-4, I started to get stubborn cystic acne on my chin. Initially I thought the moisturizing ingredients were incompatible with my chin, so I just skipped the affected area. I've since realized that my chin likes this product fine as long as I thoroughly cleanse my face in the morning. Up to that point, I had been using Dove soap as a quick morning cleanse in the shower. I haven't had a problem since I started using a proper foaming cleanser in the morning.

Packaging is perfect. Opaque bottle with a hygienic pump that allows you to fine-tune the amount dispensed. I use just enough to cover with a thin layer, but the spreadability of the product tends to vary, which affects how much I end up using each time (haven't quite figured out what that variable is).

Just outstanding.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/17/2015 7:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for a few months and am very happy with Eluage. I wanted to slowly build up frequency of use and give it some time to see if it helps lessen fine lines. While I don't think I've given it enough time for that, I can say that it has a wonderful effect on my skin overall. This is a peach colored cream, packaged in a small, completely hygienic and air tight bottle. I've been applying this every other night and I wake up to even-toned, very soft skin.

While I can't attest to improvement in fine lines, I CAN say that this does wonders for acne. I can't count how many times I had a spot or two forming when I went to bed and woke up to it being gone. Completely gone. I find this to be extremely gentle on my sensitive skin. I know retinaldehyde is one of the more effective OTC retinoids on the market, so I was expecting some kind of irritation on my sensitive skin and I've had none. I was afraid to use this because I was certain that it would break me out, like many creams do, and I believe it has the opposite effect and helps to keep my skin clear. I see a difference when I don't use it.

Yes, this has a bit of fragrance, but I find it to be very slight. I'm very sensitive to fragrances and this doesn't bother me in the slightest bit. In fact, I find it to be rather soothing and it goes away quickly after application. My skin is combination but sometimes dehydrated and even toes the dry line, but this helps to keep my face moisturized and almost a bit plump, probably due to the HA.

I find the price to be a bit high, but at the same time, I've been using the tiny bottle for about three months and it's not empty yet, but I can't see how much is left, which is probably my one and only gripe about the product. I've already bought a second bottle because I want to continue using it and see if it has an anti-aging effect as claimed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2015 7:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a gorgeous product and is great to use before going to bed - I wake up with really moisturised refreshed skin - though it is definitely too heavy to wear during the day I would say.

Though it does help with my skin when it feels dehydrated and needs a moisture boost.

In NZ this product is extremely expensive to buy from a pharmacy so I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2013 6:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

NC25, Chinese acne prone, it's been a long journey in getting acne free. HG!


And now that I'm finally reasonably clear of acne (see my insane notepad) and in more of maintenance mode, I have been using Avene Eluage Cream for several months and comparing/contrasting it with several other skin treatments: MUAC gly-uronic serum, PTR Retinol Fusion PM, PC BHA 2%, LRP Redermic, etc etc... Eluage has been each hands down, every time. I also like the cream texture, which I think gives it some moisturizing benefit (vs a watery serum or a gel). So I think I'm just going to stop screwing w/ my face for a bit and just stick with this.


Note, I avoid (dimethi)cone products b/c my experience has been they are pore clogging, regular Avene Eluage has no cones but Eluage Rich does.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Update 18/06/2013:
I was diagnosed with seborrheic dermatitis and had a very bad flare. I switched to the Ystheal emulsion because my skin can only take lighter cream-formulas now. The Eluage was too rich for my SD-skin. But everything I wrote about Eluage is also true for Ystheal. So you can choose the formula/product with retinaldehyde from Avene to suit your skin, which is great, because there is a broad range of formulas from lighter ones for oily to richer ones for dry skin.
Original:
So, there are mixed reviews of this product and I understand that.
Retin-a or retinaldhyde is not suitable for every skin, but if it works for your skin, it is a miracle ingredient.
I tested all of the Avene retinaldehyde creams, from the Ystheal, Eluage to the brand new D-Pigment. And I had prescipted retin-a from my dermatologist, so I tried all kinds of retin-a.
I have acne-prone, combo, dehydrated and sensitive skin, which is dry in wintertime. I�ve got dark spots from hyperpigmentation and a melasma on my upper lip.
My skin keratinizes too much, which means, my skin produces too much cells that clog my pores and don�t let the sebum flow out of my pores. Hence, my skin is naturally congested an I have hormonal breakouts too.
Important info about retinaldehyde:
Only use it at night because sunlight makes it instable.
Use high spf every day, because it sensitizes the skin towards sun exposure.
Hydrate your skin well, because it has a drying effect on your skin.
It takes at least 3 months before you see any results, so no overnight effects with this.
Be careful if you use other highly potent stuff like vitamin c or glycolic acid, because it can lead to skin irritation.
Eluage comes in two versions in Europe, one for combo skin and one rich version for dry skin. I always use the richest version possible to counteract the drying effect of the retin-a. It is a thick, orange tinted cream with a light fragrance. I never reacted towards the perfume in Avene creams, but be aware of it, if your skin reacts toward fragrance.
I used the Ystheal before trying this, so my skin was used to retinaldehyde. Usually, if you start using retinaldehyde, they suggest to use it every other day and slowly get your skin used to retinaldehyde.
The Ystheal has vitamin e in it and no hyaluronic acid, that�s the difference. And I think, the Eluage is richer in general terms and meant for more mature skin.
Being 36 at the moment, I don�t have many wrinkles, which is part genetic, part skin care in my case. And my skin is the (almost) perfect candidate for retinaldehyde. I have congested skin, that keratinizes too much. Derms like to give you retin-a for this skin condition. But the prescripted strenght was too much for my skin to use it longterm, so I switched to Avene.
I can say, it keeps my wrinkles at bay and helps to keep my pores clear as far as it is possible for my skin. And it counteracts the tendency of my skin to be very dull and lifeless.
The downside however is a constant struggle for hydration and light flaking. My skin needs so much moisture and I�m sure, it�s because of the retin-a. I adjusted my skincare to use the most gentle products with minimal ingredients.
For daytime, I dont�push my skin further by using other anti ageing ingredients or irritating ingredients. Just basically much moisture in form of hyualuronic acid ( Skinceuticals hydrating b5 serum) and a basic moisturizer, usually from Avene. For cleansing, I use the mildest cleansers I can find and I don�t peel my skin that much. When I do, I use Kanbeo silk peel powder or oatmeal. And I buy moisturizing masks for my skin from Avene, Nuxe or Mario Badescu and use tons of thermal water.
Don�t get me wrong, I never got any irritation from retinaldehyde. No red spots, no itching, no allergies, no break-outs, nothing. And I could use other products, which are loaded with ingredients too, but this minimal regimen works best for my skin.
I rely on Eluage to do the anti ageing work and moisturize like crazy, that�s all.
I use Avene retin-a creams for 5 years and I�m looking like I�m in my mid-twenties, which is partly thanks to the creams.
Not every skin can take retin-a and even if your skin can take it, you may not have the best results. Everybodys skin is unique, so I suggest trying out first, if your skin can tolerate retin-a. If that�s the case, you can use it for 3 months. If you don�t have good effects after 3-6 months, then retinaldehyde is not working for you.
It´s as simple as this.
I tried other anti ageing stuff, but I stuck with Eluage because it works best for my skin.


34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2012 6:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The product is very mild. Too mild. It does nothing. Typical OTC strength, very safe and it that does less than having no cream on at all.
I am 32 by the way and I have normal skin which gets slightly oily during summer months. With some Roc creams I used to get immediate results (unfortunately, those products are discontinued for some reason and I still can't believe it, but... ...whatever).
'Eluage' is very thick, but it will not clog pores, don't worry, but it just doesn't moisturize enough and it does not deliver the cell renewal, plumping, smoothing and what not that the company promises.
No more experiments, I will stick to Caudalie - 'Cell Renewal Night Cream', Roc 'Multi Corexion Serum' and Differin from tome to time.

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2012 7:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this moisturiser for about a year. When I bought it I was getting a lot of spots around my mouth/chin area and I was recommended to use this moisturiser and a salycilic acid cleansing lotion. I did find that my skin cleared up a lot initially but I found it felt dehydrated (it gets taut in winter and I was in the UK at the time). I stopped using both products after a year as I moved back to the Southern Hemisphere and it was summer and my skin got oilier and I started getting spots again which made me wonder whether it had really been the products that cleared my skin or that it had just dried out so much due to the change of season. I saw absolutely no anti-aging benefits, lessening of fine lines etc which I had hoped for given it contains a retinoid and it didn't hydrate my skin well - which you'd think it would given the heavy/thick texture. It's not a terrible product but I wouldn't recommend it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2012 5:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

About me: 30 years old, combination skin, mildly acne prone, very sensitive with rosacea.


I've been using Eluage for about a year, and this is my second tube. In the beginning I started off using it every 3 days, then 2 weeks later I switched to every other night, and finally when no irritation shows up, it became a nightly routine. I use a pump and a half to cover the whole face and neck. It has a margarine-like consistency - it's creamy, but not too thick, smells great (it can be a concern to some who are sensitive to fragrance in skin care, but personally it doesn't affect me) and does not irritate my skin at all, and that's saying something because I have rosacea. Some people mentioned the cast it gives - and maybe it's because I have yellow-toned skin, but I don't notice it at all.


I use it for the dual purpose of controlling random pimples and anti-aging benefits. First of all, I need to mention on the upfront that retinol does not work overnight. I see the effects slowly... surely, but slowly. My skin was dull and darker in some areas - this certainly made the cells turnover a lot faster because I now need to exfoliate twice a week. It isn't until about 6 months to a year later that I realized just how good my skin looks. It's really subtle... my pores are slightly finer, my skin is baby smooth, makeup goes on easily, and my skin tone evened out. Pimples are a lot less (though I attributed that to my 2% salicylic wash twice a week - this acts as a chemical exfoliant for me too). All in all, my skin is HAPPY. Thriving, and happy. Oh, and I need to make a note that I spray my face with Avene Thermal Spring Water twice daily - once in a the morning and once in the evening before applying Avene Eluage. The water helps keep my skin calm.


However after I'm done with this bottle, I'm going to move up to Triacneal, which contains 0.1% retinaldehyde and 6% AHA. I highly recommend the Eluage, especially for sensitive skinned folks and/or retinol virgins. Just start off slow, and you'll be good.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2012 3:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I used this religiously for a few years and have finally given up on it. I just did not see any benefits whatsoever. Its heavily fragranced and the scent is cloying.
Works for others apparently but did nothing for me. I had been using it for antiaging benefits and fine lines.


on 4/18/2012 4:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this product for a while (around 6 months) and I must say it's very good. It has definitely smoothed my skin. It's the kind of cream that I will keep going back to even when I take a break from using it.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top