Matrix • Biolage - Color Care Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.0(160 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 4/8/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A good general usage shampoo for color treated hair. Does not strip color and smells OK. I use this every few days and alternate with Kerastase and Phyto products.

Biolage is a good value for the price.
I got a big bottle for $8 on sale at a local salon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 outtasteam2 on 3/2/2014 6:30:00 PM more reviews by outtasteam2

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is absolutely bar none the best shampoo for colored hair I have ever used. The initial cost of the bottle may seem a bit high--but considering a small bottle lasts me over 6 months and I have long, thick, layered hair---the cost is only about $3.00 a month!! I strongly believe a high end shampoo is a great investment to keep your color true and shiny. Not only does this shampoo make my hair soft and manageable, but the smell is OMG heavenly. This is my HG of shampoos. And while I am on the Matrix subject, their smoothing serum is top-notch!! Beats Biosilk hands down, bar none.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jhe9488 on 12/29/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by Jhe9488

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was a Pantene girl until about a year ago when I started coloring my hair. At the time, I thought that twenty something odd dollars for a bottle of shampoo was just ridiculous but I really wanted to preserve the color I was shelling out for and I'd been told over and over by my hair stylist that the parabens in Pantene will eventually ruin my hair. But now I'll never go back. This shampoo not only preserved my color, but kept my hair much healthier. I'm Asian and have a black to light brown ombré situation going on currently. With this shampoo, my hair has not gone brassy at all and it was about four months from my last visit to my colorist that I noticed that my color had faded a bit. And when I finally went to go get my hair cut (after not getting my hair cut for almost a year, yikes), about eight months into using this shampoo, my hairdresser, without prompting, told me that I must've been taking good care of it because it looked much healthier than it did before. Honestly, I have done absolutely zero besides using this shampoo and conditioner. The fact that my hair was healthier, even with all the coloring and the extra heat styling I've been doing this year is a testament that the big bucks are worth it for this shampoo. It also has a great scent and leaves my hair feeling very clean.

I get the salon size and each bottle has lasted me about six months of every other day washing of my now nearly elbow length hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chikitapchocha on 12/20/2013 9:48:00 AM more reviews by Chikitapchocha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The smell of this shampoo is great! & It leaves my hair incredibly clean!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Disintigratedwoman on 12/10/2013 7:44:00 PM more reviews by Disintigratedwoman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I recently bough this at Trade Secrets because there was a pretty good deal for the shampoo and conditioner. I have used these products before. The shampoo smells so fresh and cleans so well - my hair actually feels so clean afterwards. The conditioner smells similar to the shampoo but slightly less strong, and it leaves my hair extremely soft after rinsing it out. I get the impression that this shampoo doesn't leave residue on my hair, which I love. The result is clean-feeling hair that is soft and pretty shiny. If you are looking for a shampoo and conditioner on the same level of moisturization as Morrocanoil though, this is not it. I have lightly highlighted hair so it's difficult to test if this shampoo actually maintains that colour but I will continue using this simply to keep my hair healthy and because you can find it for a good deal sometimes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kbreland on 11/22/2013 12:31:00 AM more reviews by Kbreland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've tried them all and always come back to this one. It really does help color stay longer (even red) and does not bother my sensitive scalp. It does not dry out my hair. That being said, I do have an oily scalp, so I'm not sure how it would work for people who are already dry. I like the matching conditioner, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gypsyqueen1988 on 9/19/2013 11:51:00 PM more reviews by gypsyqueen1988

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the Biolage ColorCareTherapie Shampoo & Conditioner 1 liter bottles from Walmart for 32$ together. Great Value, both bottles aren't even close to being empty and I bought them back in April. I have long, dark brown color treated hair with damaged ends and it does a great job making the color last, keeps my hair shiny. The only problem I have is that is does dry out my hair a bit so I deep condition once a week to keep my hair from drying out. I will continue to buy both of these together because they do such a great job and save me lots of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Catka06 on 9/10/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by Catka06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've recently started splurging for this shampoo again after my last dye job lasted a total of, no exaggeration, 3 shampoos. I have recently been dying my own hair to save a few pennies and at the same time getting the cheaper shampoos/conditioners to do the same. Through my awesome research I have discovered it's either one or the other, because the cheaper shampoos are going to strip red, at least, faster than anything I've ever seen before. Heck, I've had times in middle/high school when I colored my hair with Sharpies that lasted longer than that.
So, after all of this, I went into Ulta to get my latest hair coloring box of experimentation and asked a red haired girl working there what she used for shampoo. This is when she pointed out all of the ingredients in even the "Color Protecting" drugstore brands that strip color. She told me that it's better to splurge on a good quality shampoo that's going to help the color last and save when it came to the conditioner. I've had success with Herbal Essences conditioners when it came to keeping my hair soft and moisturized so I kept with that. As for the shampoo I decided to pick up the Biolage Color Care Shampoo because honestly, I've used Biolage before and had a lot of success with even the non-color protecting shampoos to make dye jobs last longer. And the smell - oh heavens above the smell - is divine. It is by far my favorite shampoo/conditioner smell.
After my last dye job I have been using that routine every third night with Dove's Dry Shampoo to keep my hair nice and fluffy. I'm now on week 3 from dying my hair and still have the same color and shine that I got from day 1. I've gotten comments about how great my hair looks and smells (borderline creepy, but still).
Now the cons. The bottle's top is a giant pain to open and I've broken about 2 nails trying to get it open in the middle of my shower. Also, the shampoo *does* still have the dreaded Sulfate ingredients which are the main culprits to killing color but the only shampoos I've found that don't have it are either way too expensive for me at this time or I've tried and had to stop after they made my hair break off and destroyed my hair's natural moisture. Of course, it's still not as cheap as my beloved Herbal Essences but it does seem to be reasonable for a salon brand. I found the giant bottle at Ulta for around 22$ whereas I've seen the smaller bottles at other stores for closer to 30$, so it's a matter of shopping around a bit to find the best deal. Otherwise, love this shampoo and what it's done for my hair and am very glad I decided to go ahead and spend a little to save a little in hair dye due to having to do it less frequently.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 8/25/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this when I started having my hair lowlighted at the salon, to protect the lovely and pricey work my colorist was achieving. Before that, I used several of the AG shampoos, which I really love and I've used for years and some other salon shampoo (can see the silvery grey bottle but I'm blanking on the name) and I was happy with all of them but figured "If Biolage Colour Care is what they use in the salon, I'll use it too!" I am very happy with the results from this product. I like that fact that it's a clear shampoo, rather than milky-white. I don't know why but it always seems that clear shampoos are less likely to leave residue (probably all in my head, I'm sure!). This shampoo cleans nicely, leaves my scalp and hair feeling clean but not overly stripped, and it rinses away fairly easily. The only think I don't like is the flip top cap. It is really hard to get open and it seems like only a matter of time til the lid breaks away at the hinge. I'd prefer a pump or the type of squeeze top lid where you push one side down and the other side opens to reveal a dispensing opening. But I'll repurchase this. Price wasn't too bad for a professional product and I would use this even if I didn't colour my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emilym2288 on 8/21/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by emilym2288

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this shampoo and the conditioner. I have used them together for the past few years and when I try something new I always end up going back to Biolage. My hair is heavily highlighted with bleach every couple months and is to my mid back and I still get compliments constantly. People want to know what I use to make my hair so soft and shiny and this is it! Huge fan!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Matrix products

More Shampoo products