NARS The Multiple in Malibu

4.2

110 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/25/2015 3:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is my favorite blush. The color is a rosy hue with a little brown mixed in. It mimics a natural flush on my light, but not fair, skin with neutral undertones. The slight shimmer gives it luminosity but it isn't glittery at all. It dries to a powdery finish and it lasts all day. I apply it with a brush (Ecotools tapered blush brush) which distributes the perfect amount of product. I then blend it with the side of the brush and it looks very natural and pretty. It gives my face a youthful glow. I have three Multiple sticks: Orgasm, Maui and Malibu. Orgasm is a peachy pink shade that is a universal shade. Maui is a rosy hue without shimmer a bit lighter and brighter than Malibu. All three work well for me, however, I use Malibu and Maui the most frequently. The formula is super creamy and although my skin is normal, this would work well for those with any skin type because the color lasts all day with no fading. I've tried applying it with my fingers but I use much more product than with a brush and it's not as easy to blend. I simply swipe it on after foundation and then run a brush with loose powder over it. There! Done! I really love this product and plan on buying more colors. I would like to have an entire wardrobe of Multiples. One for every scenario. I highly recommend this product.



on 4/2/2015 8:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this quite a long time ago, just because one of the sales people at Harvey Nichols whom I trust a lot raved about it. He also picked this particular shade for me among others according to my skin tone and I totally agreed with him. I was also very curious about this product due to the hype all around it. Moreover, I wanted a multi purpose make up product, so that my heavy bag wouldn't get even heavier. But I guess I carried it in my bag for more than a year and barely used it.

The reason is:
1- Every time I tried to use it as a blush, I looked like something has exploded on my face. I probably couldn't manage to apply it the right way because it is difficult to blend.
2- I couldn't use it as an eye shadow, because the color made my face look really dark.
3- Moreover as an eyeshadow it smudges and creases like crazy.
4- As a lipstick, it is annoyingly drying my lips which kinda looks weird.

But recently, I watched Lisa Eldridge, my makeup idol, applying this on a model in one of her videos. After that I tried it as a blush once more and surprisingly, I managed to apply it in the right way but this time the problem is, it is not really long lasting. Lasts just a few hours tops, not suitable for a daylong make up routine. Considering all these facts, it is too expensive just to use as a blush (or even as a multi purpose product) which doesn't last long. I don't think I will buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2014 4:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's a nice color and NARS packaging is really slick, but this isn't a good value - even if you're ready to shell out a significant sum of cash in exchange for quality. Perhaps it has to do with my skin type - I have very oily skin with large pores, but I can't get this to stay on. I apply it during my morning routine and before I'm in the office it's already gone. It may have left before I got out the door for all I know. Today I've taken it back to Sephora in exchange for a NARS powder blush. We'll see how that goes.


on 1/9/2014 10:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

For the longest time i've wanted to try these Multiples from NARS because of all the hype surrounding it. Well, what can I say, these are super pricey at $46 Cdn (before taxes) but are amazing. I was scared to buy this colour because it looked super dark in the tube especially for my NC15-20, GA #3 Luminous Silk/Maestro, skintone, but boy was I wrong! When I first apply this and blend it looks muddy but when it's 'melted' with my skin (1/2 hour later), it morphs into this gorgeous shade of rose with a hint of brown (on me). I don't detect any of the coppery tones that I see in the tube. It gives me a very natural yet sexy look. It is great for daytime and night (if added more colour). This can be worn with all the e/s I think but I love to pair this as a blush with green, gold, pink, and/or brown e/s. Looks amazing. Lasts a very long time. It swipes on effortlessly on my cheeks and blends super easily with my fingers. On no fuss days, I use this as my lid colour and looks good too. I would say that this is probably the best one of the lot in The Multiples by NARS. Am very pleased with this colour. Fair skinned ladies don't be discouraged by this colour. I usually wear my foundation, apply this, and then apply my setting powder. It not only tones it down but makes it look more natural, and makes it last longer.
EDIT: I've dropped it down to 3 lippies because I cannot use this as an e/s nor a lip stain. As an e/s this smudges and creases like crazy. As a lip stain either it's too drying. Still good though as a blush but too expensive for it to be just that. No repurchase.


on 12/30/2013 12:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like Nars multiples in general. This one is quite nice as well. The shade is a rosy red-brown color. The shade is a bit dark so using it takes some practice. Very nice color on fair skin when used right. Just in from cold look. Nice with highlighter on top. Lasts few hours, maybe 4, longer with powder blush on top. I can over do color when i use powder over it so I'm still learning. For night out best used alone over foundation with Copacabana highlighter multiple on top. Very pretty flush look with mascara. Like this for winter. Excited to see how it looks on my tanned summer skin later. I find it hard to get cream blushes just right still. I always want to add more then realize it's too much. Pretty shade just need to watch out how much use. I apply with my hands. Will start trying brushes for cream blush. May help me with placement and amount applied.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2012 5:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I purchased 3 of these recently. I have had few of these earlier but I guess I forgot why I ever got rid of them. Now I remember. Malibu is a gorgeous rosy tan color with shimmer. I would really love it but the texture is weird. It really does not stick to the skin like NYX cream blush or MAC cremeblend blush. So it really lasts only a couple of hours on my dry skin and then it is gone. It is easy to blend and in my opinion it is not dry. It also is not moisturizing at all so using this on my lips really does not work. I enjoy using a regular lipsticks as blush more than these multiples really.


on 11/23/2011 9:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OMG!
this is heaven!!

It blends soooo soo soo easily, on me it shows as a pretty rosy mauve colour.
HEAVEN!!

i have only worn it as a blush, but man am i happy!
i never thought blending cream products could be this easy :)
yay for multiples


on 6/30/2011 1:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this multiple in a mini set (very mini and came with Orgasm and Luxor too). It's awfully dark and I've tried it on in a variety of ways - nothing is making me head over heals for it. I've tried it as an eye shadow and it's too sheer and doens't pack much staying power even with a primer, and it's too dark on my complexion for a lip color. Out of the three, I like the Orgasm multiple the best, but I'm not sure if I'd every buy it again.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a great product for on the go, if you are going on a vacation and want to pack light in your make up bag or your purse, this is great. It is compact, rich, and the color is great too, i use this for as my shadow base or alone, as a cream blush (just very light) and also as a lip gloss, its just the right amount of color without looking like a clown, we are usually at the beach during the summer and the color/ tone is just right.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2009 7:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really like the malibu multiple. I only use it for eyes and cheeks though. I never use it as a gloss. Its a make up kit all by itself. Its a beautiful natural rosy color on my skin and it adds a nice glow to my face when my is showing signs of tiredness.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Blush Products


Orgasm Blush
Orgasm Blush
5169 Reviews
Contour Kit
Contour Kit
99 Reviews
Melba
Melba
299 Reviews


Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Jungle Red

61 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top