La Roche Posay • Anthelios XL spf50 sunblock stick • Sunscreen

rated 4.7(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ilyank on 10/3/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by ilyank

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been trying to stick to mineral sunscreens of late and have just turned into a revolting greasy mess after a matter of hours. Invisible zinc left me ghost white and made it impossible to get a nice finish using mineral foundation over the top. I ended up looking like I had a skin disorder or a weird Michael Jackson pigment problem. It was also causing me to dry out to the point of my face looking as if it had dandruff. But thanks to La Roche Posay this daily ordeal is a distant memory. So far La Roche Posay stick is very moisturizing which is perfect for my dry/combination skin, it's managed to not turn me into an oil slick by the time the afternoon rolls around either. Very easy to apply, the absorption is almost too fast on my skin and it gives me very little time to spread it with my fingertips. The feel is nice and light, surprising given the 50+ SPF and overall I have to say I am very impressed with everything but the price. $22 for an itty bitty stick is a little bit excessive, but I'm hoping the stick delivery system will mean it is used up more slowly than a liquid, we will have to wait and see!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NIcolehatesaging on 9/15/2013 10:07:00 AM more reviews by NIcolehatesaging

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like outdoor exercise a lot and therefore need a real high SPF sunscreen, I had the fluid extreme for face but everytime it sting my eyes everytime I applied around the eye area.

Then the SA introduced me to this sunblock stick and it is really good. My lids are normally oily and this stick does not cause excessive greasiness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinybucket on 7/16/2013 7:00:00 AM more reviews by tinybucket

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stick is meant to go on highly exposed areas or those that should not be exposed to the sun. I put it on my nose, which despite using high spf tends to go red and freckles as well as on the area underneath my eyes and forehead. It's not too white on me and leaves me slightly dewy looking, which I quite like. It cost £ 10, I dont know how long it'll last with daily wear and multiple use but if it keeps my skin from getting damaged and sun spotty that's fine. As far as I can tell it does not make me break out.

The packaging could be improved as the cap does not sit on tightly and has come off in my bag before.

All in all I highly recommend this and will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kallisandra on 6/26/2013 11:44:00 AM more reviews by Kallisandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought one over in france this year and then my niece (2 yrs old) doesn't like any sunscreen but this one, She doesn't mind the stick on her face she finds it soft and reaches out for more application. She hates the lotions and they make her eyes water. So I ended up buying 4 more from a UK website.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 myannabellee on 8/8/2012 1:53:00 PM more reviews by myannabellee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

As chemical sunblockers go, this stuff is awesome.
.
It comes in a handy little stick form that one can easily keep in a pocket or handbag.
.
The ingredients, thought some chemical, are pretty moisturizing, and I can happily use it on my face with no breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Yishabeila on 5/12/2012 10:59:00 AM more reviews by Yishabeila

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I keep this stick in my hand bag, and use it exclusively on my hands, to prevent age spots. It's a bit funny coz after years of using the product most days of the week, my hands are a lighter shade than my arms. Definitely less age spots there than on my arms too.

I recommend this stick if you want to prevent your hands from revealing your age (in the long term).

If you plan on keeping this in your purse, keep the plastic on the packaging (use some exacto knife to open it the first time); otherwise, the writing on the packaging will soon disappear with "wear-and-tear".

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annemosca on 8/3/2007 11:29:00 PM more reviews by annemosca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I actually just found out it is illegal to buy this in the US!! How funny!! My drugstore in NYC stocks it secretly, and I just got the stick and am going back for the regular face sunscreen tomorrow. Stick is great...I use it as a morning eye cream/sun protection and it isn't irritating or problematic at all (and I wear contacts every day). I really hope this lives up to the hype....it seems all the dermatologists say it is the best of the best. I'm sooooo worried about skin cancer!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillysilly on 1/19/2007 5:07:00 PM more reviews by sillysilly

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

La Roche Posay Anthelios XL 50+ Stick:
UVA protection class "ultra" LSF/PPD ≤ 2,5 which means the PPD is at least 20.



Ingredients: RICINUS COMMUNIS, ISOPROPYL PALMITATE, POLYETHYLENE, OCTOCRYLENE, ISOHEXADECANE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, OZOKERITE, BUTYL METHOXYDIBENZOYLMETHANE, DROMETRIZOLE TRISILOXANE, THEOBROMA CACAO, BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII, DIMETHICONE, GLYCINE SOJA, TOCOPHEROL



This stick isn't really intended for the lips in particular, and I personally wouldn't use it on my lips on a day-to-day basis because it is very white. It is also very shiny. The only reason I purchased this was because my eyes have been angry at my contact lenses recently and become very sensitive. This doesn't run into my eyes at all. But it does give me this white circles around the eyes look and it starts to collect in my eyelid crease the way a creamy eyeshadow might, leaving an attractive white line across my eyelid for confused observers to stare at. At least the PPD is higher than that of most stick-form sunscreens. It is also basically grease, as you can see from the castor oil, cocoa butter and shea butter. It's a white grease stick. I can't say I hate it, but it's not fantastic either.



If you're looking for a lip sunscreen that isn't white, try the LRP Antherpos 50 Lip Creme. The PPD is only 8, but at least it's a nude orange instead of white like this stick or the Anthelios 50+ Lip Stick. You'll probably be reapplying often anyway.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautifulscorpio83 on 7/24/2006 10:26:00 PM more reviews by beautifulscorpio83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

this sunscreen is actually meant for your lips!!! i see myself using this alot in the summer especially outdoors the only thing i don't like is that if you apply too much it leaves a whitsh cast on your lips but a little blending helps that

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More La Roche Posay products

More Sunscreen products