Essie • Good to Go! The Fastest Drying Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.2(213 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 KatiNicole on 8/20/2014 1:53:00 AM more reviews by KatiNicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not much for doing my nails (in fact, there's a guaranteed smudge every time) and this fixes it and dries it quickly so I can't mess it up again! Seriously idiot-proof. Wish I could post pictures.. I don't know if it's the best, but it's by far the closest I've found!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lgibs86 on 8/5/2014 11:21:00 AM more reviews by lgibs86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pros: I put this on right after I am done my second coat, and it dries the polish almost immediately. Very quick to dry. Very shiny, and it feels light.

However, as a top coat this is a bad product. My nails chip within hours of applying it. Some even peel right off without me doing anything with it. I will NOT buy this product again, because while it helps dry my nails, it doesn't protect from chipping.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 idkhelpme on 7/17/2014 11:18:00 PM more reviews by idkhelpme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
Dries very quickly, probably one of the fastest you can get at the drugstore
Good brush

Cons:
Gets goopy halfway
Not really chip-proof
Price (subjective, I think that $8-9 is pretty steep)

Great when its new but gets goopy and unworkable with very quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JRBabe100 on 7/6/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by JRBabe100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really baffled this doesn't have a terrible rating. Bought this as part of a buy-one-get-one-free at Ulta based on its positive reviews here. I used it as my top coat when I painted my nails last night. Within 5 hours my polish was insanely chipped. And I mean almost halfway gone and on all of my fingers.

I know it was this top coat. A) I used 3 different polishes because I was going for an ombre effect (one color on my thumb, one on my index finger, etc etc.) and B) I didn't change anything else. I've never had good luck keeping polish on long but I've never had it chip this fast either. Going back to the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri that I was using before. I've also had good luck with Seche Vite and Poshe.

You've been warned!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Koolkitty on 6/18/2014 5:56:00 PM more reviews by Koolkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Bottom line: this gave me the shiniest top coat that dried the quickest, the hardest over the four top coats below. If I don't use a good base coat I will get sheeting. There is some slight shrinkage if I'm not careful to wrap the tips well. I've tried the below, all side by side as comparsion to Essie.

Essie Good to Go. This had by far the highest glass like glossy sheen that lasted. And it dried the hardest, the quickest. Unlike the other brands I tried, I couldn't even dig my nail to make a dent or scratch if I wanted to. I went camping with a two day old mani and I didn't get any chips until the second day of camping and it was pretty minimal. I've noticed, oddly, that Essie GTG does not work well with Essie colors for me, it chips pretty quickly. With other brands (even cheap ones) I've had 4-5 days chip free, easily.

Rock Top Coat just doesn't cure for me, so that was returned.

SH Mega Shine went on nicely and dried completely. I was severely disappointed with the shine! And it left some minor brush strokes.

SH 4-in-1 Moisture Treatment--just not a good top coat despite that one of the "4" uses is a top coat. It was not quick drying and chipped almost immediately.

Revlon Gel Envy. Provides long wear, but the color range is paltry and I found the top coat dulls after a few days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xxkonixx on 5/25/2014 9:20:00 PM more reviews by Xxkonixx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Best top coat ever!!!! Manicure does dry almost instantly and lasts twice as long…i will buy as long as its being madee…

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haleyhay on 5/25/2014 2:04:00 PM more reviews by haleyhay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite top coat. I've tried quite a few including Seche Vite and Sally Hansen Insta-dry, and this is by far my favorite. It dries quickly and smoothly with an awesome shine. It also does not shrink which I have experienced with Seche Vite. The only problem I have had is that once you get about half way through the bottle it does thicken considerably, but it's nothing some thinner can't handle. I will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizzobee on 5/13/2014 1:49:00 AM more reviews by lizzobee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Best top coat ever!!!!! I can't believe I never discovered this stuff before. It dries ultra fast and leaves your nails looking super shiny and gorgeous. I always get compliments when I use it - people always ask if I had my nails done professionally or if they're gels. Nope, Essie Good-to-go is my little secret! It is definitely worth it to pay and extra few bucks for this stuff. I've tried many other top coats and they either take forever to dry, require multiple coats, or don't give a great shine. Nothing beats this one. I absolutely love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 justinetindall on 4/29/2014 10:21:00 AM more reviews by justinetindall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

BEST TOP COT ON THE PLANET. Yes, I said it.

For $10 at shoppers drugmart, it works better than any other top coat i have tried... OPI, Seche Vite, Sally Hansel, China Glaze, other specialty brands...

It dries your nailpolish FAST, stays hard, and is always shiny with no chipping. I especially love this because I can use lower quality nailpolishes that don't last as long, yet this top coat makes them look like a million bucks.

I spent $10 on this top coat, which is a small investment for the value it brings.

Conclusion: BOMB. I'm stocking up.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CanadaGirlToo on 4/28/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by CanadaGirlToo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a fantastic topcoat. It really does dry the polish very quickly, but I still find the polish to be very durable. It is super easy to find, and the price is pretty reasonable. I have lucked in a couple of times and stumbled across a bottle at Winners. Yay!

The only thing I don't like is the brush. I love Essie, great colours and durable polishes. But, the brush!! Seriously, if they changed to a wider brush, I think I would give up on all another polishes and topcoats.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Top/Base Coats products