Lavera Lavera - Basis Sensitive - Lip Balm

3.7

19 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Olea Europaea (Olive Oil)*, Cera Alba (Cera Flava/Beeswax)*, Candelilla Cera (Candelilla Wax), Squalane, Buxus Chinensis (Jojoba Oil)*, Lecithin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Prunus Dulcis (Almond OIl)*, Mangifera Indica (Mango Seed Butter), Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols, Oryzanol, Anatto/Cl75120, Calendula Officinalis (Calendula Oil)*, Daucus Carota (Carrot Oil), Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Ascorbic Acid, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Alcohol. *organic


on 5/14/2014 4:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Lovely product, that moisturizes my lips for hours. Plus it's a natural product, so would be safe to use on children too. Great value for price



on 3/8/2014 2:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Other

The packaging I have looks different from the photo, maybe it's a newer version. This little product is great. Only need to apply it twice a day and moisturises enough for the rest of the day. It's all natural too! I love it.


on 9/14/2013 1:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Decent enough, quite waxy, but nothing special- wont buy again but nothing actively bad about it


on 4/29/2013 6:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

An OK lip balm, nothing spectacular but it also didn't dry out my lips even more as some other lip products do (especially Labello). I like that it has no petroleum, but recently I've been told that natural waxes have the same occluding effect.


on 10/22/2011 4:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like many Lavera products, but I didn't like this one.It is a very cheap lip balm, but it was hard to apply and it didn't do much for my cracked lips. The other, coloured lip balms from lavera are way better than this one.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this - all natural, nice packaging etc. But it makes the corners of my mouth crack and gives me a red rash around my mouth...
I've had this reaction to other all natural lip balm before (Alverde calendula lipbalm, Watsons honey lip balm) so I think its an ingredient in the products that I am allergic to... I read elsewhere that beeswax causes these symptoms in another reviewer so I think it might be this.
Anyway, I liked the tube, the texture was rich but not too hard, there is no smell, no colour, its good at moisturising - I put it on before bed and when I woke up in the middle of the night my lips were still well moisturised. But I found that it got used quite quick - I've been using it for nearly a week and I've used about half a centimeter already.


on 8/29/2010 7:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Average lip balm; very, very waxy on the lips. I wouldn't say it's super moisturising, which surprises me given the ingredients! I do like however, that it has no petroleum and can be purchased at a reasonable price -2.45


on 11/28/2009 11:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Ok, for the positives. Love the fact that the Basis Sensitive range is, according to Lavera, free from "synthetic preservatives, synthetic colourants and fragrances, irritating emulsifiers and surfactants, flower extracts, herb extracts and irritating essential oils."

The balm contains lots of natural ingredients (and the oils and beeswax are also certified organic):
Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Squalane, Soybean Glycerides, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Lysolecithin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols, Oryzanol, Anatto ( CI 75120), Calendula Officinalis Flower Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Ascorbic Acid, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Alcohol

Also love the fact that the balm is cheap (under 2.50) and comes in a twist-up tube (I never understand the appeal of balms in pots - messy [ewww, don't want slimy stuff on my finger tip - or, worse, under my nail!] and surely unhygienic.

But, in spite of all the good news, Basis wouldn't be my first choice to repurchase. I wasn't too keen on the texture - a thick yellow butter, that melted very easily and felt heavy and gloopy on my lips, instead of sinking in and hydrating them. Even though it didn't irritate my skin and probably protected them (well, the barrier it made was certainly thick enough!), my personal preference is for something lighter.


on 10/14/2009 11:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product (except for the smell). I use it every night before bed and I have not gotten one single cracked lip. Because of the good result, I can overlook the smell (dried carrot- if u can imagine that). This is not available in Canada so I have to get it through ebay- which is a lot cheaper than some stores. Would definitely repurchase until I fine another product with the same results less the smell.


on 10/14/2009 11:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Like many others, I bought many lipbalms.
I came across this brand in Singapore searching for an organic bodycare for my mother. She was under therapy that made her lips dry. So I just bought this for her. Very glad I did as it's super good. It's the texture that we both love.
I'm definately going to be a loyal fan. Wish Lavera is selling in Malaysia....


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1466 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3590 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
170 Reviews
Back to Top