Caudalie Cleansing Water

4.0

101 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Poloxamer 184, Glycerin, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Water, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Cocamidopropyl Butanamide Mea Chloride, Bisabolol, Parfum (Fragrance), Sodium Chloride.


on 7/31/2015 12:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a review for Caudalie micellar water / make-up remover cleansing water. It seemed nice enough, a little sticky perhaps, until I developed an allergic reaction to it after just a few uses. I wanted to like Caudalie so much, but sadly I've had allergic reactions to several of their products.



on 7/14/2015 2:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is not for sensitive eyes but for the face it's ok for light makeup not longwear foundation its not strong enough. Its not strong enough to remove estee lauder double wear or the matching concealer, revlon colorstay or lancome teint idol...... I don't usually wear eye makeup but tried it to remove my under eye concealer and foundation around my eyes it stung and turn the skin around my eye all red. Not worth the price not effective.


on 6/19/2015 7:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I wanted to try using Micellular water for cleansing for quite some time. Decided to try Caudalie based on recommendations from a Sephora SA. Just didn't work for me at all.

As a sole facial cleanser it didn't work very well when I wore make up. Took several cotton pads and swipes until a pad was clean. Then I found if I use my Clarisonic and Purity, there was still makeup residue on my Clarisonic brush. So I only started using cleansing water on my no-makeup days.

Does not do a great job of removing eye makeup either. My eyeliner and mascara were still left behind. I don't use waterproof formulas. So back to washing with Purity.

The scent lingers on the skin for awhile. It's not offensive but noticeable

As for the pro side, it did not irritate my acne prone skin. I ended up using this as a quick clean up after going to the gym, knowing that I'd be washing my face later at home. But its not as convenient like a facial wipe.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- cleans my makeup including eyeshadow and mascara
- slight scent like watered juice
- could skip cleanser in a pinch (although I always use a cleanser afterwards)

Cons:
- high price
- slight scent like watered juice (love/hate)
- does not remove waterproof mascara (still need oily base)
- still need to use face cleanser to remove tacky feeling (and just part of my routine)
- when used as a toner, leaves skin slightly tacky

Used this for a month and skin did not dry or react. At this price, can find comparable so would not repurchase but love their body oil.

(1=bad, 2=disappointing, 3=good but may find comparable others, 4=good but not holy grail, 5=one of the best or possibly irreplaceable)


on 11/3/2014 1:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I want to love Caudalie so badly. Skincare and vino are two of my favorite things. This product is meant to be applied to the face to remove traces of oil and makeup. It is not to be rinsed off. The Cleansing Water does not behave like a toner in that you don't get that icy-cold-clean skin feeling from applying it. It does not act as a makeup remover either. It can usually remove my concealer and bronzer but does not remove my eye makeup at all. Also, I really do not care for the scent. It is reminiscent of a child's juice box that has been left out in the sun. In summary, this product has no function in my beauty routine. I was excited to try it but after a year's use, I can definitely confirm that I am not a fan.


on 2/11/2014 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent product, it definitely does take off my make-up. I don't wear waterproof mascara, but I do wear the Stila stay all day eyeliner which is waterproof, and even that comes off quite easily, I just run it across the base of my eyelashes a couple times and it comes right off. As for mascara I let it sit on my closed eyes for a little bit then wipe off, it gets that off quite easily too. I don't find that I have to use multiple pads to get my makeup off, or too much of the product. With that being said I will probably stick to Bioderma and not buy this again, as Bioderma is cheaper and does the exact same thing. This is a bit pricey $28 CAD for a makeup remover. I have not found that it's done anything to improve my skin.


on 11/13/2013 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I know this a cult product and when I got it in a 500 point perk set I was really excited. I don't really understand this product. It's a cleansing water right? And you're not supposed to wash it off but it doesn't do a good job taking off makeup. It leaves a residue on my skin that is necessary to wash off. It just doesn't seem like a logical step to me when my clinique take the day off, or makeup wipes can do the job so much better.


on 10/6/2013 10:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using Bioderma cleansing water for a while now, close to a year. Saw this as a sample size going at SG$18 at sephora so I bought this together with the moisturising toner which was going at the same price. I felt that I didn't manage to get my face makeup off completely, even when I used 4 cotton pads. Not really helpful that way, I'm definitely sticking to Bioderma still!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Simply put, it doesn't remove all of my makeup and my face feels sticky after I use it. I love Caudalie but this product is a big no for me.


on 7/15/2013 4:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for something that'd remove the extra makeup on my face after my cleanser and this was pretty good and removing the remaining traces (and felt good and fresh on my skin). It also seems to moisturize my face as well, surprisingly! This is great because I have dry sensitive skin and my skin tends to flake after a facewash. Bonus? This has no alcohol! Now I have two no-alcohol toners I can alternate and use :)

I wouldn't use this as my sole makeup remover though. It's a little weak, so you definitely need to wash your face properly with a cleanser.
The scent is very interesting. It smells very green, kind of like the scent of fresh cut grass, but more like the scent of citrus-y leaves.


Back to Top