Caudalie Cleansing Water

4.0

98 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Poloxamer 184, Glycerin, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Water, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Cocamidopropyl Butanamide Mea Chloride, Bisabolol, Parfum (Fragrance), Sodium Chloride.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- cleans my makeup including eyeshadow and mascara
- slight scent like watered juice
- could skip cleanser in a pinch (although I always use a cleanser afterwards)

Cons:
- high price
- slight scent like watered juice (love/hate)
- does not remove waterproof mascara (still need oily base)
- still need to use face cleanser to remove tacky feeling (and just part of my routine)
- when used as a toner, leaves skin slightly tacky

Used this for a month and skin did not dry or react. At this price, can find comparable so would not repurchase but love their body oil.

(1=bad, 2=disappointing, 3=good but may find comparable others, 4=good but not holy grail, 5=one of the best or possibly irreplaceable)



on 11/3/2014 1:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I want to love Caudalie so badly. Skincare and vino are two of my favorite things. This product is meant to be applied to the face to remove traces of oil and makeup. It is not to be rinsed off. The Cleansing Water does not behave like a toner in that you don't get that icy-cold-clean skin feeling from applying it. It does not act as a makeup remover either. It can usually remove my concealer and bronzer but does not remove my eye makeup at all. Also, I really do not care for the scent. It is reminiscent of a child's juice box that has been left out in the sun. In summary, this product has no function in my beauty routine. I was excited to try it but after a year's use, I can definitely confirm that I am not a fan.


on 2/11/2014 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent product, it definitely does take off my make-up. I don't wear waterproof mascara, but I do wear the Stila stay all day eyeliner which is waterproof, and even that comes off quite easily, I just run it across the base of my eyelashes a couple times and it comes right off. As for mascara I let it sit on my closed eyes for a little bit then wipe off, it gets that off quite easily too. I don't find that I have to use multiple pads to get my makeup off, or too much of the product. With that being said I will probably stick to Bioderma and not buy this again, as Bioderma is cheaper and does the exact same thing. This is a bit pricey $28 CAD for a makeup remover. I have not found that it's done anything to improve my skin.


on 11/13/2013 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I know this a cult product and when I got it in a 500 point perk set I was really excited. I don't really understand this product. It's a cleansing water right? And you're not supposed to wash it off but it doesn't do a good job taking off makeup. It leaves a residue on my skin that is necessary to wash off. It just doesn't seem like a logical step to me when my clinique take the day off, or makeup wipes can do the job so much better.


on 10/6/2013 10:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using Bioderma cleansing water for a while now, close to a year. Saw this as a sample size going at SG$18 at sephora so I bought this together with the moisturising toner which was going at the same price. I felt that I didn't manage to get my face makeup off completely, even when I used 4 cotton pads. Not really helpful that way, I'm definitely sticking to Bioderma still!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Simply put, it doesn't remove all of my makeup and my face feels sticky after I use it. I love Caudalie but this product is a big no for me.


on 7/15/2013 4:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for something that'd remove the extra makeup on my face after my cleanser and this was pretty good and removing the remaining traces (and felt good and fresh on my skin). It also seems to moisturize my face as well, surprisingly! This is great because I have dry sensitive skin and my skin tends to flake after a facewash. Bonus? This has no alcohol! Now I have two no-alcohol toners I can alternate and use :)

I wouldn't use this as my sole makeup remover though. It's a little weak, so you definitely need to wash your face properly with a cleanser.
The scent is very interesting. It smells very green, kind of like the scent of fresh cut grass, but more like the scent of citrus-y leaves.


on 6/19/2013 5:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So far, this is my favourite cleansing water. It's moisturising without making my skin greasy and does the best job at taking off eye-make-up. The fragrance is really fresh and makes the product feel a little luxurious. If you're looking for a more moisturising cleansing water, give this one a try!


on 6/11/2013 5:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Stocked up on Caudalie products during a beauty emporium 50% flash sale, fab website by the way for anyone in the UK. I hadn't tried this before and after being a long term Bioderma fan, I fancied trying it. Caudalie's cleansing water smells lovely, definitely nicer than Bioderma. I also much prefer the Caudalie packaging, I find the Bioderma flip lid a bit annoying. Caudalie's cleansing capabilities are not as good in my opinion, despite repeated wiping till the cotton pad looked clean, I still had traces of eye make up and face make up the next morning which hasn't happened with Bioderma before. This product did not irritate my eyes or my skin so thumbs up for its gentleness. I will use up what is left in the bottle but given i didn't find it very effective even as an occasional cleanser for very late nights or feeling lazy, I won't repurchase. I use these products so infrequently value for money is ok, otherwise I feel you would need to use an awful lot of product to ensure complete make up removal, so it would be costly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2013 6:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Amazing cleansing water!
i hate make up remover lotions as they really make me feel oilier and dirtier and use soap products or this cleansing water.
To be honest i haven't used any other cleansing water to compare but for me it works just great, Cleans extremely well without leaving any trace of oiliness of course but also without the stretchy felling after soap cleansers.
Just a really comfortable clean skin.


Back to Top