Carol's Daughter • Tui Hair Smoothie • Hair Treatments

rated 3.0(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 tinycat on 11/11/2012 3:47:00 AM more reviews by tinycat

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Didn't moisturize my hair and it has the strongest herbal smell, I was going to put the products up for swap but I think I'll just throw them away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eeeee on 7/19/2012 7:19:00 PM more reviews by eeeee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a natural type deep moisturizing conditioner for my extremely dry hair and must unfortunately keep searching. This product smells great but doesn't provide nearly enough moisture as I thought it would. The effect was of using just any regular conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mnm1120 on 7/14/2012 11:27:00 PM more reviews by mnm1120

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My absolute hair HG! I first got this product as a sample at Sephora, and when I used it I could not believe the difference it made on my hair! I have dry, thick, damaged swimmer's hair, and the moment I used the product it smoothed my hair and left it smelling great. What I really loved after I got out of the shower was that it made my hair dry in about half the time- great for my thick hair. I've neve had a hair product truly blow me away before, but this one did!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KateFesch on 2/14/2010 11:46:00 PM more reviews by KateFesch

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. Left my curls very soft, plump and shiny. The fruity scent is a crowd pleaser as I was getting tons of compliments while I was using it. Will repurchase. 3C.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 1/9/2010 8:43:00 PM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product. Like other reviewers, I would prefer a bottle rather than a tub, but that is a minor inconvenience. I got this as part of a set with Tui Herbal shampoo and hair milk and I really like it. My hair was severely damaged by an illness and medication a couple of years ago (I lost about half of my thick, bra-strap length hair), and I've been as gently as possible with my new growth. I usually do CO washing, but I do use shampoo every third or fourth wash and I've started using this conditioner after every shampoo. I put it in my hair, pin it up, then finish my shower. When I take it down for the final rinse I find that my hair has "absorbed" most of it and it feels great. My "new" hair grew in curly (and with much more grey!) and I find that this product keeps the curls moisturized but doesn't weigh them down or make them limp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ProductWhore26 on 12/21/2008 12:52:00 AM more reviews by ProductWhore26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

rich, moisturizing, thick and creamy
My hair is sooo dry. I've tried so many different conditioners out there that promise to moisturize. This has been my favorite. It is not runny and really clings on to your hair. It helps your hair sucks up all the moisture and leaves it smelling great. There is no residue left to weigh your hair down. Its left shinny and soft! The one down fall for me is I don't like the packaging. I prefer a bottle with a flip top when I'm in the shower rather then unscrewing a lid and then having it to screw it back on. Also when water gets into it I feel like it thins out the formula. However I will continue to deal with that because I love it so much. I just keep it on the side of the tub ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheWorldsDresser on 12/16/2008 7:54:00 PM more reviews by TheWorldsDresser

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

My hair background: AA - Natural Hair, but I wear it straight and press it weekly w/ the GHD. I have to be very careful with what I put in my hair as the ends still have relaxer in them (I didn't do the big chop). With it's olive fruit and rapa seeds this (mostly) natural ingredient leaves my hair soft and detangled. I love this stuff and have since gotten rid of ALL other hair conditioners. I can't speak for everyone, but for my hair, this was amazing. I will be using this exclusively going forward. Finally, the smell is amazing - very fruity and it lasts long after you leave the shower.

FYI - It comes in a tub so you have to dig in there to get the product out - it would have been much better in a squeeze bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ycats0273 on 12/13/2008 12:03:00 PM more reviews by ycats0273

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm transitioning from a relaxer to natural hair and didn't want to do the big chop for the TWA(teeny weeny afro). My hairstylist and I decided we would trim the ends every four weeks and deep condition biweekly. Since I am one of her first clients to transition, the whole process is new to both of us. About two weeks ago, my hair really become unruly and very tangled. We didn't know what to do, so on a whim I visited Sephora and asked for help. I was recommended this product along with the rest of the Tui line. We used the Tui smoothie as a deep conditioner with a plastic bag and sat under the dryer after using the Tui Herbal Shampoo. After one use, we were amazed at the manageability of my hair. We were able to comb through my hair with better ease. There were some tangles, but it was much much better. I don't know if it was the combination of the products and/or the intense heat but we were satisfied.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pootiebear1031 on 11/30/2008 9:12:00 PM more reviews by pootiebear1031

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as a a conditioner for my 4 year old daughter. I liked that this conditioner helped detangle her hair as well as made her hair soft and manageable. The conditioner also added sheen to her hair. I also used this hair smoothie on one occassion and I noticed that my hair was very soft and shiny. The Tui Hair Smoothie contains shea and cocoa butter and this helps moisturize the hair and prevent dryness and brittleness. It smells very fruity, the package says that it has guava, mango and passion fruit in it. This is a conditioning treatment so it would be great to use at least once a month as a deep conditioner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 slstar on 11/30/2008 3:30:00 PM more reviews by slstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the second product I've used from this line, and I'm disappointed. It's hard to find products that moisturize and condition black hair, and mine is relaxed and not really difficult to manage. But this was a major let down. I enjoyed the tropical smell, but that'a all. My hair didn't feel softer, and wasn't any easier to detangle than if I had just skipped conditioner all together. It was just kind of average, like a conditioner that can be purchased at the drugstore. In fact, I think my hair does better with my $2.50 LeKair Cholesterol Plus conditioner. I've only used this once, but after the jar is empty, I don't plan on repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carol's Daughter products

More Hair Treatments products