Guerlain Insolence

3.3

278 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

BHT


on 8/29/2015 12:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My sister bought me Insolence for my birthday it's such elegent fragrance I love this perfume I'm so glad you can order a bottle of Insolence from Macy's online since its been discontinued I will repurchase.



on 8/28/2015 5:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love violet, so I thought I'd love this, I was wrong. It is indeed a violet scent, it's also a very powdery scent. So we have violet and baby powder (I can't make out any other notes) together, very synthetic smelling, and excruciatingly strong. It rivals Fracas in strength, actually. It is the second perfume (the first being the aforementioned Fracas) that made me actually recoil as I sniffed my wrist. My eyebrows nearly fell off.

Bottle is nice though.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2015 12:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A bit of a departure from what is typically Guerlain, this is a bit sweet but not that cloying, nauseating sweet like some fragrances. Violet was predominant for me, though I did also pick up on that synthetic/chemical type scent. Overall, not a bad fragrance but lacks that classic sophistication of other fragrances by Guerlain. I find this more appropriate fro daytime wear than say Shalimar or Samsara.


on 12/20/2014 6:13:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

OMG! I just sprayed Guerlain Insolence on for the first time, and I can't wait to wash it off! It's so sweet it's gagging me. I wanted a violet perfume, but this is a chemical, harsh, in your face mess of a fragrance. It has some violet notes, but the chemical components overtake it. I can't believe Guerlain would put out a fragrance this disgusting. I believe this would last for a good 24 hours, it's that strong. Just terrible…I purchased it online, and it's going right back. If you are interested in this fragrance, try it first before purchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2014 10:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Oh it's wonderfullllll... I think it's one of the best perfumes I have ever had. Sweet in just the right ammount. Different from these recent releases that seem to be all the same. It's comforting, feminine, I could smell it all day and I probably will.
I just wish it was stronger, but then again I wish it of all perfumes I own. The bottle is pretty but could be a lot more.
The color purple of the eau de parfum bottle is perfect, for the scent smells purple too.
Now I want a 500mL bottle of it please.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2014 12:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Black

It starts off smelling like candies. Berry candy. Then it gets quite powdery & the violets bloom. It smells like candied powdery violets. There's a whiff of citrus that develops the longer I wear it & It helps temper the sweetness in this perfume. I prefer the EDT of this to the EDP because it's less sweet & smells greener. It lasts a long time & has good sillage

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2014 4:41:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love it! Sweet, rich, deep, delicious Violet mix. This is for the EDP. When it first came out (actress Hillary Swank of "Million Dollar Baby" fame was its muse), I bought it but never wore it, thinking it too strong, so I gave it away.

Recently, I repurchased it and am sooooo glad I did! It's been one of my most often-worn fragrances of Fall-Winter 2014.

Violet has taken over my life this Fall-Winter. Insolence EDP (due to its berry topnotes) is a sweeter, fruitier violet scent than either Tom Ford Violet Blonde or Balenciaga Paris, both of which I also have and have been wearing a lot. When I want a woodsier, more chypre violet I'll wear the TF or BP -- but when I'm in the mood for a sweeter, fruitier violet (but still deep & rich), I'll wear Insolence EDP.

Launched in 2008, here are the notes for EDP, per parfumo.net:

Top Note - Red berries
Heart Notes - Iris, Orange blossom, Violet
Base Notes - Woods, Sandalwood, Tonka bean

Insolence EDP is becoming addictive -- and my enjoyment of it has snowballed to the point that even when I'm wearing something else that I like very much -- Insolence EDP is sometimes quietly nagging me to come back -- and I find myself running to spritz it on again -- mmm! Too bad it's becoming difficult to find, because I plan to buy more when my bottle runs out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm currently in the throes of a love affair with all things Guerlain and one of my favourite aromas is the one that comes off their Les Voilettes translucent pressed powder. The search was on for a fragrance that smelled just like that. After checking with the Guerlain SA and googling, the consensus was that Insolence was the closest thing to it.
I ordered it and received it at the beginning of the week and I've worn it 3 times. I must say I really really do like this stuff ( I took a huge risk buying it sight un-smelled as it were, (they didn't have the EDP in stock at the only department store that sells it)) and more importantly I don't cause any offence or feelings of nausea when I walk past people. Just the opposite in fact: my husband likes it (and he's fussy), my daughter likes it (she's got good taste!) as do the friends I've bumped into and wafted my wrist under their noses. As for me, I'm walking around with my wrist glued to my nose enjoying the violet aroma ,for most of the day, when I think no-ones looking (don't want people thinking I'm weird now do I?).
Would I buy it again? Well bearing in mind that I do have a few perfumes lurking around the place, I think in all honesty, that I would!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2014 9:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got this because I thought it smelt of violets, sweet, powdery like Guerlain meteorite balls.... that scent of Chowards violet candies but wow, so far from it.

At first, I was so bummed!! It smelt like a air refresher spray. Not a fan. BUT, after a week of using it, it really has started to grow on me and no longer reminds me of air refresher spray. It really smells amazing on my skin and the powdery notes are definitely there and a little hint of sweet violets....its a unique scent that isn't for everybody.

I really did not like it at first but from past experiences, I know to give something a week at least to say whether I hate it, love it or like it. I was hoping for a deeper violet scent with more powder that was similar to Guerlains meteorite perfume.

Its a very sexy scent though..... staying power is great!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2014 5:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my signature perfume and the only perfume I have bought twice as I have not yet got sick of it. I absolutely adore this perfume. It smells of violets and once I have out this on I feel so feminine and pretty. My friend at first did not like this but now she loves it. It lasts ages! Definitely my favourite perfume!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
141 Reviews
Alien
Alien
356 Reviews
Black Opium
Black Opium
18 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Red Jeans
Red Jeans
77 Reviews
Back to Top