Yves Saint Laurent • Matte and Radiant Pressed Powder • Powder

rated 4.6(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 harajukuboy on 8/10/2014 12:00:00 PM more reviews by harajukuboy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wonder product. My old HG compact was Chanel's Poudre Universelle, which was a transparent powder as I don't look for coverage in powders, and I think I was in denial about the product for the last couple of months, I wanted to believe it was good because of the aesthetic of Chanel but I have really dry skin but get very slightly shiny around my nose and I still needed to top up every 25 minutes or so (ridiculous I know).
I bought Matte Radiance on a whim without even trying it in store (pressured by my mother to buy something), and was already wearing Le Teint Touche Eclat (magical product), but I was amazed at the performance of this powder. It looks gorgeous on and minimises my enlarged pores while blurring other imperfections. It doesn't make my dry skin feel ichy, doesn't settle in pores and kept me a gorgeous in-between matte and slightly dewy for 6+ hours.
The packaging is far superior to my old Chanel powder, Matte Radiance being a metallic case, and the pouch that comes with it has a separate compartment with a powder puff (the softest thing I have ever felt by the way).

The powder is so finely milled it is so comfortable and natural looking, the colour match is wonderful and it feels almost creamy to the touch. From first application became my HG powder, above Poudre Universelle (my 6 month love). Wonderful product, extremely happy with it. The price is excellent compared to other powders of the same luxuriousness and quality, and the packaging is gorgeous, although the metal case is a magnet for fingerprints, like literally as soon as you pull it out there are a hundred fingerprints, but it still is wonderful.

If you're looking for a new high-end compact, Matte Radiance is a great choice, it retails for £35 at House of Fraser in Belfast, and will become your new favourite, seriously!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* christineneogoh on 5/28/2014 2:50:00 AM more reviews by christineneogoh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this when I was on a trip and got it at SGD50 plus without taxes iirc. Noted that the powder is extremely smooth and finely milled thus, I thought it would be a good powder for touch ups.

First try: I applied my usual light weight liquid foundation and topped it off with my YSL compact foundation for added coverage. At noon, I blotted my face and touched up using this powder, I was disappointed with the outcome. I had some part of my face splotchy and bits here and there not being covered.

Second try: I applied only my compact foundation and touched up with this, the outcome was ok however, it lacked the coverage I was looking for.

Bottomline, this powder is only good for people without dry patches on the skin as it will accentuate all dry patches. In other words, it is for people with very good skin which doesn't require coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spyral on 5/28/2013 9:16:00 AM more reviews by spyral

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I always set my foundation with loose powder, but this is simply not practical for touch ups. I live in Japan and compact powders that are affordable in the US (ahem, Revlon, Loreal, Mac) are actually nearly as expensive as the luxury brands. So, I decided to splurge for the YSL and bought it from an online discount vendor. I love it because it looks invisible on my skin while taking away the shine. The result is flawless looking skin. It's humid in Osaka so I get a good shine-free 3 to 5 hours depending on the weather during warmer months. Some don't like the packaging but I LOVE it. It's so luxurious and makes me smile every time I pull it out of my makeup bag. It's also practical because nothing will ruin your powder faster than a bacteria laden sponge, so I much prefer to protect my investment by storing it in the pocket of its velvet case. The biggest downfall is the price. There are definitely quality powders out there for less money, but if you have the extra cash, YSL Matt and Radiant pressed powder is a worthy way to spend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 4/23/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This looks very nice over my Teint Eclat foundation from YSL. When I add this on top my skin looks super-smooth, and, weird enough: matte and radiant X) It definitely does what it says on me! It's not chalky at all, VERY finely milled, doesn't cling to my peach fuzz at all and doesn't accentual my dry patches. It works with every single foundation I own!
.
This is a light powder you won't manage to cover much with. You can get light-sheer coverage from it. It feels very comfortable on my face - my skin never feels tight or hot under it. I'm about an NC15 and think I can use nr 2 when I'm NC15-20, although the powder looks very light in the compact. Nr 2 is definitely a yellow toned powder.
.
One minus though... the powder I have smells bad... It has some kind of bitter herbal smell that I can smell on my face for a good 2.5 hours! I have actually been wondering if people sitting beside me on the buss to uni can smell it or not...
.
Anyway: this just looks so perfect over my foundation that I can't get myself to give it any less than 5 lippies. It holds up well on my skin, unless I touch it a lot during the day, which is a bad bad habit and something I always try to avoid. I have dry skin, so I don't usually look greasy during the day with most powders (except Kanebo Finishing powder - I have no clue how it "melts" on my face), so I can't really say much about the oil control of this, but it seems to have some.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nativetrees on 4/10/2013 2:52:00 PM more reviews by nativetrees

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Very much a splurge on my end, but it's a nice product. When Rimmel Stay Matte pressed powder was starting to get a tad too cakey, I remembered I had this. I don't know why I dismissed this product when I first bought it, but now I love it. Like the name suggests, it is the perfect balance between mattifying yet still giving radiance to your skin. It is not chalky or cakey whatsoever. I do get dry skin so this powder is lovely, but if you have particularly oily skin, you may be disappointed because this is not the best for oil control.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MisiB on 1/11/2013 7:57:00 AM more reviews by MisiB

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Definately the best powder I've ever used! Totally felt in love with it. I have the YSL Teint Radiance foundation, nr.4. It's matches very good with my skin tone, but the YSL Matte and Radiant Pressed Powder nr.4 gives a lillte bit darked tone to it, looking perfectly natural. It is not chalky, it just makes your face skin looks gorgeous like it's been photoshop-ed. The price is high, but worth it. Recommend and would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 10/17/2012 6:49:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Matt and radiant is a very elegant powder. I have fair neutral skin and got 1 ''Natural light''
First of all the packaging is very luxurious and relatively slick.
The velvet pouch is separated in two (one for the powder and one for the applicator) Interesting but not very practical. The shiny gold case with the YSL logo is too flashy for my liking and attracts fingerprints like a magnet.
Contains 10gr of powder.


The actual powder has a pretty print of a heart with writing ''Yves Saint Laurent''.
The color I chose is neutral and nearly off-white.
Very finely milled, feels almost creamy to touch, and gives a velvety look to the face. I don't find the finish radiant, it's rather matte but not flat, sets foundation beautifully.
Doesn't cake and evens out the skin tone. Oil control is minimal. I believe it would be great for normal to dry skin.
I like the provided finish and the feel of the powder and use it for touchups. But oil control is important to me and it is quite pricey so I'll try something else next time!


Edit: After using this powder for a month I am thrilled. The lightest shade makes my face look so radiant it's hard to explain. I apply my foundation (Estee Lauder Double Wear Light in Intensity 1) and it looks fine although a tiny bit dark. But if I add this powder and it looks PERFECT, almost angelic, it's like photoshop in a compact since it blurs imperfections nicely.
Still, not really oil controlling, but I'm willing to compromize for that gorgeous finish and bought 2 backups (poor wallet!)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 natalib on 10/8/2012 8:38:00 AM more reviews by natalib

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this product for 3 years now and it is the best! It lasts really long and my skin is flawless. The only thing is that I dropped it few times and it broke everytime so I had to buy a new one. But I am certainly not changing my powder, at least not the brand, I love YSL“s decorative cosmetics.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aamna_601 on 8/5/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by aamna_601

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believed I just discovered this product. Maybe I could have saved myself so many days of uneven blotchy looking skin and frumpy pictures if I had this before now. I was looking for a powder foundation because as much as I love the feel and idea of liquid foundation, I have large pores and oily/combo skin and truly I should use powder foundation because it stays so much longer on my skin. I was using Nars sheer matte before this and although it was decent it was nothing to write home about. This on the other hand--wow. Wow! I was at Sephora looking around for a powder foundation--I've tried the tarte pressed powder, lancome dual finish, too faced, hourglass, and this time around compared Dior forever pressed powder versus YSL on different sides of my face. The Dior was okay but looked like it was sitting on my face, kind of brought out all the tiny hairs and gave a visibly powdery look. Its coverage was nice though. On to this powder--so so natural looking like a naturally flawless canvas. No powdery look. It only comes in three colors (as far as I could see at Sephora at least) but I'm so glad the third one matched my skin. I am LOVING this. I applied it on top of my korres quercetin lotion (new fave) with the bare ess buff n go brush (this is also a godsend quite frankly, fits in the makeup bag and is so easy to apply powder with this). The finish was flawless. Not cakey, powdery, just natural and flawless. It minimzed my pores, gave me a really great natural color (finally matching my pink based face to my olive based neck yay) and just looked fantastic. To top it off I wore it out to dinner the rest of the night after that one application (no setting powder or spray even) and it lasted a good 4+ hours in humid sticky nasty north carolina weather. This is SUCH a keeper and I'm so glad I found it. The case is a little bulky and it does take up space in my now bursting-at-the-seams makeup bag, but it is golden and so easy to find in the dark depths of the makeup bag. It comes with a little soft sponge which I might use to buff out areas like around my nose but otherwise I am applying this with the bare ess buff n go brush. Overall I am super pleased with this. My skin can be quite sensitive but no breakouts so far. It looks amazing in daylight as well as at night. Honestly one buff of this over my chin covered all the little red spots from recent battles with pimples. I'm sooooo glad I stumbled across this. Best powder I've ever used. hands down. May be a little expensive but its SO WORTH IT!!! Try it, I'd be very surprised if you didn't like it!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AGreen786 on 7/2/2012 10:32:00 PM more reviews by AGreen786

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I have tried so many pressed powders and kept reverting back to loose powders every time. My favorite was the Giorgio Armani loose powder because it gave a hint of shimmer and kept me shine-free for most of the day.

However, my constant need to buy new make-up for absolutely no reason lead me to trying the YSL Matte and Radiant Pressed Powder, and I have to say I love it. I have actually been so happy with everything YSL is coming out with recently like the felt-tip eye-liner (LOVE it.)
I think I must be one of the top customers on Zumali with the amount of time I spend browsing/buying new products lol But the powder is great -- it's lightweight, and the finish is exactly as described, Matte AND Radiant. Definitely recommend this one!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Powder products