beautyblender • the sponge • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(596 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 beautyllush on 11/18/2014 1:04:00 PM more reviews by beautyllush

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

at first i didn't want to give in to the hype and purchase this product, but then glossybox included the beautyblender in one of their boxes and ever since i began using it, i'm hooked. it's a bit overpriced, in my opinion, but these last at least 3 months (i dispose of mine after 3 months) and there's bound to be a sale or good deal at a retailer that sells it.
at first i didn't know how to use it, apparently you use it damp. lmao. it was a "duh" moment for me. i use this with foundation and creams and it works beautifully. it creates quick and amazing results. i probably wouldn't trade it for anything.
the egg shape is especially useful because the smaller end works well to use on your undereyes or smaller areas. i use it sideways to blend out my contouring and the wide end for foundation.
this product probably wouldn't work well for people who use water-based foundations, in which case the sponge would just soak it up. i don't recommend this for more liquidy foundations. when using this for foundation, put the foundation on your face and not the sponge, it will blend better that way and you won't get a huge chunk of your foundation in one area.
the material is divine and the stippling motions you use while using this can feel really therapeutic (i used it on my sister and she said she felt like she was getting a facial). lol.
i wash mine after each use, using baby shampoo. some people wash their's after using it a few times but i'm a bit more concerned about keeping my foundation tools clean.
overall, this is a great product and i highly recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aenflex on 11/18/2014 10:58:00 AM more reviews by aenflex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't use brushes. I've used cheapie disposable sponges in the past for cream/liquid products and have been satisfied. Mostly I just use my fingers to apply what I wear now, which are TMs or sheer liquid foundations.
Few weeks back I bought the Target brand blending sponge for 5 bucks. It's latex, very smooth, dense and stiff. Not super absorbent and doesn't swell up much or hold much water. I find that it applies my TM MUCH BETTER than fingers. Coverage is much smoother, more even, more natural-looking and not too sheer for my needs. I took my magnifying mirror outside and compared fingers to sponge, and sponge won hands down. I do find that I use a bit more product than when applying with fingers. THIS ONLY PROVES TO ME THAT I LIKE SPONGES BETTER THAN FINGERS.

When I tried the BeautyBlender, I was surprised that it was much softer, dryer, more absorbent and much less dense than the Target sponge. It's not latex, so maybe that's the difference. In any event, I found I used a lot more product than with fingers or the Target sponge. Not good when my TM is 27 bucks an ounce. I don't like the shape of it, the Target sponge works better on nose, jawline, anywhere that has curvatures. Application was easy and looked good, but certainly no better than the Target sponge. THIS JUST PROVES TO ME THAT I LIKE THE RESULTS FROM THE CHEAP LATEX SPONGE MUCH BETTER.
Thankfully my friend is a super product junkie with a big budget; she's always handing me down things, and this BB sponge was one of them. I wouldn't pay for it and am glad I didn't. Side note: she's kind of an expert and used the BB a couple times and didn't care for it at all.

In the end, non disposable sponges are breeding grounds for bacteria. I won't repurchase either of them. What I will do is revisit disposable cosmetic sponges, as the one thing that became clear to me in all of this is that I prefer sponges to fingers.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* antolin1 on 11/8/2014 8:44:00 PM more reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I reaad soooo much about what an amazing product this was that I just could not resist giving it a try. I had super low expectations because I am pretty much addicted to the various foundation brushes I use on the daily which give flawless coverage and I figured nothing can compare. While in line I was having flashbacks of those horrific sponge wedges I used to buy in High School that were terrible but for the sake of beauty, I persevered and resisted the temptation to put it down and just pick up a new brush instead. Now that I have used this for nearly a month, in a variety of ways, I am still on the fence as to whether it was worth the price or is worth the hype, or not.

For Foundation Application:
I have a couple foundations that I hadn't been able to use as much as I wished: Clinique Redness Solutions (because it went on too thick and dry looking on my already patchy dry skin) and my Chanel Vitalumiere Satin Smoothing Fluid Makeup (which I love for its moisturization and yellow tones but hate due to the way it settles into my pores). When I sued the beauty blender to apply these, they went on like a dream for the first time - I couldn't even tell I had foundation on it was so natural looking in its finish. But then I noticed something... the sponge soaked up the majority of product and definitely reduced my full coverage foundations to tinted lotion status. This is NOT cool when you are talking about 2 foundations products that total almost $90! The pro here is that I will now actually use some of my more pricy foundations that had just been laying around. The con is that if I used this with my HG foundations Chantecaille Future Skin ($75), Laura Mercier Creme Smooth ($53), or my Nars Sheer Glow ($45) I would be wasting copious amounts of extremely expensive products as well as changing them from flawless coverage formulations into tints! This sponge drinks up foundation like nobody's business IMO.

For Cream Contour & Highlighting:
I have always had to work hard at blending cream highlights out well for one reason or another. And here is where the Beauty Blender (and its pointy end) work well. However (yup, another caveat!) much like with foundation application the majority gets soaked up in the sponge so this is really only beneficial on top of foundation. Being as how I want my highlighting under my foundation, I am just not that impressed. I did like how it blended my darker and thicker (IE cheapo products) less utilized contour creams though, providing a nice natural look.

So yeah, the beauty blender does blend out foundation well - but it also wastes 90% (if not more) of the product in which was actually intended to go ONTO your face. Because it makes hard to use products work, that deserves 5 stars. Because it wastes so much product, that deserves 1 star. Because it is way overpriced for what it does, that deserves 0 stars (honestly this thing should cost 8-12 bucks). Once I run out of Chanel foundation I am betting I will never use this blender again, which makes it a completely useless waste of money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oliviachann on 11/6/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by oliviachann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Originally, I didn't want to buy into the hype and pay $26 for a sponge for my foundation. Despite watching several YouTube videos where I saw the girls using them, I just couldn't justify spending that kind of money on a sponge shaped like an egg.

I went through several of the beauty blender knockoffs and thought they did perfectly fine and settled for that. However, one day, my friend told me about her experience with the beautyblender and how much she liked them so I decided that I would give it a try also so that I could compare the $5 sponge to the one that was 5 times its price.

I purchased the beauty blender and the first time I used it, I thought it was okay. I thought it absorbed a lot of foundation and felt like I was using slightly more than I had with the other sponges and other brushes I had as well. However I just assumed it was a new sponge so I didn't really think too much or poorly of it.

The more and more I use it, the more I see why people like it but at the same time, I find that it continues to absorb more foundation than I'd like. I also feel that it stains very easily and the stains arent easy to get out, even with the cleanser that is recommended. The first time I washed it, the water ran bright pink.

Bottom line is, I like it, but I dont love it. If I lost it, I'd probably buy it again but only if it were on sale or in a package deal. I think its convenient to have and makes blending foundation in the morning easier especially when I'm running low on time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pingpan on 11/4/2014 4:10:00 AM more reviews by pingpan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very nice applicator. I bought two pink ones and the first one lasted 2 month before my dog shred it into pieces. My second one has been used 5 days a week and for 7 month now. As long you clean it after every application, the sponge should last forever.

When I bought the blender, I also bought the cleaner from sephora, but I really don't like that. It reminds me of Dr Bronner's magic soap in lavender. Which blended with olive oil was my go to makeup tools cleaner 2 years ago. Now I just use ivory soap bar. Best makeup tool cleaner ever. My beautyblender still looked like the day I bought it. Maybe a bit pale, but still that cuddly pink. Not like most YouTuber's beautyblender that seemed yellowish or brown.

My conclusion, as long you keep good care of your blender, and keep away from your dog, your blender should keep up for a year at least. Also try ivory soap, best ever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 10/28/2014 7:15:00 AM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use beautyblenders every time I apply foundation makeup. I have three—two pink, one black. (I have dark skin, so a black because I use darker-toned products!) I don't know how I ever applied makeup without one of these before & it is a staple tool. I have oily, acne-prone skin & almost always wear thick, full coverage, matte foundations. As you can imagine, applying them with a brush or with my fingers can be a nightmare. With a beautyblender, the heave makeup I have to wear is blended so much smoother & nicer; I'd have streaks otherwise.

I soak the wide end with MAC Fix+ & let that sink in before I use it. It can be used wet or dry, but I personally don't let it swell up or put it under running water because like I mentioned, I wear thick, matte foundations. I use the wide end to make up my forehead, cheeks, & chin; I use the narrow end to make up around my eyebrow piercing, around my eyebrows, around my eyes, & around my mouth.

My only complaint is its not lasting long. I read it should last 3 months with proper cleaning, which I do, but I find that they get kind of beat up & raggedy sooner than they should. I took good care of mine & washed them regularly. I'm thinking it might just be my using them SO much & all 360 degrees of the sponge. Anyway, this makeup sponge is a necessity if you wear self-tanners or foundation makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sahbear95 on 10/28/2014 6:42:00 AM more reviews by sahbear95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Seems like a lot of money to be spending on a glorified sponge, and trust me I was skeptical, however, once you immerse this little genius in some warm water, it enlarges and achieves its full potential. Once completely squeezed of water, this sponge allows for the perfect application of any liquid product and results in a flawless finish and is easily able to be built up to the desired level of coverage. Cannot recommend this little thing enough, have gotten so many compliments from friends on my foundation and once they use it, they have also fallen in love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MeganDan on 10/28/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by MeganDan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know, $30.00 Canadian for this sponge at Sephora? Why not pick up a dupe for $10.00? The reason I will always choose the $30 sponge over the $10 is because nothing comes close to comparing. I've picked up multiple "beauty blender" sponges, and yes they all do the "same thing" but there's something about the way this sponge feels and applies. Sheer to full coverage depending on how wet you make your sponge, feels so soft and supple. I've read reviews on people feeling like this is a waste of product because the sponge absorbs it ( well duh it's a sponge, they absorb ) but I don't find its wasting a TON of product like people have claimed, defiantly takes more but not enough to be "wasteful". Throwing out all my buffing/stippling brushes for this tiny little sponge is all I need!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 10/22/2014 10:01:00 AM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

What an amazing little tool! If you've been putting it off forever (like I did), thinking that it's too expensive ($20), it's just a sponge, "I can get by without it"…I understand, I felt the same way. But do yourself the favor and just buy the little thing. It's also a cruelty free/vegan product and contains no latex. I've some mild searching for a dupe, but I ended up with the BB as my first makeup sponge: I figured I'd start with the best and go from there since it seems there are many other *good* sponges, but none that quite compare to the BB. Also, if you're worried about the dyes or chemicals in the pink, black or purple BB's, they now make a white one (I think they call it "pure").

-Application/blending of any cream or thick liquid product for a seamlessly blended, beautiful application. I use it dry for a heavier application, or wet for more sheer.
-Pushing a product that is too powdery into your skin.
-Concealing. I use the pointed tip to gently pat on my foundation more thickly, and then delicately blend it out for a blemish. This also works for the darker inner corners of my eyes. I don't need heavy concealing, so the BB + a heavier application of foundation in my trouble areas does the trick like a brush or my fingers never could.

Absolutely will re-buy and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vannii on 10/17/2014 4:47:00 PM more reviews by vannii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am completely in love with this sponge. The finish it gives me is absolutely amazing. It leaves my foundation looking natural and not at all cakey. It blends my concealer, highlighter and foundation beautifully! Cannot live without this product and I have no clue as to what I was doing before this little sponge came in to my life. It's really easy and quick to use! However... it is REALLY expensive! I got two in the packade I bought but It was way to expensive. Fortunately I won't need to buy it again any time soon.

On a different note... I was in a hurry one morning and left the sponge directly on top of a white shelf in my bathroom, when I came home that night I found that it had left a pink mark where it had lain on my shelf. I cannot remove that pink stain no matter what I use on it, it makes me wonder what kind of chemicals are really in this little sponge...?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More beautyblender products

More Misc Beauty Tools products