Hugo Boss Hugo - Pure Purple

3.5

19 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/6/2013 5:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The trick to this fragrance is allowing it to dry down. At first it is almost overwhelming it under notes are hard to describe but once it has dried down oh my goodness! If anyone is thinking of getting this and order it offline get a sample first.



on 12/8/2011 1:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I like this one. I really didn't at first, it almost gave me a headache - but it has grown on me over time. I bought this as a 2 for 1 deal for myself and my sister for Christmas a few years back, for a great price though I forget what it was :) I find this really strong smelling, and I can definitely smell it on myself even at the end of a long day. Definitely a winter smell, not for hot humid weather!! I probably wouldn't specifically go out to buy this again, but I do enjoy wearing it occasionally.


on 10/29/2011 9:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I liked this scent after testing it in the store and wearing it while shopping or a few hours. Most perfumes just dont agree with my body chemistry but Purple stayed true to the scent. For that reason and because it didnt smell too old or too young, I bought it. Its a soft, sweet smell and it is nice but just not that memorable.


on 9/20/2011 1:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This one came out when the gourmands were really coming back in style in fragrance. Sadly it is not that memorable. Actually it gives me a headache. I usually like vanilla, but this one just smells weird.


on 5/22/2010 9:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This fragrance is weird first and foremost. I smell heavy vanilla notes with some type of Asian spice, musk and something chocolatey. On a bad day it makes me feel kind of upset, like I want to hurl. Secondly it looks like an imitation of Lancome's Hypsose. Why? Why imitate when you are high end designer as well? Thats' why we pay the big bucks for your goods, for your creativity and exclusivity. Anyways, the fragrance is not good. Do not Buy! I bought it for myself for Christmas '07, not a good idea. I wear it on those days when I'm just not in the mood and don't even care about a pick me up. Yuck!


on 5/2/2010 1:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Its romantic, very nice n special as a gourmand scent. At top notes, I smell delicious marzipan mix with slightly cherry, wraped by soft leather, It keeps that way but warmer a bit with sweet amber at the drying down. It tenderly embraces my skin and lifts my feeling up, I cant stop sniffing it. I just hope the lasting power stays longer :-( the bottle looks quite boring n cheap not worth its glamour, lovely scent!


on 2/2/2010 1:41:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this fragrance on sale from Sephora and I really like it. The bottle is pretty cool, the shape and the way the color fades. The smell is nice, nothing special, fairly light, but still noticeable.
It is not a very exiciting perfume, but I was asked what I was wearing by a research assisstant at a hospital, because she liked it.
At first I liked it, but then a while I didn't really like anymore, and after a little while longer, it started to grow on me. Lol, I think I was confused. Now I used it a couple times a week during the day and I really like it.
This perfume might not wow you, but I find that it's a pretty scent.


on 4/21/2009 6:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

wearable but nothing particularly special


on 1/21/2009 8:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like sweet scents, and this certainly is one. Not gaggingly cloying by any means, but soft and comforting. I get a little fruitiness in the beginning, but this disappears very quickly. I get none of the floral middle notes, which is not necessarily a bad thing as I'm not a great fan of violet. All I am left with is a soft, musky sweetness from the "white suede" and "sweet marzipan" in the base. I find it soft and subtle enough to wear in the office, and it lasts all day on me. There's no big sillage, it stays pretty close which is another plus as far as I'm concerned.
The only thing I really do not like is the packaging. The shade of purple in the glass is quite garish, and I think it makes the perfume look cheap. Ok, yes, it's only Hugo Boss, but by comparison with the prettier Femme bottle I think they can do better. Still, it's a lovely, simple, sweet fragrance and I will buy again.


on 10/26/2008 5:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am not a fan of purple in general... that could be why I passed the Pure Purple testers by again and again... until today - and I discovered that it's just 'meh' for me. Freshly spritzed, it is a *little* different smelling than most of the mainstream norm but not terribly so, and it does dry down into a very generic and boring thing. It reminded me at first of purple-jellybean-flavor but then faded into a completely uninteresting fruity floral. I totally lost interest and didn't even bother to smell my wrist after that. No sale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1357 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
338 Reviews
Light Blue
1405 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top