Hugo Boss • Hugo - Pure Purple • Fragrances

rated 3.5(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lavvy76549 on 1/6/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by lavvy76549

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The trick to this fragrance is allowing it to dry down. At first it is almost overwhelming it under notes are hard to describe but once it has dried down oh my goodness! If anyone is thinking of getting this and order it offline get a sample first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aljeca on 12/8/2011 1:42:00 PM more reviews by aljeca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this one. I really didn't at first, it almost gave me a headache - but it has grown on me over time. I bought this as a 2 for 1 deal for myself and my sister for Christmas a few years back, for a great price though I forget what it was :) I find this really strong smelling, and I can definitely smell it on myself even at the end of a long day. Definitely a winter smell, not for hot humid weather!! I probably wouldn't specifically go out to buy this again, but I do enjoy wearing it occasionally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snjlowe on 10/29/2011 9:40:00 AM more reviews by snjlowe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this scent after testing it in the store and wearing it while shopping or a few hours. Most perfumes just dont agree with my body chemistry but Purple stayed true to the scent. For that reason and because it didnt smell too old or too young, I bought it. Its a soft, sweet smell and it is nice but just not that memorable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dioraddict84 on 9/20/2011 1:36:00 AM more reviews by dioraddict84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This one came out when the gourmands were really coming back in style in fragrance. Sadly it is not that memorable. Actually it gives me a headache. I usually like vanilla, but this one just smells weird.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anastacy on 5/22/2010 9:11:00 PM more reviews by anastacy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance is weird first and foremost. I smell heavy vanilla notes with some type of Asian spice, musk and something chocolatey. On a bad day it makes me feel kind of upset, like I want to hurl. Secondly it looks like an imitation of Lancome's Hypsose. Why? Why imitate when you are high end designer as well? Thats' why we pay the big bucks for your goods, for your creativity and exclusivity. Anyways, the fragrance is not good. Do not Buy! I bought it for myself for Christmas '07, not a good idea. I wear it on those days when I'm just not in the mood and don't even care about a pick me up. Yuck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maithy on 5/2/2010 1:02:00 AM more reviews by maithy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Its romantic, very nice n special as a gourmand scent. At top notes, I smell delicious marzipan mix with slightly cherry, wraped by soft leather, It keeps that way but warmer a bit with sweet amber at the drying down. It tenderly embraces my skin and lifts my feeling up, I cant stop sniffing it. I just hope the lasting power stays longer :-( the bottle looks quite boring n cheap not worth its glamour, lovely scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ems001 on 2/2/2010 1:41:00 AM more reviews by ems001

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this fragrance on sale from Sephora and I really like it. The bottle is pretty cool, the shape and the way the color fades. The smell is nice, nothing special, fairly light, but still noticeable.
It is not a very exiciting perfume, but I was asked what I was wearing by a research assisstant at a hospital, because she liked it.
At first I liked it, but then a while I didn't really like anymore, and after a little while longer, it started to grow on me. Lol, I think I was confused. Now I used it a couple times a week during the day and I really like it.
This perfume might not wow you, but I find that it's a pretty scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 icedpurple on 4/21/2009 6:23:00 PM more reviews by icedpurple

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

wearable but nothing particularly special

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 librarygrrrl on 1/21/2009 8:02:00 AM more reviews by librarygrrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like sweet scents, and this certainly is one. Not gaggingly cloying by any means, but soft and comforting. I get a little fruitiness in the beginning, but this disappears very quickly. I get none of the floral middle notes, which is not necessarily a bad thing as I'm not a great fan of violet. All I am left with is a soft, musky sweetness from the "white suede" and "sweet marzipan" in the base. I find it soft and subtle enough to wear in the office, and it lasts all day on me. There's no big sillage, it stays pretty close which is another plus as far as I'm concerned.
The only thing I really do not like is the packaging. The shade of purple in the glass is quite garish, and I think it makes the perfume look cheap. Ok, yes, it's only Hugo Boss, but by comparison with the prettier Femme bottle I think they can do better. Still, it's a lovely, simple, sweet fragrance and I will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CecileCecile on 10/26/2008 5:58:00 PM more reviews by CecileCecile

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not a fan of purple in general... that could be why I passed the Pure Purple testers by again and again... until today - and I discovered that it's just 'meh' for me. Freshly spritzed, it is a *little* different smelling than most of the mainstream norm but not terribly so, and it does dry down into a very generic and boring thing. It reminded me at first of purple-jellybean-flavor but then faded into a completely uninteresting fruity floral. I totally lost interest and didn't even bother to smell my wrist after that. No sale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hugo Boss products

More Fragrances products