LUSH • Breath of Fresh Air • Toners

rated 4.1(113 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 acatcalledbellatrix on 9/26/2014 9:58:00 AM more reviews by acatcalledbellatrix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this after I found I really loved Lush's Tea Tree Water and thought I'd try a toner more suited to every day use. I really love the scent and my skin always felt refreshed after use but I think this was responsible for some irritation.

After a few weeks of use, my skin broke out in an itchy rash with some dry patches around my mouth, chin and jaw. I can't be 100% positive it was this that caused it as my skin has been having these reactions often lately but the ingredients list is a little worrying. I'm not sure why a toner needs fragrance and parabens when everyone knows they work a lot better without these known irritants.

The price wasn't too bad considering Lush's usual prices and the packaging is the standard black Lush packaging, which I really like.

Now that my skin is back to normal I will give it another go to check if it was in fact this that was causing the irritation. I'm wondering if spraying it onto the face would be less likely to cause itchiness, as opposed to spraying it on a cotton pad and rubbing it onto the face like I usually do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 honpos on 9/25/2014 5:36:00 AM more reviews by honpos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been breaking out horribly for the past six months or so and have tried multiple toners that were marketed towards acne prevention/elimination but they just stung and didn't do anything at all. I decided to try this out after hearing some positive reviews from beauty bloggers, and holy crap my skin hasn't looked this nice in months. I still have discoloration from the where the acne was, but the bumps definitely lessened!

I have allergic rhinitis and most, if not all, perfume-y scents trigger my allergies. Thankfully, this product did not. I spray the product on my face and spray once on a cotton pad, then wipe my face with the pad. I use the product twice a day, once in the morning and once at night.

I bought the smaller battle and it's going strong for two months, it's nearly running out though. I think I'll probably try out the tea tree toner after this but will definitely repurchase this one if the tea tree toner doesn't perform better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nicolewo on 8/30/2014 6:56:00 AM more reviews by nicolewo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is nice and refreshing, but it doesn't feel like it does much for my skin. I think I'll save it and use it to cool my face during summer. Nice product but I wouldn't rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sonjavidas on 7/31/2014 11:13:00 AM more reviews by Sonjavidas

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I went to lush to pick up the tea tree water and accidentally picked this up because I didn't read what product it was on the packaging (lol). I've only had it for a week, and so far I think it's ok. It hasn't really done anything to my skin at all tho. I don't like the smell at all and the spritz is really harsh. It does refresh the skin and it hast caused any breakouts so far. I wouldn't really recommend this product, and I think it's a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peachhsorbet on 7/6/2014 10:51:00 PM more reviews by peachhsorbet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I have never been able to find a toner that has had a positive effect on my skin until I bought this product.

Firstly, I love the smell. It reminds me of the sea. It is also incredibly refreshing and invigorating. Using this after washing my face first thing in the morning certainly helps me to wake up.

Instead of spraying this on my face, I have found it works more effectively by spraying onto a cotton wool pad and using it all over my face. My skin feels instantly refreshed and soft - I love how moisturising this product is for me, it does dry my skin out (which is a problem for me).

I also use this on lazy days, where I wear no makeup but can't be bothered to wash and moisturise my face. I know that's bad but this product saves me. It removes buildup and oils (I suffer from oily skin) very effectively. In addition, on days where my skin is suffering a bit - for example, my skin is red and I have bumps on my t-zone - I use this product instead of washing and moisturising my face, and it works wonders and helps to clear up my skin.

This is a holy grail product for me, and I have repurchased countless amount of times.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shaunan on 6/21/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by shaunan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried a lot of lush products and this was a let down. I don't feel like it DOES anything, and usually with lush products, they have so sort of effect on your skin.
I used to use it after ultrabland and in the morning when i wake up. It seriously made zero difference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ZeldasSword on 5/28/2014 11:10:00 AM more reviews by ZeldasSword

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Before I even start talking about my reaction to this product I need to explain something. Just because something claims to be ďall naturalĒ doesnít mean that it is all natural nor does it mean that it should be anywhere near your face. There is nothing good in this toner for you. NOTHING. Lets look at the ingredients first.

Spring Water (Aqua) , Fresh Sea Water (Aqua) , Aloe Vera Gel (Aloe barbadensis) , Perfume , Carrageenan Extract (Chondrus crispus) , Rose Absolute (Rosa centifolia) , Patchouli Oil (Pogostemon cablin) , Rosemary Oil (Rosmarinus officinalis) , Seaweed Absolute (Fucus vesiculosus) , *Limonene , *Linalool , Methylparaben

There are a minimum of 5 skin irritants in this product, and the worst offender is the fourth ingredient. ESSENTIAL OILS ARE BAD FOR YOUR SKIN. They are PHOTOTOXIC. They cause AGING. They cause REDNESS. They cause SWELLING that you canít even see but damages your skin. Not to mention this product has parabens as well as limonene & lanalool (the chemicals that MAKES essential oils bad.) So its not all natural and most of the natural ingredients should be nowhere near your face.

I donít have sensitive skin however after using this product for months my skin started turning turning red all the time. My eczema on my face started to speed and get worse all of a sudden. When I went to my dermatologist to find out what was happening he asked for my skin care products. The second he looked at the ingredients he knew this was the product that was causing my problems.

Donít let the idea that the product is natural trick you into thinking itíll help your skin. I adore Lush but their skin care isnít a good thing to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MariahGabrielle on 5/23/2014 3:15:00 AM more reviews by MariahGabrielle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Holy grail toner water!!!!! I love that's its all natural. Smells great just a light fresh scent. And it just gives your face a nice radiant boost. Perfect for a nice most of refresh on a hot day or even if your makeup is looking a little powdery. I find it similar to Mac fix plus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aimeexo on 5/15/2014 11:39:00 PM more reviews by aimeexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this product. In short, great for sensitive skin and oily skin, beautiful light fragrance, perfect for hot days. On to pros and cons:

PROS:
- Light, refreshing fragrance. Smells very natural and not like an added fragrance
- the packaging!!! I LOVE that this toner comes in a spray bottle. It's so much easier and more refreshing to spray it directly onto my face rather than use a cotton pad
- Use less moisturizer: I always thought that you were supposed to let toner dry completely before applying moisturizer, but the woman at Lush informed me that you spray it on, wait a few seconds, and apply when wet. This is so helpful, because you use much less moisturizer, and it helps it absorb more
- WORKS GREAT TO REDUCE CAKINESS IN MAKEUP: after I apply my foundation/face makeup it tends to cake up a bit even though I apply it with a wet beauty blender. I spritz this toner on my face a couple times after makeup and it adds a nice dewy finish and greatly reduces the cakiness

CONS:
- I find toner to be an unnecessary step in skin care routines sometimes
- the price is a little steep

Overall, I will repurchase, especially since summer is coming up and it's amazing at simply refreshing/cooling down the skin. Also because it works well to get rid of cakey makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alh011 on 5/11/2014 7:23:00 AM more reviews by alh011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I didn't pay enough attention when I purchased this, and was way too excited to be in a LUSH store after a year long hiatus (there isn't one in the country I've moved to). I was looking for a face spritz - one I can spray on at regular times throughout the day to relieve dryness and as a bit of a perk me up throughout the day.

This toner works great as a toner, not for the purpose I bought it for though. I tried spritzing a few times throughout the day and after a few goes it makes my skin shiny and tight and with a funny layer on it. However as already said, when used for the purpose it was intended ( a toner) it works great. Nice and refreshing, decent price for the amount you get and is one of few toners I've tried that doesn't leave my skin tight, dry and red.

All in all a good toner but I'm still on the search for a spritz :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Toners products