Veet • Hair Removal Creame - Sensitive Formula • Skincare - Body

rated 3.7(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 beecky on 1/5/2014 1:55:00 PM more reviews by beecky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My review is for the green tube for "dry skin", which I couldn't find here on makeupalley, but it is one of the original and most popular of veet's hair removal creams. Anyways, on to the review. I have very coarse hair down there from years of shaving, and decided to try something new as i hate shaving and waxing. I took a bath, exfoliated my skin, got out and dried off, then applied this. I left this stuff on for 10 minutes to start, and wiped it off with a damp towel. The results were okay, but not all the hair was completely removed. So I put another layer on, thicker this time, another 10 minutes. The results after the second application was much better ! All the hair was removed. However, I will admit I did leave the hair "down there" on a little too long, but that was because I wanted it to be completely gone ! So it's a little red and irritated, but I think it'll be gone by tomorrow or the next day. Also it's worth it, as with shaving I would have to literally every other day, which I can't stand because it was far too irritating for my skin. For my hair, I left the cream on, in total, on my underarms for 10 minutes, legs for about 15-20 minutes, and "down there" for about 20-25. It sounds like a long time, I know, especially compared to what it says on the instructions ! The instructions say 3 minutes, 6 minutes max. Do not listen to this, as it will remove no hair at all, trust me. The thing is, also, that you cannot base your opinion off the first use. The hair removes easier and more evenly after each use, and won't require as much time to remove. The results after my first use was pretty good, and I know it will only get easier. I'm so happy i can finally say done with shaving, this stuff is more gentle, lasts waaaaay longer, and makes skin much smoother and soft. Also when the hair grows in after use of this cream, it grows in finer and not as coarse, hence being easier to remove the next time around. When applying on down there (sorry but I don't know what else to call it, lol) make sure you are very careful not to get your bits, or the inside at all. If you do, just gently wipe it off. Besides, the inside doesn't grow hair so there is no need to put it there. Just apply it on the whole outer area in a very thick layer, leave on for about 15 minutes and it should work great. Before all of this however, do a patch test !!! Make sure you are not allergic or overly sensitive to the formula :) Great product, will definitely repurchase !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* guitarheroine91 on 11/21/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by guitarheroine91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I thought this product was okay at first, but that quickly changed.

I bought the sensitive kit for face, which came with the cream in a small tube, as well as a tube of "soothing cream" for afterwards and a spatula. According to the instructions you're supposed to use the spatula to smooth on the cream, but I was putting it on my upper lip and the spatula was way too big, so I ended up just using my fingers and rinsing after it was evenly smoothed on.

After a couple minutes it began to sting pretty badly, worse than the Avon cream I have previously used and loved. But I sucked it up and kept it on for the five minutes as my upper lip hair was quite thick after not having waxed in forever. After the five minutes I used the smaller end of the spatula to scrape off the hair and cream, rinsing it after each pass. The hair removal was quite thorough, almost all the hair was gone, which I was very pleased with. I smoothed on a good amount of the soothing cream, but my upper lip remained pretty red and stingy for a good chunk of the day. But whatever, it got rid of the hair, right? Right?

My real disappointment was 2 days later when I started getting whiteheads all over my upper lip. Hair started popping up everywhere I'd removed it, faster than when I shave my body hair! It's a week later and I'm still experiencing the crazy hair growth. I'm convinced this product caused my upper lip hair growth to increase in speed and length.


EDIT: Dec 6/13- I still have gross scabby whiteheads all over my upper lip. Stay away from this product, it ruined my normally flawless skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CathhJoness on 10/23/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by CathhJoness

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Im 14, My skin is completely normal, I dont have any acne or spots and yes, I get fine upper lip hair. I decided to buy the product because I felt so self conscious with it.

I have used the product 3 times now. The first try, I couldn't stand it! The smell and the feel of it while youre waiting to take it off, that was...ew.
The second and third time I used it, I got used to the smell.

When I use the product, I do it in the night, even though its quick and easy I would have to because otherwise I would have to go out with a red mark above my lip..(NOT ATTRACTIVE)
Every use, I use the moisturizing cream that comes with it, otherwise It would feel really horrible.

I have literally just this moment used it, I have the red mark..It somehow feels almost numb? I dont like that either. The other few times Ive used the product the redness seems to have gone down in the morning. So it most probably does take a while for it to go down.

-Hope this was helpful, even though it was from a REALLY young teenager haha!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ek1265 on 4/17/2013 1:13:00 AM more reviews by ek1265

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Worked great for me! I have very fine hair, so I think that may be why I had such good results. I'll be using this product on my legs instead of shaving from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 edwardsl95 on 3/6/2013 9:44:00 AM more reviews by edwardsl95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used it as I get hair on my chin and also used it on my upper lip. I left it on for the required time and was pleased to find no hair, however three days after I did the hair removal process my skin around where I used the product is very oily (I do have oily skin but there is a very big difference in the texture of my skin from where it was used). My make up now doesn't say on my chin and upper lip area and like I mentioned there is a huge difference in the texture from my cheeks to my chin where this didn't happen before I used the product. I have tried everything to get rid of this but it just wont go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nataliecloud9 on 4/16/2012 3:35:00 AM more reviews by nataliecloud9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I was scared to try this but I was; sick of shaving, cant handle waxing pain, epilators give me nasty ingrown hairs... And I needed an alternative method for hair removal cream over my 5 month old C-Section scar. (Since the C-Section scar keloided, it is impossible to shave over it without cutting myself *eek!*)


But I did a lot of research and read many reviews, and decided to try hair removal cream. I went with Veet because I never heard it caused pain like a lot of Nair reviews I read.


I still didn't want to risk having any pain, so I decided to get my skin used to it slowly.
So for a few days I put it on for 3 minutes, and then I wiped it off. After my shower, I used my towel to buff off the rest of hairs that the scraper didn't get. My legs and arms were flawless and SO SOFT. (I even took the risk of applying it to my entire bikini area and C-Section scar, and it worked amazing! But it did sting on one spot for an hour after the first time. But now it doesn`t sting and is the only way I have been able to remove hair from my C-Section scar.)


**TIP** One thing I learned from another reviewer, is to apply hair removal cream on DAMP SKIN. And it really makes ALL the difference. (I tried it on dry skin as well, with not as great of results.) So what I do now is have a bath, and then towel dry my legs, and then apply the hair removal cream.


The other major benefit to this product, is that it exfoliates! My legs have never felt smoother, and the ingrown hairs I developed from epilating are going away too.



Also, the last coolest thing I`ve recently learned about this product is that it is only rated a "6" on the Skin Deep® Cosmetic Database:

http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/product/242291/Veet_Hair_Removal_Gel_Cream%2C_Sensitive_Formula/


And the shaving cream I used was worse for me, and rated an "8!"

http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/product/25771/Skintimate_Moisturizing_Shave_Gel%2C_Soothing_Lavender/


I would have thought chemicals that could burn your hair off would be worse for you than the chemicals in shaving cream, but I was wrong! My shaving cream is worse for me.


PS. I highly recommend the site Skin Deep® Cosmetic Database, if you don`t want to kill yourself just to look pretty. (I always try to find a lower risk product.)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yorkiemomma on 2/19/2012 4:47:00 PM more reviews by yorkiemomma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Removed hair very well, but this brand tests on animals so I won't be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lauqianyu on 11/21/2011 12:12:00 PM more reviews by lauqianyu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Very effective, doesnt cause irritation.

Actually i wanted to post a review on Body Natur sensitive with Aloe Vera Extract(a mousse), but i can't find the product on this site. i insist on posting my reviews to warn fellow consumers.

The Body Natur sensitive with Aloe Vera Extract causes irritation on my skin. well, i tried twice, once on my legs it caused redness, itchiness and the basic function- hair removing, is not effective.Since i bought it, i gave it a try on my arm, where i did not apply any hair removing cream prior to that, and it still cause irritation.

Product fails, and the online customer service also fails. i was like given questions to answer and again and again, all in all they just want to prove that i don't know how to read instructions and the product is perfect.Dissatisfied with the mousse!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 annely on 2/28/2011 8:48:00 PM more reviews by annely

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I asked someone to buy me Veet facial wax strips, and she got me this by accident. Because it said "Facial Kit" and "Sensitive Formula" and I've used depilatories before, I figured, "Why not?"

Bad idea.

I used this on my upper lip and although it says to leave it on for 5 minutes, it starts tingling and stinging within a minute. Call me foolhardy, but I've used this multiple times (still on my upper lip) varying the layer of thickness with which I apply this product, and it still begins to hurt in a minute or two. Plus the cream usually requires more than 5 minutes before hair actually starts coming off. After finally washing it off and applying finishing cream, there were some small hair follicles still visible and my upper lip was red. The follicles were large enough to be noticed but too small to be waxed (and it's not good to wax right after a depilatory either).

After multiple tries, I figured my face was just allergic to it. I say my face because I now use the kit for my underarms, where it doesn't sting, although the hair removal is still less than stellar. The results are similar to the stubble that grows about 24 hours after shaving.

I don't know the price of this product since it was bought for me and I have no intention of repurchasing. As for the packaging, I found that the green tip on one side of the application tool has begun to come off and separate from the handle so one lipstick off for that. In other words, stay away from this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Do8666 on 9/18/2010 5:28:00 PM more reviews by Do8666

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

:Nothing special: I used this on my legs.
-It states to leave on for 5-10 mins; after 6 mins I tested out its power and it didn't remove much hair, so I left it on for the full 10. It did an okay job with removing hair, it left some patches; I had to go over it with a razor.

I haven't tried it on any other body area's yet.

The sensitivity is good. I had no reaction at all; and my skin is usually pretty sensitive.

I hate the packing. It's got a pump, but a plug to prevent leaking. If something taps on it with the plug though, it will leak out. I can't seem to get the pump to stay down/locked - I've tried and just end up squirting the product all over the place. ...This bottle is not safe to travel with.

Not a very nice smell either; reminds me of the stuff they use to perm hair at a salon.

I don't plan to purchase another bottle; but I do intend to finish what is left in this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Veet products

More Skincare - Body products