Laura Mercier • Eau de Lune • Fragrances

rated 4.1(71 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junerose000 on 3/24/2012 2:24:00 AM more reviews by junerose000

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is more of a cautionary tip than a review. If you are going to buy this from an online store, please buy it directly from Laura Mercier or one of the bigger department stores. After smelling a sample of this while browsing at a Nordstrom's counter and loving its soft feminine scent, I ended up not buying a bottle since it is quite pricey for a pretty basic fragrance. When I saw it on sale at Strawberrynet.com for $24, I jumped on it right away. Big mistake. The bottle that I received contained a clear juice. It was old and had gone off. The fragrance was awful and smelled nothing like what I had smelled at Nordstrom's. A fresh bottle should contain pink juice. If you receive a bottle that looks like the one in the posted picture above, you DO NOT want it. Luckily, Strawberrynet.com gave me a refund.
This is one bottle of fragrance that you do not want to buy from any of the discount fragrance sites.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 2/3/2012 8:06:00 AM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Laura Mercier's fragrances are lovely, and each has some slight, odd touch. Eau de Lune is no exception.


On the face of it, this could pass for your standard fruity floral. However there are several odd twists. The floral is a lovely rose/lily combination, with a hit of white musk that would lift both into a really clean, almost soapy vibe if the rose heart didn't pull EdL back into rich floral loveliness. There is a top citric note -- the fruit here, along with what I think is just a touch of peach -- and in the base, a subtle vanillic/woody touch that grounds everything.


Several reviews have mentioned that EdL can go rancid quickly. I think the wood/vanillic base is at fault here - when vanilla of this sort goes bad, it goes very bad. However before throwing the bottle away, do 3-7 vigorous sprays to clear out the atomizer. I've found that only the fragrance in the sprayer attachment went bad and once it was cleared out, the rest of the bottle was fine.


There's another consistent complaint about EdL - that it fades quickly and is faint. This is one of those problems to do with musks - many of us are slightly anosmic to them. EdL has very delicate sillage, but it doesn't disappear, and it is definately present, just... intimate. All day little hits of this continued to rise up and surprise me. I also inadvertantly sprayed a little on my clothing, which may have helped. As it dried down, the citric/peachy vibe receeded but never completely disappeared, and the rosey heart slowly gained over the aromatic, top notes of LOTV. The vanilla never became overwhelming, nor did the wood; instead they kept the florals from becoming stabby, as rose and lily sometimes can.


Eau de Lune is very nicely composed. Personally, I think the bottles are gorgeous, but I haven't dropped the heavy metal cap on one of my toes yet. When I do, I will no doubt have a very different opinion!


I went to Fragrantica and checked -- per them, the notes are: mandarin orange, white flowers, violet and ylang-ylang; middle notes: orange blossom, white peach, lily-of-the-valley, rose and frangipani; base notes: amber, musk, orris root and woodsy notes. I think the vanilla (from the amber) and orris combo are what's going putrid in the sprayer. I didn't get ylang-ylang, but some of the heart and clean quality of the rose might be from violet. My nose often dulls the classic rose/violet/lily/orange flower/white floral accord into a peony-ish rose and lily combo. But I will say that this didn't smell to me like one of those million-note florals where you can't pick any single one out. It smelled like roses, lilies, and maybe violets, with orange-y bergamot pulling out the aromatic top notes.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 1/16/2011 12:28:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is a totally unique and almost haunting scent. It seems very violetty, with hints of white tea. I don't remember what the actual notes are, but this is really soft, and has a gorgeous die down on me. I love this. However, it is overpriced, and the packaging, while pretty, is dangerous! The lid to the bottle is a very heavy stone, that could easily do some damage if dropped, say on a glass perfume stand or your foot! If this were much less expensive, and came in a more user-friendly bottle, I would consider purchasing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spearmintstars on 6/2/2010 3:59:00 AM more reviews by spearmintstars

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

At first I thought this was fresh, but...now, Roses, all I smell are roses! Not liking it at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bassetmomma on 5/1/2010 9:36:00 AM more reviews by bassetmomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I was disappointed by the fact that this scent didn't last on me at all. For this kind of money, I was expecting something with more endurance. It is a fresh scent that could certainly can be worn daytime and in the work place. Just wish it didn't wear off so fast. Sorry I spent so much money on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinksalt on 4/18/2010 10:56:00 AM more reviews by pinksalt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I never used to wear perfume because everything I sampled at the counters was too flowery, or too medicinal, or just trying too hard. I found Eau de Lune a few years ago and will wear it forever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* drvogue on 7/9/2009 8:55:00 PM more reviews by drvogue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

It may be sleek but it doesn't come across as boring or generic to me. It's soft, well-rounded, floral with a touch of musk. It also has a slightly salty edge to it, which reminds me of summer afternoons on the beach. This is very much a skin scent: non challenging but not trivial.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 8/11/2008 10:18:00 PM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This was my signature fragrance in high school, and I loved it. It's hard for me to enjoy it now for two reasons 1.) over-exposure, and 2.) having had a bottle that went off (years and years after I purchased it, having left it in the bathroom in bright sunlight from the skylight - in other words, it was my own fault that it went off) the smell of "Eau de Lune" slightly off is permanently infused into my memory of the fragrance, tainting the non-spoiled version in my mind.



Having come quite far, and sniffed many things, I still think that Eau de Lune is a nice fragrance, but it is a bit unremarkable. The lasting power is actually great on me - around 6-8 hours, drying down to a subtle but really nice skin scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mladyd on 7/4/2008 7:46:00 PM more reviews by mladyd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with the review below that describes this as Nanette Lepore Lite. It's very similar to my nose but much more fresh and sheer. I've had this for awhile now but only recently have I been wearing it nearly exclusively. I guess it's a warm weather fragrance :). Interesting fruit notes mixed with flowers, people say rose but it's not really obvious to me, Just when I think it's gone I catch a whiff, so it does have some staying power. The bottle is, ehh, not bad. I wish the cap wasn't so heavy is all. I'm anxious to try some of the other LM fragrances now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiicky on 4/23/2008 1:46:00 PM more reviews by jiicky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

RECOMMENDED FOR: Women who like *soft*, subtle and unobtrusive floral perfumes that don't have sharp notes, are overpowering or cause headaches. The saleslady described this perfume to me as being a blend of roses and peaches which is fairly accurate-- I would describe it more as tea roses with some subtle hints of ripe peaches. It is a good everyday perfume because the people around you will find it a pleasant smelling enough and it is probably tolerable to >90% of the people out there. It is scent that few people will hate mostly because it is not too sweet, too aldehydic, too cloying, too young, too old, too anything.... (It is a safe bet for guys looking to buy a perfume for their girlfriend). It is a wholesome and pretty scent for those who don't want to be perceived as slut in the work place.


NOT RECOMMENDED FOR: Women who want a distinctive signature scent or more of punch out of their perfume-- the initial scent is quite floral & fruity but the dry down is far less interesting-- slightly powdery.
The scent, though pleasant, is slightly generic and after about 2 hours is barely perceptible.


If you want to project a vampy persona, are into rave parties, sport half a dozen tattoos, or if are the type that wants a more "executive" or "aristocratic" fragrance-- or if you just want some zing from a fragrance, this is definitely not the scent for you. Also, women on a religious quest for the perfect blooming red rose perfume need to look elsewhere-- it will not be heady enough or pure enough for your taste.


FINAL ANALYSIS: Though not terribly distinctive, this floral/fruity perfume doesn't smell cheap or sickeningly sweet like most adolescent perfumes that are flooding the market in places like the Body Shop or even Walgreens-- but certainly it lacks the mystique & sophistication of Guerlain et al. If I had to buy a perfume as a gift for someone I didn't know very well-- this would the first that I would reach for because it is a pretty safe bet-- you might not love it but you probably won't detest it. I plan on picking up a bottle for Mother's Day and possibly as a birthday present for friend. A nice, palatable scent. I give it a 3.8 out of 5.

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Fragrances products