Elizabeth Arden • Britney Spears - In Control Curious • Fragrances

rated 3.9(93 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 purplerose95 on 1/21/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by purplerose95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I adore "In Control"! I wear it often and I find the smells lasts for many hours. The next day, I can still smell this lovely perfume. The scent is spicy and sweet. I can't describe the perfume any other way, to me it smells like happiness. I like the cute bottle it comes in, however, the perfume should have been placed in a clear bottle to show how much perfume is left. Other than that, "In Control" is a wonderful perfume.

Edit: January 29, 2014
I'm a girl who sprays her clothing rather than skin because perfume can contain harmful ingredients. Anyways, I sprayed perfume on my skin to see how my body would react and the smell was revolting. I felt nauseous. The nausea feeling is why I hate most perfumes. It smells lovely, however, my body chemistry does not work with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dreamsXthatXglitter on 10/14/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by dreamsXthatXglitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

If you wanna smell like chocolate and vanilla then this is for you! it's so warm and sweet! and very sexy too I imagine a lot of men would like this perfume on a girl the only down side is that with the opaque bottle u can't see how much is left but that's a small price to pay for such a gorgeous fragrance

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kismetdaisy on 7/9/2013 2:27:00 PM more reviews by kismetdaisy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

In Control Curious has become probably my favorite perfume ever at the moment anyway. I read someone's review below saying this smells like Jessica Simpson's Fancy. I own Fancy as well as In Control and love them both--but they do not smell anything alike at all. I recommend to that person to go and revisit In Control and try it again. In Control is so scrumptuous, but deeply sexy and sultry. On me, the main smell I get is candies--I'm guessing that's the creme brulee mixing with the other notes. But with the candies, I get a dark vanilla and at drydown the sugared sandalwood, tonka, and musk comes together and mixes so perfectly, still with hints of candies. It's beautiful, truly. It's gourmand, but not in a cheap, little girl type of way. It is definitely grown up. I find In Control to be most similar to Fantasy--I believe In Control shoud've been in the Fantasy line, as In Control smells nothing like the original Curious. In fact, it's 1000 times better than the original Curious. Jessica Simpson has no musk, sandalwood or candies at all...It's a caramel, fruity syrupy sweet scent, that dries down very vanilla, powdery, and nutty. It's amazing, but not nearly as amazing as In control and nothing alike. So if any reviewers were thrown off by that comparison, do reconsider cause In Control is one of a kind, I've never smelled anything like it! It's sweet, seductive vanilla candy heaven. And when I say candy, it's not the type of candy scent you get from Pink Sugar. This perfume still manages to stay dark and sexy, something you could wear out at an industrial night club. the colors of the bottle are perfect for it. my only complaints are that I can't see how much perfume is left since the bottle is black//.and also, the staying power and sillage could definitely be stronger. but if you spray in the right places--for instance, I spray it in my damp hair before I blow dry--in which I can then smell it wafting around me all day! It's an amazing scent. I think a lot of people would like this one..it's that good--how could you not like it,??!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Missconsistency on 7/9/2013 4:59:00 AM more reviews by Missconsistency

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

In control smells like a mild Tonka Bean-like Tobbaco fume. I had to let this one go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anda on 12/10/2012 4:23:00 AM more reviews by Anda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say I like most of Britney�s fragrances, and this one was just ok. It�s pleasant but not distinctive enough for me to give it a high score or say it�s a must-buy. It also isn�t strong and doesn�t last, which I suppose makes it better for those with oilier skins who like soft skin-scents that won�t invade anyone�s space.
I find the soft fruits apparent at the start, and hardly any flowers; then it�s replaced with a faint whisper of creamy vanilla, but underpinning everything is just that very dominant note of powdery musk, made even more powdery by the addition of tonka.
I�m surprised so few people commented on it because this powdery note is extremely strong to me, and overpowers the darker, creamier vanilla facets that I�d been so looking forward to.
It's pleasant but I won�t repurchase, considering it disappears on me within a couple of hours. It also reminds me of VS Amber Romance, which lasts better on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sadielovesmakeup06 on 11/28/2012 3:24:00 AM more reviews by sadielovesmakeup06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

this was a limited edition product! **
I got this at Herberger's when they had a gift with purchase, it came with a cute pink leopard jewelry box... the bottle for this is modeled after curious obviously with its name, but this one is black, and has a bright pink atomizer,... the puffy thing. the fragrance itself is absolutely amazing!!! its top note is loquat fruit, middle notes consist of midnight orchid, crme brle, black vanilla bean and tonka crystals. The base notes are sugared sandalwood and musk. its an amazing scent, I really wish they would bring it back, as i think it is one of her best scents!! it came out in 2006. It is light enough for school and work but in using the lotion with it, can be a great going out scent. when i smell this, i do not think of a specific season, or time of day, i think it is definately an all purpose scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tyekristopher on 11/5/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by tyekristopher

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Now this is my favorite by britney spears, It is nicer version of fantasy, it is creamier than fantasy and not as cloying, don't get me wrong I LOVE fantasy but this one takes the cake for me. It is just so damn good. Nothing smells like it at all, its so different. I just wish I could find this one easier than the original curious.. The staying power isnt all that great,they need to work on that but other than that it's one of her best

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilovethe80s87 on 3/21/2012 12:19:00 AM more reviews by ilovethe80s87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

In Control Curious is in my top three favorite perfumes! It was my signature scent until I discovered the other two (Snooki and Viva La Juicy). I first discovered in 2007. The box is what first got my attention, as my favorite colors are pink and black. I had smelled Curious before, and wasn't too much of a fan (it smelled too sophisticated, as I like younger, flirtier, yummier scents), so I gave In Control Curious a shot hoping it would be different. I can't remember whether or not I smelled it first or just went ahead and bought it, but let me tell you... it doesn't matter because I did NOT regret my purchase! It's just sweet enough to smell girly, but it's not annoyingly sweet like Fantasy can be. It's also got a dark, sexy side to it which is my favorite part. When I wear it I always get compliments, mostly from guys. I admit it doesn't last as long as some other perfumes, but I spray alot on myself so it will last longer. I wish it came in a rollerball so I could put it in my purse for touch-ups. In Control Curious is my boyfriend's favorite perfume on me because it is what I was wearing the first time we went out, so it has sentimental value to him :) But I'd definitely have to say that In Control Curious is on of the best perfumes I've owned!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TMK6959 on 12/29/2011 10:41:00 PM more reviews by TMK6959

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is absolutely scrumptious. I tested this at my local pharmacy today and was absolutely amazed! It is like a grown up version of fantasy (which I love). I could only fit it into my budget to purchase one perfume, so I purchased Midnight Fantasy (LOVE IT!) after much deliberating and am arranging to get In Control in a swap. Lasting power is excellent- Fantasy wears off mye in under an hour, but this one is still smelling great after 6 hours. The bottle is stunning. If I couldn't get this in a swap, I would surely pay full price for one.

UPDATE- After the swap didn't work out due to shipping regulations, I purchased a 100mL bottle of this today. I am so glad I did! This is one of my all time favorite perfumes. The smell gets better and better throughout the day. It morphs from a sweet vanilla (my husband and brother in law seem to think it smells like vanilla coke) to a rich, creamy, grown-up creme brulee. Lasts 6-7 hours on me. Delicious. I'm smitten with this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 filthyhotmess on 12/8/2011 8:33:00 PM more reviews by filthyhotmess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my fave Britney perfumes. I've only just recently rediscovered it after the atomizer permanently stopped working in my bottle and i finally decided to buy one of those little refillable bottles and transfer some of it. SOO glad i did it! I forgot how much i love it. It smells like vanilla and creme brulee with a bit of sexy musk thrown in. It's quite similar to Fantasy but is definitely a more grown up version and isn't as sweet. Staying power is terrible but having the mini bottle is handy because i just throw it in my bag and touch up throughout the day.

If you're going to buy it i recommend NOT getting the one with the pink thing you pump. It looks pretty but it gets blocked up so easily and stops working completely (it also happened to my bottle of Curious).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products