Dermalogica PreCleanse


333 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals


Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, PEG-40 Sorbitan Peroleate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Oils Of: Borago Officinalis Seed, Aleurites Moluccana Seed, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel, Lavandula Hybrida, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender), Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel; Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Decyl Olive Esters, Tocopherol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, Citral, Limonene, Linalool.

on 9/30/2015 7:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff seemed to work well for me at first, but after using it for a few weeks as recommended (using the Special Cleansing Gel after, two step process) my skin began to suffer. Clogged pores galore!

Dermalogica claims to be a really advanced skincare line and the prices sure make it seem like you are buying a "premium" product but if you really check out the ingredients, you will see that they use a lot of harsh chemicals and some of their "natural" additives can actually be very irritating. Plug the PreCleanse ingredient list into the COSDNA analyzer and you will see! The Special Cleansing Gel is pretty much all SLS which will strip your skin, might as well use dish soap on your face.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I have fairly bad acne and I always felt it was due to not washing off all my makeup. I love precleanse because it allows my cleanser to actually clean my skin without my makeup being in the way. I wear a lot of foundation but this stuff takes it off wonderfully. It is a tad expensive but one bottle lasted me 6 months and I use it every night. Can't live without it.

on 8/22/2015 12:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Wow this stuff got off every drop of MUFE Aqua eyes pencil, They're Real mascara (which to me is harder to remove than waterproof), nars all day luminous weightless foundation (another one that really sticks with ya), dipbrow, all of my other powders, lipsticks etc on one go. I cleansed the oil off with some cheesy Burt bee cleanser and afterwards it passed the cotton toner test with flying colors!!!!! Sooooo much better than coconut oil or something. Leaves absolutely no greasy oily residue. WORTH IT if you are a big fan of super long wearing waterproof heavy makeup like me! I mean now that I tried it, it's like a must! I used to use a cleansing wipe every night to gently exfoliate/remove makeup which maybe I'll continue to use AFTER this oil, since the wipes did a great daily gentle exfoliation job they didn't however touch the eye makeup and the toner cotton would sometimes still be a lil' tan after the wipes. I can't believe I had this deluxe sample sitting there for 1/2 year untouched! HG makeup remover!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 7/3/2015 1:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this stuff. The smell is somewhat citrus, and easy to use. Never felt any sort of residue. Also helps wash off makeup without scrubbing. I have very dry, somewhat patchy skin, and this sort of soothes it. Will always keep a bottle in stock.
As for the packaging. I hate the new pump. It just sucks. I had to exchange one for a new bottle, because product was seeping out the sides of the pump. You also can't really choose how much product you use, unless you slowly pump it, which is dumb. I like the flat lid better.

on 6/17/2015 1:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

First of all I'm not new to the oily cleansing method I used the precleanse years ago and it was horrible runny doesn't rinse off well yet stripped my skin and cause redness plus horrible breakouts under the skin bumps even though I double cleanse with a separate cleanser after. This is not strong enough to remove all my makeup especially full face of makeup from skin care sunscreen liquid foundation concealer powder blush..... just cause my skin to become unbalanced. Before using this I did not have any under the skin bumps only mild breakouts. This made my skin dry underneath and super oily on the surface and all red with tiny bumps and couple large pimples on my cheeks. The bottle packaging is also horrible the oil runs down the bottle when you poor it out. For those who are new to oily cleansing this is not worth $38. Shu uemura is better but more expensive worth it because they have oil cleansers for different skin types.

on 5/28/2015 10:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

HG. I always double cleanse whenever I'm wearing any makeup on my face, and this is the only pre cleanse that has worked for me without fail. I have tried Clinique's cleansing balm and oil, Neutrogena's cleansing oil, various micellar waters, the lot. This is the only cleanser that truly dissolves all my face makeup and removes it properly. The price is seriously off-putting, especially for a student like me, but I honestly cannot live without this as my skin breaks out and goes haywire whenever I don't use this as a pre cleanse. Gentle and so suitable for girls with acne and/or wear heavy face makeup. Packaging's a bit flimsy so it can get a bit oily and messy, and I do wish more product came with its hefty price tag.

on 5/19/2015 4:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

Gave me the worst cystic acne of my life. Huge, painful, deep and inflamed!
It took me so long to figure it out - I changed my makeup, pillows, cut out dairy, all sorts of spot creams and eventually went to the GP in tears.
I convinced myself that since I was carefully "emulsifying" it and using my cleanser afterwards it couldnt be clogging my pores.
I can see by other reviewers that it works for them but if you see your skin changing while using it, please stop as soon as you can.
My entire cheeks are covered in acne marks and I fear because the acne was cystic, these are permanent. My skin is ruined and if it wasnt for a layer of thick concealer and foundation, I would never leave the house.
Learn from my experience :-(

on 1/15/2015 9:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I received some samples of PreCleanse from the Dermalogica SA and noticed that my skin was congested after using, but decided that it might be purging so took the plunge and bought the whole bottle.

To use it, you apply the oil to dry skin, massage in and then add water to emulsify and rinse off. I would then follow up with Derm's Special Cleansing Gel.

After about two weeks I was left with dozens of whiteheads and similar congestion on my jawline - my skin felt like sandpaper under my fingers and looked worse. When the congestion started spreading up to the rest of my face, I stopped using PreCleanse. By process of elimination it was definitely this product that caused the breakout.

My skin is just now clearing up but I am so disappointed as I'm a cleansing oil fanatic! I've used Shu Uemura, Moogoo and even Bio Oil (very naughty as it is full of mineral oil but used the whole bottle without issues) and Dermalogica is the only oil cleanser that has given me such a reaction. I will be taking this back to Dermalogica to get my money back - such a pity as it has gotten some great reviews.

on 12/14/2014 9:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have never tried a cleansing but now that I have I will never go without it. I actually tried it by accident when I went to ULTA. One of the associates was going to do my makeup but I still had makeup on. She told that in addition to being an associate at the store, she was also the skin specialist! She basically gave me a mini facial for free! And this was the first product she used. She rubbed it all over my face and then placed a very warm towel over my face and rubbed it off just slightly. I loved it so much, I bought a bottle. It had an essence of great oils and it rinses clean.

on 11/17/2014 2:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Removes makeup very thoroughly and doesn't cause breakouts (for those who are skeptical about putting oil on acne-prone skin). Leaves my skin so soft and looking so smooth. I use differin which can cause peeling but when I use this I never get this problem. I have been using it for years and will continue to use it in the future.

Back to Top